DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to a communication filed 09/10/2025.
Claims 11 and 19 are amended.
Claims 11-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/10/2025, with respect to claims 11 and 19 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 11 and 19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2025 with respect to claims 11-20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Pandey (US 20210105174) in view of Kobayashi (US 20220417346) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the reasons below:
In a response filed on 09/10/2025, the Applicant argued that neither the cited portions of Pandey nor the cited portions of Kobayashi, alone or cited together, teach a processor performing actions such as those recited in the amended claims 11 and 19 in response to a determination that the second electronic device does not react to the request. For at least these reasons, the Applicant believes that the claims are patentable over the cited prior art: After careful review of the Applicant’s arguments and upon consideration of the cited prior art, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertions. As a first matter, Pandey teaches methods and techniques for monitoring the operation status of transceiver units 1872-1, 1872-2 of the communication devices 1810-1, 1810-2 in the in-vehicle network and detecting a failure in a communication link related to one of the communication devices 1810-1 and 1810-2 and/or detecting an erroneous condition at the communications terminal (see [0081]). More specifically, Pandey discloses:
[0082]: The failure detection unit 1874-2 is configured to detect a failure related to the communication device 1810-2 (i.e. the second electronic control device). In some embodiments, the failure detection unit is configured to detect a failure of a communications link within the communications network 1800 that involves the communication device 1810-2 and to store link information that specifies the link failure status of the communications link in the storage unit 1876-2.
[0084]: Next, at block 2004, it is determined whether or not locally stored link status information indicates a failure of a communications link that involves the communications device (i.e. failure to react to the request). For example, the controller unit 1878-1 or 1878-2 of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 determines whether or not locally stored link status information indicates a failure of the communications channel 1870.
That is, the invention of Pandey suggests monitoring communications between at least two communication devices 1810-1 and 1810-2 in the communications network as illustrated in Fig. 18 and detecting whether a failure of a communication link that involves the communication device 1810-2 is detected. Moreover, Pandey teaches a failure detection unit 1874-1 and 1874-2 which is configured to detect a failure related to the communication devices 1810-1 and 1810-2 respectively, upon receiving a change request at one of the communication devices and determining that an error condition has occurred at the communication device (see Fig. 19 step 2002 and [0083]). Although the invention of Pandey does not explicitly suggest a lack of “reaction from the second electronic control device” as a result of the failed communication link and in response to the request, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and reasonable to interpret the link failure condition at one of the communication devices 1810-1 and/or 1810-2 as implying a lack of reaction from either one of the communication devices because link failures, as known in the art, relate to the interruption of a physical or logical connection between two devices in a network, preventing data from being transmitted. Furthermore, this feature is further evidenced in the Kobayashi reference which teaches:
[0058]: After transmitting a wake-up signal to the Ethernet communication line or the CAN communication line, the bypass circuit 24 determines the presence/absence of a response signal transmitted from a device (device such as an ECU 3 or the GW 1) connected to the communication line.
[0063]: Then, the bypass circuit 24 determines whether or not a response signal from a device connected to the CAN communication line, to which a wake-up signal was output, has been received on the communication line before a predetermined period has elapsed (step S6) (i.e. determining that the second electronic control device does not react to the request)).
That is, in the Kobayashi reference, a wake-up signal (i.e. request) is sent to a device ECU 3 or GW 1 (i.e. the second electronic control device) in the vehicle communication system over a communication line, and a determination is made as to whether a response signal is received from the device within a predetermined period of time (i.e. the response signal from the device is equivalent to the reaction as cited in claims 11 and 19). Accordingly, the teachings of Kobayashi, in combination with the features disclosed in the Pandey reference provide a processor capable of performing the actions cited in the pending claims in response to determining that the second electronic control device does not react as explained in at least the cited portions pf Pandey and Kobayashi above. Therefore, the Examiner notes that the Applicant’s arguments are erroneous and the Examiner maintains his position that the claims are not patentable over the Pandey-Kobayashi combination.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, it is recited: “sending, a processor, a request by a first electronic control device ...” in line 1 of the claim. However, it appears that there is a missing linking word/function between the words “sending” and “a processor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandey (US 20210105174) in view of Kobayashi (US 20220417346).
