DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of claim 16, there is a drafting error, “…line s a function…”. Suggested correction, replace, “s” with “as” for example, “…line as a function…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 16 recites generic placeholder, “a processing unit” followed by functional limitation without reciting any structure to perform the functional limitations. To find support for structure of the recited generic placeholder, examiner looked into page 7, lines 18-22 of specification which recites the processing unit has one or several processors.
Claim 19 recites generic placeholder, “a processing unit” followed by functional limitation without reciting any structure to perform the functional limitations. To find support for structure of the recited generic placeholder, examiner looked into page 7, lines 18-22 of specification which recites the processing unit has one or several processors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13,15,16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP39 (JPH11232339 A) in view of CN75 (CN112288175A).
Regarding claim 11, JP39 teaches, a method for automatically monitoring operations of a production line as a function of a takt time (a production system for monitoring the operating status of a production line while considering the takt time of the production line, [0016] and [0018]), the method comprising the following steps:
a) receiving or acquiring a takt time for production of a product by the
production line (for a particular model of the printed board to be manufactured on the production line, the tact/takt time is received from the server, [0061]);
each operation being characterized by a duration defined as a function of the takt time (the tact/takt time for production is determined based on time required for discharging components to the machine, component mounting time on mounting machines1 and machine loss time, [0065]);
c) acquiring in real time and from the one or several items of equipment of the production line (the production lines uses high-speed mounter and various shaped component mounting machines and their operating states are displayed on the screen, [0078]), a temporal progression or evolution of the successive operations (the operating state and progress of each of the machines producing the particular model of the printed circuit board are collected and displayed in the display unit, [0078] and [0081]);
d) automatically determining from the temporal progression or evolution a
predicted end of at least one or of each of the successive operations (based on actual operating state and progress of each of the machines and re-planned production plan, the end time for production (successive operations) is predicted by the system, [0064],[0081] and [0094]);
e) automatically determining whether at least one of the predicted ends
exceeds an expected end of the operation (based on actual state of the machines and the production plan predicted end time, a delay in production is determined that is predicted end of production exceeds (predicted end time per re-planned production plan and machine states) an expected end of the operation (scheduled work end time), [0073] and [0082], also see [0104]-[0105]); and
f) upon step e) being in the affirmative (delay in production is determined, [0082]), automatically triggering or activating a measure aiming to reduce a temporal difference between the predicted end and the expected end (upon detection of production delay, the manufacturing start time and contents of allocation for producing the model are changed2 and other part model parts are reallocated thus efficiently performing the production even with a delay, [0082] and [0084]-[0085], also see [0104]-[0105]).
JP39 does not explicitly teach the details of receiving or acquiring a set of successive operations to be performed on the product by one or several items of equipment of the production line, each operation being characterized by a duration defined as a function of the takt time. However JP39 teaches in [0018], [0020], [0065] and [0094], that based on production plan which consists of model to be produced, list of components to be mounted to make the model, scheduled end time and shipping date of the model and other production information are processed by the server to determine production takt time in relation to each of the production line machines. When determining the takt time and the production machines to be used, the set of successive operations to be performed by the machines must be known by the server.
On the other hand CN75 teaches, receiving or acquiring a set of successive operations to be performed on the product by one or several items of equipment of the production line (“…In a possible design, the preset association relationship is determined according to the preset production line model, and the model parameters of the preset production line model include: equipment information of each device, the sequence of association between the devices3, and the theoretical beat of each device. …”,page 5, 10th paragraph).
JP39 and CN75 are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is monitoring production in view of production takt time.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for monitoring operations of a production line as function of takt time as taught by JP39 by applying the known technique of acquiring in real time set of successive operations to be performed by the devices of the production line as taught by CN75 to yield predictable results of automatically monitoring production of a part/model based on information related to operations to be performed or already performed by the machines/equipment of the production line.
