DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2024, 10/20/2025, and 08/11/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para [0028], the two occurrences of “one ends” should read “one end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 8-15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, line 4 and 10; “one ends” should read “one ends”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are objected to for their dependency on an objected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “a first evaporator body that extends from one side to the other side” in line 2; which limitation is indefinite for the following reasons:
It is unclear what “one side” is referring to. Is it one side of the first evaporator body? Or any one side?
The term “the other side” lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear what “the other side” is referring to. Is it the other side of the first evaporator body? Or any other side?
Applicant is encouraged to recite “a first evaporator body that extends from one side thereof to another side thereof”.
A similar issue is found in line 17 of claim 1 with the recitations “one end” and “the other end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 further call for the limitation “the first protrusion member” in line 14; which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear which one of the plurality of first protrusion member (see line 11 of claim 1) the applicant is referring to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 calls for the limitation “the length of the width”; which limitation for lacking clarity. Length and width are distinct, orthogonal measurements rather than one being a part of the other. Length typically refers to the longer or primary horizontal dimension, while width refers to the side-to-side dimension. The term "the length of the width" treats width as a line or object that has its own length, rather than treating width itself as a measurement. The limitation creates redundancy and confusion.
For examination purpose, the term “the length of the width” will be interpreted as “the width”.
A similar issue is found in claim 4. Claim 4 should be addressed accordingly.
Claim(s) 2-20 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20210003525 A).
Regarding claim 1:
Lee discloses an ice-making evaporator (Fig. 1-6), comprising:
a first evaporator body #100 that extends from one side to the other side;
a first body space partition wall #400 that divides the inside of the first evaporator body
into a first body space and a second body space formed parallel to the extension
direction of the first evaporator body (Fig. 2);
a refrigerant inlet #Pl provided at one end of the first evaporator body to inject
refrigerant into the first body space;
a refrigerant outlet #PO provided at one end of the first evaporator body to discharge
the refrigerant discharged from the second body space to the outside;
a plurality of first protrusion members #300 that is formed to extend to one side from the
first evaporator body;
a first protrusion space partition wall #500 that divides the inside of the first protrusion
member into a first protrusion space and a second protrusion space (Fig. 4);
a first refrigerant flow path formed to allow the refrigerant to move from one end to the
other end through the first body space and pass through the first protrusion space of the
plurality of first protrusion members (Fig. 6); and
a second refrigerant flow path formed to have the other end connected to the other end
of the first refrigerant flow path and to allow the refrigerant to move from the other end to
one end thereof through the second body space and pass through the second
protrusion space of the plurality of first protrusion members (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2:
Lee further discloses wherein the first refrigerant flow path and the second refrigerant flow path are
formed side by side in a lateral direction, and the first protrusion members are arranged in a row at predetermined intervals in the longitudinal direction of the first evaporator body are known from D1 (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5:
Lee further discloses wherein the first protrusion member has a circular cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and one end formed in a hemispherical shape convex outward (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6:
Lee further discloses wherein the refrigerant inlet injects the refrigerant in the longitudinal direction of the first body space, and protrudes toward the first protrusion space of the first protrusion member adjacent to one end of the first evaporator body (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8:
Lee further discloses wherein the first protrusion space is divided into a first inflow space and a first outflow space formed in the longitudinal direction of the first protrusion member, and one ends of the first inflow space and the first outflow space are connected to allow fluid communication, the first refrigerant flow path sequentially passes through the first inflow space and the first outflow space, the second protrusion space is divided into a second inflow space and a second outflow space formed in the longitudinal direction of the first protrusion member, and one ends of the second inflow space and the second outflow space are connected to allow fluid communication, and the second refrigerant flow path sequentially passes through the second inflow space and the second outflow space (Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 9:
Lee further discloses wherein cross-sections perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the first body space, the second body space, the first inflow space, the first outflow space, the second inflow space, and the second outflow space are formed to have the same area (see Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 10:
Lee further discloses wherein the first protrusion space has a first partition wall #520 that divides the first inflow space and the first outflow space so that cross-sections perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the first inflow space and the first outflow space are the same, a first through hole is formed at one end of the first partition wall having an area equal to the area of a cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the first inflow space and the first outflow space, the second protrusion space has a second partition wall that divides the second inflow space and the second outflow space so that cross-sections perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the second inflow space and the second outflow
space are the same, and a second through hole is formed at one end of the second partition wall having an area equal to the area of a cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the second inflow space and the second outflow space (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 11:
Lee further discloses wherein the first through hole and the second through hole are formed adjacent to one inner end surface of the first protrusion member (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 12:
Lee further discloses wherein a first refrigerant circulation hole is formed at the other end of the first body space partition wall to connect the other end of the first refrigerant flow path and the second refrigerant flow path (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13:
Lee further discloses wherein the first refrigerant circulation hole extends from the inner lower surface to the upper surface of the first evaporator body (see Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 15:
Lee further discloses a first insulating wall (bottom of HT; Fig. 5. Note: by definition, all physical materials provide some level of insulation) that divides the first evaporator body up and down so that an insulating space is formed in an upper inner portion of the first evaporator body; a first guide wall (see portion of #510 on a first side of #410) that extends upward from an upper end of the first partition wall to allow the refrigerant to move from the first body space to the first inflow space (Fig. 2-6); and a second guide wall (see portion of #510 on the other side of #410) that extends upward from an upper end of the second partition wall to allow the refrigerant to move from the second inflow space to the second body space (Fig. 2-6), wherein the first insulating wall extends to the first guide wall and the second guide wall of the first protrusion member adjacent to the rear end surface of the first evaporator body (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 16:
Lee further discloses wherein a discharge space is formed inside one end of the first evaporator body to
enable fluid communication with the second body space, and the refrigerant outlet is formed through the first evaporator body in the extension direction of the first protrusion member so that the discharge space can communicate fluidly with the outside (see Fig. 2-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20210003525 A).
