DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 06/22/2026.
Claims 1-16, 29 and 31 are pending.
Claims 17-28, 30 and 32-35 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/22/2026 with respect to Claims 1-16, 29 and 31 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 12 filed on 06/22/2026 remained original. Therefore, rejection under 35 USC 112(b), as previously indicated, is maintained.
35 USC § 103
Regarding claim 1, Applicant presented argument that neither Nokia nor Cheng alone or in combination, teaches or suggests at least the following limitations:
“... receiving, from the NTN apparatus, a biasing signal providing an indication to the communications device to bias an estimate of a time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus,
determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the indication provided by the biasing signal, the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus, and
determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time based on the estimated time remaining until the expiry time and the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus.” (REMARKS, Pages 11-12)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that claim 1 does not define or disclose characterization for “biasing signal”, except that the biasing signal is used to bias an estimate of time required communicate the transmission with NTN apparatus, which can be read over Nokia disclosing -
a network configured validity timer which corresponds to remaining validity time for SIB provided current timing advance (TA) related parameters, including Common TA and UE-specific TA based on ephemeris, for next uplink (UL) transmission as disclosed in Page 9, Paragraph 3 and Proposal 14;
SIB contained ephemeris information used for determining UE-specific TA to be used along with SIB provided common TA and validity Timer for uplink transmission at d+c+s+u1+u2 as disclosed in Page 8 Paragraph 2 3rd Bullet, Page 9 2nd bullet from top, and Proposal 14
scaling the validity timer based on ephemeris information and the downlink (DL) slot/frame where the SIB with ephemeris information is received as disclosed in Page 10 Paragraph 2 and Proposal 15
For the above UE-Specific TA in SIB, which is combined with common TA for open-loop TA control for uplink, clearly teach a biasing signal in SIB for estimating of TA time required communicate the transmission with NTN apparatus.
See Nokia-
Page 1 Section 2 Paragraphs 1-2:
During previous meetings a recurring assumption is that the UE can use its GNSS implementation to, through different options (e.g. time, position), estimate its timing and frequency offsets, and apply corresponding timing advance (TA) and frequency adjustment before the random access preamble transmission. …..
The UE timing estimation and application of TA before random access preamble transmission has the main purpose of minimize the range of timing gaps between UE and gNB in UL, and thus to make it possible for the gNB to read the random access attempt made by the UE, as the gNB is only expected to have a certain observation window for the detection of the potential random access preamble for each RACH occasion (RO).
Page 7 Paragraph 1:
In RAN1#104-e, the following agreements were made:
Agreement:
An NTN UE in RRC_CONNECTED state is required to support UE specific TA calculation based at least on its GNSS-acquired position and the serving satellite ephemeris.
Agreement:
For TA update in RRC_CONNECTED state, combination of both open (i.e. UE autonomous TA estimation, and common TA estimation) and closed (i.e., received TA commands) control loops shall be supported for NTN.
(Construed Open Loop control Timing Advance (TA) includes both Common TA and UE-Specific TA)
Page 8, Paragraphs 2-3 – Page 9 Paragraph 1:
• The gNB transmits the downlink frame at a certain point in time. The delays of the feeder and service link are at that point in time are d and c respectively.
• The downlink frame arrives at the UE after d+c+u1, where u1 is the change due to movement of the satellite.
• The UE may not respond immediately but first after a scheduling s. At that point the time is d+c+s+u1+u2, where u2 is due to the satellite movement during scheduling delay s.
Page 9 2nd Bullet from top:
The UE autonomously adjusts its timing based on the satellite ephemeris data.
Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB, we believe it would be sufficient to have one single validity timer for UE time synchronization ….
Page 9, Proposal 14: A validity timer configured by the network for both satellite ephemeris data and Common TA defines the maximum time during which the UE can apply the satellite ephemeris and Common TA without having acquired new satellite ephemeris and Common TA parameters.
• This validity timer is restarted each time the UE correctly decodes new satellite ephemeris and Common TA information.
• The UE assumes that it has lost uplink synchronization if the timer expires.
Page 10, Paragraphs 2:
In order to have more balanced and efficient design, it is proposed that the UE receives a default validity timer value and is further configured so that it can autonomously adjust by scaling this validity timer (related to ephemeris and/or Common TA parameters)……
Page 10 Proposal 15: The UEs are configured so that they can autonomously adjust the value of the validity timer based on a set of UE-specific parameters.
As indicated above ephemeris information received in SIB for determining UE-specific TA provides a timing advance bias, indicating receiving a biasing SIB signal and UE-specific TA to be combined with Common TA for determining a biased TA for determining a biased estimated time required to communicate uplink transmission with NTN with respect to a downlink signal as shown in Fig. 5.
Further the validity timer being scaled based on UE-specific TA and Common TA provides a further biased or adjusted validity time used for determining remaining time for uplink transmission using the biased estimated TA combining UE-specific TA and common TA, to determine whether the UE-specific TA and common TA are valid and correspondingly determine whether or not to commence uplink transmission, since invalid TA parameters causes loss of uplink synchronization and detection failure of the uplink transmission be the gNB which requires uplink transmission with valid TA parameters to read uplink transmission within a certain window for detection as disclosed by Page 1 Paragraph 2 and Proposal 14
Therefore, Nokia explicitly teaches-
“... receiving, from the NTN apparatus, a biasing signal providing an indication to the communications device to bias an estimate of a time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus,
determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the indication provided by the biasing signal, the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus”.