Regarding claim 11, Pandey teaches a method for communication between electronic control devices for a transportation vehicle (see Fig. 1 and [0054]: FIG. 1 depicts a communications network 100 that includes one or more sensor nodes 104-1, 104-2, . . ., 104-18, one or more communications nodes 106-1, 106-2, . . ., 106-10, and one or more electronic control units (ECUs) 108-1, 108-2. The communications network can be used in various applications, such as automotive applications, communications applications, industrial applications, medical applications, computer applications, and/or consumer or appliance applications), comprising:
Sending, a processor, a request by a first electronic control device to a second electronic control device (see Fig. 16 step 1606 and [0078]: At block 1606, communications are conducted between the communications devices (i.e. first electronic control device and second electronic control device) based on the addresses assigned to the clusters. The communications devices may be similar to, the same as, or a component of the sensor nodes 104-1, 104-2, ..., 104-18 and/or the ECUs 108-1, 108-2 depicted in FIG. 1, the communications device 210 depicted in FIG. 2; see also [0084]: At block 2002, at a communications device, a request for changing a network parameter of the communications device is received. For example, a request for changing a network parameter of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 (i.e. first electronic control device and second electronic control device) is received at the transceiver unit 1872-1 or 1872-2).
Determining, with the processor, that the second electronic control device does not react to the request (see at least [0084]: Next, at block 2004, it is determined whether or not locally stored link status information indicates a failure of a communications link that involves the communications device (i.e. failure to react to the request). For example, the controller unit 1878-1 or 1878-2 of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 determines whether or not locally stored link status information indicates a failure of the communications channel 1870; Additionally, Pandey teaches in [0082]: The failure detection unit 1874-2 is configured to detect a failure related to the communication device 1810-2 (i.e. the second electronic control device). In some embodiments, the failure detection unit is configured to detect a failure of a communications link within the communications network 1800 that involves the communication device 1810-2 and to store link information that specifies the link failure status of the communications link in the storage unit 1876-2).
However, while the invention of Pandey does not explicitly suggest that the second electronic control device fails to react in response to the request in response to detecting the failed communication link, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and reasonable to interpret the link failure condition at one of the communication devices 1810-1 and/or 1810-2 as implying a lack of reaction from either one of the communication devices because link failures, as known in the art, relate to the interruption of a physical or logical connection between two devices in a network, preventing data from being transmitted. This feature is further evidenced in the Kobayashi reference which teaches: a method in accordance with the present invention, the method comprising: [0058]: After transmitting a wake-up signal to the Ethernet communication line or the CAN communication line, the bypass circuit 24 determines the presence/absence of a response signal transmitted from a device (device such as an ECU 3 or the GW 1) connected to the communication line; see also [0063]: Then, the bypass circuit 24 determines whether or not a response signal from a device connected to the CAN communication line, to which a wake-up signal was output, has been received on the communication line before a predetermined period has elapsed (step S6) (i.e. determining that the second electronic control device does not react to the request)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the teachings of Pandey to incorporate the solutions provided by Kobayashi, namely monitoring communication requests between a first electronic device and a second electronic device and detecting connection failure between the devices due to non-response to a request in order to implement the connection failure determination from Pandey. The motivation for such combination would have been to provide a processing unit for monitoring presence/absence of activation signals on a communication line between a plurality of network devices, thereby facilitating identification of communication failures between components of an in-vehicle control system and implementing remedial actions for reestablishing the failed connection.
Pandey further teaches a method wherein in response to the determination that the second electronic control device does not react:
automatically adapting, with the processor, a data set assigned to the second electronic control device (see [0084]: Next, at block 2006, if/when locally stored link status information indicates a failure of a communications link that involves the communications device (i.e. failure to react), the request is granted and the network parameter is changed according to the request; see also [0085]: For example, the controller unit 1878-1 or 1878-2 of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 changes a routing table entry (i.e. adapting a dataset assigned to the second device) in the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 such that data between the communications device 1810-1, 1810-2 is routed through other communications link(s));
automatically writing, with the processor, the data set on an instance located outside the second electronic control device (see Fig. 22 and [0088]: FIG. 22 depicts a communications link 2288 in the communications network 1100 depicted in FIG. 11 that can be used to replace the communications link 1118-1 depicted in FIG. 21. As shown in FIG. 22, the ECU 1108-1 sends a change request to the ECU 1108-2 (i.e. instance located outside of the second electronic control device as shown in Fig. 11) to add an element on its routing table for routing data packets between the ECU 1108-1 and the communications node 1106-2 (i.e. the second electronic control device) through the communications link 2288 (i.e. writing the data set)), and
applying, with the processor, the data set in the instance to initiate a reaction of the second electronic control device to the request (see [0088]: The ECU 1108-1 sends a control command and conveys link failure status to the communications node 1106-2 via an alternative route, ECU 1108-1→the ECU 1108-2→the communications node 1106-2 (i.e. applying the data set in the instance). The communications node 1106-2 can send an acknowledgement (ACK) back to the ECU 1108-1 (i.e. the reaction as a consequence of defining an alternate route). The ECU 1108-1 sends a command to set routing table in the communications node 1106-2 to route data packet via the ECU 1108-2).