JP39 teach:
[0061] Prior to the display screen shown in FIG. 4, predetermined data is received and necessary data is input on the display screen shown in FIG. That is, FIG. 3 shows one display screen of the work plan, and the order shows the order of production. The target line indicates the production line that is in charge of production. The model indicates the printed board unit to be produced. The L1/N surface indicates whether the component surface to be mounted is the front surface or the back surface. The model, production quantity and delivery date are based on the received production instruction. The tact is automatically input for each model from another database held by the server 31. Note that the order and the target line are keyboard inputs.
[0065] Further, the production takt time (tact) reduces the difference between the scheduled time and the actual time, so that the time for supplying/discharging the printed board to the machine, the time for actually mounting the parts, and the machine loss It consists of time and. That is, the production tact time (tact) is obtained by: tact=printing board supply/discharge time to machine+component mounting time4+machine loss time.
[0078] Further, as shown in FIG. 6B, the performance/feedback processing unit 37 uses the MV2C (high-speed mounter), MV (high-speed mounter), CM92 (various-shaped component mounting machine), CM95R (various-shaped component mounting machine) in the production line. ), the operating state of reflow is displayed by the display unit 39. At that time, the operating time zone that indicates the operating time of each machine and the non-working time zone that includes the setup time zone of each machine are displayed in different colors to identify the operating time zone and the non-working time zone of the machine. Make it easier. For example, the MV2C in the operating state and the reflow are displayed in green, and the MV in the component waiting state, the CM 92 in the emergency stop, and the CM 95R in the board waiting state are displayed in red.5
[0082] Further, when the production delay occurs in the actual result, it is possible to notify the worker. The notification timing is, for example, 30 minutes before the scheduled work end time. In addition, the content to be notified can display a delay on a buzzer or a display screen. There may be a case where a production delay occurs and the reel member, which has been prohibited from being used on other than the designated production line, is provisionally allocated to another model. At this time, on the display screens of the work plan simulation unit 40 and the production plan concrete unit 32, for example, a production delay occurs in the AA model, and the reel parts are provisionally allocated to the BB model and the EE model. In this case, for example, a display as shown in FIG. 7B can be displayed.
[0094] In step S10, the production plan implementation unit 32 calculates the scheduled production completion time of the re-planned production plan, predicts the production end time,6 and confirms the scheduled execution of the next production plan.
Regarding claim 12, combination of JP39 and CN75 teach the method of claim 11. In addition CN75 teaches, which further comprises automatically triggering or activating the measure when the temporal difference between the predicted end of the operation and the expected end is greater than a predefined temporal threshold (when the relative error (difference) between real-time beat (predicted end) and the current theoretical beat (expected end) is greater than first beat threshold (temporal threshold), an alarm is generated to identify the bottleneck device or device causing delay in production as taught in page 10, 6th paragraph and page 11,3rd paragraph, which can cause to change parameters of the machine causing delay as taught in page 11, 4th paragraph7).
Regarding claim 13, combination of JP39 and CN75 teach the method of claim 11. In addition JP39 teaches, which further comprises at least one of:
at least one of automatically generating or displaying an alarm (when a delay in production is determined, the notification of delay (alarm) is displayed on a screen, [0082]); or
automatically adapting a production speed of one of the items of equipment to keep the production rate equal to the takt time (when a delay occurs on producing part model AA, the target parts for part model BB are prepared and reallocated to accommodate the delay in production for part model AA, [0082] and [0085]); or
automatically modifying a scheduled production plan of the production line
for increasing the production rate of the production line (“…When the production delay occurs, the work plan simulation unit 40 notifies the aforementioned production plan concrete unit 32, and when it is desired to change the manufacturing order or the manufacturing start time, the work plan simulation unit 40 makes the change on the display screen8…”, [0084]).