It is also obvious that Nokia also indicates –
“determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time based on the estimated time remaining until the expiry time and the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus.”
However, since Nokia does not expressly disclose –
“determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time based on the estimated time remaining until the expiry time and the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus.”,
Cheng is used to teach the above.
Cheng discloses –
[0054] An issue may relate to UE behavior upon expiration of the validity timer. If a UE has no valid satellite ephemeris information, which may lead to a failure of the open-loop timing control….
[0055] … a UE may clear configured UL resources and N_TA when the validity timer for satellite ephemeris information expires.
[0060] In some implementations, a UE may not transmit any UL channels, e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS, when the validity timer is not running (e.g., upon expiration of the validity timer).
[0066] A UE may receive the satellite ephemeris information in a SIB. The satellite ephemeris information may have an epoch time defined by the starting of a DL slot or frame configured by the gNB. A UE may receive a validity timer configuration in a SIB. The validity timer has a validity period (also referred to as validity duration in the present disclosure) for the received satellite ephemeris information.
[0067] …. A UE may start or restart the validity timer at the starting time of a reference DL slot and/or frame that is indicated by the network for epoch time as a part of the satellite ephemeris information in a SIB (e.g., an NTN-specific SIB). ……. If the reference DL slot and/or frame is in the past, a UE may assume that the validity timer has started at the indicated slot in the past. In such case, the validity duration may be shorter than the configured length in the SIB.
[0069] a UE may transmit UL channels, including a PRACH, if the satellite ephemeris information is valid.
[0073] For one or multiple validity timers, when only UL timing is considered, UL timing is controlled by the closed-control and open-control loops. If the satellite ephemeris information or the common TA parameters is/are not valid, a UE may lose the open-control loop.
Fig. 5 action 506 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 508,
[0085] In action 506, the UE 510 may receive one or more validity durations for the target cell via an RRC Reconfiguration message. In action 508, the UE 510 may determine whether UL transmission is allowed based on the status of the validity timers, such as whether the validity timers are running (e.g., have not expired) or not running (e.g., have expired). For example, the UE 510 may determine that UL transmission is allowed when the validity timer(s) is/are running and determine that UL transmission is not allowed upon expiration of the validity timer(s).
It is obvious, similar to Nokia, Chang discloses that, NTN-specific SIB containing satellite ephemeris with epoch time is a biasing signal to be used with common TA for , biasing the TA for biased estimate of TA time required for uplink transmission to NTN.
Further validity timer is adjusted based on the epoch time providing an adjusted remaining time for biased estimate of TA time required for uplink transmission to NTN based on which UE determines/decides whether or not to commence the uplink transmission with the NTN before the adjusted/estimated expiry time of the validity timer and the biased estimate of the TA time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus.
Therefore, Nokia in view of Cheng teaches “... receiving, from the NTN apparatus, a biasing signal providing an indication to the communications device to bias an estimate of a time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus,
determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the indication provided by the biasing signal, the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus, and
determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time based on the estimated time remaining until the expiry time and the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus.” as required by claim 1.
Accordingly claim 1 and similarly claims 29 and 31 are rejected.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 14-16, being dependent on claim 1, are also rejected for the same reason as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12, line 5 recites the limitation “…. the conditions for communications …”. There is no antecedent basis for “the conditions”, making the claim indefinite.
Claims 13-14, being dependent on claim 12, are also interpreted and rejected for the same reason as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 15-16, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia et al. (R1-2108091 “Time and frequency synchronization for NR over NTN”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘NOKIA’) in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230098798 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘CHENG’).
Regarding claim 1, NOKIA teaches a method of operating a communications device (Page 8, Figure 5 UE) for transmitting signals to and/or receiving signals from a non-terrestrial network, NTN, apparatus of a wireless communications network (Page 8, Figure 5 Satellite movement and timing, illustrating UE uplink transmission to and down reception of communication signal from a gNB via a satellite), the method comprising
acquiring, by the communications device, information for synchronising a transmission with the NTN apparatus, the transmission with the NTN apparatus being one of an uplink transmission to be transmitted to the NTN apparatus, a downlink transmission to be received from the NTN apparatus, and a sequence of uplink and downlink transmissions to be communicated between the communications device and the NTN apparatus (
Page 1 Section 2 Paragraphs 1-2:
During previous meetings a recurring assumption is that the UE can use its GNSS implementation to, through different options (e.g. time, position), estimate its timing and frequency offsets, and apply corresponding timing advance (TA) and frequency adjustment before the random access preamble transmission. …..
The UE timing estimation and application of TA before random access preamble transmission has the main purpose of minimize the range of timing gaps between UE and gNB in UL, and thus to make it possible for the gNB to read the random access attempt made by the UE, as the gNB is only expected to have a certain observation window for the detection of the potential random access preamble for each RACH occasion (RO).
Page 7 Paragraph 1:
In RAN1#104-e, the following agreements were made:
Agreement:
An NTN UE in RRC_CONNECTED state is required to support UE specific TA calculation based at least on its GNSS-acquired position and the serving satellite ephemeris.
Agreement:
For TA update in RRC_CONNECTED state, combination of both open (i.e. UE autonomous TA estimation, and common TA estimation) and closed (i.e., received TA commands) control loops shall be supported for NTN.
