DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
The claim set contains a multiple grammatical and antecedent basis errors in addition to improper introduction of new elements into a claim set. Below the examiner has pointed to multiple examples. However, in an effort to expedite prosecution the applicant is request to thoroughly review the claims for additional errors not explicitly pointed to herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: each claim begins with “Device”, claim 1 should read “A device” while the dependent claims read “The device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites multiple limitations in which a new elements must be introduced with indefinite articles (a or an) first. For instance applicant recites “several cells” instead of for instance “a plurality of cells”. Or “its electrolytic membrane”, “with catalytic electrodes”, “each bipolar disc”, etc. When these terms are introduced they need to have an indefinite article present, such as, “an electrolytic membrane”, “a catalytic electrode”, “a bipolar disc” or “a plurality of bipolar discs”.
Additional examples are present and applicant must make appropriate corrections throughout all independent and dependent claims or else a 112 rejection may be appropriate.
Claims 2-3 recite “EL” but no clarification is provided within the claims as to what “EL” is. The abbreviation needs to be defined or replaced. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “the said water” this should just read “the water”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “the aforementioned bipolar discs” the word aforementioned is not needed please remove. Appropriate correction is required. See 35 USC § 112 below for additional corrections.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “the said water” this should just read “the channels”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 8-9 uses the reference word “said” however, the other claims use the word “the” . Use of terminology should be consistent throughout, please select either “the” or “said”. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 3, 6-7, and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the cell packets" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally review for indefinite articles (a/an).
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the protective tube", “the support cylinder”, and “the cell packets” in lines 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally review for indefinite articles (a/an).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said membrane disc" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the gas channel", “the said channels to and from the cell”, and “the inner periphery” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the room” in lines 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In this instance lines 3-4 recites “and the water is directed outwards in channels to each collection channel on the periphery. It is unclear what water, channels, and collection channels are being referenced. The claim is towards a gas separator but the only water and channels that have been previous references are directed in reference to the bipolar plates of the invention.
The term “high pressure” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how one would determine what is a high pressure. Clear bounds are needed to define what high pressure and temperature is or else any elevated pressure or temperature could read on “high”.
The term “high pressure and temperature” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high pressure and temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how one would determine what is a high pressure or a high temperature. Clear bounds are needed to define what high pressure and temperature is or else any elevated pressure or temperature could read on “high”.
The term “low or high temperature” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low or high temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is not a clear boundary for what low or high temperature includes. It is additionally unclear if low or high temperature is defined within a range such that a “medium” temperature exists but is not claimed, or, is all temperature either “high” or “low”.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “Device for producing DC electricity and water with supplied hydrogen and oxygen as well as where the device is arranged to be reversed to produce hydrogen and oxygen by supply of water and DC current”
The examiner notes that fuel cells and electrolyzers are known products that produce DC electricity and water with supplied hydrogen and oxygen (fuel cell) as well as produce hydrogen and oxygen from DC current and water. In their instant specification, applicant additionally teaches of fuel cells and electrolyzers being used to produce DC current and water from hydrogen and oxygen (fuel cell) as well as produce hydrogen and oxygen from DC current and water (electrolyzer) [0013-0017, instant spec].
As such, the examiner notes that fuel cells and electrolyzers read on a “Device for producing DC electricity and water with supplied hydrogen and oxygen as well as where the device is arranged to be reversed to produce hydrogen and oxygen by supply of water and DC current”
Claim 1 line 18-19 recites “as water is produced in the cells and ejected from the cells and conducted via channels to outlet via a gland-box”.
The instant specification notes that the gland-box is located at the axis of rotation and is used to trap water discharged during rotation of the cells [0015]. As such, the examiner is considering a stuffing box to read on a gland-box. A stuffing box is commonly known in the art to be a sealing material that helps trap water and lubricate moving (e.g. via rotation) shafts and may be used to control the temperature of the moving/rotating shaft. Glands are used in stuffing boxes as a means of applying pressure to the sealing material and may possess hollow cavity to allow for the flow of a liquid to further help regulate temperature.
