DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 04/22/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 20 have been canceled; claims 21 – 40 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 21 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (hereinafter “Bao”) (Pub # US 2022/0201774 A1) in view of Rao et al. (hereinafter “Rao”) (Pub # US 2021/0045093 A1).
Regarding claims 21 and 29, Bao discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see target UE 510 in FIG. 7, UE 600 in FIG. 6) comprising a processor (610 in FIG. 6) configured to:
receive, from a network (i.e., a location server LMF 120 in FIG. 1, 400 in FIG. 7, [0084]), sidelink (SL) positioning configuration information (see [0110], [0118] for the target UE receives SL PRS related data (stage 736 in FIG. 7 including first SL PRS configuration data) from the server);
receive, from one or more positioning assisting (PA) WTRUs (i.e., anchor UE 520 and/or TRP 531 in FIG.7), respective positioning assistance information (see [0104], [0110], [0118] for the target UE receives second SL PRS related data (stage 737 or 738 in FIG. 7 including SL PRS assistance data) from the anchor UE);
select at least one of the one or more PA WTRUs based on the received SL positioning configuration information and the respective positioning assistance information received from the one or more PA WTRUs (see stage 740 in FIG. 7, [0106], [0110], [0112], where Bao is discussing the target UE is configured to select from multiple recommended reference signal sources, i.e., give priority to information provided by the anchor UE, especially if the target UE and the anchor UE have an established SL communication link);
determine a position of the WTRU based on signals received from the selected at least one of the one or more PA WTRUs (see stages 750, 762, 766, 780 in FIG. 7, [0113] – [0115] for the target UE determines position information for the target UE based on measurement(s) of the SL PRS and/or the measurement report);
transmit, to the network, an indication of the determined position (see [0069] for the position device of the UE is configured to provide indication of uncertainty in the determined position and/or motion, see [0080] for UE-assisted positioning, the UE sends measurements to the positioning server), and
transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see [0095] for the UE sends SRS for positioning).
Bao does not disclose specifically that determine that the WTRU is within a validity area; and transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) based on the
determination that the WTRU is within the validity area.
In an analogous art, Rao discloses determine that the WTRU is within a validity area; and transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) based on the determination that the WTRU is within the validity area (see Rao, [0057] for sidelink resource pools (RPs), [0088], [0141] is discussing conditions for using sidelink resources of the sidelink resource grant comprises a configured sidelink map associated with a validity time duration and a validity location area, the Lead UE (L-UE) is assigned with SL configured grants for using RP(s) with specific geo-area, thus the L-UE can utilize the SL resources of the sidelink resource graph provided the current time and the location of the UE area are valid, see [0154], where Rao is discussing the UE transmits SRS in the RPs that are valid only within a certain active geo-area range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Bao, which is teaching the UE sends SRS for positioning, and have determine that the UE is within a validity area; and transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) based on the determination that the UE is within the validity area, as taught by Rao, thereby provides mapping between service class and attributes to SL RP zone configuration, and controlling the association between RPs and geo-areas for improving spectral efficiency and minimizing interference in SL, as discussed by Rao (see Rao, [0145], [0153]).
Regarding claims 31 and 39, these claims are rejected for the same reason set forth above in system claims 21 and 29 because they have the same limitations.
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Bao in view of Rao disclose wherein the respective positioning assistance information received from the one or more PA WTRUs comprises one or more of respective capability information, a respective supported positioning QoS, an indication of whether the respective PA WTRU is in coverage, or an indication of the respective PA WTRU’s location (see Bao, [0082] for capability of the UE, see [0110], [0118] for assistance data may include one or more indications of an expected RSTD window, or see Rao, [0053], [0082] for capability information, see [0141] for conditions for using sidelink resources of the sidelink resource grant based on a validity location area).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Bao in view of Rao disclose wherein the SL positioning configuration information comprises criteria for selecting the one or more PA WTRUs, and wherein selecting at least one of the one or more PA WTRUs based on the received SL positioning configuration information and the respective positioning assistance information received from the one or more PA WTRUs comprises determining, for each PA WTRU of the one or more PA WTRUs, whether the criteria is met by the respective capability information and the respective supported positioning QoS (see Bao, FIG. 7, [0082], [0083], [0110], [0118] for selecting based on one or more criteria such as position determination accuracy and/or latency, see [0094] for meeting criteria; or see Rao, [0137], [0204]. [0208] for the criteria set by the regulations and conditions on both the Uu and SL interfaces have to be satisfied).
Regarding claims 24 and 34, Bao in view of Rao disclose wherein the criteria comprises one or more of a positioning service type, a required positioning quality of service (QoS), or one or more positioning methods (see Bao, [0082], [0083], [0094], [0099], [0110], [0118]).
Regarding claims 25 and 35, Bao in view of Rao disclose wherein the positioning service type comprises one or more of a relative position service or an absolute position service (see Bao, [0042], [0043], [0062], [0063], [0069], [0081] - [0083]).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Bao in view of Rao disclose wherein the processor is further configured to discover the one or more PA WTRUs (see Bao, [0040], [0087] for the UEs communicate with each other through SL channels, i.e., a physical sidelink broadcast channel, thus discover, and see Rao, [0105] for discovery procedure over the PC5-S interface between UEs).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Bao in view of Rao disclose the processor being configured to receive, from each of the one or more PA WTRUs, a respective discovery message (see Bao, [0040], [0087] for the UEs communicate with each other through SL channels, i.e., a physical sidelink broadcast channel, thus discover, and see Rao, [0105] for discovery procedure over the PC5-S interface, see [0221] for support the mobility of a UE Group travelling in a given path and detected by the RSUs (based on L-UE's PC5-D broadcast messages). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Bao in order to receive, from each of the one or more PA WTRUs, a respective discovery message such that support the mobility of a UE Group travelling in a given path, as discussed by Rao (see Rao, [0221]).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Bao in view of Rao disclose wherein the processor is configured to determine the position of the WTRU based on an SRS received from the selected at least one of the one or more PA WTRUs (see Bao, [0084], [0095], [0099], [0113] – [0115]).
Regarding claims 30 and 40, Bao in view of Rao disclose wherein the validity area is associated with the SL positioning configuration information, and wherein the processor is configured to determine that the WTRU is within the validity area based on the SL positioning configuration information (see Rao, [0088], [0141], [0154]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is WO 2021/067959 (Kim et al.) which teaches discovery message for sidelink configuration of wireless devices.
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645