Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/079277 (filed 10/22/22), which application claims priority to EPO 21204489.5 (filed 10/25/21).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Amendment(s)
The Preliminary Amendment filed 04/22/24 is entered.
Claims 16-30 are pending.
Drawings
The Drawing filed 04/22/24 is objected to:
37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) states (emphasis added):
The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear.
Accordingly, applicant should submit a corrected Drawing without “Figure 1” and amend the specification to –-the Drawing-—(each occurrence).
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS statements filed 04/22/24, 08/20/25 and 02/24/26 have been considered. Initialed copies accompany this action.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or by applicant on form PTO-1449, they have not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I without traverse in the Reply filed 02/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 103
Claim Construction
As no special definition appears in the instant specification, the examiner construes the claim terminology “precursor material” to require it’s normal meaning in the art (i.e. any material which requires additional processing/reaction/modification to form a final product). Additionally, the preamble terminology “…for a Li-containing cathode…” is considered a statement of intended utility.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 104934572 (PTO-892) or Taniguchi et al (Powder Tech 2008).
CN 104934572 discloses a preparation method of Li(Ni,Co,Al)/TiO composite. The method includes (page 2 of translation):
Disclosed steps (2) and (4) meet the claimed “spray pyrolysis” and “spray dries” (dependent claim 2). Additionally, the examiner notes that elected species I utilizes open claim terminology “comprising” which does not exclude the lithium salt disclosed in the reference. Also, as the reference teaches a heating step after spray-drying, the material meets the instant claim terminology “precursor material” (see discussion above). With respect to dependent claim 19, the reference teaches use of chloride salt reactant (page 2).
Taniguchi (Powder Technology 2008) discloses (Abstract):
The disclosed process meets the claimed “spray pyrolysis” and “spray dries” (dependent claim 2) (Section 2: Experimental). As above, the examiner notes that elected species I utilizes open claim terminology “comprising” which does not exclude the lithium salt disclosed in the reference. Also, as the reference teaches a heating step after spray-drying, the material meets the instant claim terminology “precursor material” (see discussion above).
The references each disclose the claimed invention in an anticipatory manner.
Claim(s) 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either CN 104934572 (PTO-892) or Taniguchi et al (Powder Tech 2008).
Both references are relied upon as set forth above.
With respect to dependent claims 21-25, the examiner respectfully submits that additional steps such as rinsing/washing of the particles and size control/reduction are each well known in the art, and well within the purview of the skilled artisan to determine the workable parameters of such in order to tailor the resultant properties of the cathode materials. Likewise, with respect to dependent claims 26-30, control of both particle size (e.g. D50), bulk density and Mn:Co ratio are result effective variables which are obvious optimizations to the skilled artisan. In re "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/MARK KOPEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
MK
April 18, 2026