See Pump Characteristics and Applications, second edition, pages 333-338 for additional information.
Claim 6 line 3 recites the use of a “vane”. There is not a clear definition as to what this is, as such the examiner is including the definition of “vane” as part of the BRI of the claimed limitation
Vane - a thin flat or curved object that is rotated about an axis by a flow of fluid or that rotates to cause a fluid to flow or that redirects a flow of fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodmann (US20190326622A1) and in view of Choi (KR20210103693A), Tamminen (US4684585A), and Volk (Pump Characteristics and Applications, second edition, pages 333-338).
Regarding claim 1, Brodmann discloses a device for producing DC electricity and water with supplied hydrogen and oxygen (fuel cell) [0001-0002, 0013, 0027, 0036, 0088-0089, Brodmann], as well as where the device is arranged to be reversed to produce hydrogen and oxygen by supply of water and DC current (electrolyzer) [0091, Brodmann], an inlet (24) for hydrogen leading to hydrogen channels to one side electrodes in the cell pack an inlet/outlet (20/21) for oxygen leading to oxygen channels to the other side electrodes in the cell pack [0088-0089, Brodmann], in that at least one bipolar cell pack is designed as a hollow cylinder [0016, 0022, 0070-0071, Brodmann], as water is produced in the cells and ejected from the cells and conducted via channels to outlet [0027, 0036-0037, Brodmann].
Brodmann further teaches where the device includes, at least one converter aligned with several cells (2) [0014-0015, Brodmann teaches that there may be two or more cells which reads on “several”] each with its ion-conducting (“electrolytic”) membrane (47) in contact on each side with catalytic electrodes in contact with each bipolar disc [0058, 0077, Brodmann], and current insulating sealing discs (gaskets, 29) [0079, 0099, Brodmann].
The examiner notes that an elastic material such as a gasket is placed at the outer periphery of the cell to absorb pressure and prevent it from entering the cell [0040, 0079, Brodmann]. Gaskets made of elastic materials are additionally made from electrically insulating materials such as silicone and rubbers. As such, gasket made of elastic material reads on an “insulating sealing disc”.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
Brodmann further teaches where the device either is arranged to either produce electrical energy (“DC current”) that is conducted through the cell pack via at least one positive disc and via at least one negative disc [0067, 0074, 0088-0090, Brodmann], or produce hydrogen and oxygen in the cells by supply of water and DC current [0091, Brodmann].
Brodmann’s teachings of the operation of a fuel cell in which a cathode and anode (positive and negative disc) is used to ionize a chemical fuel (converts chemical energy) and produces electrical energy (“DC current”). This reads on the above limitations.
For clarity of the record, the examiner notes that Brodmann teaches of using a disc shape metal plate with an inlet and outlet for fuel/oxidant/water in addition to a plurality of channels/recesses through which the fuel/oxidant/water flows through [0081, 0083-0085, 0088-0089, Brodmann]. While Brodmann does not explicitly use the lexicography of “bipolar” metal disc, the descriptions of the metal discs of Brodmann matches that commonly associated with a “bipolar” metal disc that is prevalently used in fuel cells. It is the examiner’s present stance that these plates of Brodmann read on a “bipolar” disk. However, should the applicant disagree with this, and in the interest of compact prosecution. The examiner notes below that it would be obvious to use a metal disc that is explicitly described as a “bipolar” metal disk.
Broadman is explicitly silent to 1) the use of a “bipolar” cell or a “bipolar disk” in the fuel cell/electrolyzer. 2) the device being used to rotate the cell pack. 3) the use of brushes to connect the electrodes to a joined circuit. 4) the use of a gland-box.
In regards to 1) and 2) Choi teaches of a bipolar plate used to make a bipolar cell that is used in a fuel cell and produces electrical energy and water from oxygen and hydrogen [0001-0002, 0005-0006, 0010, 0035, Choi], where the fuel cell is designed to rotate as a means of improving the discharge of water from channels (20) in the bipolar plate [0021, 0031, 0054, Choi].