Proposal 11: The update rate that the UE applies for both the LIE-specific TA and Common TA should be such that the applied TA fulfilles the RAN4 time synchronization requirements.
Proposal 12: The Common TA should be calculated in a deterministic way and applied at the same time for all UEs.
Page 8, Paragraphs 2-3 – Page 9 Paragraph 1:
Referring to 38.133, this document contains the timing requirements for UEs: ….. shown in Figure 5 and works as follows:
• The gNB transmits the downlink frame at a certain point in time. The delays of the feeder and service link are at that point in time are d and c respectively.
• This downlink frame arrives at the UE after d+c+u1, where u1 is the change due to movement of the satellite.
• The UE may not respond immediately but first after a scheduling s. At that point the time is d+c+s+u1+u2, where u2 is due to the satellite movement during scheduling delay s.
The value of u1 depends on RTT/2, while the value of u2 depends on the scheduling delay s…..
The UE autonomously adjusts its timing based on the satellite ephemeris data.
….. Page 9 Paragraphs 3:
… both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB ….
Proposal 14: A validity timer configured by the network for both satellite ephemeris data and Common TA defines the maximum time during which the UE can apply the satellite ephemeris and Common TA without having acquired new satellite ephemeris and Common TA parameters.
• This validity timer is restarted each time the UE correctly decodes new satellite ephemeris and Common TA information.
• The UE assumes that it has lost uplink synchronization if the timer expires.
(Common TA is construed as the information for synchronising a transmission with the NTN apparatus for uplink transmission with respect to a downlink transmission within a valid time)),
estimating, by the communications device, a time remaining until an expiry time at which the information for synchronising the transmission with the apparatus will become invalid (
See Page 9, Proposal 14 cited above.
Common TA, Validity timer
• The UE assumes that it has lost uplink synchronization if the timer expires.
See also, Page 10, Paragraphs 2:
….. UE receives a default validity timer value
(Construed that validity times provides the time remaining at which it can apply common TA information for synchronising the uplink transmission)),
receiving, from the NTN apparatus, a biasing signal providing an indication to the communications device to bias an estimate of a time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus (
Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB, we believe it would be sufficient to have one single validity timer for UE time synchronization ….
Proposal 14: A validity timer configured by the network for both satellite ephemeris data and Common TA defines the maximum time during which the UE can apply the satellite ephemeris and Common TA without having acquired new satellite ephemeris and Common TA parameters.
Page 10, Paragraphs 2:
In order to have more balanced and efficient design, it is proposed that the UE receives a default validity timer value and is further configured so that it can autonomously adjust by scaling this validity timer (related to ephemeris and/or Common TA parameters)……
(Construed UE receives SIB with ephemeris data for UE-specific TA calculation, and UE-specific TA used for scaling validity timer or biasing validity timer, indicating UE-SIB with specific TA is equivalent to a biasing signal),
determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the indication provided by the biasing signal, the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus (
See above Page 8, Paragraphs 2-3 – Page 9 Paragraph 1:
• The UE may not respond immediately but first after a scheduling s. At that point the time is d+c+s+u1+u2, where u2 is due to the satellite movement during scheduling delay s.
The UE autonomously adjusts its timing based on the satellite ephemeris data.
…. whereas if the second method is used, tight requirements need to be set to the UE timing so that this is aligned with network timing. That is, at which time and by which amount the UE shall auto-adjust its transmit timing ….
See Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA …. are expected to be carried in SIB ….. one single validity timer for UE time synchronization ….
Page 10, Paragraphs 2:
In order to have more balanced and efficient design, it is proposed that the UE receives a default validity timer value and is further configured so that it can autonomously adjust by scaling this validity timer (related to ephemeris and/or Common TA parameters)……
See also Page 10 Proposal 15: Proposal 15: The UEs are configured so that they can autonomously adjust the value of the validity timer based on a set of UE-specific parameters.
(As indicated above ephemeris information received in SIB for determining UE-specific TA provides a timing advance bias, indicating receiving a biasing SIB signal and UE-specific TA to be combined with Common TA for determining a biased TA for determining a biased estimated time required to communicate uplink transmission with NTN with respect to a downlink signal as shown in Fig. 5.
Further the validity timer being scaled based on UE-specific TA and Common TA provides a further biased or adjusted validity time used for determining remaining time for uplink transmission using the biased estimated TA combining UE-specific TA and common TA, to determine whether the UE-specific TA and common TA are valid and correspondingly determine whether or not to commence uplink transmission, since invalid TA parameters causes loss of uplink synchronization and detection failure of the uplink transmission be the gNB which requires uplink transmission with valid TA parameters to read uplink transmission within a certain window for detection as disclosed by Page 1 Paragraph 2 and Proposal 14. )).
NOKIA does not explicitly disclose determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time based on the estimated time remaining until the expiry time and the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus (
Although it is obvious from Page 1 Paragraph 2 and Proposal 14).
In an analogous art, CHENG teaches determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time based on the estimated time remaining until the expiry time and the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus (
[0005] The method includes receiving, from a base station (BS), a system information block (SIB) indicating a duration of a timer for the UL synchronization in the NTN; determining whether an epoch time is provided in the SIB; starting or restarting the timer with the duration at a time determined according to whether the epoch time is provided in the SIB; and determining that the UE has the lost UL synchronization upon an expiration of the timer.
[0011] In another implementation of the first aspect, the SIB includes satellite ephemeris information, and the method further includes determining that the satellite ephemeris information is invalid upon the expiration of the timer.
