DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-28, 39, 41-42, and 44-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO17/170348 in view of WO20/046767 and US2020/0255410.
The claims of the instant application are drawn to compositions comprising a FLT3 inhibitor compound of formula I; a B-cell lymphoma (Bcl-2) inhibitor – which is ultimately venetoclax; and optionally an additional hypomethylating agent which is ultimately azacitidine. The agents are claimed to be in the same or separate dosages and administered together or separately. Also claimed are methods of treating cancer with the same wherein the cancer is optionally AML or AML having various specified mutations.
‘348 is drawn to treating AML having various mutations with combinations comprising a FLT3 inhibitor and the hypomethylating agent azacitidine (see [0004]-[0009]). The methods are taught to be practiced in AML mutant FLT3 polynucleotide-positive AML; or FLT3 internal tandem duplication (ITD) AML; or AML with FLT3 point mutation (see [0015]). The combinations are taught to be administered simultaneously or sequentially in a single dose or separate dosages and can be administered orally or by infusion (parenterally) (see [0019]). What is not taught is to add the additional Bcl-2 inhibitor as claimed herein nor the compound of formula I as the FLT3 inhibitor.
‘410 teaches compounds of formula I, including the species set forth in claim 27 (see example 8 – [0260] and table 2) are effective as FLT3 inhibitors in treating AML diseases as claimed herein.
‘767 teaches methods of treating the same AML diseases with combinations of azacitidine, venetoclax, and a FLT3 inhibitor (see page 10, lines 26-28).
It would have been obvious to combine the FLT3 inhibitors of ‘410 with the Bcl-2 inhibitor venetoclax and the hypomethylating agents azacitidine with these references before them since they are suggested to be combined by the same. ‘767 teaches methods of treating the same AML diseases with combinations of azacitidine, venetoclax, and a FLT3 inhibitor; ‘348 teaches methods combining FLT3 inhibitors and hypomethylating agents (azacitidine); and ‘410 teaches formula I is an effective FLT3 inhibitors. If applicants are relying on unexpected results to overcome a case of obviousness, the results should be commensurate in scope with the claims. It is noted that applicants have only shown the combination of Formula 3, venetoclax, and azacitidine as providing the improved results when compared to the individual agents.
Claim(s) 25-28, 39, 41-42, and 44-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/171646 (see US 12,433,867 for English language equivalent) in view of Kennedy et al. (Frontiers of Oncology, vol. 10, 23, Dec. 2020, 20 pages – Citation 012 on applicant’s IDS filed 10/15/25).
‘646 teaches combinations of FLT3 inhibitors of formula I herein together with hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine (see claims 1-2). ‘646 teaches treating the same AML diseases having the same mutations (see claims 6-9). What is not taught is to add the additional Bcl-2 inhibitors as claimed herein.
Kennedy states that venetoclax, an inhibitor of Bcl-2, is particularly intriguing in combination with FLT3 inhibitors (see page 8). Kennedy notes that preclinical studies show that FLT3-ITD mutated blasts have higher Bcl-2 expression compared to FLT3-WT blasts and upregulation of antiapoptotic proteins is a mechanism of FLT3 resistance. In preclinical mouse models, venetoclax has demonstrated synergistic antileukemia activity with midostaurin, gilteritinib, and quizartinib (FLT3 inhibitors). Kennedy also notes the use of hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine to be used in combination with FLT3 inhibitors.
It would have been obvious to combine the FLT3 inhibitors of ‘646 with the Bcl-2 inhibitors such as venetoclax of Kennedy with these references before them; and also add the hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine as taught by both and use in the same methods of treating AML as claimed herein. Kennedy notes that combinations of FLT3 inhibitors and Bcl-2 inhibitors are intriguing based on their activity, and ‘646 teaches the same FLT3 inhibitors as claimed herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 25-28, 39, 41-42, and 44-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,433,867 in view of Kennedy et al. (Frontiers of Oncology, vol. 10, 23, Dec. 2020, 20 pages – Citation 012 on applicant’s IDS filed 10/15/25).
‘867 claims methods of treating AML with combinations of FLT3 inhibitors of formula I herein together with hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine (see claims 1-2). ‘646 teaches treating the same AML diseases having the same mutations (see claims 6-9). What is not taught is to add the additional Bcl-2 inhibitors as claimed herein.
Kennedy states that venetoclax, an inhibitor of Bcl-2, is particularly intriguing in combination with FLT3 inhibitors (see page 8). Kennedy notes that preclinical studies show that FLT3-ITD mutated blasts have higher Bcl-2 expression compared to FLT3-WT blasts and upregulation of antiapoptotic proteins is a mechanism of FLT3 resistance. In preclinical mouse models, venetoclax has demonstrated synergistic antileukemia activity with midostaurin, gilteritinib, and quizartinib (FLT3 inhibitors). Kennedy also notes the use of hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine to be used in combination with FLT3 inhibitors.
It would have been obvious to combine the FLT3 inhibitors of ‘646 with the Bcl-2 inhibitors such as venetoclax of Kennedy with these references before them; and also add the hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine as taught by both and use in the same methods of treating AML as claimed herein. Kennedy notes that combinations of FLT3 inhibitors and Bcl-2 inhibitors are intriguing based on their activity, and ‘646 teaches the same FLT3 inhibitors as claimed herein.
Claims 25-28, 39, 41-42, and 44-56 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-23 of copending Application No. 19/291,109 in view of Kennedy et al. (Frontiers of Oncology, vol. 10, 23, Dec. 2020, 20 pages – Citation 012 on applicant’s IDS filed 10/15/25).
‘109 claims combinations of FLT3 inhibitors of formula I herein together with hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine (see claims 1-2). ‘109 teaches treating the same AML diseases having the same mutations (see claims 14-18). What is not taught is to add the additional Bcl-2 inhibitors as claimed herein.
Kennedy states that venetoclax, an inhibitor of Bcl-2, is particularly intriguing in combination with FLT3 inhibitors (see page 8). Kennedy notes that preclinical studies show that FLT3-ITD mutated blasts have higher Bcl-2 expression compared to FLT3-WT blasts and upregulation of antiapoptotic proteins is a mechanism of FLT3 resistance. In preclinical mouse models, venetoclax has demonstrated synergistic antileukemia activity with midostaurin, gilteritinib, and quizartinib (FLT3 inhibitors). Kennedy also notes the use of hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine to be used in combination with FLT3 inhibitors.
It would have been obvious to combine the FLT3 inhibitors of ‘646 with the Bcl-2 inhibitors such as venetoclax of Kennedy with these references before them; and also add the hypomethylating agents such as azacitidine as taught by both and use in the same methods of treating AML as claimed herein. Kennedy notes that combinations of FLT3 inhibitors and Bcl-2 inhibitors are intriguing based on their activity, and ‘646 teaches the same FLT3 inhibitors as claimed herein.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693