Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
The text in the figures are difficult to read.
In Fig. 1, there are no “yes” and “no” markings on the branching paths of the flow chart as seen on other figures.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0085, “three color” should be “three-color”.
In paragraph 0085, “565 pixel” should be “565-pixel”.
In paragraph 0090, “format .” should be “format.”.
Paragraphs “00100” through “00199” should be “0100” through “0199”.
In paragraph 00102, “buffer ,” should be “buffer,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: The use of “if so”, “if not”, and “correspondingly” statements make the claims difficult to determine the order at which the limitations occur. For instance, in claim 2, it is difficult to determine whether the “correspondingly” statement in lines 10-12 refer to the “if so” statement in lines 8-9, or to the previous limitation in lines 6-7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: It is inconsistent on how the buffers are numbered (i.e. “fifth buffer” in claim 6), as the increasing numbering implies that the claims are dependent on each other. For the purposes of clarity, the examiner respectfully suggests using “first buffer memory” for claims 3, 4, 6, and 7, and “second buffer memory” for claims 5 and 8 to avoid further confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claim 10 in this application is given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a receiving module configured to receive”; “a determination module configured to determine”; “the selection display module configured to control”; “the display module configured to control”; in claim 10. The claim limitation uses the generic placeholder “module” coupled with functional language “receive”, “determine”, and “control”, without reciting sufficient structure.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 106649621 A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a screen display method, comprising: ([0002] “This invention relates to the field of information display technology, and in particular to a method and apparatus for displaying comment information”)
receiving information to be displayed; ([0011] “Receive comment data, which includes comment information and display method”)
determining whether a buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is greater than a preset buffer memory; ([0012] “Determine the target memory required to display the comment information based on the display method”, where “the target memory is greater than the available memory” [0013]. Note: the buffer memory is the target memory and the preset buffer memory is the available memory.)
if so, controlling a screen to select a display strategy for reducing buffer memory usage to display the information to be displayed; ([0013] “When the target memory is greater than the available memory, the comment information is displayed in a preset display mode; wherein, the memory required to display the comment information in the preset display mode is less than the available memory”)
and if not, controlling the screen to display the information to be displayed ([0041] “By determining the target memory occupied by the received comment information and comparing it with the currently available memory, it is determined whether the comment information can be displayed normally”, which implies that if the target memory is not greater than the available memory, then the information is displayed normally).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches a screen display device, comprising: ([0025] “embodiments of the present invention also provide a device for displaying comment information”)
a receiving module configured to receive information to be displayed; ([0062] “receiving the comment data”, where comment data “which includes comment information and display method” [0076])
a determination module configured to determine whether a buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is greater than a preset buffer memory, ([0062] “the local terminal determines that the display method is mobile display, that is, the target memory is 300K; if the current available memory is 256K, that is, the target memory is greater than the available memory”)
and if so, triggering a selection display module, ([0062] “if the current available memory is 256K, that is, the target memory is greater than the available memory, then the display is performed in a preset display method”)
and if not, triggering a display module; ([0072] “By determining the target memory occupied by the received comment information and comparing it with the currently available memory, it is determined whether the comment information can be displayed normally”, where if the target memory is not greater than the available memory, then the information is displayed normally)
the selection display module configured to control a screen to select a display strategy for reducing buffer memory usage to display the information to be displayed; and the display module configured to control the screen to display the information to be displayed. ([0062] “the display is performed in a preset display method where the memory occupied is less than the available memory”).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has substantially similar limitations to claim 1, but in a device form. Wang further teaches a screen display device, comprising: ([0025] “embodiments of the present invention also provide a device for displaying comment information”)
a memory configured to store a computer program; ([0093] “computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable storage medium that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing device to function in a particular manner”)
and a processor configured to implement steps of the screen display method according to claim 1 when executing the computer program. ([0092] “These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor… such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, produce means for implementing the functions specified in one or more flowcharts and/or one or more block diagrams”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106649621 A) in view of Liu et al. (CN 111381748 A, hereinafter Liu).