[0012] In another implementation of the first aspect, the SIB includes a plurality of common Timing Advance (TA) parameters, and the method further includes determining that the common TA parameters are invalid upon the expiration of the timer.
[0053] the validity timer plays a reminder role to help the UE maintain the satellite ephemeris information up-to-date.
[0054] An issue may relate to UE behavior upon expiration of the validity timer. If a UE has no valid satellite ephemeris information, which may lead to a failure of the open-loop timing control….
[0055] … a UE may clear configured UL resources and N_TA when the validity timer for satellite ephemeris information expires.
[0060] In some implementations, a UE may not transmit any UL channels, e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, or SRS, when the validity timer is not running (e.g., upon expiration of the validity timer).
[0066] A UE may receive the satellite ephemeris information in a SIB. The satellite ephemeris information may have an epoch time defined by the starting of a DL slot or frame configured by the gNB. A UE may receive a validity timer configuration in a SIB. The validity timer has a validity period (also referred to as validity duration in the present disclosure) for the received satellite ephemeris information.
[0067] …. A UE may start or restart the validity timer at the starting time of a reference DL slot and/or frame that is indicated by the network for epoch time as a part of the satellite ephemeris information in a SIB (e.g., an NTN-specific SIB). ……. If the reference DL slot and/or frame is in the past, a UE may assume that the validity timer has started at the indicated slot in the past. In such case, the validity duration may be shorter than the configured length in the SIB.
[0069] a UE may transmit UL channels, including a PRACH, if the satellite ephemeris information is valid.
[0073] For one or multiple validity timers, when only UL timing is considered, UL timing is controlled by the closed-control and open-control loops. If the satellite ephemeris information or the common TA parameters is/are not valid, a UE may lose the open-control loop.
Fig. 5 action 506 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 508,
[0085] In action 506, the UE 510 may receive one or more validity durations for the target cell via an RRC Reconfiguration message. In action 508, the UE 510 may determine whether UL transmission is allowed based on the status of the validity timers, such as whether the validity timers are running (e.g., have not expired) or not running (e.g., have expired). For example, the UE 510 may determine that UL transmission is allowed when the validity timer(s) is/are running and determine that UL transmission is not allowed upon expiration of the validity timer(s).
See also Fig. 6, [0086] … In action 606, the UE may start or restart the timer with the duration at a time determined according to whether the epoch time is provided in the SIB. ….
(It is obvious, similar to Nokia, Chang discloses that, NTN-specific SIB containing satellite ephemeris with epoch time is a biasing signal to be used with common TA for , biasing the TA for biased estimate of TA time required for uplink transmission to NTN.
Further validity timer is adjusted based on the epoch time providing an adjusted remaining time for biased estimate of TA time required for uplink transmission to NTN based on which UE determines/decides whether or not to commence the uplink transmission with the NTN before the adjusted/estimated expiry time of the validity timer and the biased estimate of the TA time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using epoch time with a validity timer for maintaining uplink (UL) synchronization in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) of CHENG to system of time and frequency synchronization for NR over NTN for uplink transmission using received downlink frame and ephemeris in SIB used for calculating u1+u2 considering the downlink received frame and scheduling delay s of NOKIA in order to take the advantage of providing a method for maintaining UL synchronization in an NTN and determining and determining whether to do UL transmission (CHENG: [0004, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0085]).
Regarding claim 29, NOKIA teaches a communications device (Page 8, Figure 5 UE) comprising
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a non-terrestrial network, NTN, apparatus of a wireless communications network, and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry (
Page 8, Figure 5 Satellite movement and timing, illustrating UE uplink transmission to and down reception of communication signal from a gNB via a satellite)
Further, claim 29 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 31, NOKIA teaches infrastructure equipment (Figure 5 gNB with Satellite) forming part of a wireless communications network, the infrastructure equipment comprising transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a communications device (Figure 5 UE) via a non-terrestrial network, NTN, apparatus (Figure 5 Satellite) of the wireless communications network (
Page 8, Figure 5 Satellite movement and timing, illustrating UE uplink transmission to and down reception of communication signal from a gNB via a satellite).
Further, claim 31 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the indication provided by the biasing signal includes a scaling factor, and the determining the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises scaling the estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus by the scaling factor (
See Page 8, Paragraphs 2-3 – Page 9 Paragraph 1:
• This downlink frame arrives at the UE after d+c+u1, where u1 is the change due to movement of the satellite.
• The UE may not respond immediately but first after a scheduling s. At that point the time is d+c+s+u1+u2, where u2 is due to the satellite movement during scheduling delay s.
The value of u1 depends on RTT/2, while the value of u2 depends on the scheduling delay s. Some example values for u1+u2, which represent the drift due to satellite movement can be seen in Table 2 for different values of the scheduling delay s. ……. the signal may even drift more than the duration of the cyclic prefix. There are two approaches to avoid this from happening:
The network sends timing adjustment commands at a high rate so that the signals stay within the cyclic prefix.
The UE autonomously adjusts its timing based on the satellite ephemeris data.
…. whereas if the second method is used, tight requirements need to be set to the UE timing so that this is aligned with network timing. That is, at which time and by which amount the UE shall auto-adjust its transmit timing ….
Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB.
(In Table 2 RTT times determined from ephemeris in SIB and Scheduling delay S provides u2, resulting in s+u2 as scaling factor being added to d+c+u1 for estimating the time of the UE response or uplink transmission)).
