DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to applicant’s communication submitted April 21, 2024, wherein claims 1, 3-19, and 22 were preliminarily amended.
Claims 1-23 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/079419 filed 10/21/2022 and claims foreign priority to DE10 2021 127 569.5 filed 10/22/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received. The Examiner notes that no English translation was provided.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase “crosslinking control agent” is interpreted to be an agent that regulates crosslinking.
With respect to instant claim 20, which is directed to a composition and recites the phrase “for use as a packaging material”. The Examiner notes that it is well settled that “intended use” of a composition or product, e.g., “for use as a packaging material”, will not further limit claims drawn to a composition, so long as the prior art discloses the same composition comprising the same ingredients in an effective amount, as the instantly claimed (See MPEP 2111.02 (II)).
Claim 20 is a product by process claims. The Examiner notes that, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (i.e. a crosslinking control agent). If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process" In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (See MPEP 2113 (I)).
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites “1any one ore more of the preceding claims,”, which should read “1,” for consistency with other claims.
In claim 14 the phrase “spreading” should read “spread”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 2, 6, 9, 14, 19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2: Claim 2 recites the limitation "the retarding salt". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 6, 14: A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance:
Claim 6 recites the broad recitation “an extruder”, and the claim also recites “preferably in a screw extruder” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 14 recites the broad recitation ”at least 20 um”, and the claim also recites ”preferably at least 50 um and particularly preferably at least 100 um and/or a maximum thickness of 3 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 9: The term “wide” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wide” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear at which lengths/widths the nozzle is to be considered “wide”.
Regarding claims 19, 21-23: Claims 19-23 recite the variables “X” and “Y”. The variables are not defined by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye (CN109294001, IDS filed April 21, 2024, English translation relied upon provided by the Examiner).
Regarding claims 1,3, 13: Ye teaches a uniformly crosslinked sodium alginate film and preparation method thereof, each component comprising following parts by weight: 1-5 parts of sodium alginate, chitosan oligosaccharide 0.05-1 parts of calcium complex, 0.05-1 parts of the NaOH solution of 0.1M, 1-5 parts of organic acid, 2-10 parts of glycerol, 40-85 parts of deionized water (English translation, abstract). According to the instant specification glycols, glycerin (i.e. glycerol) are plasticizers (pg. 9, lines 20-21). The degree of cross linking of film can be regulated and controlled by adjusting sodium alginate and chitosan oligosaccharide-calcium complex ratio simultaneously; addition, the chitosan oligosaccharide that chitosan oligosaccharide-calcium complex releases can also assign film certain anti-microbial property, had a good application prospect in food industry and field of medicaments (abstract). Ye teaches the method comprises the following steps:
(English translation, pg. 4, first half of page). The cross linking is controlled by adjusting the system pH for uniform release (i.e. addition of citric acid, crosslinking control agent, English translation, pg. 3, para. 23).
Claims 1-3, 11, 14, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Esser (J. Biomedical Materials Research, 2013, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-3, 11, 14, 19-23: Esser teaches the preparation of thin alginate films (approx.. 20 um) via the control of calcium content and distribution as well as the time and process of cross-linking (abstract). Esser further teaches the compositions include plasticizers to influence stability and elasticity (abstract). The method comprises dissolving alginate and glycerol in water, adding an aqueous solution of calcium chloride and EDTA, adjusted to pH 7.5 (pg. 828, col. 2, para. 3). GDL (i.e. glucono-delta-lactone) was added and dissolved, the mixture was then drawn using a coatmaster, the obtained films were then air dried to obtain a constant water content (i.e. spread flatly, pg. 828, col. 2, para. 3). The films were drawn on a glass plate (i.e. carrier, pg. 828, figure 1, col. 1, para. 1). During this drying process, the GDL further decreased the pH and the calcium ions were released from the calcium–EDTA complex for the cross-linking of the alginate (pg. 828, col. 2, para. 3). In this instance calcium chloride can be considered the crosslinking agent, wherein calcium-EDTA or GDL are a crosslinking control agent which control calcium release via pH. According to the instant specification glycols, glycerin are plasticizers (pg. 9, lines 20-21). As best understood in view of the 112(b) above, EDTA has higher affinity for calcium than does chloride. Esser teaches the thin films have 30 um thickness (pg. 838, col. 2, para. 2). Esser teaches the residual water contents of the tested films ranged from about 5 to 11 mg per 100 mg of air-dried alginate film (i.e. 5-11%, solvent/moisture, pg. 831, cols. 1-2, bridging para.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN109294001, IDS filed April 21, 2024, English translation relied upon provided by the Examiner) as applied to claims 1, 3, 13 above further in view of Ye.
