DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
“radio-frequency module”
35
An RF transmitter, receiver or transceiver [0027]
“wireless module”
35
a wireless transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver [0026]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan et al. 2016/0001085.
Regarding claim 1, Pan discloses a method comprising:
transmitting power from an external device to an implantable medical device via a power link [pars. 33-34; fig. 2, 13 of external device 1 produces field M1 which induces M2 at 23 of implantable medical device 2]; and
receiving, at the external device, data from the implantable medical device via a data link that is separate from the power link [fig. 2, 15 receives status info from 25, separate from the inductive power channel], wherein the data indicates a real-time power requirement of the implantable medical device [fig. 2; par. 41; 22 detects a power value, and if power value is not within designated (needed/required) range then controller 11 adjusts the transmitted power thus the data from 2 indicates a real-time power requirement (“indicates” in the broad sense)].
Regarding claim 2, Pan discloses further comprising:
regulating the power transmitted via the power link using the real-time power requirement of the implantable medical device indicated in the data received from the implantable medical device [par. 41].
Regarding claim 3, Pan discloses wherein regulating the power transmitted via the power link comprises:
changing an amplitude of a carrier signal of the power link based on the real-time power requirement of the implantable medical device [par. 41-42; the power signal is adjusted (magnitude) of the inductive signal; inductive power transfer uses an alternating current signal (i.e. that is rectified at 232 of 2)].
Regarding claim 9, Pan discloses wherein transmitting the power to the implantable medical device via the power link comprises: using a continuous carrier signal to transmit the power [fig. 2; inductive power transfer uses an alternating signal (“time-varying”) to transmit power (continuous) while power is being transferred; pars. 38-39].
Regarding claim 10, Pan discloses wherein the continuous carrier signal is unmodulated [fig. 1; power over channel m1/m2 data between 15/25; data over separate channel so signal is not modulated with data].
Regarding claim 14, Pan discloses wherein the power link is a closely-coupled inductive link [fig. 2; pars. 7 & 37-38].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. 2016/0001085 in view of Kim et al. US PGPUB 2014/0152251.
Regarding claim 4, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the real-time power requirement is associated with a compliance voltage of the implantable medical device.
However, Kim discloses a medical device using inductive charging [par. 60; fig. 1] wherein the real-time power requirement is associated with a compliance voltage of the implantable medical device [par. 87 & 157; the receiver communicates to the transmitter a power amount received which is associated with loading and rated voltage].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the real-time power requirement is associated with a compliance voltage of the implantable medical device
for the purpose of allowing a source to compute the needed power amount and adjust as taught by Kim (par. 87).
Regarding claim 5, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the real-time power requirement is associated with a load of the implantable medical device.
However, Kim discloses a medical device using inductive charging [par. 60; fig. 1] wherein the real-time power requirement is associated with a load of the implantable medical device [par.86- 87 & 157; the receiver communicates to the transmitter a power amount received which is associated with loading and rated voltage].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the real-time power requirement is associated with a load of the implantable medical device for the purpose of allowing a source to compute the needed power amount and adjust as taught by Kim (par. 87).
Regarding claim 6, Pan does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
sensing the load at the implantable medical device; and
generating the data based on the sensing of the load.
However, Kim as applied in claim 5 discloses sensing the load at the implantable medical device; and generating the data based on the sensing of the load [fig. 1; voltage/current detection at the load; pars. 86-87].
Claim 7, 35-37, 40-42 and 46-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. 2016/0001085 in view of Cook et al. US PGPUB 2010/0127660.
Regarding claim 7, Pan discloses wherein transmitting the power to the implantable medical device via the power link comprises: transmitting only power via a first frequency channel [fig. 1; power over channel m1/m2 data between 15/25].
Pan does not explicitly disclose the frequency of the first channel is radio (RF).
However, Cook discloses a medical device charging via inductive charging wherein the frequency of the first channel is radio (RF) [pars. 45; claim 9; a RF frequency of about 6.78 MHz].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the frequency of the first channel is radio (RF) for the purpose of using ISM frequency bands, as taught by Cook (par. 45).
