DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said tubular vaporization pre-cahmber" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Centanni (US 2005/095168 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Centanni discloses (see para [0057]-[0064]) a device (see figure 2) for generating sterilizing vapor from a liquid sanitizing or sterilizing agent, operable in a sterilization chamber (14) of an equipment for sterilization of products, said sterilization chamber (14) being brought to a depressurized condition (see fig. 2; see para [0061] – vacuum pump 100 is used to evacuate chamber 14) and sealed off an external environment this is external to said sterilization chamber (sealed off from external environment outside of chamber when door (18) is closed – see figure 2; para [0062]); said device (fig. 2) comprising: a body (30) defining a vaporization pre-chamber (34) having a tubular shape (see para [0052]) and made in communication with said sterilization chamber (14 – see figure 2); injection means (nozzle 108), arranged at an inlet of said tubular vaporization pre-chamber (34) and provided for feeding said liquid sanitizing or sterilizing agent into chamber (34), said injection means (108) capable of nebulizing said liquid sanitizing or sterilizing agent to obtain nebulized particles having an average diameter of less than 50 micrometers, or an average diameter of 40 micrometers, under certain flow rate conditions; at least one induction coil (36), arranged coaxially on an outside of said tubular vaporization pre-chamber (34) and extended axially for a portion of a total length of said vaporization pre-chamber (34) and configured to bring about heating of said body (30), including said pre-chamber (34), with an electromagnetic field (see para [0051]) generated by said induction coil (36) configured to produce ionization (see "significant dissociation of the hydrogen peroxide" in para [0080]) of said sanitizing or sterilizing agent, and wherein a temperature increase generated in said body (30) and within said pre-chamber (34) being capable to vaporize (see para [0057]) said sanitizing or sterilizing agent injected therein; and capable of producing a diameter of the nebulized particles of the sanitizing or sterilizing agent configured to promote ionization of the nebulized particles and to accelerate vaporization of the nebulized particles.
Regarding claim 2, Centanni said vaporization pre-chamber (34) comprises an inlet head (76), for positioning said injection means (nozzle 108), closed to the external environment, and wherein an outlet head (44) of said vaporization pre-chamber (34) is open for flow of vaporized particles from the vaporization pre-chamber directly into said sterilization chamber (14) when the valve is open (see figure 2; see para [0056] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Centanni discloses wherein said vaporization pre-chamber (34) has its own comprises an inlet head (76), for positioning said injection means (108), closed to the external environment, and a connecting pipeline (22) is provided between a remaining open outlet head (44) of said tubular vaporization pre-chamber (34) and said sterilization chamber (14) (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Centanni discloses a nozzle provided in said injection means (108) (see figure 2) and arranged in a central position with respect to the vaporization prechamber (34) (see figure 2). The nozzle is capable of being supplied with said liquid sanitizing or sterilizing agent at a pressure of between 4-7 bars (when the liquid is supplied by pump 80 at a certain operating speed), and wherein the nozzle is configured to generate a spray cone of between 70-90 degrees of liquid sanitizing or sterilizing agent when suitable flow pressure is applied.
Regarding claims 10-11, Centanni discloses temperature control means (64) and pressure control means (66, 68) attached to controller (60) (see para [0055] and [0063]) for maintaining preselected pressure and temperature conditions.
Regarding claim 12, Centanni discloses a shut-off means (valve 46) operable to open and close and located between the sterilization chamber (14) and the vaporization prechamber (34) (see figured 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Centanni discloses that the liquid sanitizing or sterilizing agent consists of hydrogen peroxide (see para [0002] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 14, Centanni discloses that said body (30) is part of the sterilization chamber (14) (they are structurally connected) and extends outwardly therefore as an extension (see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centanni as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Centanni discloses that the vaporization prechamber (34) is made of a stainless teel tube (see para [0052]). Centanni further discloses that the size of the vaporization prechamber can be adjusted but does not appear to disclose the exact claimed dimensions (see para [0010], [0052], [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the dimensions of the vaporization prechamber (34) of Centanni to have an inner diameter of substantially 60mm, a wall thickness of substantially 1.65mm, and an overall length of substantially 180mm, as the courts have held that changes in size are an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in the claimed environment, wherein said nozzle is integrated into a solenoid valve that is configured to control the injection of said liquid sanitizing or sterilizing agent.
9. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in the claimed environment, wherein a spool insulating material is associated, by means of spacers, the outside of the vaporization pre-chamber and configured to support a winding of said induction coil.
10. Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in the claimed environment, the device further comprising a box-like casing with walls permeable to air for containing said tubular vaporization pre-chamber and induction coil, and at least one fan is installed within the box-like same box like casing for cooling said vaporization pre-chamber and induction coil.
Conclusion
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799