Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “F” in Fig 2;"101i" in Fig 3; "P" in Fig 5; "R3", "S5", "S6", "M3", and "121" in Fig 14; and "121" in Fig 16. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The amendment to the Specification filed 04/22/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no
amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. An incorporation
by reference statement added after an application’s filing date is not effective because no new
matter can be added to an application after its filing date (See 35 U.S.C. 132(a)). An
international application designating the U.S. has two stages (international and national) with
the filing date being the same in both stages. See MPEP 1893.03(b) and 35 U.S.C. 363. The
added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
“CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED PATENT APPLICATIONS”
“This application is a National Stage of International application No. PCT/JP2022/040636 filed October 31, 2022, claiming priority based on Japanese Patent application No. 2022-066817 field April 14, 2022.”
The incorporation by reference of the international application PCT/JP2022/040636 and
of the Japanese Patent Applications No. 2022-066817 is ineffective as it was added on the date of entry into the national phase, which is after the filing date of the instant application. The filing date of this national stage application is the filing date of the associated PCT, in this case 10/31/2022, See MPEP 1893.03(b). Therefore, the Specification amendment of 04/22/2024 to include the incorporation by reference is new matter, per MPEP 608.01(p).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: safety device in claim 1.
The “safety device” in line 8 of Claim 1 is deemed to invoke analysis under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Under Prong A, the language of the claim does not explicitly use the term “means” or “step” as an explicit invocation of 112(f) analysis, but the claim provides the nonce term “device” that triggers analysis under 112(f).
Moving to Prong B, the “safety device” is linked by the following functional language “configured to interrupt energization to the ceramic heaters when a temperature of the container has exceeded a set value”.
Concluding under Prong C, the specification provided in paragraph [0020] that the safety device is a known pellet-type thermal fuse, with lead wires extending from both ends of the safety device. The additional structure provides sufficient modification to the structure such that further analysis under 112(f) is no longer necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the safety device whose number is smaller than a number of the ceramic heaters”, Claim 1 also recites “a plurality of ceramic heaters” and “a safety device”. The limitation of a safety device whose number is smaller than a number of the ceramic heaters is already taught by the introduction of multiple ceramic heaters verses a single safety device having been previously introduced. Therefore the scope of the range limitation is unclear.
Claim 1 also recites the limitation of “in a cross-section crossing the front-rear direction”, Examiner would request applicant amend claim to provide “in a cross-section crossing an axis of the liquid heating device extending in the front-rear direction”.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 recites that the safety device is provided on the outer side of the container and Claim 3 recites that part of the safety device is located on an inner side of the recess. As Claim 2 and 3 contradict each other, for the purposes of compact prosecution Claim 3 is being interpreted as being dependent on Claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragg (EP-2438364-B1) in view of Posen (US-5438642-A).
With regards to Claim 1, Ragg teaches (Figs 1-3) a liquid heating device (an electrical heating device (10)) for heating water in a vessel ([0006]). The electrical heating device comprises dual heating elements (20, 30) arranged in a parallel nested or overlapping relationship with each other and adapted to be in thermal contact with the overheat prevention thermostat (40) ([0017]). The heating elements and thermostat are mounted to a common support plate (50) that forms part of the wall of the water tank or vessel, with each heating element including a stainless steel outer sheath (100) and electrical resistance heating wire (102), where the ends of each heating element extending through the support plate and have electrical connectors (104, 106, 108), allowing each heating element to be independently heated ([0018]-[0019]). Each heating element extends from an inner surface of the support plate via a looped end of the distal portion connected thermally to the inner surface of the support plate ([0011], [0013], [0021]-[0023]). The single overheat prevention thermostat cuts off power to the dual, triple or more heating elements, should one of the heating elements overheat ([0024]). The overheat prevention thermostat lies between the electrical connecting terminals for the heating elements and offset to the center of the terminals in a perpendicular direction (See Modified Fig 2).
With regards to Claim 1, Ragg does not teach a container with an inlet and outlet, or that the heaters are ceramic.