Prior to the effective filing date, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill within the arts to modify Broadman such that the fuel cell/electrolyzer used a bipolar cell with bipolar plates designed to rotate. Doing so provides one with known plates containing inlets/outlets for fuel/oxidant/water to flow into and out of the cell along with a plurality of channels for the fuel/oxidant/water to flow through the cell [abstract, 0006, 0012, Choi], while the rotation allow for centrifugal force to assist with the discharge of water through the channels [0020-0021, Choi].
In regards to 3) Tamminen teaches of a electrochemical generator apparatus (e.g. fuel cell) that rotates via a centrifugal rotor to generate an acceleration force [col 1 line 5-10, Tamminen]. The bipolar electrode plates are connected in series via contact brushes (18, 22) connected to the positive and negative terminals of the electrochemical generator apparatus [col 3 line 57-col 4 line 5, Tamminen’s teachings read on “brushes that put the electrodes in contact with a joined circuit”].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Brodmann such that brushes were used to put the electrodes in contact with a joined circuit. Doing so would allow for one to connect multiple cells allowing them to work together in series [col 3 line 57-col 4 line 5, Tamminen].
In regards to 4) Volk teaches of a common sealing material known as a stuffing box (“gland-box”) that is used to surround the circumference of moving and/or rotating shafts [Volk, III, III.A, III.C]. The stuffing box may allow for the introduction of liquid and provide a path for the liquid to flow through between the shaft and the stuffing box providing cooling and lubrication [Volk, III.A, III.C]. Glands may additionally be used to apply pressure to the sleeve to help control the leak [Volk III.C, III.D].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that if a rotating shaft (such as a stack of rotating bipolar plates) was producing a liquid than a sealing material such as a stuffing box/gland-box may be used to surround this rotating shaft and provide a means of trapping the water and allowing for it to flow between the shaft and gland-box, see MPEP 2143.I.A.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Brodmann such that as water is produced in the cells and conducted via channels to an outlet via a gland box. Doing so would allow for one to use a sealing material known to be able to trap liquids introduced between the rotating shaft and sealing material and allow for them to flow between the two objects and leak to an outlet [Volk, III-III.D].
Regarding claim 2, Modified Brodmann discloses the device is adapted to high pressure [0004, 0025, Brodmann teaches the pressure inside the cells may reach up to 10 bar and further notes that any operating pressure can be achieved on the cell. This reads on “high pressure”], each comprising its positive and negative brushes connected to DC current to/from the cell packets via an outer circuit [col 3 line 57-col 4 line 5, Tamminen], with a positive brush being in contact with an EL conductive bolt in contact with a positive bipolar disc in contact with a cell pack on each side [0074, fig. 1 Brodmann; col 3 line 57-col 4 line 5, Tamminen], where the cell packets of their other ends are further in contact with a common negative ground potential [0074, fig. 1 Brodmann; col 3 line 57-col 4 line 5, Tamminen].
For clarity of the record, modified Brodmann teaches of electrical contacts (6, 7) serving as positive (“EL conductive bolt”) and negative (“common negative ground potential”) terminals at either ends of the fuel cell [0074, fig. 1, Brodmann]. It is further noted that a first brush is used to connect the positive terminal and a second brush is used to connect the negative terminal.
Regarding claim 8, modified Brodmann discloses the device, where said electrodes are catalytically coated [0058, Brodmann].
Regarding claim 9, modified Brodmann discloses the device, where said membrane is H+ proton conductive [0090, Brodmann]
Brodmann is explicitly silent to if the membrane includes a liquid electrolyte and/or polymer or ceramic material.
However, Choi teaches that fuel cells may a polymer electrolyte membrane, a phosphoric acid (liquid electrolyte) fuel cell, or a solid oxide (ceramic material) fuel cell [0003, Choi]. Choi additionally uses a polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cell [0004, 0049, Choi] .
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify the ion-conducting membrane of Brodmann such that it includes a liquid electrolyte and/or polymer or ceramic material. As these are known materials to be associated with a fuel cell assembly [0003, Choi]
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Brodmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leger (US20020074888A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Brodmann discloses the device, further comprising an electrically insulating support frame (10, “EL insulating protection tube”) with an outer insulating rings (10a, 10b; “EL insulating end cap”) [0070-0071, fig. 3, Brodmann], where air is directed to and from each end by the protective tube [0081, 0088-0089, fig. 3-4, Brodmann].
