DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-45 are pending. Claims 1, 34-39, and 44-45 are independent.
This Application was published as US 20260004790.
Apparent priority is 29 Oct 2021.
The instant Application is directed to a method of modeling directivity in audio.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit” in claim 1 and claim 39 and depending claims, “addition unit” in claim 6 and depending claims, “directivity convolution unit” in claim 10 and depending claims, “HRTF convolution unit” in claim 11, and “modeling unit” and “model data generation unit” in claim 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 8-10, 14, 23-27, 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 1: The independent Claims are directed to the following categories:
Claim 1 is a device claim and directed to the machine or manufacture category of patentable subject matter.
Claim 34 is a method claim and directed to the process category of patentable subject matter.
Claim 35 is a computer program claim and is not directed to patentable subject matter.
Step 2A, Prong One: Does the Claim recite a Judicially Recognized Exception? Abstract Idea? Are these Claims nevertheless considered Abstract as a Mathematical Concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations), Mental Process (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (1-fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), 2-commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), 3- managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) and fall under the judicial exception to patentable subject matter?)
The rejected Claims recite Mathematical Concepts or Mental Processes.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application? Identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluating those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. “Integration into a practical application” requires an additional element(s) or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Uses the considerations laid out by the Supreme Court and the Federal Circuit to evaluate whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
The rejected Claims do not include additional limitations that point to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application and are therefore directed to a Mental Process or a Method of Organizing Human Activity.
Claim 1 is a generic automation of a mental process because a human agent can receive directional model data and calculate the directivity data. Prong Two of step 2A in the 101 analysis asks whether the abstract idea is integrated with a practical application. The answer is no in this instance because there is no technological solution in the Claim that “integrates” the abstract idea. The Claim only suggests that the abstract idea be applied. It does not describe an application.
Claim 1. An information processing device comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire model data obtained by modeling directivity data representing directivity of a sound source; (agent receives polar coordinates of sound sources)
and a calculator configured to calculate the directivity data on a basis of the model data. (agent draws the location of the sources on a graph)
Step 2B: Search for Inventive Concept: Additional Element Do not amount to Significantly More: The limitations of "information processing device," “acquisition unit,” and “calculator” are well-understood, routine, and conventional machine components that are being used for their well-understood, routine, and conventional and rather generic functions. Additionally, these limitations are expressed parenthetically and lack nexus to the Claim language and as such are a separable and divisible mention to a machine. Accordingly, they are not sufficient to cause the Claim to amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
The Dependent Claims do not add limitations that could help the Claim as a whole to amount to significantly more than the Abstract idea identified for the Independent Claim:
Claim 8. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain for each of a plurality of frequency bins, and the information processing device further comprises an interpolation processing unit configured to calculate the directivity gain of the new frequency bin by performing an interpolation process on a basis of the directivity data calculated by the calculator. (Interpolation is a mathematical concept, and can additionally be performed in the mind with pen and paper)
Claim 9. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain at each of a plurality of data points, and the information processing device further comprises an interpolation processing unit configured to calculate the directivity gain at the new data point by performing an interpolation process on a basis of the directivity data calculated by the calculator. (human can draw the sound sources and interpolate the data between them)
Claim 10. The information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising: a directivity convolution unit configured to convolve the directivity data and audio data. (convolution is a mathematical concept; the claim is not tied to any application)
Claim 14. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the model data includes a model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data by one or more methods different from each other. (agent can use two different methods to draw the sound sources)
Claim 23. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data includes a model parameter obtained by further modeling the model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data. (agent can further model the data by performing any operation on it, such as doubling the distance to represent a larger space)
Claim 24. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data includes the model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data by a method different for each frequency band. (agent can perform the task for multiple frequency bands)
Claim 25. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain at each of a plurality of data points, and the model data includes information indicating a method of disposing the data points and information for identifying an arrangement position of the data points. (agent can draw a gain represented by distance, and follow instructions for arranging the data points)
Claim 26. The information processing device according to claim 25, wherein the model data includes priority information indicating priority of the directivity data for each type of the sound source. (agent can annotate priority information on a graph)
Claim 27. The information processing device according to claim 26, wherein the number of data points changes according to the priority, and the calculator identifies an arrangement position of the data points using the priority information. (agent can draw only the top priority data points)
The additional limitations introduced by the Dependent Claims are not sufficient as additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or as additional elements that cause the Claim as a whole to amount to substantially more than the underlying abstract idea.
