DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 3 and 13 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-22 as filed on 19 April 2024 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 14-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biel (WO 2017031367 A1) (PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, and 16, Biel teaches a composition for the treatment of cancer comprising a complex of IR700 conjugated to an antibody (abstract) including antibodies that bind cell surface markers of diseases including cancer ([0167]). Biel teaches combining with an immune modulating agent ([0393]) and further teaches immune modulating agents include adjuvants including TLR9 agonists ([0415]) including CPG-ODN which is a type-K CpG oligodeoxynucleotide ([0415]).
Regarding claim 5, a complex would include non-covalent association of the nucleic acid ligand for TLR9 with polysaccharide as supported by the instant specification ([0059]). Biel teaches IR700 with tumor-targeting molecules including a polysaccharide (claim 266) and the combination with an immune modulator which includes nucleic acid agonists for TLR9 which are nucleic acid based (claims 209, 107-108, and [0415]). Biel teaches the administration of the IR700 conjugated molecule and immune modulator can be administered together, sequentially, or intermittently ([0262], [0264], [0319])
Regarding claims 14-15, Biel teaches intravenous administration ([0007], [0269], [0270], [0348]).
Regarding claims 18-19, Biel teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the photosensitive molecule complex and adjuvants of their methods of treatment ([0262]-[0263]).
Claims 1-2, 11, 17-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia-Guzman (WO 2018156815 A1) (PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-2, 11, 17, and 22, Garcia-Guzman teaches conjugates that comprise IR700 and an antibody that binds a cell surface marker including markers for cancer ([0018], [0038]-[0039]), claims 1 and 45-48). Garcia-Guzman teaches the treatment of multiple conditions including cancer (abstract). Garcia-Guzman teaches immune modulating agents administered with the conjugates and teaches the immune modulating agent binds STING (claims 34-35), as required by claims 11, 17, and 22).
Regarding claim 18, Garcia-Guzman teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the IR700 comprising conjugate and immune modulating agents ([0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biel (WO 2017031367 A1) (PTO-892) and Ishii (WO 2015041318 A1) (PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-2, and 4, Biel teaches a composition for the treatment of cancer comprising a complex of IR700 conjugated to an antibody (abstract) including antibodies that bind cell surface markers of diseases including cancer ([0167]). Biel teaches combining with an immune modulating agent ([0393]) and further teaches immune modulating agents include adjuvants including TLR9 agonists ([0415]) including CPG-ODN which is a type-K CpG oligodeoxynucleotide ([0415]).
Biel does not teach the humanized type-K CpG oligodeoxynucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO: 9 or the synthetic strand of polydeoxyadenylic acid or the polysaccharides of ß-glucan or lentinan.
These deficiencies are filled by Ishii.
Regarding claims 4-10 and 19-20, Ishii teaches SEQ ID NO: 2 and 9-11 which matches instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Ishii teaches SEQ ID NO: 2 is a novel K-type CpG ODN for use with the ß-glucan polysaccharide lentinan. Ishii teaches it is effective as an immunostimulatory agent (page 3 in par 2). Ishii teaches the humanized K-type CpG ODN contains polydeoxyadenylic acid (page 3 in par 4 labeled [1] in the translated document). Ishii teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compositions of the inventions (page 8 in par 1).
Ishii teaches the use of the compositions of its invention for use in treatment of cancer (page 8 in par 6).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to substitute the type-K CpG oligodeoxynucleotide of Biel with the type-K CpG oligodeoxynucleotide of Ishii in a composition comprising polydeoxyadenylic acid and polysaccharides including ß-glucan of lentinan. First, it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute generic type-K CpG with the species of Ishii that matches instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Second, one of skill in the art would have been motivated by the teaching of Ishii that the type-K CpG oligodeoxynucleotide with polydeoxyadenylic acid and lentinan by their teaching of improved immunostimulatory activity. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as it is a substitution of a generic for a species of type-K CpG oligodeoxynucleotide that Ishii teaches is effective in the cancer patients Biel is teaching.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia-Guzman (WO 2018156815 A1) (PTO-892) and Fisher (WO 2019014391 A1) (PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Garcia-Guzman teaches conjugates that comprise IR700 and an antibody that binds a cell surface marker including markers for cancer ([0018], [0038]-[0039]), claims 1 and 45-48). Garcia-Guzman teaches the treatment of multiple conditions including cancer (abstract). Garcia-Guzman teaches immune modulating agents administered with the conjugates and teaches the immune modulating agent binds STING (claims 34-35).
Garcia-Guzman does not teach the immune modulating agent that binds STING is cGAMP.
This deficiency is filed by Fisher.
Fisher teaches immune modulators that bind STING including cGAMP (claims 1-7) and further teaches its use in methods of treating cancer (abstract and claims 74-77).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to substitute the generic STING binding immune modulator of Garcia-Guzman with the STING binding immune modulator of cGAMP taught by Figher. It would have been prima facie obvious at the time the application was filed to substitute the generic STING binding immune modulator of Garcia-Guzman with the specific STING binding immunomodulator of cGAMP taught by Fisher. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as Garcia-Guzman and Fisher both teach STING binding immunomodulators for use in methods of treating cancer.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
/F.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643