Regarding claim 12, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The combination of Pandey and Kobayashi teaches a method comprising automatically writing the data set on an instance located outside the second electronic control device. Furthermore, Pandey teaches a method wherein the instance comprises:
a switching device (see [0056]: In some embodiments, at least one of the communications nodes is implemented as a switch or a daisy chain node that can be serially connected with other daisy chain node to form a daisy chain network).
Regarding claim 13, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The combination of Pandey and Kobayashi teaches a method comprising automatically writing the data set on an instance located outside the second electronic control device. Furthermore, Pandey teaches a method wherein the data set comprises a data supply table (see [0085]: Examples of network parameters of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 that can be changed according to a change request include, without being limited to, a routing table entry ... For example, the controller unit 1878-1 or 1878-2 of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 changes a routing table entry in the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 such that data between the communications device 1810-1, 1810-2 is routed through other communications link(s)).
Regarding claim 14, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. Moreover, Pandey teaches a method wherein the data set has data for defining a mode of operation of a plurality of electronic control devices and/or instances contained in an electrical system of the transportation vehicle (see [0090]: In some embodiments, in a cluster-based communications network (e.g., the communications network 1100 depicted in FIG. 11), the routing table of a communications device, such as port-to-protocol information of the communications nodes 1106-1, 1106-2, . . . , 1106-10, are used to ensure the accuracy of the communications between the ECU 1108-1 or 1108-2 and corresponding sensor node(s)).
Regarding claim 15, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The combination of Pandey and Kobayashi teaches a method comprising sending a request by a first electronic control device to a second electronic control device. Furthermore, Kobayashi teaches a method wherein the request relates to a network message (see [0043]: The wake-up signal transmitted by the ECU 3 a to ECU 3 c).
Regarding claim 16, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The combination of Pandey and Kobayashi teaches a method comprising determining that the second electronic control device does not react to the request. Furthermore, Pandey teaches a method wherein the second electronic control device does not react to the request since the second electronic control device is not:
linked to a communication channel (see [0081]: The failure detection unit 1874-1 is configured to detect a failure related to the communication device 1810-1. In some embodiments, the failure detection unit is configured to detect a failure of a communications link within the communications network 1800 that involves the communication device 1810-1).
Regarding claim 17, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The combination of Pandey and Kobayashi further teaches a method wherein the instance causes, in dependence on the use of the data set:
authorizing of data exchange of the second electronic control device with the first electronic control device (Pandey - see [0081]: For example, if the link failure status information that is stored locally to the communications device 1810-1 indicates a communications link failure (e.g., a link failure of the communications channel 1870) when the change request is received at the communications device 1810-1, the change request is most likely authentic and the communications device 1810-2 from which the change request is received is most likely not compromised. Consequently, the controller unit 1878-1 grants the request for changing a network parameter of the communications device 1810-1 and changes the network parameter of the communications device 1810-1 according to the change request).
Regarding claim 18, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as disclosed in claim 11 examined above. The Kobayashi reference further teaches a method wherein the request and the writing take place via a bus system or network of the transportation vehicle (see [0036]: FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram illustrating one example configuration of an in-vehicle communication system according to the present embodiments. The in-vehicle communication system according to the present embodiments has a configuration in which a central gateway (GW) 1, a plurality of peripheral GWs 2 a to 2 d, a plurality of ECUs 3 a to 3 d, a plurality of sensors 4 a to 4 d, and a plurality of actuators 5 a to 5 d are installed at suitable positions of a vehicle 100).
Regarding claim 19, Pandey teaches a controller group for a transportation vehicle comprising:
a processor; and
a memory in communication with the processor and storing instructions executable by the processor to configure the controller group to:
send a message by a first electronic control device to a second electronic control device (see Fig. 16 step 1606 and [0078]: At block 1606, communications are conducted between the communications devices (i.e. first electronic control device and second electronic control device) based on the addresses assigned to the clusters. The communications devices may be similar to, the same as, or a component of the sensor nodes 104-1, 104-2, ..., 104-18 and/or the ECUs 108-1, 108-2 depicted in FIG. 1, the communications device 210 depicted in FIG. 2; see also [0084]: At block 2002, at a communications device, a request for changing a network parameter of the communications device is received. For example, a request for changing a network parameter of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 (i.e. first electronic control device and second electronic control device) is received at the transceiver unit 1872-1 or 1872-2).
