Obviousness-type Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No.12692359.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because both claims are directed to recovering an amine and or a polyol from polyurethane by chemolysis with water and a catalyst.
The temperature, reagent and polyurethane ratio and the amount of water recited in in the patent overlap the ranges in claim 1. A polyurethane foam is a polyurethane product, and an amino alcohol is an alcohol containing chemolysis reagent. And lastly the claimed pressure range includes atmospheric pressure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP5714523 abstract, col. 1 lines 49-64, col. 2 lines 3-13, col. 6 lines 1-10, 34-37 and claims 1-9 in view of EP 0835901A2 See page 2 lines 36-45, page 3 lines 7-14, claims 1-10 and Figure 1.
.
Claim 1 is directed to a method of recovering raw materials from a polyurethane product, comprising (A) providing the polyurethane product, in which the polyurethane product is based on an isocyanate component and a polyol component; (B) chemolyzing the polyurethane product in the liquid phase with (i) an aminic chemolysis reagent selected from (a) a primary or secondary organic amine, (b) an amino alcohol having a primary or secondary amino group or (c) a mixture of (a) and (b), and (ii) water in the presence of (iii) a catalyst, at a temperature of 100°C to 195°C and at a pressure of 900 mbar(abs.) to 2000 mbar(abs.), where the mass ratio of (1) aminic chemolysis reagent and water to (2) the polyurethane product is in the range from 0.5 to 2.5, and where the mass of water is 3.0% to 22% of the mass of the aminic chemolysis reagent, to obtain a chemolysis product; and (C) working up the chemolysis product to obtain an amine and/or a polyol.
USP5714523 discloses a process for alcoholizing polyurethane foam by bringing the foam into contact with an alcoholizing polyol, allowing the foam and polyol to react in the presence of a catalyst, allowing the reaction mixture to separate into an upper and lower phase, and hydrolyzing at least one phase by the addition of water. USP5714523 further discloses that the reaction is conducted within temperature ranges overlapping those recited in claim 1. The reference also disclose a pressure from ambient pressure to 10bar. Ambient pressure falls within the claimed pressure range. The refernece discloses alkali metal hydroxides including sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide as suitable catalysts for promoting the alcoholysis and hydrolysis reactions. See abstract, col. 1 lines 49-64, col. 2 lines 3-13, col. 6 lines 1-10, 34-37 and claims 1-9. The reference further discloses using 0/1 to 10 parts by weight of alcoholizing polyol per part by weight of polyurethane foam., up to 5% by weight of an alkanolamine and 0.5% to 15% by weight of water each of which falls within the claimed ranges. The reference also discloses separating an upper phase containing the recovered polyol and a lower phase containing the other reaction products. The hydrolyzed product contains amins and corresponds to the polyisocyanates used to prepare the polyurethan foam and may be purified by evaporation or distillation. See abstract, col. 1 liens 49-64, col. 2 lines 3-19, cols. 5-8.
USP5714523 does not disclose that the alkanolamine has a primary or secondary amino group.
EP0835901A2 discloses that it is known in the art to depolymerize polyurethane using a mixture of an aliphatic diol and a dialkanolamine , i.e. a secondary amino group, at a temperature of about 175 C to about 250 C.. See page 2 lines 36-45, page 3 lines 7-14, and Figure 1.
USP5714523 and EP0835901A2 are directed to the same field of polyurethane chemical recycling via glycolysis or alcoholysis and aminolysis reactions conducted under comparable operating conditions. USP5714523 supplies the claimed process structure, including the alcoholysis reaction, catalyst presence, phase separation, and hydrolysis step. The reference also discloses the claimed process conditions and recovery of polyol and amine products. EP0835901A2 teaches that a dialkanolamine is suitable for depolymerizing polyurethane. .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dialkanolamine taught by EP0835901A2 as the alkanolamine in the process of USP5714523 since USP5714523 already teaches that alkanolamines may be used and EP0835901A2 discloses that a dialkanolamine is usable for depolymerizing a polyurethane. One having ordinary skill in the art would have expected the dialkanolamine to work for the same purpose with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the amounts of alkanolamine and water from within the ranges disclosed by USP5714523 since the reference discloses these amounts as process conditions for the recycling process.
Claim 2 is directed to the method as claimed in claim 1, in which the polyurethane product, in step (B),(I) is admixed first with (1) the aminic chemolysis reagent, but not yet with the water, or (2) the aminic chemolysis reagent and a first portion of the water, and then (II) the water (1) or a second portion of the water (2) is added to the mixture resulting from (I).
USP5714523 discloses adding water after the polyurethane foam and alcoholizing material have been mixed. The reference also discloses that the water may be added gradually.
Claim 3 is directed to the method as claimed in claim 2, in which, in step (II), the water (1) or the second portion of the water (2) is added continuously or in portions such that the temperature of the liquid phase during step (II) differs by a maximum of 20°C from the temperature of the liquid phase in step (I).
USP5714523 discloses gradual addition of water while controlling the temperature of the reaction mixture. The reference also shows in an example the temperature during the water treatment step differing from the following reaction temperature by 10C.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use this temperature control within the overlapping temperature range discussed above.
Claim 4 is directed to the method as claimed in claim 1, in which the aminic chemolysis reagent (a) comprises an aliphatic primary or secondary organic amine, (b) an aliphatic amino alcohol having a primary or secondary amino group or (c) a mixture thereo
EP0835901A2 discloses that it is known in the art to use of a dialkanolamine in the polyurethane reaction which is an aliphatic amino alcohol having a secondary amino group. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (Selection of solvent having boiling point and vapor pressure properties recognized as being ideal for printing inks into printing ink compositions found obvious on its face). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). (Selection of a known plastic to make a plastic container found obvious on its face).
Claim 5 is directed to the method as claimed in claim 1, in which the catalyst is selected from a hydroxide, a carboxylate, a tin compound, a zinc compound, a carbonate, an orthophosphate, a monohydrogen orthophosphate, a metaphosphate, or a mixture of any two or more thereo
USP5714523 discloses metal hydroxides including sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide, as catalysts.
Claim 15 is directed to the method as claimed in claim 1, in which the polyurethane product is a polyurethane foam.
USP5714523 discloses recovering materials from a polyurethane foam.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765