DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on September 21st, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 21st, 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code on Page 3, lines 18-19 of the Specification. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In step k) of claim 1, “drying extruded hydrogel” should be edited to “drying the extruded hydrogel” to clearly indicate its provenance.
Claims 2-6 should begin “The method according to…”, rather than “A method according to…” to clearly indicate their respective claim dependencies.
In claim 3, before the last recited species “urea” of the recited list, “and” should be inserted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braun (U.S. 2017/0065739 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Braun teaches a method for preparing a water-absorbing polymer (Braun, [0120]-[0140]) comprising the following steps:
providing a monomer mixture comprising the following components:
at least one ethylenically unsaturated monomer which bears an acid group and which is partially neutralized (Braun, [0120], acrylic acid/sodium acrylate solution);
water (Braun, [0120]);
at least one crosslinker (Braun, [0120], 3-tuply ethoxylated glyceryl triacrylate);
at least one initiator or at least one member of an initiator system (Braun, [0120], hydrogen peroxide);
b) providing a reactor having a reaction vessel (Braun, [0121]);
c) providing an extruder having an extrusion vessel (Braun, [0123]), whereby extrusion vessel is capped with a hole plate, whereby said hole plate comprises a plurality of through holes, each through hole having an equivalent diameter d and an axial length l, whereby the total void area of the hole plate established by said through holes is V and whereby the total area of the hole plate including the void area is A (Braun, Table 1, Ex. 1, [0123], A is 6400 mm2, d is 8 mm, l is 33 mm; void area is 66% of 6400 mm2, or 4267 mm2);
d) performing a polymerization within the reaction vessel by converting components of said monomer mixture to obtain a crosslinked polymer hydrogel (Braun, [0120], polymerization is conducted in the presence of a crosslinker; [0123], a gel is obtained);
f) transferring said hydrogel into the extrusion vessel (Braun, [0123]);
h) extruding said hydrogel through the hole plate out of the extrusion vessel, whereby the hydrogel is forced to pass the through holes axially to obtain an extruded hydrogel (Braun, [0123], [0020], polymer is forced to pass through die plate);
k) drying extruded hydrogel to obtain a solid polymer material (Braun, [0125], dried at 175°C for 70 min);
l) grinding said solid polymer material to obtain a polymer powder (Braun, [0126]);
m) sieving said polymer powder to obtain at least one sized fraction of said polymer powder (Braun, [0127]-[0128]);
n) post processing of said sized fraction to obtain a water-absorbing polymer, whereby present step "post processing" encompasses at least one surface crosslinking step (Braun, [0131]-[0138]);
wherein
the geometry of the hole plate fulfills the following requirement:
2.10686036 x (I/d)0.774457 x (V/A)-0.117802 = 6.63 (Braun, Table 1, Ex. 1, [0123], A is 6400 mm2, d is 8 mm, l is 33 mm; void area is 66% of 6400 mm2, or 4267 mm2).
Regarding claim 2, Braun teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the monomer mixture is provided according to the following recipe, wherein given shares sum up to 100 wt.-% and wherein given shares are based on the total weight of the monomer mixture:
Acrylic acid, at least partially neutralized: 42.7 wt.% (Braun, [0120])
Crosslinker: .17 wt.% (Braun, [0120], 0.39% by weight of acrylic acid, where acrylic acid is present at 42.7 wt.%)
Initiator: 0.048 wt.% (Braun, [0120], .002% by weight hydrogen peroxide, 0.1% by weight sodium peroxodisulfate, 0.01% by weight ascorbic acid, each relative to 42.7 wt.% of acrylic acid).