Posen teaches (Figs 1-7) an instantaneous water heater, for use inside an injection molded plastic body (2), where the water heater has an inlet cylinder (4) and an outlet cylinder (6) (Page 4, col 1, lines 44-46; Pg. 5, col 3, lines 6-20). Posen also teaches that the heating elements use ceramic substrates (10, 12) (Pg. 4, col 1, lines 59-62; Pg. 5, col 3, lines 44-62). Posen further teaches the heating elements may be ceramic, open, sheathed, encapsulated, or cartridge type elements (pg. 4, col 1, lines 44-62).
In this case, Ragg teaches the liquid heating device inserted into a water tank to heat a liquid, where multiple parallel heaters are mounted onto the recess of a support plate mounted onto a vessel, where an overheat protection device is also mounted onto the support plate, but offset from and between the heaters. Posen teaches that the vessel container can be made of an injection molded plastic, where water enters an inlet cylinder to be heated by ceramic heating elements before exiting via an outlet cylinder. Ragg and Posen are analogous to the instant application because both inventions derive ways of heating a liquid via a heating element.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include ceramic heaters and an inlet and outlet port for a water heating device mounted on a plastic container as taught by Posen with the electrical heating device that has heating elements and a overheat protection system mounted onto a vessel as taught by Ragg, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 2 & 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ragg and Posen in view of Glanz (DE-19545155-A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Ragg and Posen teach all of the claimed elements as previously mentioned, where Ragg further teaches that the support plate defines part of a wall for a water containing vessel, where the heating elements pass through the support plate ([0010]). Ragg also teaches that the distal loops of the heating element are joined to the support plate by brazing or welding to enhance thermal contact between the heating elements and the thermostat, as well as increasing the strength of the heating device ([0023], Claim 2). Ragg also teaches the thermostat, and electrical connectors are set in a recess of the support plate, where the heating elements are brazed/welded to the interior side of the support plate (See Modified Fig 3). However, Ragg does not teach a heat-transfer medium.
Regarding Claim 3, Ragg and Posen teach all of the claimed elements as previously mentioned, where Ragg further teaches that the plurality of heating elements are mounted on the common support plate, and the thermostat is also mounted on the common support plate and a portion of each heating elements are in thermal contact with the thermostat (See Modified Figs 3, [0006]).
Glanz teaches (Figs 1-2) a heating cartridge for hot water tanks. The heating cartridge has housing (1), threaded projection (4), heating elements (5), heating conductors (6), a protective tube (7) that surrounds a temperature sensor (8) and safety temperature sensor (9) ([0006], [0012]-[0013]). The safety temperature sensor and temperature sensor are arranged in the protective tube that is connected to the heating rods via a thermal bridge (10), where the bridge is made of a highly thermally conductive material such as brass, copper, or aluminum, where the connection points (11) can be soldered, pressed, or welded to ensure good heat transfer ([0006], [0013]).
In this case, Ragg and Posen teach the liquid heating device as previously stated, and Ragg and Glanz both teach a thermal safety device mounted on the outside of a container, where Glanz teaches a thermal bridge made up of aluminum with a high thermal conductivity, and Posen teaches the plastic container, where injection molded plastic has a lower thermal conductivity than brass, copper, or aluminum. Ragg further teaches the supporting plate where the safety device and heating elements are mounted has a recess (See modified Fig 3), and Glanz teaches that the protective tube and the temperature sensor are internally mounted on the interior side of the heating device. Ragg, Posen, and Glanz are analogous because all the inventions teach devices to heat fluids, such as water, located inside of a tank.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a heat transfer medium made of brass, copper, or aluminum as well as have a thermal safety sensor mounted to the exterior of the heating device where part of the safety device extends into the interior of the tank, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US-7039305-B1) teaches a tubular electric heater where a water inlet is connected to a heat conductive tube, and an electric tube is installed within the tube to form a water path to heat cool water.
Ginossar (WO-2017153981-A1) teaches a system and method for water heating where a heating element and a thermostat are housed within an inlet spout to heat water before the water is expelled out the outlet spout.
/HUNTER G HEMMINGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761