Wang teaches the screen display method according to claim 1, wherein the information to be displayed is the information to be displayed notified by a terminal device, ([0006] “When a terminal receives a message or comment submitted by a user, it displays the message or comment in various ways”)
and the determining whether the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is greater than the preset buffer memory comprises: determining whether a first buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed in a default format is greater than the preset buffer memory, (“displaying animation takes up 300K of memory”, and “the current available memory is 256K” [0062])
if so, determining that the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is greater than the preset buffer memory; ([0057] “Determine the target memory required to display the comment information in that display mode based on the display mode, that is, the target memory is 300K”, where “the target memory is greater than the available memory” [0062])
correspondingly, the controlling the screen to select a display strategy for reducing buffer memory usage to display the information to be displayed comprises: controlling the screen to display the information to be displayed as a text character; ([0062] “then the display is performed in a preset display method where the memory occupied is less than the available memory, that is, the comment information in the comment data is… displayed in the form of text.”)
if not, determining that the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is not greater than the preset buffer memory; correspondingly, the controlling the screen to display the information to be displayed comprises: controlling the screen to display the information to be displayed in the default format. ([0041] “By determining the target memory occupied by the received comment information and comparing it with the currently available memory, it is determined whether the comment information can be displayed normally.”)
Wang fails to teach the information to be displayed only comprises picture information. However, this is known in the art as taught by Liu. Liu teaches the information to be displayed only comprises picture information ([0072] “the memory occupied by an image is determined by the size of the pixel information contained in the image”). Liu is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to memory management to send images between smart devices. Liu further teaches that “in order to prevent the application from crashing during operation… the memory usage of each image during display can be lower than the corresponding memory usage threshold, thereby reducing the possibility of application crashes caused by the memory usage of image display” [0072]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu to Wang to lower the memory usage of picture information in order to reduce application crashes that can occur due to excessive memory.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106649621 A) in view of Bridges et al. (US 20110019089 A1, hereinafter Bridges).
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 has substantially similar limitations to claim 2, but instead where the information to be displayed comprises of text information and low-resolution format rather than picture information and text character format. Therefore, the rationale of claim 2 will be used to reject claim 3.
Wang teaches the information to be displayed only comprises text information (“For example, display methods include: displaying in text form”).
However, Wang fails to teach correspondingly, the controlling the screen to select a display strategy for reducing buffer memory usage to display the information to be displayed comprises: controlling the screen to display the information to be displayed in a low-resolution format, wherein the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed in the default format is higher than the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed in the low-resolution format.
However, it is known in the art as known as taught by Bridges. Bridges teaches that “data received at a particular pixel rate may be processed and converted to a different format having a higher or a lower pixel resolution than the input format, thus increasing or decreasing the amount of memory buffering utilized, respectively” [0026]. Bridges is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to buffer memory reduction in relation to sending data between devices. Bridges further teaches “a frame buffer solution that achieves a reduction in storage requirement.” Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bridges to Wang in order to decrease the buffer memory required to be used and sent between devices.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 presents substantially similar limitations to claim 3, but to be displayed by a screen page UI. The combination of Wang and Bridges further teaches the screen display method according to claim 1, wherein the information to be displayed is the information to be displayed by a screen page UI (Wang; [0004] “smart devices (such as smartphones, tablets, smart TVs, etc.)”. Note: any smart device, such as smartphones, tablets, and smart TVs include screen page UIs).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106649621 A) in view of Hu (CN 106844780 A).
Claim 4 presents substantially similar limitations as claim 2, but instead of picture information, the information to be displayed consists of both picture and text information. Therefore, the rationale of claim 2 will be used to reject claim 4.
Wang does not teach the information to be displayed comprises picture information and text information. However, this is known in the art as taught by Hu. Hu teaches the information to be displayed comprises picture information and text information ([0010] “display the text information and image information together”). Hu is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to sending text and images between smart devices. Hu further teaches a method that “effectively improving the user's efficiency and experience” [0010]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hu to Wang, as displaying picture information and text information is known in the art to improve user experience.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106649621 A) in view of Bridges et al. (US 20110019089 A1, hereinafter Bridges), and further in view of Parikh et al. (US 20050091585 A1, hereinafter Parikh).
