DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-2, 4, 6-18, 20 and 22 in the reply filed on 10/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-10, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kersey (WO 2019/207312).
Regarding claim 1, Kersey teaches an aerosol provision system for generating an aerosol, the aerosol provision system comprising: a feedback portion for providing feedback to a user of the aerosol provision system, wherein the feedback can be real-time (i.e. during inhalation) and/or provided after inhalation is complete [page 12, l. 23-30]. In other words, in the “or provided after inhalation is complete” embodiment, the feedback portion is configured to provide the feedback after the aerosol provision system has generated an aerosol in a mode of operation, and is further configured to not provide the feedback whilst the aerosol provision system is generating the aerosol in the mode of operation.
Regarding claims 6-7, Kersey teaches the aerosol provision system comprises a display, and the feedback portion comprises the display (visual feedback) [page 14, l. 27-31].
Regarding claim 8, Kersey teaches the feedback comprises haptic feedback [page 13, l. 2-4].
Regarding claim 9, Kersey teaches the feedback comprises acoustic feedback [page 14, l. 5-12].
Regarding claim 10, Kersey teaches the feedback is configured to provide an indication of a predetermined property of the aerosol provision system [page 14, l. 27-31].
Regarding claim 17, Kersey teaches the aerosol provision system comprises an aerosol provision device for generating the aerosol, wherein the aerosol provision device comprises the feedback portion [page 14, l. 27-32].
Regarding claim 18, Kersey teaches the aerosol provision system comprises an aerosol provision device for generating the aerosol, and further comprises an electrical device which is operable to communicate with the aerosol provision device, wherein the electrical device comprises the feedback portion [page 16, l. 31 to page 7, l. 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lakraa (US 2023/0248068).
Kersey does not teach the feedback portion is configured to provide the feedback no later than 5 seconds after the aerosol provision system has finished generating the aerosol in the mode of operation. Lakraa teaches an aerosol-generating device wherein feedback is provided to a user within 1-2 second after the end of a puff [0053, 0061]. As this is a conventional waiting period known in the art for providing feedback after finishing generating an aerosol or the end of a puff, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the system of Kersey to achieve predictable results.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bowen (US 2019/0158938).
Kersey does not teach the feedback portion is configured to provide the feedback for a duration of at least 5 seconds. Bowen teaches an electronic vaporizer wherein at the completion of the last dose a long duration light flash (feedback) is output [0151]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Kersey such that the feedback portion is configured to provide a long duration feedback for providing a cue to the user of completion of the last does as suggested by Kersey. Futhermore, as the entire purpose of the long duration feedback is to notify the user, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the duration through routine experimentation to ensure that the user is notified as desired.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersey as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kerr (US 2020/0329763).
Kersey does not teach the predetermined property comprises a rate of aerosol generation from the aerosol provision system whilst it was generating the aerosol in the mode of operation. Kerr teaches an aerosol generation device wherein a rate of atomization (aerosol generation) is indicated to a user [0053]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kersey such that the predetermined property comprises a rate of aerosol generation from the aerosol provision system whilst it was generating the aerosol in the mode of operation in order to provide this information to the user.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersey as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bellinger (US 2016/0360786).
Kersey teaches the aerosol provision system comprises an aerosol generator for generating the aerosol [page 5, l. 29 to page 6, l. 2]. Kersey does not teach the predetermined property comprises an amount of power delivered to the aerosol generator whilst it was generating the aerosol in the mode of operation. Bellinger teaches an electronic vaporizer wherein a power level delivered to the heating element is displayed on a display screen, i.e. an amount of power delivered to the aerosol generator whilst it was generating the aerosol in the mode of operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kersey such that the predetermined property comprises an amount of power delivered to the aerosol generator whilst it was generating the aerosol in the mode of operation in order to provide this information to the user.
Claims 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0408834).
Kersey does not teach the feedback comprises an indication that the aerosol provision system has experienced a fault. Kim teaches an aerosol-generating device wherein a notification is output when the device is in an overheated state [0018, 0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kersey such that the feedback comprises an indication that the aerosol provision system being determined as having overheated in order to provide this information to the user.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cohen (US 2011/0036346).
Kersey teaches the aerosol provision system comprises a power supply [page 5, l. 13-15]. Kersey does not teach the feedback comprises an indication that the power supply comprises less than a predetermined amount of remaining power. Cohen teaches a personal inhalation device wherein the feedback comprises an indication that the power supply comprises less than a predetermined amount of remaining power [0046]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Kersey such that the feedback comprises an indication that the power supply comprises less than a predetermined amount of remaining power in order to provide this information to the user.
Claims 16, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kersey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bessant (US 2018/0242644).
Kersey teaches the aerosol provision system further comprises a cartridge and an aerosol provision device configured to receive the cartridge [page 4, l. 27-32; page 5, l. 19-22]. Kersey does not teach the limitations regarding sensor data. Bessant teaches an aerosol-generating system comprising a sensor for generating sensor data, and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the sensor data from the sensor; determine, using the sensor data, an indication for the feedback; and generate an output signal, for the feedback portion to provide the feedback comprising the indication, wherein the sensor data is indicative of an amount of aerosol-generating material in at least a portion of the cartridge; and wherein the controller is configured to: determine, using the sensor data, whether the amount of aerosol-generating material comprises less than a predetermined amount; and in response to determining that the amount of aerosol-generating material comprises less than the predetermined amount, generate the output signal, for the feedback portion to provide the feedback comprising the indication [0045, 0182, 0292]. As Kersey already teaches providing feedback after the aerosol provision system has generated the aerosol in the mode of operation, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus also provide the feedback comprising the notification in modified Kersey provide the feedback comprising the indication after the aerosol provision system has generated the aerosol in the mode of operation.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755