Regarding claims 12-13: Even if assuming for the sake of argument Ye does not teach moisture content specifically, wherein, Ye teaches 40-85 parts of deionized water in the mixture (English translation, abstract), in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN109294001, IDS filed April 21, 2024, English translation relied upon provided by the Examiner) as applied to claims 1, 3, 12-13 above in view of Hammer (DE19704737, IDS filed April 21, 2024, the English translation relied upon provided by the Examiner).
Regarding claims 6 and 9: As discussed above, Ye teaches the method of claim 1.
They do not teach wherein mixture is mixed in an extruder the flat spreading takes place through a wide slot nozzle.
Hammer teaches edible molded bodies in the form of a flat or tubular film based on plastifiable biopolymers, the cleavage products or derivatives thereof and/or synthetic polymers from natural monomers, characterized in that they are produced according to a method comprising the following steps: a) the biopolymers, cleavage products or derivatives thereof and/or synthetic polymers are mixed with at least one edible plasticizer, at least one lubricating agent and at least one cross-linking agent, b) the mixture thus obtained is melted into a thermoplastic material, c) said material is extruded and d) the product obtained by extrusion is calendered and/or stretched or blown and deformed into the edible molded body (English translation, abstract). Hammer teaches alginate based casings suffer from a loss of firmness (English translation, pg. 2, paras. 2 and 4). Hammer teaches biopolymers can be comprised of alginate from 15 up to 80 wt% of the product (English translation, pg. 2, para. 12). Plasticizers can be in an amount of 2 to 25 wt % (English translation, pg. 2, para. 14). Hammer teaches depending on the shape of the nozzle (ring-shaped or slit-shaped), they form during extrusion sheets or pipes made of the thermoplastic mixture, which then pass through calendering and / or stretching in the longitudinal and / or transverse direction or by blow molding into flat films or seamless tubular films to let (English translation, pg. 2, para. 10).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such the mixture is extruded through a slit-shaped nozzle (i.e. wide slot nozzle) in order to prepare the alginate (sheets/films) as taught by Hammer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as extruders with these types of nozzles are known in the art for producing biopolymer films for preparing a uniform shape.
Claims 1-7, 10-15, 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jost (J. Appl. Polym. Sci., 2018, cited on PTO-892) in view of Senturk (Foods, 2018, IDS filed April 21, 2024).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, 10-11, 14, 20, 22-23: Jost teaches the use of alginate as a coating material for packaging applications (abstract). Jost teaches the formulation of aqueous alginate was prepared at pH 7 by mixing distilled water with 7.5 wt % alginate powder (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 7). Crosslinking agent and GDL were added and mixed at 50 C (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 8). The films were dried to a film thickness of approximately 100 um (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 9). Using a slow hydrolysing substance, for example glucono d-lacton (GDL), a pH shift can be induced which leads to controlled release of Ca from the crosslinking agent (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). In the crosslinking agents CaCl + Na2-ethylene diamine tetraacetic acid (EDTA)-complex as well as the low solubility salts calcium hydrogen phosphate (CaHPO4) and calcium carbonate (CaCO3) are used (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). GDL was used to lower the pH and thereby induce a controlled release of Ca (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). The concentration of crosslinking agents and GDL was 20 wt % for all crosslinking agents at the most suitable ratio (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 3). Jost teaches the alginate film for packaging applications of oxygen sensitive products (pg. 10, col. 1, para. 1). For lacquering processes films could be casted using a blade coater with a trihelical roll (i.e. roller/carrier) (pg. 3, col. 2, para. 2).