With respect to Independent Claim 34 and independent Claim 35, which have limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 1, the limitations of “a program” and “a computer,” are expressed parenthetically and lack nexus to the Claim language and as such are a separable and divisible mention to a machine. Accordingly, they do not include additional limitations that cause the Claim as a whole to amount to more than the underlying abstract idea.
Claims 35, 38, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the recitation of “a program” can be interpreted as “software per se.” See MPEP 2106.03(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 13-15, 23-27, 31, and 33-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaillet et al. (US 20110249822 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jaillet discloses: Claim 1. An information processing device comprising: ("[0180] FIG. 6 now describes a decoder and a decoding method in one embodiment of the invention." )
an acquisition unit configured to acquire model data ("[0183] The decoder thus described comprises a module 650 for decoding Decod·Fb the information contained in the binary stream Fb received." )
obtained by modeling directivity data representing directivity of a sound source; and ("[0185] The possible outputs from this binary stream decoding module depend on the procedures for coding the directivities used in the coding. They may be in the form of base directivity vectors DB and of associated coefficients GD and/or modeling parameters P."; see also"[0099] Each source is associated with a directivity vector.” )
a calculator configured to calculate the directivity data on a basis of the model data. ("[0186] These data are then transmitted to a module for reconstructing the information regarding directivities 660 which performs the decoding of the information regarding directivities by operations inverse to those performed on coding." )
Regarding claim 2, Jaillet discloses: Claim 2. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the model data includes a model parameter constituting a mixture model, ("[0023] Thus, when obtaining the sum signal, the mixing matrix takes into account information data regarding the direction of the sources…" )
the model parameter being obtained by modeling the directivity data with the mixture model including one or more distributions. ("[0029] The directivity information associated with a source gives not only the direction of the source but also the shape, or the spatial distribution, of the source, that is to say the interaction that this source may have with the other sources of the sound scene." )
Regarding claim 4, Jaillet discloses: Claim 4. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain for each of a plurality of frequency bins, and ("[0115] In this embodiment, the representation of the directivities is therefore performed with the help of base directivities. The matrix of directivities Di may be written as the linear combination of these base directivities. Thus it is possible to write Di=GDDB, where DB is the matrix of base directivities for the set of bands and GD the matrix of associated gains. The number of rows of this matrix represents the total number of sources of the sound scene and the number of columns represents the number of base directivity vectors." )
the model data includes the model parameter constituting the mixture model representing a distribution of the directivity gain for each band that is a frequency band including one or more of the frequency bins. ("[0012] Moreover, after matrixing based on frequency band, the resulting sum signal is thereafter transmitted to the decoder in the form of a temporal signal." ; the sum signal reads on the model parameter; see also [0016] )
Regarding claim 13, Jaillet discloses: Claim 13. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the model data includes a spherical harmonic coefficient obtained by modeling the directivity data by spherical harmonic function expansion as a model parameter. ("[0101] It is readily understood that for a very significant number of regularly spaced loudspeakers, the directivity vector makes it possible to faithfully represent the radiation of a sound source. In the presence of an ambiophonic signal, the directivity vector is obtained by applying an inverse spherical Fourier transform to the components of the ambiophonic orders. Indeed, the ambiophonic signals correspond to a decomposition into spherical harmonics, hence the direct correspondence with the directivity of the sources." )
Regarding claim 14, Jaillet discloses: Claim 14. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the model data includes a model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data by one or more methods different from each other. ("[0123] In this variant a selection module 330 chooses frequency band by frequency band, the best mode of coding for the directivity by choosing the best directivities reconstruction/bitrate compromise." )
Regarding claim 15, Jaillet discloses: Claim 15. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the methods include at least any one of a method of modeling with a mixture model including one or more distributions or a method of modeling by spherical harmonic function expansion. ("[0101] It is readily understood that for a very significant number of regularly spaced loudspeakers, the directivity vector makes it possible to faithfully represent the radiation of a sound source. In the presence of an ambiophonic signal, the directivity vector is obtained by applying an inverse spherical Fourier transform to the components of the ambiophonic orders. Indeed, the ambiophonic signals correspond to a decomposition into spherical harmonics, hence the direct correspondence with the directivity of the sources." )