Regarding claim 35, Pan discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a frequency module configured to send power to an implantable medical device via a closely-coupled power link [pars. 33-34; fig. 2, 13 of external device 1 produces field M1 which induces M2 (close coupled power link) at 23 of implantable medical device 2];
a wireless module configured to receive power-regulation data from the implantable medical device, where the power-regulation data is received via a data link that is separate from the closely-coupled power link [fig. 2, 15 receives status info from 25, separate from the inductive power channel]; and
an external power regulator configured to regulate the power sent to the implantable medical device based on the power-regulation data received from the implantable medical device [fig. 2; par. 41; 22 detects a power value, and if power value is not within designated (needed/required) range then controller 11 adjusts the transmitted power thus the data from 2 indicates a real-time power requirement (“indicates” in the broad sense)].
Pan does not explicitly disclose the frequency is radio (RF).
However, Cook discloses a medical device charging via inductive charging wherein the frequency of the first channel is radio (RF) [pars. 45; claim 9; a RF frequency of about 6.78 MHz].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the frequency of the first channel is radio (RF) for the purpose of using ISM frequency bands, as taught by Cook (par. 45).
Regarding claim 36, Pan discloses wherein the power-regulation data indicates a real- time power requirement of the implantable medical device [fig. 2; par. 41; 22 detects a power value, and if power value is not within designated (needed/required) range then controller 11 adjusts the transmitted power thus the data from 2 indicates a real-time power requirement (“indicates” in the broad sense)].
Regarding claim 37, Pan discloses wherein the external power regulator is configured to change an amplitude of a carrier signal of the closely-coupled power link based on the power-regulation data [par. 41-42; the power signal is adjusted (magnitude) of the inductive signal; inductive power transfer uses an alternating current signal (i.e. that is rectified at 232 of 2)].
Regarding claim 40, Pan discloses wherein the frequency module is configured to transmit only power to the implantable medical device via a first frequency channel [fig. 1; power over channel m1/m2 data between 15/25].
Cook as applied in claim 35 discloses the frequency of the first channel is radio (RF).
Regarding claim 41, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the radio- frequency module is configured to transmit power and data to the implantable medical device via a first radio frequency channel.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless charging arts to modulate a power link to also have data, thus transmitting power and data via a first radio frequency channel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the radio- frequency module is configured to transmit power and data to the implantable medical device via a first radio frequency channel for the purpose reducing the amount of parts necessary and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 42, Pan discloses wherein the frequency module is configured to transmit power to the implantable medical device using a continuous carrier signal [fig. 2; inductive power transfer uses an alternating signal (“time-varying”) to transmit power (continuous) while power is being transferred; pars. 38-39].
Cook as applied in claim 35 discloses the frequency of the first channel is radio (RF).
Regarding claim 47, Pan discloses wherein the external device apparatus is an external charger configured to at least transfer power to the implantable medical device [fig. 2; 13 transmits power to 23, thus at least power transfer].
Regarding claim 48, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the implantable medical device is at least one of a cochlear implant or a bone conduction hearing implant.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless charging arts to charge medical devices which are cochlear implant or a bone conduction hearing implant. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the implantable medical device is at least one of a cochlear implant or a bone conduction hearing implant for the purpose of eliminating the need to remove the implant while charging and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 46, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the external device apparatus is a sound processor configured to transfer power and data to the implantable medical device.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless charging arts to use acoustic or ultrasound power transfer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the external device is a sound processor configured to transfer power and data to the implantable medical device for the purpose of using an alternative form of power transfer in applications sensitive to radio frequencies, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. 2016/0001085 in view of John et al. US PGPUB 2009/0058361.
Regarding claim 11, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the data from the implantable medical device via a data link comprises:
receiving the data at a frequency that is different from a frequency of the power link, wherein the difference in frequency is such that spectrums of the power link and the data link do not interfere with each other.
However, John discloses a medical device charging via inductive charging wherein receiving the data from the implantable medical device via a data link comprises: receiving the data at a frequency that is different from a frequency of the power link, wherein the difference in frequency is such that spectrums of the power link and the data link do not interfere with each other [par. 53 & 58].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein receiving the data from the implantable medical device via a data link comprises: receiving the data at a frequency that is different from a frequency of the power link, wherein the difference in frequency is such that spectrums of the power link and the data link do not interfere with each other for the purpose of separately transmitting power and data, as taught by John (par. 58).
Claim 8 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. 2016/0001085.
