DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curliss et al. (US 20160334180 A1) (previously cited) in view of Okey et al. (US 4837251 A) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Curliss teaches a multilayer article comprising a metal layer (22), a thermally conductive hybrid layer (50) overlaying the metal layer, the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprising a polymer matrix with a first thermally conductive material (carbon fiber) disposed therein, and a thermally conductive continuous fiber composite layer (52) overlaying the thermally conductive hybrid layer (Curliss, Abstract, Par. 0023-0027, 0032-0033, 0039, 0041, 0044-0046, and Fig. 6-7).
Curliss is silent regarding hollow spherical glass or ceramic beads disposed in the polymer matrix, wherein the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises from 30 wt.% to 90 wt.% of the polymer matrix and from 10 wt.% to 65 wt.% of the hollow spherical glass or ceramic beads, based on the total weight of the thermally conductive hybrid layer.
Okey teaches a composite material comprising a polymer matrix (thermal plastic resin) with carbon fiber (component to reduce the CTE) and glass or ceramic hollow microspheres (filler) disposed therein (Okey, Abstract, Col. 2 Lines 10-31, and Col. 2 Lines 45-65). Okey teaches the composite material comprises up to 40 wt.% of the glass or ceramic hollow microspheres, up to 40 wt.% of the carbon fibers, 0.01-0.25 wt.% of a blowing agent and the balance of the polymer matrix (Okey, Col. 3 Lines 27-42). Okey thus teaches an amount of glass or ceramic hollow microspheres and polymer matrix that overlaps and establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed ranges of 10-65 wt.% and 30-90 wt.% respectively, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Curliss and Okey are analogous art as they both teach composite materials comprising a polymer matrix and carbon fibers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the glass or ceramic hollow microspheres Okey in the thermally conductive hybrid layer of Curliss. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the amount of polymer matrix and glass or ceramic hollow microspheres taught by Okey as the amounts in the thermally conductive hybrid layer of Curliss. This would allow for a lower density, greater flexural modulus, and greater tensile strength material (Okey, Col. 3 Lines 27-42).
Regarding claim 2, modified Curliss teaches the metal layer comprises steel (Curliss, Par. 0023).
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Curliss teaches the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises spherical hollow beads comprising glass or ceramic (Okey, Abstract, Col. 2 Lines 10-31, and Col. 2 Lines 45-65).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, modified Curliss teaches the first thermally conductive material comprises carbon fibers (Curliss, Abstract, Par. 0023-0025, 0033-0034, and 0039).
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 18-19, modified Curliss teaches the polymer matrix of the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises a thermoplastic polymer, or a thermoset polymer that is bismaleimide (Curliss, Par. 0032).
Regarding claims 11-13, modified Curliss teaches the thermally conductive continuous fiber composite layer comprises continuous carbon fibers and a second thermally conductive material that is carbon fibers disposed in epoxy thermoset polymer (Curliss, Abstract, Par. 0011, 0023-0025, 0032-0034, and 0039).
Regarding claim 14, modified Curliss teaches a gun barrel comprising the multilayer article (Curliss, Abstract).
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degerness (US 20040244257 A1) (previously cited) in view of Okey et al.
Regarding claim 1, Degerness teaches a multilayer article comprising a metal layer (18), a thermally conductive hybrid layer (30) overlaying the metal layer, the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprising a polymer matrix with a first thermally conductive material (carbon fibers) disposed therein, and a thermally conductive continuous fiber composite layer (32) overlaying the thermally conductive hybrid layer (Degerness, Abstract, Par. 0028, 0030-0031, 0049-0053, 0058, 0066-0067, and Figs 1-2).
Degerness is silent regarding hollow spherical glass or ceramic beads disposed in the polymer matrix, wherein the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises from 30 wt.% to 90 wt.% of the polymer matrix and from 10 wt.% to 65 wt.% of the hollow spherical glass or ceramic beads, based on the total weight of the thermally conductive hybrid layer.
