DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Please correct the following:
A subcutaneous abrasion device comprising: a handle; an elongated shaft extending distally from the handle; and an abrasive surface disposed on a distal end portion of the elongated shaft, .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wen (US 20190247156 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wen discloses a subcutaneous abrasion device (Figs. 7-7A, paras. [0065]-[0067]) comprising: a handle 111; an elongated shaft 112 extending distally from the handle (Fig. 5); and an abrasive surface (i.e., at 13) disposed on a distal end portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 5), wherein the abrasive surface has a width that is greater than a width of the elongated shaft (Fig. 5A), wherein the abrasive surface includes a projection (i.e., as shown in Fig. 5A, each of the plurality of projections off of 13) rigidly fixed to the elongated shaft (i.e., at least because base 12 if fixed as shown in Fig. 5 and 5A and disclosed in para. [0059]), wherein the projection includes an edge extending outwards from the elongated shaft (Fig. 5A), and wherein the edge is configured to subcutaneously abrade an inner surface of a dermis of a subject without substantially cutting or puncturing the dermis of the subject (para. [0059], the device is used to pull and comb fibrous tissue subcutaneously (see for example Abstract and para. [0012]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Wen discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Wen also discloses wherein the inner surface of the dermis includes a portion of a reticular layer of the dermis of the subject (para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 3, Wen discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Wen also discloses wherein the abrasive surface includes one or more rasps (para. [0059], BRI of rasps include a toothed structure).
Regarding claim 4, Wen discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Wen also discloses wherein the abrasive surface includes a head portion 12 that is wider than the elongated shaft (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 9, Wen discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Wen also discloses wherein at least the abrasive portion is configured to be inserted into an opening in the subject (paras. [0061]-[0062]; Figs 7-7A).
Regarding claim 16, Wen discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Wen also discloses wherein the abrasive surface is in a fixed configuration on the distal end portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 17, Wen discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Wen also discloses wherein the elongated shaft and abrasive surface are configured to be inserted through an opening formed in a skin of the subject (paras. [0061]-[0062]; Figs. 7-7A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0336727 A1).
Regarding claims 5-8, Wen discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Wen doesn’t directly disclose a deployable head that deploys from a first undeployed configuration to a second deployed configuration, wherein the deployable head is selectively deployable within a subject, wherein the elongated shaft is configured to have an adjustable length, and wherein the elongated shaft is a telescoping elongated shaft.
In the same field of endeavor, namely neurovascular catheter having atraumatic tip, Yang discloses a similar device to Wen including a telescoping catheter including a deployable head (i.e., at least since the head can be telescoped as disclosed in para. [0075]) that deploys from a first undeployed configuration to a second deployed configuration, wherein the deployable head is selectively deployable within a subject (paras. [0090]-[0091]), a catheter having an adjustable, telescoping structure (para. [0075]).
Thus, adding the telescoping aspect of Yang to the shaft of Wen would produce a device that accomplishes the above limitations. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wen such that shaft of Wen is telescoping for purposes of use in various anatomies (paras. [0075], [0217]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHAEL L GEIGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771