Brodmann teaches of the passage of air (such as hydrogen and oxygen) directed through passageways 22, 23, 36, 37 which extend through the ends of the “protective tube”.
Volk teaches that the stuffing box (“gland-box”) may have glands with hollow cavities that allows for the introduction of a cooling liquid to be used as a means for controlling temperature [Volk, III.D]. The examiner notes that the stuffing box (“gland-box”) is at the periphery of the fuel cell/support center.
Brodmann also teaches that one may use a nozzle as a means of allowing for an inlet opening [0089, Brodmann].
One of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that a nozzle is a known material that may be used as an inlet opening and as such could be used to allow for a cooling fluid to flow into a hollow cavity/tube. Doing so is necessary to allow for flowing water to be used as a heat sink, see MPEP 2143.I.A.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Brodmann such that at number of nozzles were used to direct a temperature control fluid to the periphery of the fuel cell/support center to balance the temperature of the cell packets. Doing so is a matter of combining known methods in the art to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2143.I.A
Modified Brodmann is silent the use of a stator disc.
However, Leger teaches of a shaft (300) and fuel cell plates (800) that are encircled by a stator (400) with a rotor (500) [0017-0018, Fig. 1, Leger].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Broadmann such that a stator disc was used to provide support for the rotating fuel cell. Incorporating a stator with a rotor is a known means for inducing rotation of a fuel cell and while avoiding known structural shortcomings of previous rotating fuel cells [0005-0006, fig. 1, Leger].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Brodmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bossel (US6344290B1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Broadmann teaches of high temperature electrolyzers and high pressure electrolyzers and fuel cells [0004, 0025, 0046, Broadmann]. These teachings read on the limitation of “and the device is adapted to high pressure and temperature”.
Broadmann is explicitly silent to the form of the water as it is discharged.
The examiner notes that if water is exposed to high temperatures then it will inherently form water vapor as it transforms into a gas.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
Bossel teaches of a fuel cell with a high-temeprature electrolyte [abstract, col. 3 line 18-20, col 11 line 1-15, Bossel]. Where the water discharge is in the form of water vapor [col 7 line 40-60, Bossel].
Prior to the effective filing date, Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Broadmann such that the high temperature device discharged water was in the form of water vapor. As water will inherently transform into water vapor when exposed to elevated temperatures, see MPEP 2112.II.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Brodmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021 (Wikipedia page on fuel cells during Oct. 2021).
Regarding claim 5, modified Brodmann discloses the device where the bipolar discs form electrodes with channels (20, “radial shovels”) that are axially bent backwards in the direction of rotation [0012, 0019-0021, 0054 fig. 1, Choi].
The examiner notes that Choi’s description of centrifugal force acting on the fuel/oxidant/water to allow for a smoother flow informs one of the clockwise direction of rotation for the electrode in figure 1. Otherwise, if both the direction of the channels and rotation were counter-clockwise then the direction of rotation and direction of the channels would work against each other and inhibit a smooth flow.
Annotated fig. 1, Choi
Modified Brodmann additionally teaches of the surface of the bipolar discs towards the cells is porous (27, 28) and in contact with an ion-conducting membrane (47) [0077, Broadmann].
Modified Broadmann is silent to the use of an electrolyte and explicitly silent to the use of a liquid electrolyte.
However, prior to the effective filing date, it was common knowledge that all fuel cells contain an electrolyte that allows for the movement of ions between the two sides of the cell [Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021]. Among the known types of fuel cells include phosphoric acid (first introduced in 1961) and alkaline (first introduce in 1959) [Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021]. Both phosphoric acid and alkaline electrolytes are known aqueous/liquid electrolytes that are additionally able to operate at temperatures required to turn water into water vapor (100+oC) [Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Broadmann such that either a phosphoric acid or alkaline electrolyte was used. Doing so provides an electrolyte capable of conducting ions between the two sides of the fuel cell [Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Brodmann as applied to claim 1 above, and as evidenced by (Kim, Choi, et. al.; DOI: 10.3390/en15082843).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Brodmann discloses the use of a membrane that is in contact with either electrodes on either side [0058, Brodmann].