Regarding claim 15, combination of JP39 and CN75 teach the method according to claim 11. In addition CN75 teaches, which further comprises carrying out the step of acquiring or receiving a set of operations by receiving or acquiring for each operation (the sequence of association between the devices9, page 5,10th paragraph), a set of steps having to be performed for completing the operation and an average duration of each step (sequence of operations are performed by each first, second and third device the real time beat that is average duration of each step performed by each device is also known such as 22 seconds for second device and 20 seconds for the third device, and page 5, 10th paragraph, page 11, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 16 combination of JP39 and CN75 teach the claimed method for automatically monitoring operations of a production line. Therefore together they teach the system for automatically monitoring operations of a production line implementing the functional steps of the claimed method as discussed in claim 11. There are additional limitations recited in claim 16 which are taught by JP39, a graphical user interface including a display area and a user interaction area (display unit for displaying information to the user and keyboard for user interaction inputs to the system, [0061] and [0081]);
a processing unit (performance feedback processing unit, [0058] and [0078]) configured for acquiring and processing data from equipment of the production line (unit acquiring real time operational status and progress of each of the machines in a production line, [0058] and [0078]); and
a memory (server storing necessary production data must have memory for storing data, [0049]).
Regarding claim 19 combination of JP39 and CN75 teach the claimed method for automatically monitoring operations of a production line. Therefore together they teach the computing system for automatically monitoring operations of a production line implementing the functional steps of the claimed method as discussed in claim 11. There is an additional limitation recited in claim 19 which are taught by JP39, a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions executable by a processing unit (server storing necessary production data and executing production plan must have memory for storing data and processors for execution, [0049] and [0052]).
Claim(s) 14,17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP39 (JPH11232339 A) in view of CN75 (CN112288175A) and JP26 (JPH11305826A).
Regarding claim 14, combination of JP39 and CN75 teach the claimed method according to claim 11. In addition JP39 teaches, which further comprises:
displaying on a graphical user interface (display screen, [0067]), a takt time bar having a width configured for representing the takt time for one of the items of equipment of the production line (the operating time along with the state of the machines are displayed on the display screen which can be viewed as the takt time bar, [0075] and [0078]).
Neither in combination nor individually JP39 and CN75 teach the details of parallel to the takt time bar, a set of operation bars, each operation bar representing one of the successive operations to be performed on the product by the equipment, and the width of each operation bar showing a duration of the operation; each extremity of each operation bar being aligned with a temporal value included within the takt time bar; one of the extremities being aligned with a first temporal value indicating an expected start of the operation and another extremity being aligned with a second temporal value indicating the expected end of the operation with respect to the takt time for the concerned equipment; and the takt time bar configured for indicating in real time with a cursor the temporal progression of each of the successive operations.
JP26 teaches, parallel to the takt time bar, a set of operation bars, each
operation bar representing one of the successive operations to be performed on the product by the equipment, and the width of each operation bar showing a duration of the operation (a gantt chart is displayed which has the total time for manufacturing/producing at the top (takt time bar for producing J001) and parallel to the top bar, there are multiple bars, each bar for each production machine such as kettle UNIT1, kettle UNIT2 and others. Each bar is aligned in a sequential order with a start time and end time relative to the total time for production/manufacturing as shown in the annotated FIG.6.The manufacturing progress is shown on the Gantt chart by dynamically updating the Gantt chart by a marker moving along the top bar representing the total manufacturing time, [0015],[0019], [0030]) and annotated FIG.6);
each extremity of each operation bar being aligned with a temporal value
included within the takt time bar (the start time and end time for each machine aligns with the total manufacturing/production time, [0015],[0019], [0030]) and annotated FIG.6);
one of the extremities being aligned with a first temporal value indicating an expected start of the operation (start time for producing J001 by UNIT1 as shown in annotated FIG.6) and another extremity being aligned with a second temporal value indicating the expected end of the operation with respect to the takt time for the concerned equipment (end time for producing J001 by UNIT1 as shown in annotated FIG.6, see also [0015],[0019], [0030]); and
the takt time bar configured for indicating in real time with a cursor the
temporal progression of each of the successive operations (the Gantt chart is dynamically updated and the progress in production is displayed as a marker on the Gantt chart, [0030]).