While Jost suggests plasticizer content influences mechanical values (pg. 7, col. 2, para. 2), Jost does not explicitly teach incorporation of a plasticizer.
However, Senturk teaches the mechanical properties of biodegradable packages can be improved by the plasticization of the polymer-network with plasticizers, which are generally non-volatile and miscible with the polymer. The primary objectives of the plasticizers are increasing the free volume or molecular mobility of polymers, decreasing the intermolecular forces bestowing flexibility, reducing brittleness, improving tear impact resistance, and regulating the flow of the coating material (pg. 6, section 5.1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Jost such that a plasticizer is added as suggested by Senturk. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve film properties and plasticizers are common additives for incorporation into alginate films.
Regarding claims 4-5: As discussed above, Jost and Senturk render obvious the methodof claim 1.Jost does not teach wherein the solvent is added last (after crosslinking control agent).
However, Jost teaches the preparation of the GDL solution should be done just before the addition to the alginate solution to avoid premature hydrolysis (pg. 3, col. 1, methods preparation of the formulations).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Jost such that the solvent is added last to initiate cross-linking. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent premature cross-linking as the art establishes hydrolysis of gluconolactone begins in solution immediately. Additionally, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious, absent a showing of unexpected results (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)).
Regarding claim 6: As discussed above, Jost and Senturk render obvious the method of claim 1. Jost teaches the processes of crosslinking alginates utilizes casting films (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 1).
Jost does not teach wherein the films were mixed in an extruder.
However, Senturk teaches solvent casting and extrusion are two alternative techniques for preparing alginate films (pg. 14, sections 6.1.1.-6.1.2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jost such that extrusion is utilized instead of solvent casting as taught by Senturk. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as they are both known techniques for the purpose of forming an alginate film.
Regarding claims 12-13 and 21: As discussed above, Jost and Senturk render obvious the method of claim 1.They do not specifically teach the moisture content in the mixture and resulting film.
However, Jost teaches measuring moisture content of alginate films (pg. 5, table II). Jost teaches crosslinking degree alters moisture content (pg. 6, col. 1, para. 1). Senturk teaches Moisture barrier characteristics (i.e., moisture content, water vaporpermeability (WVP), water vapor resistance (WVR), and water vapor transmission rate (WVTR)) have been commonly studied in the literature of alginate-based edible films and coatings since moisture barrier properties are very critical in designing the coating process (pg. 24, para. 2).. Incorporation of additives can alter the moisture transfer properties of the formed film (pg. 24, para. 6). The type of film formation method also affects water barrier properties (pg. 25, para. 3).
Regarding claim 15: As discussed above, Jost and Senturk render obvious the method of claim 1.
They does not specifically teach wherein film undergoes a decrease in film thickness of at least 50 um during the drying process.