Co-monomer: 0 wt.% (Braun, [0120], no co-monomer)
Water-soluble polymer: 0 wt.% (Braun, [0120], no water-soluble polymer)
Precursor of a blowing agent: 0 wt.% (Braun, [0120], no precursor of a blowing agent)
Water: 57.08 wt. % (Braun, [0120], water is the only component not accounted for in the previously recited components of the monomer mixture)
Further components: 0 wt.% (Braun, [0120], all components of the monomer mixture are accounted for in the previously recited components)
Regarding claim 5, Braun teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the surface crosslinking step comprises adding at least one surface crosslinking agent to the sized fraction of the polymer powder to obtain a mixture (Braun, [0077], [0131]-[0137], 1,3-propanediol) and subjecting said mixture to a thermal treatment (Braun, [0138], product temperature of 185°C) so as to increase the density of crosslinks in a surface area of the polymer powder (Braun, [0131], “Surface Crosslinking of the Polymer Gel” by definition increases the density of crosslinks in a surface area of the polymer powder).
Regarding claim 6, Braun teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the reactor and extruder are provided structurally separately (Braun, [0121], the reactor is a List ORP 250 Contikneter continuous kneader reactor; [0123] indicates that the extruder is an ECT EXT T80 extruder, which is a separate unit from the reactor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun (U.S. 2017/0065739 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Won (CN 112204091 A, 2021) (the translation provided with the attached original document is referenced below).
Regarding claim 3, Braun teaches the method according to claim 2, as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach that the monomer mixture comprises a precursor of a blowing agent, wherein the amount of the precursor is within the range from 1000 ppm to 1500 ppm based on the weight of the monomer mixture and wherein the precursor is at least one member selected from the group consisting of sodium carbonate, potassium carbonate, ammonium carbonate, ammonium carbamate, magnesium carbonate, calcium carbonate, barium carbonate, lithium carbonate, sodium hydrogen carbonate, potassium hydrogen carbonate, ammonium hydrogen carbonate, magnesium hydrogen carbonate, calcium hydrogen carbonate, barium hydrogen carbonate, 3-oxopentanedioic acid, and urea. However, Won teaches incorporating sodium carbonate a precursor of a blowing agent (foaming agent) into the monomer mixture for polymerization of a water-absorbing hydrogel polymer (Won, [0066]), where the blowing agent is added in an amount of 1000 ppm to 2000 ppm (Won, [0065], 0.1% to 0.2% by weight of the monomer), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1000 to 1500 ppm.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Braun’s method by incorporating a blowing agent into the monomer mixture, as Won teaches that doing so in a low amount (0.1% to 0.2%) effectively promotes porosity while minimizing problems caused by excessive use of the blowing agent (Won, [0065]), which promotes both absorption capacity and liquid permeability (Won, [00130]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected sodium carbonate as a blowing agent in Braun’s method. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. In the instant case, sodium carbonate was known to be a suitable blowing agent for superabsorbent polymers (Won, [0066]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the blowing agent amounts because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun (U.S. 2017/0065739 A1), as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Braun teaches the method according to claim 2, as discussed above. In the embodiment of Braun discussed above (Braun, Example 1, [0120]-[0140]), the total amount of crosslinkers within the monomer mixture is 0.66 mmol based on 1 mol of the monomer (Braun, [0120], 3-tuply ethoxylated glyceryl triacrylate has a molecular weight of 428.48 g/mol, and 0.39% by weight of this crosslinker is added relative to acrylic acid monomer), which differs from the claimed range of greater than 10 mmol and less than 50 mmol based on 1 mol of the monomer. However, Braun teaches generally that an amount of crosslinker of at least 0.25% by weight relative to the monomer may be used (Braun, claim 4). When considering 3-tuply ethoxylated glyceryl triacrylate as the crosslinker, this amounts to a teaching that at least 0.42 mmol of this crosslinker may be used based on 1 mol of the monomer, which overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 10 mmol and less than 50 mmol based on 1 mol of the monomer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the total amount of crosslinkers within the monomer mixture because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
In addition to teaching an overlapping range of crosslinker amount within the monomer mixture, Braun teaches than the amount of crosslinker may be adjusted to control the centrifuge retention capacity, with too low of a crosslinker amount resulting in unfavorable effects including low absorption and tackiness (Braun, [0037], [0053]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have therefore been motivated to adjust the amount of crosslinker to optimize for these effects in consideration of the centrifuge retention capacity.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736