Regarding claim 23, Jaillet discloses: Claim 23. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data includes a model parameter obtained by further modeling the model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data. ("[0124] For each directivity, the choice of the representation adopted (parametric representation or linear combination of base directivities) is made so as to optimize the effectiveness of the compression." - the representation reads on modeling directivity data )
Regarding claim 24, Jaillet discloses: Claim 24. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data includes the model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data by a method different for each frequency band. ("[0123] In this variant a selection module 330 chooses frequency band by frequency band, the best mode of coding for the directivity by choosing the best directivities reconstruction/bitrate compromise." )
Regarding claim 25, Jaillet discloses: Claim 25. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain at each of a plurality of data points, and ("[0115] In this embodiment, the representation of the directivities is therefore performed with the help of base directivities. The matrix of directivities Di may be written as the linear combination of these base directivities. Thus it is possible to write Di=GDDB, where DB is the matrix of base directivities for the set of bands and GD the matrix of associated gains. The number of rows of this matrix represents the total number of sources of the sound scene and the number of columns represents the number of base directivity vectors." )
the model data includes information indicating a method of disposing the data points and information for identifying an arrangement position of the data points. ("[0186] These data are then transmitted to a module for reconstructing the information regarding directivities 660 which performs the decoding of the information regarding directivities by operations inverse to those performed on coding." )
Regarding claim 26, Jaillet discloses: Claim 26. The information processing device according to claim 25, wherein the model data includes priority information indicating priority of the directivity data for each type of the sound source. ("[0163] For this purpose, a particular embodiment uses a procedure of principal component analysis (PCA) in each frequency band in the block 220 so as to extract all the sources from the sound scene (Stot). This analysis makes it possible to rank the sources in sub-bands by order of importance according to the energy level for example.”)
Regarding claim 27, Jaillet discloses: Claim 27. The information processing device according to claim 26, wherein the number of data points changes according to the priority, and the calculator identifies an arrangement position of the data points using the priority information. ("[0164] The sources of greater importance (therefore of greater energy) are then selected by the module 260 so as to constitute the principal sources (Sprinc), which are thereafter matrixed by the module 270, by the matrix M such as defined by the module 275, so as to construct a sum signal (Ssfi) (or “downmix”)." )
Regarding claim 31, Jaillet discloses: Claim 31. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the model data includes operation-related information for a rotation operation or a symmetry operation, and the calculator calculates the model parameter rotated or symmetrically moved by performing the rotation operation or the target operation on the model parameter on a basis of the operation-related information, and calculates the directivity data using the distribution obtained by the rotated or symmetrically moved model parameter. ("[0141] The sources C and D are situated at the rear of the listener centered at the center of the circle. The sources C and D are brought back toward the front of the scene by symmetry."; see also [0177] and [0144]. )
Regarding claim 33, Jaillet discloses: Claim 33. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the calculator calculates the directivity data by performing weighted addition on a plurality of the distributions obtained from the model parameter by using a weight including a negative value. ("[0125] A selection criterion is for example the minimization of the mean square error. A perceptual weighting may optionally be used for the choice of the directivity coding mode. The aim of this weighting is for example to favor the reconstruction of the directivities in the frontal zone, for which the ear is more sensitive. In this case, the error function to be minimized in the case of the PCA-based coding model can take the following form: E=(W(Di−G D D B))2"; GD is a coefficient (ref [0122]) and it is negative, so this is equivalent to addition of a weight with a negative value.)
Claim 34 is a method claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 35 is a program claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, a program of the Claim are taught by Jaillet (“[0070] It finally pertains to a computer program comprising code instructions for the implementation of the steps of a coding method such as described and/or of a decoding method such as described, when these instructions are executed by a processor.”)