The combination of Wang and Bridges does not explicitly teach the screen display method according to claim 3, wherein the displaying the text information in the low-resolution format comprises: determining whether a seventh buffer memory required for displaying the text information in the low-resolution format is greater than the preset buffer memory. However, Wang does teach an example where when the seventh buffer memory (target memory is 300K) is greater than the preset memory (available memory is 256K), then the display method that occupies the least memory is chosen ([0062] “preset display method where the memory occupied is less than the available memory, that is, the comment information in the comment data is displayed in the form of sound, or the comment information is displayed in the form of text”, where “Specifically, the default display mode is: the display mode that occupies the least memory… the display method that uses the least memory is the text display method” [0063])
The combination of Wang and Bridges also does not explicitly teach if not, controlling the screen to display the text information in the low-resolution format. However, Wang further teaches that if that is not the case (displaying in text takes up 100K and displaying in sound takes up 200K), then the display mode with the higher memory occupation is used ([0063] “among the display modes that occupy less memory than available memory, the display mode that occupies the most memory”, where the “the display method that uses the most memory is… displaying the comment information in sound.” [0063]).
The combination of Wang and Bridges fail to teach if so, controlling the screen to paginate and display the text information in the low- resolution format. However, this is known in the art as taught by Parikh. Parikh is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to using pagination to display text on devices. Parikh further teaches that pagination of text when being displayed is done if there is not enough space for a device to output a certain amount of text ([0052] “The output device is only capable of displaying a fixed amount of output, as indicated by the rectangle 204. The text is therefore paginated into two pages, page 206 and page 208.”). Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Parikh to the combination of Wang and Bridges, as pagination is known in the art to be used when a fixed amount of text can be displayed at a time.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106649621A) in view of STMicroelectronics (“Lowering Memory Usage with Partial Framebuffer”).
Wang teaches the screen display method according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the preset buffer memory is a buffer memory required for completely displaying one page by the screen in a default format. However, this is known in the art as taught by STMicroelectronics.
STMicroelectronics teaches that it is known the art that the preset buffer memory is a buffer memory required for completely displaying one page by the screen in a default format (“Normally, your frame buffer is a big memory array with enough memory to hold all the pixels available on your display” [section “Full-size Frame Buffer Memory”, paragraph 1]). STMicroelectronics is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to reducing buffer memory usage on displays. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of STMicroelectronics to Wang, as a buffer memory is already known in the art of computer graphics to hold the amount of memory needed to fully display on a page on a screen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 5, the prior art taken singly or in combination do not teach or suggest “wherein the determining whether the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is greater than the preset buffer memory further comprises: determining whether a fourth buffer memory required for displaying the text information in the information to be displayed in the default format is greater than a remaining buffer memory, wherein the remaining buffer memory is a difference between the preset buffer memory and a buffer memory occupied by displaying the picture information in the information to be displayed; if so, determining that the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is greater than the preset buffer memory; correspondingly, the controlling the screen to select a display strategy for reducing buffer memory usage to display the information to be displayed comprises: controlling the screen to display the text information in the information to be displayed in a low-resolution format; if not and if the third buffer memory is greater than the preset buffer memory, determining that the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is greater than the preset buffer memory; correspondingly, the controlling the screen to select a display strategy for reducing buffer memory usage to display the information to be displayed comprises: controlling the screen to display the picture information in the information to be displayed as a text character, and displaying the text information in the information to be displayed in the default format; if not and if the third buffer memory is not greater than the preset buffer memory, determining that the buffer memory required for displaying the information to be displayed is not greater than the preset buffer memory; correspondingly, the controlling the screen to display the information to be displayed comprises: controlling the screen to display the picture information in the information to be displayed in the default format, and displaying the text information in the information to be displayed in the default format.” Therefore, claim 5 is allowable.
Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter because it contains substantially similar limitations to claim 5, where the information is displayed by a screen page UI. Therefore, claim 7 is allowable.
Conclusion
/ALICIA HA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611