DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10, 13-16, 19, 20, 22-26, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kar et al. (Accounts of Chemical Research, 2019).
The claims are drawn to a method for the conversion of a carbonate/formate components comprising contacting the carbonate/formate with hydrogen to produce methanol, methane, carbon monoxide, or hydrocarbons, or a mixture thereof, over a catalyst in a solvent, the catalyst including a transition metal, a post-transition metal, a lanthanide, or combinations thereof.
Kar et al. discloses a process wherein a metal hydroxide, e.g. sodium or potassium hydroxide, and carbon dioxide are reacted to form the corresponding metal carbonate or bicarbonate, and reaction of the carbonate or bicarbonate with hydrogen, in the presence of a catalyst, thereby producing methanol, water, and metal hydroxide (Fig. 1, page B). The reference also discloses that hydrogenation of carbonate to obtain methanol may be conducted in the presence of an amine, such as dimethylamine. The reduction proceeds via the formation of carbamate, formate, and formamide intermediates in the presence of a catalyst, e.g. Ru-Macho-BH. The hydrogenation is performed in the presence of a 2-methyltetrahydrofuran/water solvent system. The catalyst and amine components may be recycled by immobilizing the amine onto a solid support, such as silica (pages D-E). This process disclosed by Kar et al. anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 9, 27-29, 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kar et al.
The instant claims further limit the process of the present invention to specific metal carbonates and bicarbonates, a specific metal formats; to specific alcohol/diol solvents, and to a method for the conversion of carbonate or bicarbonate components to methanol, methane, carbon monoxide, hydrocarbons, or a mixture thereof, wherein the carbonate or bicarbonates are produced by capturing carbon dioxide with a metal hydroxide.
Kar et al. broadly teaches the carbonates and bicarbonates salts without specifically mentioning a specific metal salt. However, the reference teaches the use of alkali-metal hydroxide bases for capturing carbon dioxide in the process for producing methanol, and that carbonate/bicarbonate salts are formed during carbon dioxide capture. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill that the alkali metal hydroxide used for capturing carbon dioxide would produce the corresponding alkali metal carbonate or bicarbonate salt during the carbon dioxide capture.
The reference also teaches that during carbon dioxide capture by amines, the presence of glycols during the capture was crucial to stabilize the bicarbonate intermediate (p. B, second col.) The instant claims are therefore rendered obvious by the method(s) taught by Kar et al.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kar et al. as applied to claims 5-7, 9, 27-29, 31, and 32 above, and further in view of Lux et al. (ChemSuSChem, 2018).
The instant claims limit the invention such that the carbonate/formate component includes naturally occurring minerals, and wherein the catalyst comprises Fischer-Tropsch type catalysts based on iron, cobalt, and/or ruthenium and catalysts based on iron, copper, molybdenum, cobalt, metal carbides, zeolites, or mixtures thereof.
Lux et al. teach the hydrogenation of inorganic metal carbonates and its potential for carbon dioxide utilization, and more specifically, Lux et al. teach that carbonates may be formed from calcite, magnesite, and siderite, and that transition metals are well established catalysts in Fischer-Tropsch synthesis, e.g. catalytic polymerization and hydrogenation of carbon monoxide (page 2).
The instant claims are rendered obvious in view of the combined reference teachings, as Lux et al. teach that the carbonates used in the process taught by Kar et al. may also be sources from naturally occurring minerals, and that transition metals are known to be useful in reactions including, inter alia, polymerization and hydrogenation or carbon monoxide/carbon dioxide.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kar et al. as applied to claims 5-7, 9, 27, 29, 31, and 32 above, and further in view of Frei et al. (Catalysis, 2020).
The instant claim further limits the catalyst used in the present invention to an indium-based catalyst. Kar et al. does not teach such catalysts; however, Frei et al. teaches the production or methanol utilizing captured carbon dioxide, wherein the catalyst used us a zirconium-supported indium oxide catalyst.
The instant claim is rendered obvious by the combined reference teachings, as Frei et al. teaches that indium oxide catalyst may also be used in the process taught by Kar et al.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692