However, Jost teaches based on the high mechanical stress especially during drying, the thick cast films might express different density and structural defects which might be the reason for the higher water permeability. (pg. 9, col. 1, para. 1). Senturk teaches alginate-based edible coatings and films attract interest for improving/maintaining quality and extending the shelf-life of fruit, vegetable, meat, poultry, seafood, and cheese by reducing dehydration (as sacrificial moisture agent), controlling respiration, enhancing product appearance, improving mechanical properties, etc (abstract). Senturk teaches that during the solvent casting process, the structure of the alginate film is depended on the composition of the casting solution, wet casting thickness, temperature and relative humidity of the drying conditions (pg. 14, section 6.1.1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the film thickness during drying as suggested by Senturk. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to optimize the structure of the resulting alginate film, considering wet casting thickness during solvent casting is a known result effective variable in the art of alginate based films (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claims 17-18: Jost teaches the concentration of crosslinking agents and GDL was 20 wt % for all crosslinking agents at the most suitable ratio (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 3). Senturk teaches the the plasticizer amount should be determined between 10% and 25% as lower concentrations cause brittlness whereas higher concentrations lead to stickiness (pg. 7, para. 1). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jost (J. Appl. Polym. Sci., 2018, cited on PTO-892) and Senturk (Foods, 2018, IDS filed April 21, 2024) as applied to claims 1-7, 10-15, 17-23 above in view of Castro (e-Polymers, 2021, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claim 8: As discussed above, Jost and Senturk render obvious the method of claim 1. Jost teaches removal of bubbles (pg. 3, col. 1, methods, preparation of the formulations). Senturk teaches uniform and defect-free (i.e., no air bubble and mechanical damage) film forming is very crucial to optimize its functionalities (pg. 13, last para.).
They do not teach wherein the mixture is mixed under negative pressure.
However, Castro teaches applying vacuum pressure (i.e. negative pressure) during mixing of components in the preparation of alginate films to remove bubbles (pg. 84, col. 2, para. 3).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that the components are mixed under vacuum as suggested by Castro. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure the film is free of air bubbles and vacuum is a known technique for removing bubbles during component mixing in the preparation of alginate-based films.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jost (J. Appl. Polym. Sci., 2018, cited on PTO-892) and Senturk (Foods, 2018, IDS filed April 21, 2024) as applied to claims 1-7, 10-15, 17-23 above in view of Hammer (DE19704737, IDS filed April 21, 2024, the English translation relied upon provided by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 9: As discussed above, Jost and Senturk render obvious the method of claim 1. Jost and Esser render obvious using extrusion to prepare alginate films.
They do not teach wherein the flat spreading takes place through a wide slot nozzle.
However, Hammer teaches edible molded bodies in the form of a flat or tubular film based on plastifiable biopolymers, the cleavage products or derivatives thereof and/or synthetic polymers from natural monomers, characterized in that they are produced according to a method comprising the following steps: a) the biopolymers, cleavage products or derivatives thereof and/or synthetic polymers are mixed with at least one edible plasticizer, at least one lubricating agent and at least one cross-linking agent, b) the mixture thus obtained is melted into a thermoplastic material, c) said material is extruded and d) the product obtained by extrusion is calendered and/or stretched or blown and deformed into the edible molded body (English translation, abstract). Hammer teaches alginate based casings suffer from a loss of firmness (English translation, pg. 2, paras. 2 and 4). Hammer teaches biopolymers can be comprised of alginate from 15 up to 80 wt% of the product (English translation, pg. 2, para. 12). Plasticizers can be in an amount of 2 to 25 wt % (English translation, pg. 2, para. 14). Hammer teaches depending on the shape of the nozzle (ring-shaped or slit-shaped), they form during extrusion sheets or pipes made of the thermoplastic mixture, which then pass through calendering and / or stretching in the longitudinal and / or transverse direction or by blow molding into flat films or seamless tubular films to let (English translation, pg. 2, para. 10).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such the mixture is pushed through a slit-shaped nozzle (i.e. wide slot nozzle) in order to prepare the alginate (sheets/films) as taught by Hammer. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as these types of nozzles are known in the art for producing biopolymer films for preparing a uniform shape.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jost (J. Appl. Polym. Sci., 2018, cited on PTO-892) and Senturk (Foods, 2018, IDS filed April 21, 2024) as applied to claims 1-7, 10-15, 17-23 above in view of Bonniksen (US 2,030,566, IDS filed April 21, 2024).
Regarding claim 10: Even if assuming for the sake of obvious that Jost does not teach a roller for spreading flatly the mixture, the claim would have been obvious in view of Bonniksen.
As discussed above, Jost and Senturk render obvious the method of claim 1. J
They do not teach wherein not teach a roller for spreading flatly the mixture.
