DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Melikov et al (RU 2236921).
In reference to claim 1, Melikov discloses a die for producing a wire, comprising
a processing hole having a bearing portion [end portion of 1] is provided,
a first side and a second side that face each other are provided in a bearing cross section of the bearing portion perpendicular to a wire drawing direction [see figure 2], and
each of the first side and second side has a shape that is convex toward a center of the processing hole in the bearing cross section [see figure 2],
wherein, in a planar cross section perpendicular to the wire drawing direction, a maximum distance between the first side and the second side of the bearing portion is more than 100% of a minimum distance between the first side and the second die of the bearing portion and equal to or less than 150% of the minimum distance between the first side and the second side of the bearing portion.
In reference to claim 3, Melikov et al further discloses a reduction portion (remaining portion of 1) is provided upstream of the bearing portion in the wire drawing direction, the first side and the second side are provided in a reduction cross section of the reduction portion perpendicular to the wire drawing direction and the bearing cross section, a corner portion of the processing hole is provided at an end of each of the first side and the second side in the reduction cross section, and
an opening angle of reduction of the corner portion is different from an opening angle of reduction of each of the first side and the second side [see figure 2],
wherein each opening angle of reduction is formed by a tangent line of a wall surface and a center line in the reduction portion wherein the tangent line and reduction portion are in contact with each other at a center portion in the wire drawing direction in the reduction portion.
In reference to claim 4, the opening angle of reduction of the corner portion is greater than the opening angle of reduction of each of the first side and second side, as seen in figure 2.
In reference to claim 5, the opening angle of reduction of the corner portion becomes greater with increasing distance from the first side and the second side and toward a top of the corner portion, as seen in figure e2.
In reference to claim 8, the bearing portion has a quadrangular shape when viewed from in the wire drawing direction.
In reference to claim 10, Melikov et al further discloses a surface roughness Sa of the bearing portion is equal to or less than 0.05μm [see pg. 3 of machine translation].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melikov et al.
In reference to claims 6 and 7, Melikov et al discloses a method for producing a wire comprising drawing a wire through a first die, the die as recited in claim 1 or 3.
Melikov et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the wire passes through a second die following the first die.
However, it is well known within the drawing art to have a wire pass through multiple dies to gradually reduce the diameter of the wire in a continuous processing operation. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Melikov et al such that the wire is passed through multiple dies in order to gradually reduce the diameter sizing since such a method is well known and common in the drawing art.
In reference to claim 9, Melikov et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a portion that processes the wire is made of diamond. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a portion that processes the wire with a diamond material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanical efficiency [see In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the die of Melikov et al, such that a portion that processes the wire is made of a diamond material, since it is well known in the drawing art to use diamond material due to its hardness and wear resistance properties.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725