Determine that the second electronic control device does not react to the request (see at least [0084]: Next, at block 2004, it is determined whether or not locally stored link status information indicates a failure of a communications link that involves the communications device (i.e. failure to react to the request). For example, the controller unit 1878-1 or 1878-2 of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 determines whether or not locally stored link status information indicates a failure of the communications channel 1870; Additionally, Pandey teaches in [0082]: The failure detection unit 1874-2 is configured to detect a failure related to the communication device 1810-2 (i.e. the second electronic control device). In some embodiments, the failure detection unit is configured to detect a failure of a communications link within the communications network 1800 that involves the communication device 1810-2 and to store link information that specifies the link failure status of the communications link in the storage unit 1876-2).
However, while the invention of Pandey does not explicitly suggest that the second electronic control device fails to react in response to the request in response to detecting the failed communication link, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and reasonable to interpret the link failure condition at one of the communication devices 1810-1 and/or 1810-2 as implying a lack of reaction from either one of the communication devices because link failures, as known in the art, relate to the interruption of a physical or logical connection between two devices in a network, preventing data from being transmitted. This feature is further evidenced in the Kobayashi reference which teaches: a method in accordance with the present invention, the method comprising: [0058]: After transmitting a wake-up signal to the Ethernet communication line or the CAN communication line, the bypass circuit 24 determines the presence/absence of a response signal transmitted from a device (device such as an ECU 3 or the GW 1) connected to the communication line; see also [0063]: Then, the bypass circuit 24 determines whether or not a response signal from a device connected to the CAN communication line, to which a wake-up signal was output, has been received on the communication line before a predetermined period has elapsed (step S6) (i.e. determining that the second electronic control device does not react to the request)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the teachings of Pandey to incorporate the solutions provided by Kobayashi, namely monitoring communication requests between a first electronic device and a second electronic device and detecting connection failure between the devices due to non-response to a request in order to implement the connection failure determination from Pandey. The motivation for such combination would have been to provide a processing unit for monitoring presence/absence of activation signals on a communication line between a plurality of network devices, thereby facilitating identification of communication failure points between components of an in-vehicle control system and implementing remedial actions for reestablishing the failed connection.
Pandey further teaches a system adapted to, in response to the determination that the second electronic control device does not react:
automatically adapt a data set assigned to the second electronic control device (see [0084]: Next, at block 2006, if/when locally stored link status information indicates a failure of a communications link that involves the communications device (i.e. failure to react), the request is granted and the network parameter is changed according to the request; see also [0085]: For example, the controller unit 1878-1 or 1878-2 of the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 changes a routing table entry (i.e. adapting a dataset assigned to the second device) in the communications device 1810-1 or 1810-2 such that data between the communications device 1810-1, 1810-2 is routed through other communications link(s));
automatically write the data set on an instance located outside the second electronic control device (see Fig. 22 and [0088]: FIG. 22 depicts a communications link 2288 in the communications network 1100 depicted in FIG. 11 that can be used to replace the communications link 1118-1 depicted in FIG. 21. As shown in FIG. 22, the ECU 1108-1 sends a change request to the ECU 1108-2 (i.e. instance located outside of the second electronic control device as shown in Fig. 11) to add an element on its routing table for routing data packets between the ECU 1108-1 and the communications node 1106-2 (i.e. the second electronic control device) through the communications link 2288 (i.e. writing the data set)), and
apply, with the processor, the data set in the instance to initiate a reaction of the second electronic control device to the request (see [0088]: The ECU 1108-1 sends a control command and conveys link failure status to the communications node 1106-2 via an alternative route, ECU 1108-1→the ECU 1108-2→the communications node 1106-2 (i.e. applying the data set in the instance). The communications node 1106-2 can send an acknowledgement (ACK) back to the ECU 1108-1 (i.e. the reaction as a consequence of defining an alternate route). The ECU 1108-1 sends a command to set routing table in the communications node 1106-2 to route data packet via the ECU 1108-2).
Regarding claim 20, Pandey in view of Kobayashi is applied as examined above according to claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.F.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2454
/OSCAR A LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2445