Regarding claim 3, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the indication provided by the biasing signal includes a time offset (
Page 8 Table 2 u1+u2 value), and the determining the biased estimate of the time required to
communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises adding the time offset to the estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus (
See Page 8, Paragraphs 2-3 – Page 9 Paragraph 1:
• This downlink frame arrives at the UE after d+c+u1, where u1 is the change due to movement of the satellite.
• The UE may not respond immediately but first after a scheduling s. At that point the time is d+c+s+u1+u2, where u2 is due to the satellite movement during scheduling delay s.
The value of u1 depends on RTT/2, while the value of u2 depends on the scheduling delay s. Some example values for u1+u2, which represent the drift due to satellite movement can be seen in Table 2 for different values of the scheduling delay s. ……. the signal may even drift more than the duration of the cyclic prefix. There are two approaches to avoid this from happening:
The network sends timing adjustment commands at a high rate so that the signals stay within the cyclic prefix.
The UE autonomously adjusts its timing based on the satellite ephemeris data.
…. whereas if the second method is used, tight requirements need to be set to the UE timing so that this is aligned with network timing. That is, at which time and by which amount the UE shall auto-adjust its transmit timing ….
Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB.).
Regarding claim 4, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 3, wherein the indication provided by the biasing signal includes a scaling factor and the determining the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises scaling the estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus by the scaling factor and adding the time offset (
See Page 8, Paragraphs 2-3 – Page 9 Paragraph 1:
• This downlink frame arrives at the UE after d+c+u1, where u1 is the change due to movement of the satellite.
• The UE may not respond immediately but first after a scheduling s. At that point the time is d+c+s+u1+u2, where u2 is due to the satellite movement during scheduling delay s.
The value of u1 depends on RTT/2, while the value of u2 depends on the scheduling delay s. Some example values for u1+u2, which represent the drift due to satellite movement can be seen in Table 2 for different values of the scheduling delay s.
(It is obvious from UE response time d+c+s+u1+u2 in above 2nd bullet and Table 2.)).
Regarding claim 6, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring, by the communications device, information for synchronising a transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises
receiving, by the communications device, ephemeris information of the NTN apparatus (
Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB).
Regarding claim 7, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 6, wherein the receiving, by the communications device, ephemeris information of the NTN apparatus comprises
receiving, from the NTN apparatus, a set of system information blocks each of which includes a repeated transmission of the ephemeris information of the NTN apparatus,
determining, from one of the system information blocks in the set, the ephemeris information of the NTN apparatus (
Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB
Proposal 14: A validity timer configured by the network for both satellite ephemeris data and Common TA defines the maximum time during which the UE can apply the satellite ephemeris and Common TA without having acquired new satellite ephemeris and Common TA parameters.
• This validity timer is restarted each time the UE correctly decodes new satellite ephemeris and Common TA information.
• The UE assumes that it has lost uplink synchronization if the timer expires.
Page 10 Paragraph 2:
In order to have more balanced and efficient design, it is proposed that the UE receives a default validity timer value and is further configured so that it can autonomously adjust by scaling this validity timer (related to ephemeris and/or Common TA parameters), based on one more of following parameters:
• Relative speed vector between U E and satellite
......
• The accuracy of information which is already available for TA estimation. For example, if the Common TA is available at the UE with a very high accuracy, e.g. the information has been just acquired by the UE .....
In this way, the UE can avoid reading the SIB more often than needed and the validity timer still ensures that the information is up to date and can be used for TA calculation.
Proposal 15:
• The UE adjusts its validity timer value based on a set of LIE-specific parameters.
(It is obvious that SIB with ephemeris is received multiple times, and latest ephemeris information with ephemeris for scaling provides for parameters to adjusts its validity timer value)).
Regarding claim 8, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 7, wherein the estimating the time remaining until the expiry time at which the information for synchronising the transmission with the apparatus will become invalid comprises
receiving, in the system information block from which the ephemeris information is determined, a duration for which the ephemeris information is valid and a time at which a first one of the set of system information blocks was transmitted, and
determining the time remaining until the expiry time based on the duration for which the ephemeris information is valid and a time at which a first one of the set of system information blocks was transmitted (
Page 9, Paragraph 3:
…. both ephemeris data (used for UE-specific TA calculation) as well as Common TA (and potentially Common TA drift rate) are expected to be carried in SIB
Proposal 14: A validity timer configured by the network for both satellite ephemeris data and Common TA defines the maximum time during which the UE can apply the satellite ephemeris and Common TA without having acquired new satellite ephemeris and Common TA parameters.
• This validity timer is restarted each time the UE correctly decodes new satellite ephemeris and Common TA information.
• The UE assumes that it has lost uplink synchronization if the timer expires.
Page 10,
Proposal 15: The UEs are configured so that they can autonomously adjust the value of the validity timer
based on a set of parameters.
• The default value of the validity timer is provided by the gNB.
• The UE adjusts its validity timer value based on a set of LIE-specific parameters.).
Regarding claim 9, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring, by the communications device, information for synchronising a transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises
determining, by the communications device, a location of the communications device (
Page 10 Paragraph 2:
In order to have more balanced and efficient design, it is proposed that the UE receives a default validity timer value and is further configured so that it can autonomously adjust by scaling this validity timer (related to ephemeris and/or Common TA parameters), based on one more of following parameters:
• Relative speed vector between U E and satellite
• GNSS accuracy of location information at the UE (can be evaluated by the UE itself e.g. by the variance of the GNSS reference, number of satellites considered, frequency of reading the GNSS signal etc.).
