DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/043290 to Iwasaki.
Regarding independent claim 1, Iwasaki (in Figs. 1, 5-6, 10, and associated text) discloses a washing machine (1), including:
a water holding barrel (water tank 12);
a circulation filtration pipeline (21-24), wherein, a water inlet end (21) and a water outlet end (16) of the circulation filtration pipeline are respectively connected with the water holding barrel (see Figs. 5-6);
a filter device (26,204), arranged in the circulation filtration pipeline, and having a first water inlet (26a), a filtered water outlet (26b) and a first sewage outlet (31a, 31b, and/or 31c);
a sewage pipeline (25), being used for receiving sewage discharged from the first sewage outlet;
a control valve assembly (V1-V8), arranged between the water inlet end of the circulation filtration pipeline and the filter device, wherein,
the control valve assembly includes a first valve chamber (V1) and a second valve chamber (V6-V8) that are independent from each other, and the first valve chamber communicates with the water holding barrel and the first water inlet of the filter device, and the second valve chamber communicates with the sewage pipeline and the first sewage outlet of the filter device (see Fig. 10); wherein,
in a first working state (follow arrows in Fig. 5), the control valve assembly is connected with the water holding barrel and the first water inlet, and disconnected from the first sewage outlet and the sewage pipeline; in a second working state (follow arrows in Fig. 6), the control valve assembly is disconnected from the water holding barrel (12) and the first water inlet (26a), and connected with the first sewage outlet (31a-c) and the sewage pipeline (25) (it is noted that the structural configuration of the washing machine of Iwasaki is fully capable of performing the recited working state operations).
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki further discloses switching the control valve assembly to be in the first working state, so water in the water holding barrel enters the filter device through the first valve chamber for filtering, and a filtered water flows back to the water holding barrel (see flow path of arrows in Fig. 5); and switching the control valve assembly to be in the second working state, so the sewage in the filter device is discharged into the sewage pipeline through the second valve chamber (see flow path of arrows in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Iwasaki further discloses wherein, the washing machine includes an external drainage pipeline (25) for draining water to an outside;
the first valve chamber is provided with a circulation water outlet connected with a first water inlet (see arrow flowpath through valve chamber V1 in Fig. 5)), and a discharge port (bottom of valve V1) connected with the external drainage pipeline (25); the control valve assembly is switched to be in the first working state, the circulation water outlet is opened and the discharge port is blocked, so the water in the water holding barrel is delivered into the first valve chamber, and discharged into the filter device from the circulation water outlet (see arrow flowpath in Fig. 5); and
the control valve assembly is switched to be in the second working state, the circulation water outlet is blocked and the discharge port is opened, so the water in the water holding barrel is delivered into the first valve chamber, discharged from the discharge port, and discharged to the outside of the washing machine through the external drainage pipeline (see arrow flowpath in Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki.
Regarding claim 8, Iwasaki (above) discloses the claimed invention including a circulation pump (27). Iwasaki does not expressly disclose the claimed pump arrangement of claim 8 between the water inlet end of the circulation filtration pipeline and the control valve assembly. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to rearrange the pump location as desired in the circulation pathway, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the claimed washing machine control valve assembly with valve body and plural valve chambers connected to water inlets and sewer outlets, along with a switch mechanism for the different working states. Such novel and non-obvious control valve configuration provides advantages not contemplated by the prior art of record. As described in Applicant’s USPGPUB 2025/0223748 at ¶ [0043], “[t]he control valve assembly controls the water holding barrel to be connected with and disconnected from the water inlet of the filter device, and controls the sewage outlet of the filter device to be connected with and disconnected from the sewage pipeline, which are the two independent waterways to be controlled at the same time. So the filter device can be switched to perform two working processes of filtration and sewage discharge, which can simplify the control structure of the waterways in the washing machine and be beneficial for reducing production costs.”
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711