JP26 is an analogous art to JP39 and CN75 because they are from the same field of endeavor that is automatically monitoring manufacturing in a production line.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for automatically monitoring operations of production line as a function of takt time as taught by combination of JP39 and CN75 by applying the known technique of displaying a set of operation bars for each machine/equipment in the production line with temporal values indicating start time and end time for each equipment relative to the takt time (total manufacturing time) where the progress in manufacturing or production is dynamically updated and displayed as taught by JP26 to yield predictable results of visually displaying the operational progress in a production line to grasp in real time how the production plan is progressing as taught by JP26 in [0029].
JP26 teach:
[0019] In the operation monitoring station ICS, the download means 26 downloads the Gantt chart of the operation plan created by the schedule creation means 41 to the plant control system. The download means may be provided on the scheduling device SC side. The memory 27 stores the downloaded Gantt chart of the operation plan. This Gantt chart is displayed on the progress management screen of the display means 21. The performance creation means 28 creates a Gantt chart of the operation performance of the plant according to the control operation of the plant control system. The performance display means 29 displays the created operation performance Gantt chart on the progress management screen in comparison with the operation plan Gantt chart. The Gantt chart of operation results is dynamically updated as the plant operation progresses10.
[0030] According to the invention of claim 2, the following effects can be obtained. Conventionally, information necessary for control operation of a plant and work instruction information exist separately. In the present invention, since the work instruction information is displayed as a marker on the Gantt chart, it is possible to clearly recognize the correspondence between the information necessary for the control operation of the plant and the work instruction information.
Annotated FIG.6
Regarding claim 17 combination of JP39, CN75 and JP26 teach the claimed method for automatically monitoring operations of a production line. Therefore together they teach the system for automatically monitoring operations of a production line implementing the functional steps of the claimed method as discussed in claim 14.
Regarding claim 18, combination of JP39, CN75 and JP26 teach the system according to claim 17. In addition JP39 teaches, wherein an alarm is automatically displayed on the graphical user interface (when a production delay is occurred, the delay (alarm) is displayed on a display screen and an operator is notified, [0082]).
In addition CN75 teaches, when a temporal difference between the predicted end of the operation and the expected end is greater than a predefined temporal threshold (when the relative error (difference) between real-time beat (predicted end) and the current theoretical beat (expected end) is greater than first beat threshold (temporal threshold), an alarm is generated to identify the bottleneck device or device causing delay in production as taught in page 10, 6th paragraph and page 11,3rd paragraph, which can cause to change parameters of the machine causing delay as taught in page 11, 4th paragraph11).
Regarding claim 20, combination of JP39 and CN75 teach the claimed method for automatically monitoring operations of a production line. Therefore together they teach the computing system for automatically monitoring operations of a production line implementing the functional steps of the claimed method as discussed in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Larsen (US 20200118058 A1) teaches a real time work tracking system where the workflow outlines specific steps to performed and each step in a workflow are automatically tracked and displayed.
Cano et al. (US 20170140308 A1) teaches a system tracking each product being produced and an instance of the workflow tracks each product throughout the tasks in the workflow associated with the product. The workflow shows amount of predicted time a task should take and the workflow is displayed as Gantt chart as taught in [0025] and [0026].
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/MARK A CONNOLLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 7/23/26
1 Each function of machine operation such as component discharge time, mounting time and others are considered by the server when determining the takt time for producing the model of the circuit board.
2 Measure aiming to reduce a temporal difference between the predicted end and the expected end.
3 Set of successive operations to be performed by each of the machine/device of the production line in view of takt time, also see page 11, 3rd paragraph.
4 Takt time calculated as a function of machine operations in a production line.
5 Real time operational status of the machines producing the model is displayed.
6 Predicting end time based on actual state of operation and the production plan that is operations to be performed.
7 Also in view of JP39, when a delay is determined, the production plan is adjusted as taught in [0085].
8 Based on production delay, the manufacturing start time is changed that is modifying scheduled production plan.
9 Set of successive operations to be performed by each of the machine/device of the production line in view of takt time, also see page 11, 3rd paragraph.
10 Indicating in real time the temporal progression of each of the successive operations with a marker in view of [0030] via display means 21- GUI.
11 Also in view of JP39, when a delay is determined, the production plan is adjusted as taught in [0085].