DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 04/22/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 11 have been canceled; claims 12 – 22 have been newly added. Claims 12 – 22 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 12 – 14, 17 – 18, and 20 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed et al. (hereinafter “Syed”) (Pub # US 2019/0098488 A1) in view of D1: GSM Association: “Embedded SIM Remote Provisioning Architecture”.
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Syed discloses a method for managing at least one eUICC information set (EIS) (i.e., P1, P2 in FIG. 1) of a eUICC (see 114 in FIG. 1), comprising the following consecutive steps:
generating a first request for sending the eUICC information set (EIS) at an eUICC manufacturer (EUM) (see any EUM 112 in FIG.1), the first request comprising a first Function Call Identifier (FCI) (see [0030] – [0032] for the EUM prepare, encrypt the profiles by generate a profile that includes at least the functions in the requested profile, and send the profiles, see [0046] – [0047] for directing requests from external partners between M2M EUMs and consumer EUMs, and brokering can include directing requests among M2M EUMs and consumer EUMs, and see [0024] for the profiles can include IMSI that enables the end-point to access the MNO's network and to access voice services, text messaging, etc., thus there is a function call identifier);
sending the first request from the eUICC manufacturer (EUM) to an intermediate buffer proxy (see eSIM management framework 106 in FIG. 1, [0026] where Syed is discussing the eSIM management framework can broker connectivity to underlying eSIM vendors or eUICC manufacturers, e.g., EUM(s) 112, provide security for user authentication by interfacing with conventional aggregators or hub providers without releasing profile information from the eSIM management framework data center, see [0031] – [0033] for the EUM can prepare, encrypt, and send the profiles to the eSIM management framework);
generating a response to the first request within the intermediate buffer proxy (see [0035], [0043], [0053] for the eSIM management framework generating a profile as a generated profile on demand responsive to the profile request); and
sending the response to the request to the eUICC manufacturer (EUM) (see [0059] for the eSIM management framework sending an instruction to an EUM to download a specific profile according to the subscriber state, which in various instances can include a registration state).
Syed does not disclose specifically registering the eUICC information set (EIS).
In an analogous art, D1 discloses registering the eUICC information set (EIS) (see D1, 3.5.1, Figure 4 in pages 36 – 37 for the EUM sends a eUICC registration request containing the EIS to the SM-SR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Syed which teaches the EUM including SM-SR, and have the request for registering the eUICC information set (EIS) thereby providing the provisioning profiles are loaded and active securely in the provisioning operation network, as discussed by D1 (see D1, 3.5.1).
Regarding claim 13, Syed in view of D1 disclose wherein it further comprises the following consecutive steps: after receiving the response to the request to the eUICC manufacturer (EUM) at the eUICC manufacturer (EUM), generating a register results response within the eUICC manufacturer (EUM) (see Syed, [0060] for brokering includes identifying at least two EUMs that host machine-to-machine profiles and assigning the EUM to serve the profile based at least on an attribute of the requestor, or the eSIM management framework identifying at least two EUMs, a first EUM that hosts machine-to-machine profiles and a second EUM that hosts consumer eSIM profiles, and the eSIM management framework assigning the EUM to serve the profile based at least on an attribute of the requestor); and sending the register results response to a mobile network operator (MNO) (see Syed, [0043] for the eSIM management framework interface with other MNOs' aggregators and/or hub providers to facilitate download of profiles specific to the respective MNOs, facilitate activation of profiles specific to the respective MNOs, or provide information regarding the state of their respective profiles).
Regarding claims 14, 18, and 22, Syed in view of D1 disclose wherein it further comprises the following consecutive steps: based on the first request received at the intermediate buffer proxy, generating, at the intermediate buffer proxy, a second request for registering the eUICC information set (EIS), the second request comprising a second Function Call Identifier (FCI) (see Syed, [0060] for brokering includes identifying at least two EUMs that host machine-to-machine profiles and assigning the EUM to serve the profile based at least on an attribute of the requestor, see [0024], [0033] for text messaging); and sending the second request from the intermediate buffer proxy to a Subscription Manager Secure Routing (SM-SR) function (see Syed, [0059] for the eSIM management framework sending an instruction to an EUM to download a specific profile, and see FIG. 1, [0032] for the SM-SR in the EUM enables the secure download).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Syed in view of D1 disclose the intermediate buffer proxy according to claim 17, wherein it comprises a unique object identifier (OID) (see Syed, FIG. 2, [0041] for the eSIM management framework includes an application program interface (API) which is a java-based solution and can include a JSON interface, making it lightweight and adaptable), and a unique Function Requester Identifier (FRI) ) (see Syed, FIG. 2, [0033], [0041], [0048] for the eSIM management framework includes a SIM Management Application (SMA) requests a profile and generate a profile that includes at least the functions in the requested profile).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645