DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rasps (especially with regard to Fig. 1G which disclose that the abrasive surface is an edge not a rasp) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weitzner et al. (US 2018/0206864 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weitzner discloses a subcutaneous abrasion device (Figs. 7A-7C) comprising: a handle (i.e., handle is located proximally of 215a but may include 215a); an elongated shaft 146a extending distally from the handle (i.e., Fig. 7C); and an abrasive surface (i.e., cutting portions of 146a) disposed on a distal end portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 7C), wherein the abrasive surface has a width that is greater than a width of the elongated shaft (i.e., as shown in Fig. 7C), wherein the abrasive surface includes a projection (i.e., each of 146a) rigidly fixed to the elongated shaft (i.e., at least by way of 213), wherein the projection includes one or more edges (para. [0041]) extending radially outwards from the elongated shaft (Fig. 7C), wherein the one or more edges extend between a first proximal location (i.e., at 215a) and a second distal location (i.e., at 213) along a length of the elongated shaft (Fig. 7C), and wherein the one or more edges is configured to subcutaneously abrade an inner surface of a dermis of a subject (i.e., by removing the necrotic pocket as disclosed in para. [0041]) without substantially cutting or puncturing the dermis of the subject (i.e., at least since the atraumatic tip 213 protects the tissue wall).
Regarding claim 2, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer doesn’t directly disclose wherein the inner surface of the dermis includes a portion of a reticular layer of the dermis of the subject.
The limitation “wherein the inner surface of the dermis includes a portion of a reticular layer of the dermis of the subject” is being interpreted as an intended use limitation. As seen in MPEP section 2114 section 2, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Thus, it’s seen if the prior art has the claimed structure of the invention, it is able to perform the function. As seen here, the device can be positioned such that the head 213 is butted up against the reticular layer of the dermis to protect that layer while the edge cuts the necrotized pocked as disclosed in para. [0041]. Therefore, since the structure of the device protects layers of tissue, the function is met.
Regarding claim 4, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer also discloses wherein the abrasive surface includes a head portion (i.e., as indicated along the arrow shown in Fig. 7B) that is wider than the elongated shaft (Figs. 7B-7C).
Regarding claim 5, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer also discloses wherein the abrasive surface includes a deployable head that deploys from a first undeployed configuration to a second deployed configuration (Figs. 7B-7C).
Regarding claim 6, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 5. Weitzer also discloses wherein the deployable head is selectively deployable within a subject (para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer also discloses wherein the elongated shaft is configured to have an adjustable length (Figs. 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 8, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer also discloses wherein the elongated shaft is a telescoping elongated shaft (Figs. 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 9, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer also discloses wherein at least the abrasive surface is configured to be inserted into an opening in the subject (para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 16, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer also discloses wherein the abrasive surface is in a fixed configuration on the distal end portion of the elongated shaft (Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 17, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer also discloses wherein the elongated shaft and abrasive surface are configured to be inserted through an opening formed in a skin of the subject (para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 18, Weitzner discloses a subcutaneous abrasion device (Figs. 7A-7C) comprising: a handle (i.e., proximal to 215a but may also include 215a); an elongated shaft 149 extending from the handle (Fig. 7C), the elongated shaft having a length extending from a proximal end of the elongated shaft adjacent to the handle to a distal tip of the elongated shaft distal from the handle (Fig. 7C); and an abrasive surface (i.e., cutting surface of 146a) disposed along the length of the elongated shaft between the proximal end and the distal tip (Fig 7C), wherein the abrasive surface has a width that is greater than a width of the elongated shaft (Fig. 7C), wherein the abrasive surface includes a projection rigidly fixed to the elongated shaft (i.e., each of 146a are projections and fixed by way of 213), wherein the projection includes one or more edges extending outwards from the elongated shaft (para. [0041]), and wherein the one or more edges are configured to subcutaneously abrade an inner surface of a dermis of a subject without substantially cutting or puncturing the dermis of the subject (para. [0041] at least to cut necrotic tissue without cutting or puncturing the tissue wall by use of 213).
Regarding claim 19, Weitzner discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 18. Weitzer also discloses wherein the one or more edges extend between a first proximal location (Fig.7A) and a second distal location along the length of the elongated shaft (Fig. 7C) between the proximal end and the distal tip of the elongated shaft (Fig. 7C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weitzer in view of Bleich et al. (20140163562)
Regarding claim 3, Weitzer discloses the subcutaneous abrasion device of claim 1. Weitzer doesn’t directly disclose wherein the abrasive surface includes one or more rasps.
In the same field of endeavor of flexible tissue rasps, Bleich et al discloses wherein the abrasive surface includes one or more rasps (para. [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the abrasive surface of Weitzer to have one or more rasps as disclosed by Bleich for purposes of providing an abrasive surface on one side of an element without causing damage to nearby non-target tissues as the body is translated (para. [0103]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RACHAEL L GEIGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771