DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112/101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 provides for the use of a composition, but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd. App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng et al. (WO 2019/213004 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 8-9: Peng et al. teaches a composition comprising HFO-1234yf (2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene), an inhibitor such as α-terpinene in 100 ppm, and air (O2) (Pg. 1, Lns. 5-10; Pg. 5, Lns. 15-20; Pgs. 36-37; and Table 5, Example 2). Peng et al. further teaches an embodiment wherein the composition is stored with an oxygen and water concentration of about 3-3000 ppm (Pg. 34, Lns. 15-20).
Regarding Claims 2-3: The composition of Peng et al. does not require the presence of any phenol or benzophenone derivatives.
Regarding Claims 4-5: Peng et al. teaches the composition further comprises HFO-1234ze (1234ze) (Pg. 35, Lns. 10-15; Pgs. 36-37; and Table 2, Example 2).
Regarding Claims 6 and 17-18: Peng et al. teaches the composition further comprises a lubricant (Table 2, Example 2).
Regarding Claim 10: Peng et al. teaches a method of heating or cooling utilizing the composition (Pg. 7, Lns. 5-10).
Regarding Claim 11: Peng et al. teaches the composition in a container (Pg. 7, Lns. 5-10).
Regarding Claim 15: Peng et al. teaches a method of heat transfer comprising utilizing the composition as a heat transfer medium to carry heat from a heat source to a heat sink (Pg. 8, Lns. 15-25 and Pg. 9, Lns. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 16: Peng et al. teaches a method of heat transfer comprising utilizing the composition as a refrigerant that undergoes a phase change from a liquid to a gas and back (Pg. 8, Lns. 15-25 and Pg. 9, Lns. 5-10).
Regarding Claims 19-20: Peng et al. teaches the method wherein the composition further comprises HFO-1234ze (1234ze) (Pg. 35, Lns. 10-15; Pgs. 36-37; and Table 2, Example 2).
Regarding Claims 21-22: Peng et al. teaches the method wherein the composition further comprises HFO-1234ze (1234ze) (Pg. 35, Lns. 10-15; Pgs. 36-37; and Table 2, Example 2).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 June 25, 2026