DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction between groups I and II do not meet the standard for restriction. This is not found persuasive for the reasons set forth in the restriction requirement mailed 5/20/26 establishing the lack of unity.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-17, 25-28 and 33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/20/26.
Based on applicant’s amendments to Group III, the restriction requirement between groups II and III is withdrawn.
Claims 18-24, and 29-32 are under examination herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 6/18/24 and 7/13/26 have been fully considered except where references have been lined through.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-22 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 19-22 and 29-32, the claims are directed to a product and a process of using the product, and it is unclear how the process language further limits the product. This is indefinite, see MPEP 2173.05(p) II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donati (WO2009016515).
Regarding claim 18, Donati teaches a 98% match to claimed SEQ ID NO 10 (appendix). Donati teaches that conservative substitutions can be made to their polypeptides (p90 first full paragraph). Therefore, it is prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts to experiment with conservative substitutions in the polypeptide of Donati to arrive at a 99.5% match to claimed SEQ ID NO 10 (hyaluronidase is a well-known enzyme (see search results), and it would have been obvious to compare/align hyaluronidase sequences to identify candidate sites in the sequence of Donati for conservative substitution). Claim 18 does not require that the sequence variants encompassed by the claim have the properties of the enzyme of SEQ ID 10.
Adding limitations regarding the functionality/activity of the claimed modified polypeptide and/or an affidavit of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims could help to overcome this rejection.
Claims 19-24 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donati (WO2009016515) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Seifter ("Effect of hyaluronidase on experimental hypercholesterolemia in rabbits and rats and atheromatosis in rabbits." Proceedings of the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine 83.3 (1953): 468-473) and Nohara ("Homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia." Journal of atherosclerosis and thrombosis 28.7 (2021): 665-678)
Regarding claims 19, 23-24, and 29 Donati teaches the composition can comprise pharmaceutical excipients (p91 “Immunogenic compositions and medicaments” section). Donati teaches the composition should contain an effective amount of the peptide (p107 2nd full paragraph).
Donati does not explicitly teach the use of the hyaluronidase to treat homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia.
Seifter teaches the effects of hyaluronidase on hypercholesterolemia (title). Seifter teaches that administration of hyaluronidase reduces hypercholesterolemia (discussion).
Donati and Seifter do not explicitly teach homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia.
Nohara teaches homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (title). Nohara teaches aggressive therapy should be started as soon as possible (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the hyaluronidase of Donati to treat homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia as taught by Donati and Seifter. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Donati teaches that hyaluronidase is effective against hypercholesterolemia and Nohara teaches that treatment against homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia needs to be started soon. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Donati, Seifter and Nohara are in the same field of endeavor of treatments.
Regarding claim 20, Donati teaches that the amount of the treatment varies depending on a wide range of factors (p107 second full paragraph). Therefore, the amount of units administered is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill in the arts is motivated to experiment with amounts to arrive at an effective treatment.
Regarding claim 21, Donati teaches the treatment can be solid (p106 last partial paragraph).
Regarding claim 22, Donati teaches the treatment can be intravenous (p109 4th full paragraph).
Regarding claims 30-32, Donati teaches the treatment can be administered to a mammal (subject) (p108 1st full paragraph).
Double Patenting
Claims 18-24 and 29-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,662,664B2 (formerly application 17/920,348). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 18 requires a 99.5 or more % match to SEQ ID 10. Claim 1 of ‘664 requires SEQ ID NO 1. These are identical sequences (appendix).
Regarding instant claims 19, 23-24, and 29-32 ‘664 claims 6 and 11 require a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide with pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and used to treat homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia.
Regarding instant claim 20, ‘664 claim 7 requires identical dosages.
Regarding instant claim 21, ‘664 claim 8 requires solid application.
Regarding instant claim 22, ‘664 claim 9 requires intravenous application.
Claims 18-21, 23-24, 29-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26, 20, 23-24 and 30 of copending Application No. 18/703,309 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 15 of ‘309 requires SEQ ID NO 10, this is an identical SEQ ID to instant claim 18 SEQ ID NO 10.
Regarding instant claims 19, 23-24, and 29-31 ‘309 claims 20 and 24 require a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide with pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and used to treat homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia.
Regarding instant claim 20, ‘309 claim 30 requires identical dosages.
Regarding instant claim 21, ‘309 claim 23 requires solid application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TREVOR KANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657