Regarding claim 3:
Lee discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the ratio the width to the height of the first body space and the second body space is 3:1 to 1.5
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Lee with the ratio of the width to the height of the first body space and the second body space being 3:1 to 1.5.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have created narrow ice sticks for specific applications such as narrow necks water bottles or sports flasks where traditional cubes cannot fit. Other benefits include easy storage and stacking of the ice tray; and easy extraction of ice.
Regarding claim 4:
Lee discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the ratio of the distance between the first protrusion member adjacent to the other end surface of the first evaporator body and said other end surface and the width of the first protrusion member is 1:0.9 to 1.1.
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Lee with the ratio of the distance between the first protrusion member adjacent to the other end surface of the first evaporator body and said other end surface and the width of the first protrusion member being 1:0.9 to 1.1.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided easy storage and stacking of the ice tray; and easy extraction of ice.
Regarding claim 14:
Lee discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the ratio between the area of the first refrigerant circulation hole and the area of the cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the first outflow space is 1.5 to 2:1.
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Lee with the ratio between the area of the first refrigerant circulation hole and the area of the cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the first outflow space is 1.5 to 2:1.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided easy storage and stacking of the ice tray; and easy extraction of ice.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20210003525 A) in view of Lee (US 11493253 B2) [herein afterwards referred to as Lee3252].
Regarding claim 17:
Lee discloses all the limitations, except for a second evaporator body that extends from one side to the other side; a second body space partition wall that divides the inside of the second evaporator body into a third body space and a fourth body space formed parallel to the extension direction of the second evaporator body; a plurality of second protrusion members that is formed to extend to one side from the second evaporator body; a second protrusion space partition wall that divides the inside of the second protrusion member into a third protrusion space and a fourth protrusion space; a third refrigerant flow path formed to allow the refrigerant to move from the other end to one end through the third body space and pass through the third protrusion space of the plurality of second protrusion members; and a fourth refrigerant flow path formed to have one end connected to one end of the third refrigerant flow path and to allow the refrigerant to move from one end to the other end thereof through the fourth body space and pass through the fourth protrusion space of the plurality of second protrusion members, wherein the other end of the third refrigerant flow path is connected to the other end of the first refrigerant flow path, and the other end of the fourth refrigerant flow path is connected to the other end of the second refrigerant flow path, so that the other end of the first refrigerant flow path is connected to the other end of the second refrigerant flow path.
In other words, the difference between the prior art and the claim is that claimed structure has been duplicated; while provided with a connecting member.
However, this concept is well known in the art. Lee3252 teaches a two ice making evaporator sections connected via a connecting member (see at least Fig. 1 and corresponding description thereof).
because Lee already discloses a first evaporator body (see rejection of claim 1), providing the apparatus of Lee with a second evaporator body coupled to the first evaporator body via a connecting member (as conceptualized by Lee3252) constitutes a duplication of parts which does not produce a new or unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04 - In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Lee with the claimed arrangement above via duplication of parts; in a similar manner as taught by Lee3252.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have increased the capacity of the ice maker.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 7; the closest prior art of record, Lee (US 20220057129 A1), teaches a heater and a capillary tube for ice separation in finger type ice making systems. However, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Lee to provide a heat gas inlet that is formed on one side of the refrigerant inlet and injects heat gas into the first body space in the longitudinal direction of the first body space; and a heat gas guide wall formed at one end of the first body space to guide the heat gas injected through the heat gas inlet toward the first protrusion space.
With respect to claim 18; there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record to provide a hollow connection member extending from the other end of the first evaporator body to the other end of the second evaporator body; and a connection member partition wall that divides the inside of the connection member into a first connection space and a second connection space formed in the extension direction of the connection member, wherein the other end of the third refrigerant flow path is connected to the other end of the first refrigerant flow path through the first connection space, the other end of the fourth refrigerant flow path is connected to the other end of the second refrigerant flow path through the second connection space, one end of the connection member partition wall is coupled to the other end of the first body space partition wall, and the other end of the connection member partition wall is coupled to the other end of the second body space partition wall as required by claim 18.
With respect to claim 20; there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record to provide a first connection member that extends from one side of the other end of the first evaporator body to one side of the other end of the second evaporator body and has a first connection space formed therein; and a second connection member that extends from the other side of the other end of the first evaporator body to the other side of the other end of the second evaporator body and has a second connection space formed therein, wherein the other end of the third refrigerant flow path is connected to the other end of the first refrigerant flow path through the first connection space, and the other end of the fourth refrigerant flow path is connected to the other end of the second refrigerant flow path through the second connection space as required by claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feldman (US 7201015 B2) and Garland (US 4378680 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763