DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 12/08/2025. Claims 1 and 23-24 have been amended. Claims 4, 9, 21-22 have been canceled. No other claims have been amended, added, or canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-20 & 23-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-20 & 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-20 & 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (GB2520751) in view of Wu et al. (EP 3739356 A1).
Jordan discloses:
1: A method of estimating a location of a device, the method comprising: obtaining information indicating an initial location of the device (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 10; initial position);
obtaining data indicating a movement of the device (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10; movement of portable device);
obtaining information corresponding to an expected path of the device (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 14; common pathways);
determining, using the data indicating the movement of the device, a set of candidate locations of the device, and assigning each candidate location a corresponding weight using the information corresponding to the expected path of the device (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 14; common pathways associated weights and likely-hood of expected locations); and
determining an estimated location of the device using the set of candidate locations and the corresponding weights (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 14; common pathways associated weights and likely-hood of expected locations), wherein the method further comprises obtaining mapping data that indicates a plurality of spatial zones (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 14; tracking through building, classifying motion different locations A-F); and
wherein the information corresponding to the expected path of the device indicates a sequence of the spatial zones that corresponds to at least part of the expected path (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 14; location tracking through-out a building, classifying motion different locations A-F).
Jordan discloses the invention as disclosed above.
Jordan further discloses giving weights to items based on whether a particle violates physical constraints (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 14).
However, Jordan does not appear to explicitly disclose for each of the spatial zones, a corresponding weighting factor for reducing or increasing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device moving into that spatial zone.
Nevertheless, Wu—who is in the same field of endeavor—discloses for each of the spatial zones, a corresponding weighting factor for reducing or increasing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device moving into that spatial zone (see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract; computing location of object on map based on a current location of the object at current time, incremental distance and a direction of the motion during the incremental time period, rich scattering environment with multi-person localization and tracking system, high spatial resolution achieved using digital beamforming, LTE, and WiFi).
One of ordinary skill in the art—prior to the effective filing date of the given invention—would have been motivated to combine Wu’s use of scanning and monitoring objects/people in rich scattering environments with utilizing various prioritizing (i.e., weighing) locations/devices based on well-known localization techniques—as stated above.
Motivation for combining Wu with Jordan, not only comes from knowledge well known in the art but also from Wu (see at least Abstract, Technical field, Background and Summary).
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 2: wherein the method further comprises: iteratively updating the set of candidate locations and the corresponding weights; and updating the estimated location of the device using the updated set of candidate locations and the corresponding weights (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 3: further comprising reducing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device departing from the expected path (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 5: wherein the sequence of spatial zones is a contiguous sequence of spatial zones (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 6: wherein the mapping data includes, for each of the spatial zones in the sequence, a corresponding sequence identifier that identifies the position of the spatial zone in the sequence (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 7: wherein the method further comprises: storing, when a candidate location falls within a spatial zone of the sequence, that candidate location in association with the corresponding sequence identifier of that spatial zone (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 8: wherein the method further comprises: storing, when a candidate location corresponds to the device leaving the expected path from a spatial zone in the sequence, information identifying the spatial zone from which the device left the path, in association with the candidate location (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 10: wherein the mapping data comprises: for at least one of the spatial zones, a corresponding weighting factor for reducing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device departing the expected path by moving out of that spatial zone; or for at least one of the spatial zones, a corresponding weighting factor for reducing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device departing the expected path by moving into that spatial zone (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 11: wherein the method further comprises reducing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device departing the expected path using a global weighting parameter (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 12: wherein the method further comprises: reducing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device moving from a first spatial zone of the spatial zones that form the expect path to a second spatial zone of the spatial zones that form the expected path, when a difference between the sequence identifier stored in association with the first spatial zone and the sequence identifier stored in association with the second spatial zone exceeds a predetermined threshold value (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 13: wherein the method further comprises increasing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device re-joining the expected path (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 14: wherein the method further comprises: obtaining information indicating the location of walls of a building; determining whether a candidate location corresponds to the device moving through a wall of the building; and reducing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device moving through a wall of the building (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 15: wherein the information indicating a movement of the device includes data obtained from at least one sensor of the device (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 16: wherein the information indicating a movement of the device includes data obtained from a gyroscope, accelerometer, magnetometer, or pressure sensor of the device (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 17: wherein the method further comprises using the estimated location of the device for guided navigation along the expected route (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 18: wherein the method further comprises: obtaining information corresponding to an expected heading of the device; and determining the weights using the information corresponding to the expected heading of the device (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 19: wherein the method further comprises: increasing the weight of candidate locations that correspond to the device having a heading that is within a predetermined angular range of the expected heading; or decreasing the weight of candidate locations that correspond to the device having a heading that is not within a predetermined angular range of the expected heading (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 20: wherein the method of estimating the location of the device comprises a particle filter method (see Jordan at least fig. 1-6 in particular fig. 1-2 and pg. 8-10, 12-14; and see Wu at least fig. 1-94 and in particular fig. 1, 4a-5, 10, 27, 48-49, 64-65 & Abstract, background and Summary).
Motivation to combine Jordan and Wu, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 23: A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out a method of estimating a location of a device, the method comprising: obtaining information indicating an initial location of the device; obtaining data indicating a movement of the device; obtaining information corresponding to an expected path of the device; determining, using the data indicating the movement of the device, a set of candidate locations of the device, and assigning each candidate location a corresponding weight using the information corresponding to the expected path of the device; and determining an estimated location of the device using the set of candidate locations and the corresponding weights; wherein the method further comprises obtaining mapping data that indicates a plurality of spatial zones; and wherein the information corresponding to the expected path of the device indicates a sequence of the spatial zones that corresponds to at least part of the expected path; and wherein the mapping data comprises, for each of the spatial zones, a corresponding weighting factor for reducing or increasing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device moving into that spatial zone (see claim 1 above).
Both Jordan and Wu disclose claim 24: Apparatus for estimating a location of a device, wherein the apparatus comprises: means for obtaining information indicating an initial location of the device; means for obtaining data indicating a movement of the device; means for obtaining information corresponding to an expected path of the device; means for determining, using the data indicating the movement of the device, a set of candidate locations of the device, and for assigning each candidate location a corresponding weight using the information corresponding to the expected path of the device; and means for determining an estimated location of the device using the set of candidate locations and the corresponding weights; and means for obtaining mapping data that indicates a plurality of spatial zones; wherein the information corresponding to the expected path of the device indicates a sequence of the spatial zones that corresponds to at least part of the expected path; and wherein the mapping data comprises, for each the spatial zones, a corresponding weighting factor for reducing or increasing the weight of a candidate location that corresponds to the device moving into that spatial zone (see claim 1 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Angela Ortiz can be reached on 571-272-1206. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MACEEH ANWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663