Regarding claim 36, Jaillet discloses: Claim 36. An information processing device comprising: a modeling unit configured to ("[0221] FIG. 7 a represents an example of such an item of multimedia equipment or coding device comprising a coder according to the invention." )
model directivity data representing directivity of a sound source with a mixture model including one or more distributions; and ("[0029] The directivity information associated with a source gives not only the direction of the source but also the shape, or the spatial distribution, of the source, that is to say the interaction that this source may have with the other sources of the sound scene." )
a model data generation unit configured to generate model data including a model parameter constituting the mixture model, the model parameter being obtained by the modeling. ("[0223] The memory block BM can advantageously comprise a computer program comprising code instructions for the implementation of the steps of the coding method..." )
Claim 37 is a method claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 36 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 38 is a program claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 36 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, a program of the Claim are taught by Jaillet (“[0070] It finally pertains to a computer program comprising code instructions for the implementation of the steps of a coding method such as described and/or of a decoding method such as described, when these instructions are executed by a processor.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Kruger (US 20150312678 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Kruger discloses: Claim 3. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the one or more distributions include at least any one of a vMF distribution or a Kent distribution. ("[0051] The predicted probability of the direction of sd at time frame l is assumed to be given by the following discrete von Mises-Fisher distribution …" )
Jaillet and Kruger are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of determining sound directions in a sound field. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jaillet with using a vMF distribution as taught by Kruger. Doing so would have been beneficial to improve the robustness of directional tracking of multiple sound sources and provide smooth trajectories of direction estimates. (Kruger [0016]) This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim(s) 5 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Andersen et al (US 4550425 A).
Regarding claim 5, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Andersen discloses: Claim 5. The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the model data includes a scale factor indicating a dynamic range of the directivity gain in the frequency bin and a minimum value of the directivity gain in the frequency bin. ("A block of 246 eight-bit linear PCM samples representing 41 milliseconds of time is accumulated in a buffer (FIG. 4 and FIG. 6). The dynamic range of the data within the block, divided by 16 and rounded up if the remainder is nonzero, is the range increment, a common scale factor for the block. A four-bit code word for each sample is computed by dividing the eight-bit linear PCM sample by the four-bit range increment with rounding. This division is done by table lookup in a four-bit table of 2.sup.12 entries. FIG. 6 illustrates this process for a 41 millisecond segment of voiced speech containing three glottal pulses. Note that the voiced speech waveform in FIG. 6 is not symmetric about the time axis; the glottal pulse dips further below the axis than above it. This is typical of all voiced speech. The BSPCM encoding process accounts for this property of speech when estimating the range increment by referencing it to the minimum sample value in the block. It is obvious that such range increment could also have been referenced relative to the maximum sample value in the block. Before the block of data is transmitted for recording on disk, it is preceded by the minimum and the range increment and other control information as shown in FIG. 7." Col 21; 66 - Col 22;21)
Jaillet and Andersen are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of coding audio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jaillet with using BSPCM as taught by Andersen. Doing so would have been beneficial for a desirable reduction in total bit rate. (Andersen Col 1;30-34)
Claim 30 is a device claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 5 but recited in alternative rather than inclusive and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 6-7, 16-17, 19, 21, 28-29, 39-40, and 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Gao (US 20100063810 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 6. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the model data includes difference information indicating a difference between the directivity data before modeling and the directivity data after modeling, and the information processing device further comprises an addition unit configured to add the difference information to the directivity data calculated by the calculator. ("[0014] These two subvectors are coded separately using a two-mode lossless encoder, which switches adaptively between differential Huffman coding (mode 0) and direct natural binary coding (mode 1). Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits, whereas a direct natural binary coding is used to limit the worst-case number of bits as well as to correctly encode the envelope of signals, which are saturated by differential Huffman coding (e.g., sinusoids). One bit is used to indicate the selected mode to the spectral envelope decoder." )
Jaillet and Gao are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of coding audio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jaillet with using differential Huffman coding as taught by Gao. Doing so would have been beneficial to minimize the average number of bits (Gao [0014]).
