Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such claim limitation (s) is/are: “recognition means” and “activation means” in claim 1, and “updating means” in claim 3.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “accessory members” and “detection members” in claim 2.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As noticed in page 4, lines 22-25, and page 5, lines 2-6, the activation means can comprise one or more accessory members physically connectable to the machine, and the recognition means can comprise detection members and/or sensors suitable to detect the presence of a respective accessory member…the activation means can comprise one or more computer codes, each of which identifies one or more of the additional operating functions. In this case, the recognition means can comprise or consist of a user interface by means of which the computer code can be received, for example by means of a code reader, an alphanumeric keyboard, or a wireless transmission. As noticed in page 10, lines 29-33 and page 11, lines 1-5, the updating means 38 can be integrated in the detection members 41, 42 or even be elements separate from them, but suitable to supply to the processor 33 information regarding the fact that one of the accessory members 43, 44 has been connected to machine 10 for the first time, so as to determine the activation or the availability of the respective packet of data or programs. The updating means 38 can also be integrated in the processor 33 itself, and be configured to identify when an activation mean 40 is connected to or associated with the machine 10 for the first time, or possibly even after a certain time interval, so as to determine the activation or updating, respectively, of the specific packet of data or programs. As noticed in page 11, lines 6-10, the detection members 41 and 42 are substantially of a known type, such as sensors or micro-switches for example, and each one is configured to detect, or recognize, a specific accessory member, which can be, by way of example, a specific jug 43, suitable to contain milk and having a certain shape and size, or a steam delivery lance 44.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “electronic memory means” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 9, the limitation “said machine (10), said machine” should read “said machine”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the normal operation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barnett (US 2016/0287004).
Regarding claim 1, Barnett teaches a machine (100) for preparing beverages, the machine comprising: a brewing unit configured to prepare at least one certain beverage (para. 0025), a hydraulic circuit to feed water to said brewing unit (as shown in Fig. 2; para. 0032-0036), a delivery unit configured to deliver said certain beverage (para. 0026), a processor (190) operatively connected to said brewing unit, to said hydraulic circuit and to said delivery unit to control and command a drive of said brewing unit, said hydraulic circuit and said delivery unit (para. 0030-0031; 0051; 0114-0116; as shown in Fig. 5 and 13), electronic memory means (530) connected to said processor and configured to store packets of data and programs relating to operating functions associated with said beverages (para. 0051-0053; as shown in Fig. 5), and a user interface (520) communicating with said processor to select said certain beverage (para. 0050-0051; as shown in Fig. 5), said machine further comprising: recognition means operatively connected to said processor (para. 0040-0042; 0046-0047; proximity sensor 375, 376 senses proximity of magnet 342 and therefore the position of paddle 116) and configured to recognize a presence of at least one of one or several activation means (para. 0046-0047; the correct position of the paddle 116 is sensed and the controller begins a programmed sequence of outputs to dispense coffee) which are at least temporarily connected to or associated with said machine (para. 0046-0047; the paddle 116 is temporarily connected), wherein with each of said activation means there is associated additional packets of data and programs relating to additional operating functions associated with said activation means (para. 0046-0048) and wherein said recognition means are configured to send a signal to said processor at least following a first recognition of the presence of one of said activation means (para. 0046-0048), and said processor is configured to activate or make available in said electronic memory means an additional packet of data and programs relating to additional operating functions associated with said recognized activation means (para. 0046-0048).
Regarding claim 2, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 1, wherein said activation means comprise one or more accessory members, each suitable to perform its own operating functions (para. 0046-0048), and said recognition means comprise one or more detection members (375, 376), each configured to detect the presence of a specific accessory member (para. 0046-0048).
Regarding claim 3, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 2, wherein said recognition means comprise both said detection members suitable to recognize said specific accessory member each time it is connected to said machine (para. 0040-0042; 0046-0047; proximity sensor 375, 376 senses proximity of magnet 342 and therefore the position of paddle 116), and also updating means suitable to cooperate with said detection means and said processor at least when said accessory member is connected to said machine for a first time to determine the activation of a respective packet of data and programs and therefore the updating of said machine with the operating functions associated with said recognized accessory member (para. 0046-0048).
Regarding claim 4, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 1, wherein said activation means comprise one or more computer codes, identifying said additional operating functions (para. 0052-0056), and said recognition means comprise a user interface by means of which said computer code is received and transmitted to said processor (para. 0052-0056).
Regarding claim 5, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 1, wherein said electronic memory means are configured to store said additional packets of data and programs (para. 0051-0053).
Regarding claim 6, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 1, wherein said additional packets of data and programs are already pre-stored in said electronic memory means (para. 0051-0053).
Regarding claim 7, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 1, wherein in said electronic memory means there are stored both packets of data and programs configured to be executed during the normal operation of said machine in a basic configuration thereof, and also additional packets of data and programs which are in a dormant status and temporarily deactivated in said basic configuration and are configured to be made available by said processor at the first recognition of a specific activation mean in an updated configuration of said machine (as shown in Fig. 5; para. 0050-0056).
Regarding claim 8, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 1, in which said processor, during use, is connected to a communication network, wherein said processor is programmed to connect automatically, or selectively, to said communication network to download or update said additional packets of data and programs when said additional packets of data and programs are not already pre-stored in said electronic memory means, or are not updated (para. 0114-0116).
Regarding claim 9, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 1, wherein said processor is programmed, or programmable, to activate said additional operating functions and command the preparation and delivery of one or more additional beverages and/or other functions relating to said certain beverage, when said recognition means recognize, or detect the presence of, at least a specific one of said activation means, making a possibility of selecting said one or more additional beverages or said other functions associated with said certain beverage accessible to the user, by means of said user interface (para. 0092-0095).
Regarding claim 10, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 2, said machine further comprising one or more housing seatings configured to each house a specific one of said one or more accessory members and in correspondence with which there are disposed respective detection members (para. 0040-0042; 0046-0047; as shown in Fig. 3-4C).
Regarding claim 11, Barnett teaches the machine as in claim 2, wherein said accessory members comprise at least one of either a jug suitable to contain milk, or a steam delivery lance, and said additional packets of data or programs are associated with operating functions suitable for the preparation of milk foam and/or steam (para. 0002; 0032).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0380529, US 2019/0223653 and TWM528703.
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/14/2026
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761