Regarding claim 8, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the power to the implantable medical device via the power link comprises: transmitting power and data via a first radio frequency channel.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless charging arts to modulate a power link to also have data, thus transmitting power and data via a first radio frequency channel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein transmitting the power to the implantable medical device via the power link comprises: transmitting power and data via a first radio frequency channel for the purpose reducing the amount of parts necessary and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the external device is a sound processor configured to transfer power and data to the implantable medical device.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless charging arts to use acoustic or ultrasound power transfer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the external device is a sound processor configured to transfer power and data to the implantable medical device for the purpose of using an alternative form of power transfer in applications sensitive to radio frequencies, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 16, Pan discloses wherein the external device is an external charger configured to at least transfer power to the implantable medical device [fig. 2; 13 transmits power to 23, thus at least power transfer].
Regarding claim 17, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the implantable medical device is at least one of a cochlear implant or a bone conduction hearing implant.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the wireless charging arts to charge medical devices which are cochlear implant or a bone conduction hearing implant. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the implantable medical device is at least one of a cochlear implant or a bone conduction hearing implant for the purpose of eliminating the need to remove the implant while charging and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 12 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. 2016/0001085 in view of Cook et al. US PGPUB 2010/0127660 and further in view of John et al. US PGPUB 2009/0058361.
Regarding claim 12, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the power to the implantable medical device via the power link comprises:
transmitting the power via a closely-coupled link operating at a frequency of approximately 6.78 megahertz (MHz), and wherein receiving the data from the implantable medical device via a communications link comprises: receiving the data at a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz).
However, Cook discloses a medical device charging via inductive charging
including transmitting the power via a closely-coupled link operating at a frequency of approximately 6.78 megahertz (MHz) [pars. 45; claim 9; a RF frequency of about 6.78 MHz].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include transmitting the power via a closely-coupled link operating at a frequency of approximately 6.78 megahertz (MHz) for the purpose of using ISM frequency bands, as taught by Cook (par. 45).
The combination of Pan and Cook does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the data from the implantable medical device via a communications link comprises: receiving the data at a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz).
However, John discloses a medical device charging via inductive charging wherein receiving the data from the implantable medical device via a communications link comprises: receiving the data at a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz) [par. 53 & 58].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein receiving the data from the implantable medical device via a communications link comprises: receiving the data at a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz) for the purpose of separately transmitting power and data, as taught by John (par. 58).
Regarding Claim 43, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the closely-coupled power link and the data link are frequency spaced from one another such that that data link does not interfere with operation of the closely-coupled power link
However, John discloses a medical device charging via inductive charging wherein the closely-coupled power link and the data link are frequency spaced from one another such that that data link does not interfere with operation of the closely-coupled power link [par. 53 & 58].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the closely-coupled power link and the data link are frequency spaced from one another such that that data link does not interfere with operation of the closely-coupled power link for the purpose of separately transmitting power and data, as taught by John (par. 58).
Regarding claim 44, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the closely- coupled power link has a frequency that is approximately 6.78 megahertz (MHz), and wherein the data link has a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz).
However, Cook as applied in claim 35 discloses wherein the closely- coupled power link has a frequency that is approximately 6.78 megahertz (MHz [pars. 45; claim 9; a RF frequency of about 6.78 MHz].
The combination of Pan and Cook does not explicitly disclose wherein the data link has a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz).
However, John discloses a medical device charging via inductive charging wherein the data link has a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz) [par. 53 & 58].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the data link has a frequency that is approximately 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz) the purpose of separately transmitting power and data, as taught by John (par. 58).
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. 2016/0001085 in view of Cook et al. US PGPUB 2010/0127660, and further in view of Kim et al. US PGPUB 2014/0152251.
Regarding claim 38, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the power-regulation data is associated with a compliance voltage of the implantable medical device.
However, Kim discloses a medical device using inductive charging [par. 60; fig. 1] wherein the power-regulation data is associated with a compliance voltage of the implantable medical device par. 87 & 157; the receiver communicates to the transmitter a power amount received which is associated with loading and rated voltage].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the power-regulation data is associated with a compliance voltage of the implantable medical device for the purpose of allowing a source to compute the needed power amount and adjust as taught by Kim (par. 87).
Regarding claim 39, Pan does not explicitly disclose wherein the power-regulation data is associated with a load of the implantable medical device.
However, Kim discloses a medical device using inductive charging [par. 60; fig. 1] wherein the power-regulation data is associated with a load of the implantable medical device [par.86- 87 & 157; the receiver communicates to the transmitter a power amount received which is associated with loading and rated voltage].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan to further include wherein the power-regulation data is associated with a load of the implantable medical device for the purpose of allowing a source to compute the needed power amount and adjust as taught by Kim (par. 87).
Conclusion
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859