• The orbital propagator model used by the UE for tracking and predicting the movement of the satellite.
• The elevation angle between U E and satellite
• The accuracy of information which is already available for TA estimation. For example, if the Common TA is available at the UE with a very high accuracy, e.g. the information has been just acquired by the UE .....).
Regarding claim 15, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the transmission with the NTN apparatus is a sporadic short transmission (
Page 3 Paragraph 1:
The Timing Advance to be applied by an NR NTN UE in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE and RRC_CONNECTED was discussed in RAN1 Meeting #104bis-e, and following was agreed:
Agreement:
The Timing Advance applied by an NR NTN UE in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE and RRC_CONNECTED is given by:
TTA = (NTA + NTA,UE-specific+NTA.common+NTA,offset) X Tc
Where:
• NTA is defined as 0 for PRACH and updated based on TA Command field in msg2/msgB and MAC CE TA command.
……..
Page 3 Paragraph 2:
In principle, a GNSS-capable UE will have more than one options to calculate the UE-specific TA. Beyond the option of using GNSS location and satellite ephemeris, the GNSS-equipped UE can obtain a reliable time reference from GNSS, which it can use to drive its own clock and time reference. By further receiving network time information, e.g. through the referenceTimelnfo-R16 from the gNB, the UE will be able to calculate the TA to be used for RACH preamble transmission with respect to the gNB timing, so that the RACH preamble falls into the predefined time window and can be decoded.
See also Page 9 Paragraph 3 and Proposal 14. Cited above).
Regarding claim 16, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 1, the method comprising
determining, by the communications device, to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time, and in response,
communicating the transmission with the NTN apparatus in accordance with the information for synchronising the transmission with the NTN apparatus (
See Page 8, Paragraphs 2-3 – Page 9 Paragraph 1:
• This downlink frame arrives at the UE after d+c+u1, where u1 is the change due to movement of the satellite.
• The UE may not respond immediately but first after a scheduling s. At that point the time is d+c+s+u1+u2, where u2 is due to the satellite movement during scheduling delay s.
The value of u1 depends on RTT/2, while the value of u2 depends on the scheduling delay s. Some example values for u1+u2, which represent the drift due to satellite movement can be seen in Table 2 for different values of the scheduling delay s. ……. the signal may even drift more than the duration of the cyclic prefix. There are two approaches to avoid this from happening:
The network sends timing adjustment commands at a high rate so that the signals stay within the cyclic prefix.
The UE autonomously adjusts its timing based on the satellite ephemeris data.
…. whereas if the second method is used, tight requirements need to be set to the UE timing so that this is aligned with network timing. That is, at which time and by which amount the UE shall auto-adjust its transmit timing ….).
Claims 5, 10-12 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia et al. (R1-2108091 “Time and frequency synchronization for NR over NTN”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘NOKIA’) in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230098798 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘CHENG’) and with further in view of Moderator (MediaTek) (R1-2110550 “Summary #4 of Al 8.15.1 Enhancements to time and frequency synchronization”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘MODERATOR’).
Regarding claim 5, NOKIA, in view of CHENG, teaches a method according to claim 1.
NOKIA and CHENG do not explicitly disclose wherein the determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time comprises
determining, by the communications device, that the transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises at least two sets of data including a first set of data and a second set of data,
determining, based on the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus, a time required to transmit the first set of data, a time required to transmit the second set of data and a time required to transmit the first set of data and the second set of data and, in response,
determining whether to transmit the first set of data, the second set of data or both of the first and second set of data before the expiry time.
In an analogous art, MODERATEOR teaches wherein the determining, by the communications device, whether or not to commence the transmission with the NTN apparatus before the expiry time (Page 21 Paragraph 1:
The following agreements were made in RAN1#106e.
Agreement:
Satellite ephemeris read on SIB are valid for the duration of sporadic short transmission in RRC_CONNECTED.
Common TA parameters if indicated and read on SIB are valid for the duration of sporadic short transmission in RRC_CONNECTED.
Note: The duration of the short transmission is not longer than the “validity timer for UL synchronization” referred to in the WID objective (but which still needs further discussion for specifying further details)
Page 22 Paragraph 1:
ZTE proposed similarly to SONY that the activation time instant of validity duration for assistance information broadcast by SIB can be implicitly known as a reference time linked to DL subframe where initial SIB carrying the assistance information is broadcast. If the residual duration of validity timer is shorter than the time duration of following UL transmission, UE will postpone the access to network until new assistance information is activated.) comprises
determining, by the communications device, that the transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises at least two sets of data including a first set of data and a second set of data (
Pages 36-37, Section 4 Long UL transmission on PUSCH and PRACH
4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment
The following agreements were made during RAN1#106e on configuration of UL transmission segment.
Agreement:
The UL transmission segment duration is configured by the network
Agreement:
• The UL transmission segment duration is provided by UE-specific RRC signalling or by signalling in SIB.
• NOTE: the values of UL transmission segment duration for NB-IoT can be different to those for eMTC
The maximum total TA drift over service link and feeder link in 256 ms can be in the order of 24 µs for LEO-600 km as can be derived from TR 36.763 Section 6.1 Table 6.1-1: IoT NTN reference scenario parameters. At higher elevation angles it can be lower and even 0 µs.
