DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 16, 24, 25, 26, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (US 2016/0112842 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, 26
Sun discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (See [0006]; mobile terminal), comprising:
a processor (See [0006]; a mobile terminal merely comprises a processor) configured to:
determine a coverage gap (See [0006-0007]; [0032-0033]; determining a list of blind areas around the current location) based on an event trigger (See [0010]; [0040]; when the received wireless signal strength hops from a value less than or equal to a preset blind area signal strength threshold value to a value greater than the preset blind area signal strength threshold value);
transmit a coverage gap report (See [0007]; [0017]; [0036]; [0052]; a blind area list information determination module, configured to: according to signal strength around the current location of the mobile terminal, determine a list of blind areas around the current location);
based on the determination of the coverage gap (See [0006-0007]; [0032-0033]; determining a list of blind areas around the current location),
wherein the coverage gap report (See [0006-0007]; [0032-0033]; determining a list of blind areas around the current location) includes at least an indication that
the WTRU has detected the coverage gap (See [0006-0007]; [0032-0033]; determining a list of blind areas around the current location),
when the WTRU will enter the coverage gap (See [0008]; [0039]; displaying when UE is moving in real time), and
a duration of the coverage gap (See [0013]; [0023]; [0039]; [0041]; analysis is performed in real time and distance of blind area is recorded); and
based on the WTRU entering the coverage gap (See [0006-0007]; [0032-0033]; determining a list of blind areas around the current location),
not send an uplink (UL) transmission (See [0055-0056]; [0059-0061]; blind area is determined by not detecting uplink signals from UE)
(The limitation does not carry any weight as it is not positively stated, however for compact prosecution, it will be treated as per examiner own interpretation).
Regarding Claim 24, 34
Sun teaches all the features with respect to claim 16, 26 and Sun further teaches
wherein the coverage gap report further includes
an incoming target ID (See [0006-0007]; [0032-0033]; [0051-0052]; a list of blind areas around the current location is identified)
or
a cell ID .
(The term “or” is used between limitations)
Regarding Claim 25, 35
Sun teaches all the features with respect to claim 16, 26 and Sun further teaches
wherein the event trigger is
a start (See [0010]; [0040]; detect signal strength to be less than a threshold value) or
an expiration of a timer .
(The term “or” is used between limitations)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-23 and 27-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2016/0112842 A1) in view of Banavar (US 7603115 B2).
Regarding Claim 17, 27
Sun teaches all the features with respect to claim 16, 26
But Sun fails to explicitly recite
suspend one or more radio resource control (RRC) timers and corresponding actions;
or
suspend radio link monitoring.
However in an analogous art,
Banavar teaches about UE loosing connection with a network system due to detected coverage gap (See (Column 1, line 65 to Column 2, line 4); column 3, lines (57-67); Connection information is distributed to other base stations to automatically reconnect parties upon exiting the coverage gap after losing connection; The transmission/reception of data may be ceased until the reconnection can be made).
Sun and Banavar are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular communication technology. Sun teaches about a UE detecting coverage gap in an environment due low signal strength measurement. Banavar teaches about UE loosing connection with a network system due to detected coverage gap and informing all parties about failure. Sun could use Banavar features in order to not waste power in system monitoring for a determine period and reconnect upon calculated reconnection time. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the claim to combine Sun and Banavar as to obtain an efficient cellular communication system.
(The term “or” is used between limitations)
Regarding Claim 18, 28
Sun teaches all the features with respect to claim 16, 26
But Sun fails to explicitly recite
receive a first message
wherein the first message indicates at least a condition to resume in-coverage operation
However in an analogous art,
Banavar teaches
receive a first message (See Column 3, lines (58-61); prompting the user to select an option in real-time),
wherein the first message indicates at least a condition to resume in-coverage operation (See Column 3, lines (5-10); (39-47); (58-61); options is presented to resume call associated with technical condition such as gap length and signal strength).
Sun and Banavar are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular communication technology. Sun teaches about a UE detecting coverage gap in an environment due low signal strength measurement. Banavar teaches about receive a first message wherein the first message indicates at least a condition to resume in-coverage operation . Sun could use Banavar features in order to not waste power in system monitoring for a determine period and reconnect upon an acceptable condition. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the claim to combine Sun and Banavar as to obtain an efficient cellular communication system.
Regarding Claim 19, 29
Sun and Banavar teach all the features with respect to claim 18, 28 and Banavar further teaches
based on the condition to resume in-coverage operation being satisfied (See Column 3, lines (5-10); (39-47); (58-61); options is presented to resume call associated with technical condition such as gap length and signal strength).
send an UL transmission (See Fig.3(340); Column 4,lines (7-10); When the mobile party returns to an area with communication coverage (presumably in a "next" cell), the communicating parties are reconnected in block 340 and their conversation may continue).
Regarding Claim 20, 30
Sun and Banavar teach all the features with respect to claim 19, 29 and Banavar further teaches
based on the condition to resume in-coverage operation being satisfied (See Column 3, lines (5-10); (39-47); (58-61); options is presented to resume call associated with technical condition such as gap length and signal strength).
resume one or more RRC timers and corresponding actions;
or
resume radio link monitoring (See Column 4, lines (7-9); When the mobile party returns to an area with communication coverage (presumably in a "next" cell), the communicating parties are reconnected).
(The term “or” is used between limitations)
Regarding Claim 21, 31
Sun and Banavar teach all the features with respect to claim 18, 28 and Banavar further teaches
wherein the condition to resume in-coverage operation includes (See Column 4, lines (7-9); When the mobile party returns to an area with communication coverage (presumably in a "next" cell), the communicating parties are reconnected).
an absolute universal time coordinated (UTC) being reached (See Column 3, lines (16-55); condition on gap length)
or
a target measurement being above a threshold (See Column 3, lines (5-11); Column 4, lines (7-10); measurement above threshold is considered as no gap and therefore connection can be resume).
Regarding Claim 22, 32
Sun and Banavar teach all the features with respect to claim 18, 28 and Banavar further teaches
wherein: the first message further indicates a target cell configuration (See (Column 3, lines (5-10); (15-22); (58-61); condition to resume communication in different cells), and
based on the condition to resume in-coverage operation being satisfied (See Column 3, lines (5-10); (39-47); (58-61); options is presented to resume call associated with technical condition such as gap length and signal strength), the processor is further configured to apply the target cell configuration and synchronize to a target cell (See Column 4; lines (1-15); mobile apply configuration to restore connection with target cell).
Regarding Claim 23, 33
Sun and Banavar teach all the features with respect to claim 22, 32 and Banavar further teaches
transmit a second message (See Column 4; lines (7-15); Information distribution may include a signal or signals sent to a current tower prior to leaving a base station area or cell area vicinity),
wherein the second message is transmitted to the target cell (See Column 4; lines (7-15); The current tower can then distribute the information to "next" cells, base stations or towers, which will in tum be ready to reconnect the call when possible). .
Note:
US 2023/0043459 A1 can be considered as prior art but was not used in this rejection.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646