Okey teaches a composite material comprising a polymer matrix (thermal plastic resin) with carbon fiber (component to reduce the CTE) and glass or ceramic hollow microspheres (filler) disposed therein (Okey, Abstract, Col. 2 Lines 10-31, and Col. 2 Lines 45-65). Okey teaches the composite material comprises up to 40 wt.% of the glass or ceramic hollow microspheres, up to 40 wt.% of the carbon fibers, 0.01-0.25 wt.% of a blowing agent and the balance of the polymer matrix (Okey, Col. 3 Lines 27-42). Okey thus teaches an amount of glass or ceramic hollow microspheres and polymer matrix that overlaps and establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed ranges of 10-65 wt.% and 30-90 wt.% respectively, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Degerness and Okey are analogous art as they both teach composite materials comprising a polymer matrix and carbon fibers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the glass or ceramic hollow microspheres Okey in the thermally conductive hybrid layer of Degerness. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the amount of polymer matrix and glass or ceramic hollow microspheres taught by Okey as the amounts in the thermally conductive hybrid layer of Degerness. This would allow for a lower density, greater flexural modulus, and greater tensile strength material (Okey, Col. 3 Lines 27-42).
Regarding claim 2, modified Degerness teaches the metal layer comprises steel (Degerness, Par. 0045).
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Degerness teaches the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises spherical hollow beads comprising glass or ceramic (Okey, Abstract, Col. 2 Lines 10-31, and Col. 2 Lines 45-65).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, modified Degerness teaches the first thermally conductive material comprises carbon fiber (Degerness, Abstract, Par. 0030, 0050, 0058, and 0066-0067).
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 19, modified Degerness teaches the polymer matrix of the thermally conductive hybrid layer comprises a thermoset polymer that is a novolac epoxy (Degerness, Par. 0053).
Regarding claims 11-13, modified Degerness teaches the thermally conductive continuous fiber composite layer comprises continuous carbon fibers and a second thermally conductive material that is carbon fibers disposed in epoxy thermoset polymer (Degerness, Par. 0030-0031, 0050, 0053, 0058, and 0066-0067).
Regarding claim 14, modified Degerness teaches the multilayer article is a gun barrel (Degerness, Abstract and Par. 0001).
Regarding claim 15, modified Degerness teaches the gun barrel comprises a gas tube port (Degerness, Abstract, Par. 0032, 0054-0055, and Figs 3-4).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curliss et al. in view of Okey et al. as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, further in view of Krumm et al. (GB 2288006 A) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, modified Curliss teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Modified Curliss further teaches the multilayer structure forms a gun barrel (Curliss, Abstract).
Modified Curliss is silent regarding the thermoplastic polymer comprising polyamides, polyphenylene sulfides, polyetherimides, polysulfones, polyethersulfones, polyketones, polyaryletherketones, or a combination thereof.
Krumm teaches a gun barrel comprising a fiber reinforced polyamide (Krumm, Abstract and Page 2).
Modified Curliss and Krumm are analogous art as they both teach gun barrels comprising a fiber layer of a thermoplastic reinforced with fibers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used polyamide as the thermoplastic polymer of modified Curliss. This would allow for prevention of erosion of the gun barrel (Krumm, Abstract and Page 2).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curliss et al. in view of Okey et al. as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Degerness.
Regarding claim 15, Curliss teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Curliss is silent regarding the gun barrel comprising a gas tube port.
Degerness teaches a gun barrel comprising a metal layer and a composite layer wherein the gun barrel comprises a gas tube port (Degerness, Abstract, Par. 0028, 0030-0032, 0049-0055, and Figs 3-4).
Curliss and Degerness are analogous art as they both teach gun barrels comprising a metal layer and a composite layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a gas tube port in the gun barrel of Curliss. This would allow for protection from hot gasses (Degerness, Abstract and Par. 0032).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 14 August 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objection recited in the previous office action.
The objection recited in the previous office action has been withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach the newly amended features of claim 1. This is found moot.
The grounds of rejection have been updated in view of the present claim amendments. The new grounds of rejection now rely upon newly cited Okey to teach the features of newly amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782