Configuration mechanisms:
Huawei discussed it is more efficient to signal the maximum allowed time-continuous transmission and UL gaps in the system information according to the relative speed and elevation between satellite and its serving cell or beam. The number of time-continuous repetitions for preamble and time-continuous duration for UL data transmission for NB-IoT over NTN can be indicated by system information. The UL segment duration X should be a number of N PUSCH repetition units which does not exceed the maximum allowed continuous transmission time Tseg_max based on the elevation angle and the timing error Te, as in
X
m
s
=
N
×
T
r
e
p
_
u
n
i
t
,
where
N
=
T
s
e
g
_
m
a
x
T
r
e
p
_
u
n
i
t
.
). Huawei proposed indicating common TA drift rate in addition to common TA for UL TA adjustment for long UL transmission.),
determining, based on the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus, a time required to transmit the first set of data, a time required to transmit the second set of data and a time required to transmit the first set of data and the second set of data and, in response (
See above cited Page 22 Paragraph 1, and Pages 36-37 4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment, Configuration mechanisms),
determining whether to transmit the first set of data, the second set of data or both of the first and second set of data before the expiry time (
See above cited Page 22 Paragraph 1, and Pages 36-37 4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment, Configuration mechanisms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of uplink transmission of MODERATOR to system of time and frequency synchronization for NR over NTN for uplink transmission using received downlink frame and ephemeris in SIB used for calculating u1+u2 considering the downlink received frame and scheduling delay s of NOKIA and CHENG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for long UL transmission including repetitions considering TA drift and overlapping conditions during long segmented uplink transmissions with repetitions (MODERATOR: Pages 36-37 Section 4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment, Pages 48-49 Section 4.2.4 New UL gaps for long UL transmission).
Regarding claim 10, NOKIA, in view of CHENG and MODERATOR, teaches a method according to claim 5, wherein the determining, by the communications device, the location of the communications device comprises determining the location of the communications device based on one or more signals received from a Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS (
Page 10 Paragraph 2:
In order to have more balanced and efficient design, it is proposed that the UE receives a default validity timer value and is further configured so that it can autonomously adjust by scaling this validity timer (related to ephemeris and/or Common TA parameters), based on one more of following parameters:
• Relative speed vector between UE and satellite
• GNSS accuracy of location information at the UE (can be evaluated by the UE itself e.g. by the variance of the GNSS reference, number of satellites considered, frequency of reading the GNSS signal etc.).
• The orbital propagator model used by the UE for tracking and predicting the movement of the satellite.
• The elevation angle between UE and satellite
• The accuracy of information which is already available for TA estimation. For example, if the Common TA is available at the UE with a very high accuracy, e.g. the information has been just acquired by the UE .....).
Regarding claim 11, NOKIA, in view of CHENG and MODERATOR, teaches a method according to claim 5, wherein the estimating the time remaining until the expiry time at which the information for synchronising the transmission with the apparatus will become invalid comprises determining, by the communications device, a speed of the communications device, and estimating the time remaining until the expiry time based at least in part on the determined speed of the communications device (
See above in claim 10, Page 10 Paragraph 2:
Scaling Validity Timer based on Relative speed vector between UE and satellite and UE Location).
Regarding claim 12, NOKIA, in view of CHENG and MODERATOR, teaches a method according to claim 1.
NOKIA and CHENG do not explicitly disclose wherein the communications device determines the biased estimate based on one or more of
a measurement of a size of the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device, and
an estimation of the conditions for communicating the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device.
In an analogous art, MODERATEOR teaches wherein the communications device determines the biased estimate based on one or more of
a measurement of a size of the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device (
Page 21 Paragraph 1:
The following agreements were made in RAN1#106e.
Agreement:
Satellite ephemeris read on SIB are valid for the duration of sporadic short transmission in RRC_CONNECTED.
Common TA parameters if indicated and read on SIB are valid for the duration of sporadic short transmission in RRC_CONNECTED.
Note: The duration of the short transmission is not longer than the “validity timer for UL synchronization” referred to in the WID objective (but which still needs further discussion for specifying further details)
Page 22 Paragraph 1:
ZTE proposed similarly to SONY that the activation time instant of validity duration for assistance information broadcast by SIB can be implicitly known as a reference time linked to DL subframe where initial SIB carrying the assistance information is broadcast. If the residual duration of validity timer is shorter than the time duration of following UL transmission, UE will postpone the access to network until new assistance information is activated.
Pages 36-37, Section 4 Long UL transmission on PUSCH and PRACH
4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment
The following agreements were made during RAN1#106e on configuration of UL transmission segment.
Agreement:
The UL transmission segment duration is configured by the network
Agreement:
• The UL transmission segment duration is provided by UE-specific RRC signalling or by signalling in SIB.
• NOTE: the values of UL transmission segment duration for NB-IoT can be different to those for eMTC
The maximum total TA drift over service link and feeder link in 256 ms can be in the order of 24 µs for LEO-600 km as can be derived from TR 36.763 Section 6.1 Table 6.1-1: IoT NTN reference scenario parameters. At higher elevation angles it can be lower and even 0 µs.