The examiner notes that a “diaphragm” is a known name for a separator/membrane. As such, the examiner notes that a separator and/or membrane read on a “diaphragm”.
However, modified Broadman is silent to 1) the membrane being a diaphragm disc , 2) a liquid electrolyte, 3) the disc being equipped with axial backward-bent vanes.
In regards to 1) Modified Brodmann uses that bipolar plate of Choi, which itself is in the shape of a disc and uses a membrane/separator/diaphragm (110) between the two bipolar discs (120) [0005, fig. 3, Choi].
Prior to the effective filing date, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill within the arts to modify Brodmann such that the membrane/separator/diaphragm with in the same disc shape as that of the electrode plates. Doing so would allow for the membrane/separator/diaphragm to be placed between the electrodes and prevent the surface of the two electrodes from coming in contact with one another [fig. 3, Choi].
In regards to 2) as stated above in the rejection of claim 5, the use of liquid electrolytes (e.g. phosphoric acid, alkaline) are common and well known within the arts [Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021]. The electrolyte spans between the two electrodes and allows for ions to move between the two electrodes [Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021].
The examiner notes that if both a liquid electrolyte and membrane/separator/diaphragm are between the two electrodes then the electrolyte and membrane would be in contact with one another allowing for the membrane to be kept wet.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Broadmann such that either a phosphoric acid or alkaline electrolyte was used. Doing so provides an electrolyte capable of conducting ions between the two sides of the fuel cell [Wikipedia – Fuel Cells 10/2021].
In regards to 3) the examiner notes that the electrode of Choi possess both channels (20) and ribs (30, “vanes”) that are axially backward-bent (see rejection of claim 5 for additional discussion of “axially backward-bent”) [fig. 2, Kim, Choi, et. al.]. The curved nature of the channels and ribs/vanes works with the centrifugal force generated by the rotation of the electrode such that the concentration of water is forced to the outer edge of the electrode [fig. 6, Kim, Choi, et. al.].
As such, one of ordinary skill within the arts would understand that in a rotating disc, the rotation of the curved channels/vanes inherently push water to the edge of the disks surface. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
Furthermore, prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that a disc shaped bipolar plate with channels and ribs/vanes generates centrifugal force during rotation leading to smoother discharge water [0021, Choi]. Then a set of similar ribs/vanes would generate centrifugal force during rotation of a disc shaped separator leading to a smoother discharge of water, see MPEP 2112.II.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Broadmann such that the membrane/diaphragm was equipped with axially backward-bent vanes in the direction of rotation. Doing so provides one with the ability to smoothly discharge water and increase efficiency of electric energy production [0021, Choi].
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP 2112.I.
Annotated fig. 2 and 6 of Kim, Choi, et. al showing the shape and number of channels along with water concentration on the discs (red/orange = higher; blue/green = lower).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Brodmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gurau (US20050191541A).
Regarding claim 7, modified Brodmann discloses where the said channels (22, 23, 36, 37) to/from the cells are radial [0075, 0088-0089, fig. 4, Brodmann].
However, modified Brodmann is silent to 1) the channels being backward bent in the direction of rotation. 2) where the gas channels enter the inner periphery of associated axial collection channels and the water/steam channels enter the outer periphery of associated axial collection channels.
In regards to 1) as discussed above in the rejection of claim 5 and claim 6, one may improve that mass transportation of a medium (e.g. water, fuel, oxidant) by incorporating curved channels through which through which the medium may flow and then by rotating the channel about an axis a centrifugal force is introduced and acts on the medium allowing for a more smooth flow through of the medium [0021, Choi; see fig. 6 Kim, Choi for information on the inherency of this].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that by having the channels to/from the cells (22, 23, 36, 37) be radially bent backwards in the direction of rotation one may inherently improve the mass transportation of the medium through the channel.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Brodmann such that the channels to/from the cells were backwards bent in the direction of rotation. Doing so introduces a centrifugal force upon rotation that improves mass transportation and allow for a more smooth flow of the medium [0021, Choi; see fig. 6 Kim, Choi for information on the inherency of this].
