DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “the individual electrical conductors are arranged asymmetrically to one another” as claimed in claim 4; “the individual electrical conductors are held in position by means of fastening” as claimed in claim 5; and “the flexible electrical conductor element comprises a connecting element” as claimed in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a flexible electrical conductor element is arranged in the stripped region in place of the first busbar and the second busbar;” and claim 6 recites “the flexible electrical conductor element is attached to the first conductor rail and to the second conductor rail”. Application’s disclosure does not provide description for such features. Specifically, as described and shown, in the stripped region, the first electrical conductor element 104 is arranged in the stripped region in place of the first busbar 101, and the second electrical conductor element 106 is arranged in the stripped region in place of the second busbar. The first electrical conductor element is NOT arranged in the stripped region in place of both the first and second busbars and NOT attached to the second conductor rail (busbar).
Claims 2-5 and 7-9 are included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 2, “line element” should be changed to --conductor element--.
In claims 3-5, line 1, “The double conductor” should be changed to --The double busbar--, see claim 1.
Claim 3, line 2, “conductors” should be changed to --lines--.
Claim 4, line 2, “conductors” should be changed to --lines--.
Claim 5, line 2, “conductors” should be changed to --lines--.
Claim 5, line 2, “4claim 2” is unclear.
Claim 6, lines 2-3, “the first conductor rail” and “the second conductor rail” lack antecedent basis.
Claim 7, lines 4-5, “the first conductor rail” and “the second conductor rail” lack antecedent basis.
Claim 8, line 4, “the first flexible electrical conductor element” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9, lines 2-5, the phrase “a distance…such that an electromagnetic field between the first flexible electrical conductive element and the second flexible electrical conductive element is kept low” renders the claim indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be interpreted. Moreover, the specification does not provide any definition for such distance.
Claim 9, lines 2-5, “conductive”, all occurrences, should be changed to
--conductor-- for consistency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Falk et al. (2018/0175572).
Due to the 112(a) rejection above, the following rejection is based on features shown Figures 1-3 of the application.
Falk et al. discloses a double busbar comprising a first busbar and a second busbar arranged electrically insulated from each other and arranged one above the other, wherein the first busbar and the second busbar are stripped in a stripped region, wherein a flexible electrical conductor element (21) is arranged in the stripped region in place of the first busbar, wherein a second flexible electrical conductor element (22) is arranged in the stripped region in place of the second busbar, and wherein the first flexible electrical conductor element is arranged to carry electrical current in the double busbar (re-claim 1). Falk et al. also discloses that the flexible electrical conductor element comprises a plurality of individual electrical lines (4) (re-claim 2). It is noted that since the flexible electrical conductor element of Falk et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, it can be adapted to the geometrical dimensions of the double busbar (re-claim 1).
Falk et al. further discloses that the individual lines (4) are arranged symmetrically to one another (re-claim 3); the individual lines are held in position by means of fastening elements (7), so that a shape of the flexible electrical conductor element does not change (re-claim 5); the first flexible electrical conductor element (21) is attached to the first busbar in a materially bonded/locking manner, and the second flexible electrical conductor element (22) is attached to the second busbar in a materially bonded/locking manner ([0032], pressing or welding) (re-claims 6 and 8); and the flexible electrical conductor element further comprises a connecting element (7) configured such that the flexible electrical conductor element is attachable to the first busbar and that the second flexible electrical conductor element is attachable to the second busbar (re-claim 7).
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mruczek (WO 2019/201429).
Again, due to the 112(a) rejection above, the following rejection is based on features shown Figures 1-3 of the application.
Mruczek discloses a double busbar comprising a first busbar (6a1) and a second busbar (6a2) arranged electrically insulated from each other and arranged one above the other, wherein the first busbar and the second busbar are stripped in a stripped region, wherein a flexible electrical conductor element (12) is arranged in the stripped region in place of the first busbar, wherein a second flexible electrical conductor element (12) is arranged in the stripped region in place of the second busbar, and wherein the first flexible electrical conductor element is arranged to carry electrical current in the double busbar (re-claim 1). Mruczek also discloses that the flexible electrical conductor element comprises a plurality of individual electrical lines (12.1-12.4) (re-claim 2). It is noted that since the flexible electrical conductor element of Mruczek comprises structure and material as claimed, it can be adapted to the geometrical dimensions of the double busbar (re-claim 1). Mruczek further discloses that the individual lines (12.1-12.4) are arranged asymmetrically to one another (Fig. 2, the first line from left is smaller than the other three lines) (re-claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falk et al.
Falk et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed including a predetermined distance (b, Fig. 3) between the first flexible electrical conductor element (21) and the second flexible electrical conductor element (22). Falk et al. does not disclose the distance being predetermined such that an electromagnetic field between the first flexible electrical conductor element and the second flexible electrical conductor element is kept low. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to choose suitable distance (b) in the double busbar of Falk et al. to meet the end use since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841