Configuration mechanisms:
Nokia discussed the network is aware of TA adjustments made by the UE in advance using the UE reports its location. Network should be in control of the timing advance updates applied at the UE. ....... Nokia proposed an indexed table is used to indicate the applicable segment durations for different elevation angles. : The segment duration for TA should be selected based on the elevation angle.
See Table 1. Indexed table for the segment lengths depending on the UE elevation angle. (Nokia R1-2109265)
(In this case the bias estimate is based on elevation angle and corresponding duration of PUSCH transmission segments sizes where in the transmission is to be made before expiry of the residual validity timer)), and
an estimation of the conditions for communicating the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device (
Pages 48-49:
4.2.4 New UL gaps for long UL transmission
New gaps for long transmission of NPUSCH :
The total 2-way delay drift can be up to~ 100 μs/s over service link and feeder link (UE-SAT-eNB) at lowest elevation angle of 10 degree on service link and feeder link. For long transmission of ~PUSCH/PUSCH, there will be a large timing drift in case of large number of repetitions at low elevation angles. Por NB-IoT and eMTC, the legacy maximum time-continuous transmission can be 256 ms, which gives a total 2-way delay drift of about 25 μs/s or 769.Ts, which exceeds the max transmit timing error of 2.6 us =80.Ts in NB-loT and 0.78 μs = 24.Ts in eMTC respectively.
FGT, APT discussed cases for overlapping. if decreasing (case 1), UE shall add gaps due to TA adjustment to postpone the repetition units to ensure eNB receives the long UL transmission without gaps among the repetitions. If increasing (case 2), UE could 1) complete transmission of repetition unit n and not transmit the overlapped part of repetition unit n+ 1; or 2) drop the overlapped part of repetition unit n; 3) drop the whole repetition unit n; or 4) postpone repetition unit n+1 until the next slot not overlapping (including TA impact) with any configured NPRACH or NPUSCH resource.
See Page 49, Figure 1: Long UL transmission enhancement in IoT over NTN (FGI, APT Rl-2109869)
Nokia proposed one SC-FDMA symbol can be punctured between two segments for TA adjustment.
(It is obvious that in the above uplink transmission including repetition is considered within residual validity timer, TA adjustment required due to TA drift during long PUSCH transmission and case 1 and case 2 indicate PUSCH transmission for overlapping conditions, disclosing an estimation of the conditions for communicating the transmission with the NTN apparatus)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of uplink transmission of MODERATOR to system of time and frequency synchronization for NR over NTN for uplink transmission using received downlink frame and ephemeris in SIB used for calculating u1+u2 considering the downlink received frame and scheduling delay s of NOKIA and CHENG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for long UL transmission including repetitions considering TA drift and overlapping conditions during long segmented uplink transmissions with repetitions (MODERATOR: Pages 36-37 Section 4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment, Pages 48-49 Section 4.2.4 New UL gaps for long UL transmission).
Regarding claim 14, NOKIA, in view of CHENG and MODERATOR, teaches a method according to claim 12.
NOKIA and CHENG do not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises
determining, by the communications device, a previous estimate of a time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus based on and one or more of the measurement of the size of the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device and the estimation of the conditions for communicating the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device, and in response to receiving the biasing signal,
updating the previous estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus based on the indication provided by the biasing signal to form the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus.
MODERATOR teaches wherein the determining the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus comprises
determining, by the communications device, a previous estimate of a time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus based on and one or more of the measurement of the size of the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device and the estimation of the conditions for communicating the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device, and in response to receiving the biasing signal,
updating the previous estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus based on the indication provided by the biasing signal to form the biased estimate of the time required to communicate the transmission with the NTN apparatus (
See in claim 12 above cited Pages 36-37, Section 4 Long UL transmission on PUSCH and PRACH
4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment; and
Pages 48-49:
4.2.4 New UL gaps for long UL transmission
New gaps for long transmission of NPUSCH :).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of uplink transmission of MODERATOR to system of time and frequency synchronization for NR over NTN for uplink transmission using received downlink frame and ephemeris in SIB used for calculating u1+u2 considering the downlink received frame and scheduling delay s of NOKIA and CHENG in order to take the advantage of providing a method for long UL transmission including repetitions considering TA drift and overlapping conditions during long segmented uplink transmissions with repetitions (MODERATOR: Pages 36-37 Section 4.2.1 Configuration of UL transmission segment, Pages 48-49 Section 4.2.4 New UL gaps for long UL transmission).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 36-37 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, NOKIA, CHENG, MODERATOR or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach a method according to claim 12, wherein the measurement of the size of the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device is an estimation of a number of bits in the transmission with the NTN apparatus estimated by the communications device, and the estimation of the conditions for communicating the transmission with the NTN apparatus performed by the communications device includes one or more of a pathloss between the communications device and the wireless communications network estimated by the communications device and an estimation of noise or interference of the wireless communications network performed by the communications device.
Regarding claim 36, NOKIA, CHENG, MODERATOR or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach a method according to claim 1, wherein the biasing signal is received from the NTN apparatus in response to detection by the wireless communications network that the transmission with the NTN apparatus is an emergency transmission, and the indication provided.
Regarding claim 37, NOKIA, CHENG, MODERATOR or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach a method according to claim 1, wherein the indication provided by the biasing signal is determined based on a closed-loop feedback of an interruption rate of previous transmissions with the NTN apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Khan et al. (US 20260153630 A1), describing Global Navigation Satellite System Data Validity In Non-Terrestrial Networks
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413