However, Bonnikson teaches a process for preparing alginate films (pg. 1, col. 1, lines 1-2, col. 2, lines 32-36). Bonnikson teaches wherein the alginate film is flattened using a roller (drawings figure, parts 16-17, pg. 2, col. 1, lines 51-66).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such the mixture is spread flatly using a roller as taught by Bonniksen. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as this type of tool is known in the art for producing biopolymer films for preparing a uniform shape.
Claims 4-5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esser (J. Biomedical Materials Research, 2013, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-3, 11, 14, 19-23 above further in view of Esser.
Regarding claims 4-5: As discussed above, Esser teaches the method of claim 1.Esser does not teach wherein the solvent is added last (after crosslinking control agent).
However, Esser teaches that gluconolactone hydrolysis starts hydrolyzing in solution immediately, and that premature cross-linking is a risk (pg. 828, col. 2, para. 3). Esser teaches the method using The final method using the soluble Ca-complex avoided all of these problems since all components are soluble and can be thoroughly mixed in solution (pg. 836, col. 1, para. 1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Esser such that the solvent is added last to initiate cross-linking. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent premature cross-linking as the art establishes hydrolysis of gluconolactone begins in solution immediately. Additionally, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious, absent a showing of unexpected results (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)).
Regarding claims 16-18: Esser teaches the following masses were used to prepare films: 144 mg alginate, 144 mg glycerol (i.e. 50% alginate, 50% glycerol, total weight of plasticizer and alginate), 72 mg calcium citrate, 288 mg gluconolactone (i.e. 55% crosslinking system, by weight of plasticizer/alginate/crosslinking system (360mg/648mg) (pg. 827, col. 2, last para.). Wherein it would be obvious to add solvent last, the amounts recited by Esser fall within the claimed ranges of claims 16-18.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esser (J. Biomedical Materials Research, 2013, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-5, 11-14, 16-23 above further in view of Senturk (Foods, 2018, IDS filed April 21, 2024).
Regarding claim 6: As discussed above, Esser teaches the method of claim 1. Esser teaches a method wherein the mixture was drawn using a coatmaster (i.e. spread flatly, i.e. casting, pg. 828, col. 2, paras. 4-5).
Esser does not teach wherein the films were mixed in an extruder.
However, Senturk teaches solvent casting and extrusion are two alternative techniques for preparing alginate films (pg. 14, sections 6.1.1.-6.1.2).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Esser such that extrusion is utilized instead of solvent casting as taught by Senturk. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as they are both known techniques for the purpose of forming an alginate film.
Regarding claim 15: As discussed above, Esser teaches the method of claim 1. Esser teaches a method wherein the mixture was drawn using a coatmaster, the obtained films were then air dried to obtain a constant water content (i.e. spread flatly, i.e. casting, pg. 828, col. 2, paras. 4-5).
Esser does not teach wherein film undergoes a decrease in film thickness of at least 50 um during the drying process.
Senturk teaches alginate-based edible coatings and films attract interest for improving/maintaining quality and extending the shelf-life of fruit, vegetable, meat, poultry, seafood, and cheese by reducing dehydration (as sacrificial moisture agent), controlling respiration, enhancing product appearance, improving mechanical properties, etc (abstract). Senturk teaches that during the solvent casting process, the structure of the alginate film is dependent on the composition of the casting solution, wet casting thickness, temperature and relative humidity of the drying conditions (pg. 14, section 6.1.1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the film thickness during drying as suggested by Senturk. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to optimize the structure of the resulting alginate film, considering wet casting thickness during solvent casting is a known result effective variable in the art of alginate based films (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res., 2008, cited on PTO-892) teaches a novel kind of calcium phosphate-mineralized chitosan/alginate microscapsules was prepared through a bio-inspired process for efficient encapsulation of yeast alcohol dehydrogenase (YADH) (abstract).
/SAMUEL L GALSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1693