In regards to 2) Gurau teaches of a fuel cell with a disc shaped bipolar electrode plate (511) with a high-pressure supply passage (512, “gas channel”) at an inner periphery of the disk and exhaust passages (535, “water/steam channel”) at an outer periphery of the disk [0045, fig. 5, Gurau].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Broadmann such that the gas channels enter the inner periphery and the water/steam channels enter the outer periphery. Doing so is a known arrangement of for a “gas chamber” and a “water/steam channel” [fig. 5, Gurau].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Brodmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Joos (US20030091880A1).
Regarding claim 10 modified Brodmann is silent to 1) where the room in the center within at least one cell pack is arranged to contain two gas separators, one for hydrogen and one for oxygen, 2) where the gases are directed in the center and in/out from each separator, 3) and the water is directed outwards in channels to each collection channel on the periphery.
In regards to 1) , Joos discloses a regenerative fuel cell (112)/electrolyzer (116) system with hydrogen (124) and oxygen (126) gas storage tank that supply the two gases via supply lines (128, Hydrogen; 130, Oxygen) in addition to a water storage tank (114) [0039, fig. 1, Joos]. Throughout the regenerative system hydrogen is passed through a liquid-gas separator (122) [0039, fig. 1, Joos], while oxygen is passed through a separate liquid-gas separator (not shown) [0076, Joos].
The examiner notes that the location of the separators is a matter of mere rearrangement of parts as the location does not change the operating principle at play, see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.
In regards to 2) Joos teaches that the gas goes through a liquid-gas separator [0039, 0076, Joos].
The examiner notes that direction in which the gasses are directed to is a matter of rearrangement of parts and engineering preference as it does not change the operating principle of using a liquid-gas separator to separate a liquid and a gas, see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.
Additionally, the examiner notes that one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that it would that it would be obvious to try to have the gas directed to the center of the liquid/gas separator, see MPEP 2143.I.E. One of ordinary skill would recognize that there are a finite number of places on the liquid-gas separator that the stream may be directed to: 1) the center of the separator, 2) the edge of the separator, 3) the space between the center and the edge. One of ordinary skill would additionally understand that directing the stream to the edge would cause water/gas to be more concentrated in that location leaving the center and opposing edge exposed to a lower concentration. Conversely, directing the stream to the center of the separator would provide for a more uniform distribution across the separator.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Broadmann such that:
1) utilize a first and second liquid-gas separator to separate hydrogen and oxygen from a stream of water. Doing so will allow for one to separate the gases from a liquid allowing them to be stored in their respective tanks [0039-0076, Joos]. One would also find it obvious to locate the separators in the room in the center within at least one cell pack is arranged as a matter of mere rearrangement of parts, see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.
2) the gasses be directed to the center and in/out from each separator as this would allow for the gas to go through the liquid-gas separator [0039, 0076, Joos]. Additionally, directing the stream towards the center would be an obvious to try rearrangement of parts that allows for one to more uniformly use the separator, see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C and MPEP 2143.I.E
In regards to 3) applicant claims “and the water is directed outwards in channels to each collection channel on the periphery.” It is unclear if this is the water from the fuel cell, electrolyzer, or water separated from gas.
In an effort to expedite prosecution the examiner notes that much of the art cited uses channels/lines/pathways to move and direct water to a desired location.
As such, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that for water generated during operation (e.g. liquid-gas separator) may be directed via channels/lines in a direction outward to a periphery area from the area it was generated. Doing so would allow for “old” water to be removed so “new” water may replace it., see MPEP 2143.I.A.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Brodmann such that the water is directed outwards in channels to each collection channel on the periphery. As the use of channels to direct water outwards to a collection channel at a periphery is knowledge within the arts and yields predictable results, see MPEP 2143.I.A.
Conclusion
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724