DETAIL ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 04/22/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (“Li”, US Pat 10454381), in further view of Nasiri et al. (“Nasiri”, US Pat 11689092).
Regarding independent claim 1, Li teaches (Fig. 8; col. 3 L31-41 and col. 6 L4-col. 7 L25) a method for improving the efficiency of an inverter, characterized by comprising:
performing power modulation mode switching of a dual-active-bridge-type (DAB) inverter (i.e., using bidirectional power flow between DC to AC), such that the power is bi-directionally transmitted from a DC side (102) to an AC side (100) and from the AC side (100) to the DC side (102), thereby reducing an effective value of a secondary side current of a transformer (high-frequency transformer’s (HFT) secondary winding (SW) receiving current (I SW) from primary side current (I PW) in 50); and
according to a modulation mode (i.e., grid tired mode, stand-alone inverter mode or critical conduction mode) switching characteristic of the dual-active-bridge- type inverter (DAB) within a power frequency period (i.e., frequency range or period), performing (i.e., using control loops of ‘110, 120, 130, 140’) hybrid optimization on a turn ratio (i.e., winding ratio of HFT on PW vs. SW) of a primary side to a secondary side and a transformer leakage inductance of a high-frequency transformer (HFT’s SW receiving current (I SW) from primary side current (I PW) in 50) of the dual-active-bridge-type (DAB) micro-inverter.
However, Li fails to explicitly teach use of a micro-inverter.
However, Nasiri explicitly teaches old well-established technique for use of a micro-inverter (micro-inverters or AC-module inverter with a high-frequency transformers (HFTs) embedded in an AC-DC-DC DAB converters, known as high-frequency-link inverter. See, col. 1 L24-col. 2 L20).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s methods being explicitly used for a micro-inverter, as doing so would have provided an improved efficiency within the converter with high power capability and current control, as taught by Nasiri (col. 1 L32-64).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches (Fig. 8; col. 3 L31-41 and col. 6 L4-col. 7 L25) a dual-active-bridge-type (DAB) inverter, implements the method according to claim 1.
However, Li fails to explicitly teach use of a micro-inverter.
However, Nasiri explicitly teaches old well-established technique for use of a micro-inverter (micro-inverters or AC-module inverter with a high-frequency transformers (HFTs) embedded in an AC-DC-DC DAB converters, known as high-frequency-link inverter. See, col. 1 L24-col. 2 L20).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s methods being explicitly used for a micro-inverter, as doing so would have provided an improved efficiency within the converter with high power capability and current control, as taught by Nasiri (col. 1 L32-64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, cited art(s) failed to teach, “performing power modulation mode switching of a dual-active-bridge-type micro-inverter, such that the power is bi-directionally transmitted from a DC side to an AC side and from the AC side to the DC side, thereby reducing an effective value of a secondary side current of a transformer comprises: determining an internal phase shift angle D1 and an external phase shift angle D2, the internal phase shift angle Di is an angle between a negative rising edge of a square wave voltage generated by a primary side square wave generating circuit and a positive rising edge of the square wave voltage generated by the primary side square wave generating circuit; the external phase shift angle D2 is an angle between a fundamental wave of the square wave voltage generated by the primary side square wave generating circuit of the transformer and a fundamental wave of a square wave voltage generated by a secondary side square wave generating circuit of the transformer; directly controlling the primary side square wave generating circuit by using the internal phase shift angle Di to generate a corresponding square wave voltage, controlling the secondary side square wave generating circuit by using the external phase shift angle D2 summed with an output of the current loop closed-loop control by an adder, to generate a corresponding square wave voltage, to realize the given transmission power of the micro-inverter; taking the internal phase shift angle D1 and the external phase shift angle D2 as two control degrees of freedom of the micro-inverter, according to the two control degrees of freedom of the micro-inverter, dividing the modulation mode of transmission power into mode one, mode two and mode three, and according to the instantaneous transmission power of the micro-inverter and the value of the internal phase shift angle D1, switching the micro-inverter between mode three and mode two”.
Claims 3-11 are depending from claim 1.
Claims 12-13 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 12, cited art(s) failed to teach, “a dual-active-bridge-type micro-inverter, comprises a dual-active-bridge-type micro-inverter body and a power modulation mode switching system;
an input end of a phase-locked loop segment is connected to the power grid, an output end of the phase-locked loop segment, after combining with the output end of the power grid current given value, is connected to an input end of a current loop segment;
the input end of the feed-forward control segment is connected to the DC side battery, the combination end of the phase-locked loop segment with the output end of the power grid current given value, and the power grid, respectively;
one output end of the feed-forward control segment is connected to the primary side square wave generating circuit to control the primary side square wave generating circuit to output square wave voltage, and the other output end of the feed-forward control segment, after combining with the output end of the current loop segment, is connected to the secondary side square wave generating circuit, to control the secondary square wave generating circuit to output square wave voltage, thereby realizing a given transmission power;
defining the angle between the negative rising edge of the square wave voltage generated by the primary side square wave generating circuit and the positive rising edge of the square wave voltage generated by the primary side square wave generating circuit as an internal phase shift angle Di;
defining the angle between the fundamental wave of the square wave voltage generated by the primary side square wave generating circuit and the fundamental wave of the square wave voltage generated by the secondary side square wave generating circuit as an external phase shift angle D2; and
taking the internal phase shift angle Di and the external phase shift angle D2 as two control degrees of freedom of the dual-active-bridge-type micro-inverter, according to the two control degrees of freedom, dividing the modulation mode of transmission power of the dual-active-bridge- type micro-inverter into mode one, mode two and mode three, and according to the instantaneous transmission power of the dual-active-bridge-type micro-inverter and the value of the internal phase shift angle D1, switching the micro-inverter between mode three and mode two”.
Claims 13 is depending from claim 12.
Conclusion
/NUSRAT QUDDUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838