DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the barrier film" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not previously recite a “barrier film”. It is thus unclear as to what the barrier film refers. For purposes of examination, claim 1 is interpreted as instead reciting “the barrier coating
Claims 12-13 recite a ratio of polyvinyl alcohol to polyacrylic acid. However, claims 12-13 do not to what the ratio is based. It is thus unclear what the ratio is based on, i.e. by weight, volume, moles, etc. For purposes of examination, the ratio in claims 12-13 are considered to be a weight ratio as supported by the instant specification Page 5.
Claims 2-11 and 14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, since these claims depend from the claims rejected above and do not remedy the aforementioned deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oosaki et al. (US 20180244929 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oosaki teaches a coating material comprising a polyvinyl alcohol, a polyacrylic acid, and a carbodiimide (Oosaki Abstract, Par. 0080-0090, 0097-0098, 0123, 0274). Oosaki teaches the coating material is formed at a temperature of 50°C or more and 120°C or less (Oosaki, Par. 0196), which lies within the claimed range of less than 120°C and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 2, Oosaki teaches the polyacrylic acid comprises poly(meth)acrylic acid (Oosaki, Par. 0085 and 0097-0098).
Regarding claims 6-7, Oosaki teaches the polyacrylic acid is partially neutralized with a degree of neutralization of 2-20% (Oosaki, Par. 0097-0100), which lies within the claimed range of 2 to 50% and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claims 8-9, Oosaki teaches the polyvinyl alcohol has a saponification degree of at least 98% (Oosaki, Par. 0091) which lies within the claimed ranges of at least 80% and at least 95% and therefore satisfy the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 12, Oosaki teaches a ratio of the polyvinyl alcohol to the polyacrylic acid is 30:70 to 95:5 (Oosaki, Par. 0101), which lies within the claimed range of 5:95 to 95:5 and therefore satisfies the claimed range see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 14, Oosaki teaches a laminate comprising the barrier coating (Oosaki, Par. 0012, 0014, and 0137).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oosaki et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 3-5, Oosaki teaches the polyacrylic acid has a molecular weight of 5000 to 10,000,000 g/mol (Oosaki, Par. 0097), which overlaps the claimed ranges and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 13, Oosaki teaches a ratio of the polyvinyl alcohol to the polyacrylic acid is 30:70 to 95:5 (Oosaki, Par. 0101), which overlaps the claimed range of 15:85 to 85:15 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oosaki et al. as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Naderi (US 20220009684 A1).
Regarding claims 10-11, Oosaki teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Oosaki is silent regarding the polyvinyl alcohol having a molecular weight of 10,000 to 300,000 g/mol as required by claim 10, and a molecular weight of 50,000 to 200,000 g/mol as required by claim 11.
Naderi teaches a barrier composition comprising a polyvinyl alcohol and a polyacrylic acid (IPCFA) wherein the polyvinyl alcohol has a molecular weight of 80,000 to 135,000 g/mol (Naderi, Abstract, Par. 0001, 0014-0015, 0025, and 0027), which lies within the claimed ranges and therefore satisfies the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03.
Oosaki and Naderi are analogous art as they both teach barrier compositions comprising polyvinyl alcohol and a polyacrylic acid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a polyvinyl alcohol with a molecular weight within the claimed range for the polyvinyl alcohol of Oosaki. This would allow for improved barrier performance (Naderi, Par. 0027).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782