DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12-13 recites a ratio of polyvinyl alcohol to polyacrylic acid based on total weight of the barrier coating. It is unclear how the ratio could be based on total weight of the barrier coating while there are other materials (i.e. the carbodiimide (C)) in the barrier coating. For purposes of examination, claims 12-13 are interpreted as reciting “weight ratio from 95:5 to 5:95weight ratio from 15:85 to 85:15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oosaki et al. (US-20080264560-A1) (newly cited) in view of Imashiro et al. (US-6124398-A) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Oosaki teaches a barrier coating comprising a polyvinyl alcohol and a polyacrylic acid (Oosaki, Abstract, Par. 0020-0023).
Oosaki is silent regarding a carbodiimide.
Imashiro teaches a coating comprising a polyvinyl alcohol and a carbodiimide crosslinking agent (Imashiro, Abstract and Col. 2 Lines 1-35).
Oosaki and Imashiro are analogous art as they both teach coatings comprising polyvinyl alcohol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the carbodiimide of Imashiro in the coating of Oosaki. This would allow for improved crosslinking (Oosaki, Abstract). Furthermore, modified Oosaki does not teach that any other materials outside of the polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylic acid, and carbodiimide are required and thus teaches embodiments that only comprise the three materials, amounting to 100 wt.% of the barrier coating.
Regarding claim 2, modified Oosaki teaches the polyacrylic acid is a polymethacrylic acid (Oosaki, Par. 0022).
Regarding claims 3-5, modified Oosaki teaches the polyacrylic acid has a molecular weight of 2,000-5,000,000 (Oosaki, Par. 0026), which overlaps the claimed ranges and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 6-7, modified Oosaki teaches the polyacrylic acid is partially neutralized with a degree of neutralization of 0.1-20% (Oosaki, Par. 0027), which overlaps the claimed range of 2-50% and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Oosaki teaches the polyvinyl alcohol has a saponification degree of at least 98 mol.%, which lies within the claimed ranges and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claims 12-13, modified Oosaki teaches a ratio of the polyvinyl alcohol to polyacrylic acid is 30:70 to 95:5 (Oosaki, Par. 0021), which lies within the claim 12 range of 5:95 to 95:5 and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03. This further overlaps the claim 13 range of 15:85 to 85:15 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 14, modified Oosaki teaches a laminate comprising the barrier coating (Oosaki, Par. 0073).
Regarding claims 15 and 18, modified Oosaki teaches the carbodiimide is present in an amount of 0.1-50 parts per 100 parts resin (Imashiro, Col. 5 Lines 48-67), which results in a weight range that overlaps the claimed range of 0.5-10 wt.% and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 16 and 19, modified Oosaki teaches the carbodiimide is a polymerized and is thus a polycarbodiimide (Imashiro, Col. 4 Line 61 – Col. 5 Line 11).
Regarding claim 17, modified Oosaki teaches the barrier coating comprises the polyvinyl alcohol, the polyacrylic acid, and the carbodiimide as stated above for claim 1, and does not state that any additional materials are required. Therefore, modified Oosaki teaches embodiments wherein the polyvinyl alcohol, the polyacrylic acid, and the carbodiimide amount to 100 wt.% of the barrier coating.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oosaki et al. in view of Imashiro et al. as stated above for claim 1, further in view of Naderi (US 20220009684 A1).
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Oosaki teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Modified Oosaki is silent regarding the polyvinyl alcohol having a molecular weight of 10,000 to 300,000 g/mol as required by claim 10, and a molecular weight of 50,000 to 200,000 g/mol as required by claim 11.
Naderi teaches a barrier composition comprising a polyvinyl alcohol and a polyacrylic acid (IPCFA) wherein the polyvinyl alcohol has a molecular weight of 80,000 to 135,000 g/mol (Naderi, Abstract, Par. 0001, 0014-0015, 0025, and 0027), which lies within the claimed ranges and therefore satisfies the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03.
Modified Oosaki and Naderi are analogous art as they both teach barrier compositions comprising polyvinyl alcohol and a polyacrylic acid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a polyvinyl alcohol with a molecular weight within the claimed range for the polyvinyl alcohol of modified Oosaki. This would allow for improved barrier performance (Naderi, Par. 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 17 September 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action.
The rejections under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action for claims 12-13 are not withdrawn due to the present claim amendments not remedying the issue. All other rejections under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action have been withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the features of newly amended claim 1. This is found moot.
The previous grounds of rejection have been withdrawn due to the present claim amendments. New grounds of rejection have been made in view of newly cited Oosaki (US-20080264560-A1) have been made above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782