DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7-26-2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 6-8, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 3, the phrase “descriptor template” makes the claim indefinite as it is unclear what the template is or how it is created. Further clarification of the template is required.
As per claims 5, 6-8, 12 and 13, the phrase “projecting…to a projected descriptor” makes the claim indefinite. It is unclear from the specification what is actually being done when “projecting”. Further clarification is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 11, 4-7 and 16-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-9 and 18-20 respectively of copending Application No. 18703222 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both provide for localization through radar scanning, localization and descriptor matching.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 5-13, 15-18, 20 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-16, 17 and 21 respectively of copending Application No, 18703244. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both provide the same method steps. The only difference is a last step of requesting the data and outputting it. This is not a patentably distinct difference as requesting and outputting data from a computer are standard in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 14-18, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cen, et. al., “Precise Ego-Motion Estimation with Millimeter Wave Radar under Diverse and Challenging Conditions”, IEEE, May 2018.
As per claim 1, Cen discloses a computer-implemented method of localizing a radar sensor, the method comprising:
obtaining a first radar scan of a first environment of the radar sensor, wherein the first radar scan comprises a set of power-range spectra, including a first power-range spectrum (Cen, section III, A);
extracting a first set of landmarks, including a first landmark, from the first radar scan, wherein the first landmark is defined by a range and an azimuth; computing a respective first set of descriptors, including a first descriptor, of the first set of landmarks, wherein the first descriptor defines the first landmark by respective relative ranges and azimuths in relation to one or more landmarks included in the first set of landmarks (Cen, section III, B);
accessing one or more reference set[[s]] of landmarks of respective environments and computing one or more respective reference set[[s]] of descriptors, where each of the one or more reference set of descriptors corresponds to one of the one or more reference set[[s]] of landmarks; matching the first set of descriptors to a corresponding first reference set of descriptors from the one or more respective reference set of descriptors (Cen, section III, C);
and localizing a first location of the radar sensor using a first result of the matching (Cen, section III, D where the first and second location are used to determine motion).
Cen fails to disclose requesting a value and returning it.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the computer output what it calculated in order to gain the benefit of using the data. The examiner submits that requesting data from a computer and having the computer provide an output are normal computer operations.
As per claim 2, Cen further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computed one or more values are selected from a group consisting of: a 3D eigen matrix of x,y,z, positions of landmarks in a scene, a matrix of point-to-point distances from each point to every other point of a landmarks point cloud, a matrix of angles between points of the landmarks point cloud, a point descriptors matrix computed from the landmarks point cloud, and a range vector computed from the landmarks point cloud (Cen, section III, C using point clouds).
As per claim 3, as best understood by examiner, Cen further discloses the method of claim1, wherein the one or more values derived therefrom from the stored one or more values include a scene descriptors vector computed based on a descriptor template and a computed point descriptors matrix (Cen, section III, C).
As per claim 4, Cen further discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising: obtaining a second radar scan of the first environment of the radar sensor; extracting a second set of landmarks, including a first second landmark, from the second radar scan; computing a respective second set of descriptors, including a first second descriptor, of the second set of landmarks; matching the second set of descriptors to a corresponding second reference set of descriptors from the one or more respective reference set of descriptors; localizing a second location of the radar sensor using a second result, where the second result is from [[of]] the matching of the second set of descriptors to a corresponding second reference set of descriptors; and calculating a motion of the radar sensor using the second location and the first location (Cen, section III, D where first and second scans are used).
As per claim 5, as best understood by examiner, Cen further discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein matching the first set of descriptors to the corresponding first reference set of descriptors comprises projecting the first descriptor to a first projected descriptor (Cen, section III, C where matching is accomplished).
As per claim 9, Cen further discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein matching the first set of descriptors to the corresponding first reference set of descriptors comprises identifying M closest descriptors of the corresponding first reference set of descriptors and finding a single closest descriptor from amongst the M closest descriptors (Cen, section III, C finding the optimal match).
As per claim 14, Cen further discloses the method according to claim 1,wherein the one or more values comprises and/or is the set of descriptors and computing the one or more values comprises computing the set of descriptors (Cen, section III, C where descriptors are assigned).
As per claim 15, Cen further discloses the method according to claim 1,comprising storing the reference sets of descriptors; and wherein matching the first set of descriptors to the corresponding first reference set of descriptors comprises matching the first set of descriptors to the corresponding first set of descriptors from the one or more the plurality of reference set of descriptors (Cen, section II, comparing radar landmark point cloud to an existing map of landmarks).
As per claims 16-20, Cen further discloses the method according to claim 1 using lookup tables at compile time and runtime and using parallel processing (Cen, section IV).
The examiner submits that it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine when certain processes should be run. Computers are more than capable of parallel processing using multiple cores.
As per claim 22, Cen further discloses the method according to claim 1,comprising: representing the first set of landmarks as a first signature; representing each of the one or more reference set of landmarks as respective reference signatures; and correlating the first signature and a reference signature, thereby approximating the first location of the radar sensor, and wherein accessing the one or more of the reference set of landmarks comprises selectively accessing the one or more of the reference set of landmarks based upon their respective reference signatures (Cen, section II comparing to existing maps and section III creating a set of landmarks).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as correction of any 112 rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646