DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, filed on 06/09/2026, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/21/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/09/2026, with respect to claim rejection 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive because claim has been amended to correct the issue. The rejection of claim 15 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior art(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong (US 2023/0370996 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Hong discloses a communication control apparatus (fig.24, base station) comprising at least one processor (fig.24, processor 2410) that executes:
receiving a request for a position of a communication device connected to a communication station ([0085]-[0087]) (Note: the base station receives a location information report request for a target UE (communication device) connected to an IAB node (communication station));
determining whether a specific condition related to the communication device is satisfied ([0090]-[0091]) (Note: the base station determines whether the IAB node corresponding to the target UE is an authorized IAB node (specific condition related to the target UE is satisfied)); and
providing a position of the communication station in response to the request for the position of the communication device when the specific condition is satisfied ([0092]-[0094]) (Note: in response to the request, the base station transmits identification of the IAB node when the IAB node is an authorized IAB node, wherein the identification is mapped to a fixed area (position) of the core network).
Referring to claim 4, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the request satisfies the specific condition, the at least one processor provides the position of the communication station itself acquired through a positioning function of the communication station ([0044] and ([0092]-[0094]) (Note: when the request satisfies the specific condition, the base station transmits the fixed area (position) of the IAB node obtained through a unified data management (UDM) platform).
Referring to claim 6, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the request satisfies a specific condition, the at least one processor provides position information concerning the communication device that is estimated based on communication between the communication station and the communication device ([0092]-[0094]) (Note: when the request satisfies the specific condition, the base station transmits the fixed area (position) identification of the IAB node based on connection between the target UE and the IAB node).
Referring to claim 7, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the request satisfies a specific condition, the at least one processor provides positioning information concerning the communication device that is acquired through an electromagnetic wave emitted from one of the communication station and the communication device to the other ([0041] and [0092]-[0094]) (Note: when the request satisfies the specific condition, the base station transmits the identification of the IAB node concerning the target UE (communication device) obtained through radio waves in a cell (area in which the target UE exists)).
Referring to claim 10, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication station is a relay station that relays communication between a base station and the communication device ([0085]-[0094]) (Note: the reference discloses wherein the IAB node is used as a relay station between a base station and the target UE).
Referring to claim 14, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 15, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Hong further discloses a storage medium, that stores a communication control program of causing at least one processor to execute the features of claim 1 ([0247]-[0250]).
Referring to claim 16, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication station includes a positioning device that includes at least one of a satellite positioning device, a communication positioning device, or an electromagnetic wave positioning device ([0040]-[0044]) (Note: the reference discloses the IAB node (communication station) as a communication positioning device, or a wireless (electromagnetic wave) positioning device).
Referring to claim 17, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 16 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 18, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 16 is applicable herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Shin (US 2013/0203438 A1).
Referring to claim 2, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, except wherein the specific condition is whether the communication device itself can acquire the position of the communication device through a satellite positioning device included in the communication device, and the at least one processor does not provide the position positioning of the communication station when the communication device itself can acquire the position of the communication device.
However, in the same field of endeavor of communication control apparatus art, Shin discloses a concept wherein when position information of the communication device itself can be acquired through a satellite positioning device included in the communication device, the processor does not provide positioning information acquired through the positioning function of the communication station (fig.3 and [0038] and [0043]) (Note: when the GPS is utilized, the mobile communication acquires the GPS satellite information and the positioning information of the station is not provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the communication control apparatus of Hong with the concept of Shin to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduce network congestion and obtain high accuracy in positioning.
Referring to claim 3, Hong in view of Shin discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 2. Shin discloses wherein the specific condition is whether a quality of the position of the communication device itself acquired through a satellite positioning device included in the communication device is higher a predetermined positioning quality criterion, and the at least one processor does not provide the position of the communication station when the quality is higher than the predetermined quality criterion (fig.3 and [0038] and [0043]) (Note: the mobile communication acquires the GPS satellite information and the server does not provide positioning information of the base station when GPS signals are suitable (predetermined positioning quality criterion)).
The same motivation provided for claim 2 is applicable herein.
Claim 5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Aoyama et al. (hereinafter referred to as Aoyama, US 2011/0306356 A1).
Referring to claim 5, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 4, except wherein the position of the communication station itself is acquired through a satellite positioning device included in the communication station.
However, Aoyama discloses a concept wherein the position of the communication station itself is acquired through a satellite positioning device included in the communication station ([0037], fig.4 and [0051]-[0052]) (Note: the approximate positional information DB 23 (of the SUPL server) stores GPS positioning of the base station device (Lat (Latitude (Y) and Lon (Longitude (X))) in association with a cell ID of the cell (of the base station device) . Thus, the position information of the base station device itself is acquired through a satellite positioning device included in the base station device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the communication control apparatus of Hong with the concept of Aoyama to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain exact real-time coordinates of the communication station.
Referring to claim 12, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 10, except wherein the base station is a non-terrestrial base station that flies.
However, Aoyama discloses a concept wherein the base station is a non-terrestrial base station that flies ([0036]) (Note: the communication terminal 60 receives signals from three or more GPS satellites located above (in space)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the communication control apparatus of Hong with the concept of Aoyama to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain provide a large global coverage where ground-based cell towers cannot reach.
Referring to claim 13, Hong in view of Aoyama discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 12. Aoyama further discloses wherein the non-terrestrial base station is a communication satellite that flies in space ([0036]) (Note: satellite is described as non-terrestrial base station that flies in space).
The same motivation provided for claim 12 is applicable herein.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Dong (US 2017/0215168 A1).
Referring to claim 8, Aoyama discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, except wherein the specific condition is that the request relates to a related communication device having a predetermined relationship with the communication device.
However, in the same field of endeavor of communication control apparatus art, Dong discloses a concept wherein the specific condition is that the request relates to a related communication device having a predetermined relationship with the communication device ([0068]-[0069] and [0092]-[0094]) (Note: the request for positioning information is related to a neighboring terminal having a relationship with the to-be-positioned terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the communication control apparatus of Hong with the concept of Dong to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency and optimize resource allocation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Nelson et al. (hereinafter referred to as Nelson, US 2022/0070623 A1).
Referring to claim 9, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, except wherein the specific condition is that the request relates to emergency communication with respect to the communication device.
However, in the same field of endeavor of communication control apparatus art, Nelson discloses a concept wherein the specific condition is that the request relates to emergency communication with respect to the communication device ([0122]) (Note: the edge core router determines whether the call request initiated by UE is an emergency call request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the communication control apparatus of Hong with the concept of Nelson to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to instantaneously provide a targeted and secure response without delays.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Yuan et al. (hereinafter referred to as Yuan, US 2021/0337605 A1).
Referring to claim 11, Hong discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the relay station is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([0040]-[0044]) (Note: the reference discloses an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node).
Hong fails to explicitly disclose an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node including a mobile termination (MT) that functions as a communication device with respect to the base station and a distributed unit (DU) that functions as a base station with respect to the communication device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node including a mobile termination (MT) that functions as a communication device with respect to the base station and a distributed unit (DU) that functions as a base station with respect to the communication device (fig.2 and [0141]) (Note: the relay station 120 is an IAB device that may include two function modules: a mobile-termination (mobile-termination, MT) function module and a distributed unit (distributed unit, DU) function module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to replace the communication station of Hong with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node including a mobile termination (MT) that functions as a communication device with respect to the base station and a distributed unit (DU) that functions as a base station with respect to the communication device as taught by Yuan. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for a faster deployment, enhanced network capacity, extended coverage, and efficient spectrum reuse.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683