DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2826 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to indicate “wherein the medicament is substantially free from hemoglobin”. The rejections have been modified to address this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by WO 03/063780 Lee et al.
Lee teaches a liver extract which contains ARG1 and ASS1 and it’s use as a medicant (see at least Experiment 3). The extract appears to be prepared by the same method as is claimed as such the properties claimed would be inherent to the Lee medicant.
In the examples, Lee discloses the use of recombinant enzymes (p. 20, line 31 to p 21).
Lee does not speak to the presence of hemoglobin and the examiner cannot presume that the Lee medicant would necessarily include hemoglobin that would preclude the Lee reference from being “substantially free” of hemoglobin.
Note that MPEP § 706.3(e) states that:
"[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate. As a practical matter, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)."
The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not Applicants' enzyme ratios differ and, if so, to what extent, from that discussed in the references. Therefore, with the showing of the references, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to Applicants.
The extract of Lee anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 03/063780 Lee et al.
Lee teaches a liver extract which contains ARG1 and ASS1 and it’s use as a medicant (see at least Experiment 3). The extract appears to be prepared by the same method as is claimed as such the properties claimed would be inherent to the Lee medicant. In the examples, Lee discloses the use of recombinant enzymes (p. 20, line 31 to p 21).
Wherein Lee may not anticipate all of the possible embodiments of applicant’s claims, Lee teaches the combination of the two enzymes in a medicant and it would have to obvious at the time the invention was filed to modify the medicant by dosage or using a combination of different known ASGs and ASSs as a matter of routine experimentation.
Lee does not speak to the presence of hemoglobin and the examiner cannot presume that the Lee medicant would necessarily include hemoglobin that would preclude the Lee reference from being “substantially free” of hemoglobin.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 03/063780 (Lee et al) and US 2016/0038668 (Ostafin et al)
Lee teaches a liver extract which contains ARG1 and ASS1 and it’s use as a medicant (see at least Experiment 3). The extract appears to be prepared by the same method as is claimed as such the properties claimed would be inherent to the Lee medicant. In the examples, Lee discloses the use of recombinant enzymes (p. 20, line 31 to p 21).
Wherein Lee may not anticipate all of the possible embodiments of applicant’s claims, Lee teaches the combination of the two enzymes in a medicant and it would have to obvious at the time the invention was filed to modify the medicant by dosage or using a combination of different known ASGs and ASSs as a matter of routine experimentation.
Lee does not speak to the presence of hemoglobin and the examiner cannot presume that the Lee medicant would necessarily include hemoglobin that would preclude the Lee reference from being “substantially free” of hemoglobin. However even if hemoglobin would be present above a “substantially free” level in the medicant of Lee, it would have been obvious to remove hemoglobin from medicant of Lee because Ostafin teaches that hemoglobin should be removed from therapeutical blood products because it can cause kidney toxicity. Specifically, Ostafin teaches ‘’when the binding capacity of Hp is overwhelmed, the hemoglobin (Hb) can reach and overload the absorptive capacity of the kidney(hemoglobinuria), leading to nephrotoxicity” [0011] and removing the hemoglobin (at least [0054]. Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657