Regarding claim 7, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 7. The information processing device according to claim 6, wherein the difference information is Huffman encoded. ("[0014] ...Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits…" )
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 16, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 16. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data further includes difference information indicating a difference between the directivity data after modeling by the one or more methods and the directivity data before modeling. ("[0014] ...Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits…" )
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 17, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 17. The information processing device according to claim 16, wherein the difference information is Huffman encoded. ("[0014] ...Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits…" )
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 19, Jaillet discloses: Claim 19. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data includes difference code data obtained by Huffman encoding at least any one of a difference between positions or a difference between frequencies in a space of difference information indicating a difference between the directivity data after modeling by the one or more methods and the directivity data before modeling. (“[0024] The adaptation of the data modifying the position of the sources so as to obtain a minimum separation between two sources thus makes it possible, for the two sources which, after sound restitution, would be too close to one another to be separated so that the restitution of the signal allows the listener to differentiate the position of these sources.”)
Jaillet does not explicitly disclose differential Huffman coding.
Gao discloses: Differential Huffman coding. ("[0014] ...Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits…" )
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 21, Jaillet discloses: Claim 21. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data includes the model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data by a predetermined method, (any of the parameters reads on a predetermined method)
and another model parameter obtained by modeling a difference between the directivity data after modeling by the predetermined method and the directivity data before modeling by a method different from the predetermined method. (difference coding is not explicitly disclosed)
Jaillet does not explicitly disclose difference coding.
Gao discloses: another model parameter obtained by modeling a difference between the directivity data after modeling by the predetermined method and the directivity data before modeling by a method different from the predetermined method. ("[0014] ...Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits…" )
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 28, Jaillet discloses: Claim 28. The information processing device according to claim 19, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain for each frequency bin at each of a plurality of data points, (“[0115] In this embodiment, the representation of the directivities is therefore performed with the help of base directivities. The matrix of directivities Di may be written as the linear combination of these base directivities. Thus it is possible to write Di=GDDB, where DB is the matrix of base directivities for the set of bands and GD the matrix of associated gains. The number of rows of this matrix represents the total number of sources of the sound scene and the number of columns represents the number of base directivity vectors.”)
and the model data includes the difference code data of at least any one of a difference between the data points or a difference between the frequency bins of the difference information indicating a difference between the directivity gain of the directivity data after modeling by the one or more methods and the directivity gain of the directivity data before modeling after a rearrangement of the difference information. (not explicitly disclosed)
Jaillet does not explicitly disclose difference encoding or rearrangement of the difference information.
Gao discloses: the model data includes the difference code data of at least any one of a difference between the data points or a difference between the frequency bins of the difference information indicating a difference between the directivity gain of the directivity data after modeling by the one or more methods and the directivity gain of the directivity data before modeling after a rearrangement of the difference information. (“[0005] The weighted difference dLB w(n) is then transformed into frequency domain by MDCT.” – transforming into frequency domain reads on rearrangement. See claim 6 mapping of difference coding)
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 29, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 29. The information processing device according to claim 28, wherein the rearrangement is a rearrangement in a predetermined order, an order of priority of the data points or the frequency bins, an ascending order of the difference information, or a descending order of the difference information. (“[0005] The weighted difference dLB w(n) is then transformed into frequency domain by MDCT.” – this reads on a predetermined order)
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 39, Jaillet discloses: Claim 39. An information processing device comprising: an acquisition unit configured to ("[0222] The device comprises an input module able to receive a multi-channel signal representing a sound scene, either through a communication network, or by reading a content stored on a storage medium. This multimedia equipment can also comprise means for capturing such a multi-channel signal." )
acquire difference directivity data obtained by obtaining at least any one of a difference between data points or a difference between frequency bins of a directivity gain for directivity data representing directivity of a sound source, (not explicitly disclosed)
the directivity data including the directivity gain of each of a plurality of the frequency bins at a plurality of the data points; and ("[0115] In this embodiment, the representation of the directivities is therefore performed with the help of base directivities. The matrix of directivities Di may be written as the linear combination of these base directivities. Thus it is possible to write Di=GDDB, where DB is the matrix of base directivities for the set of bands and GD the matrix of associated gains. The number of rows of this matrix represents the total number of sources of the sound scene and the number of columns represents the number of base directivity vectors." )
a calculator configured to calculate the directivity data on a basis of the difference directivity data. ("[0186] These data are then transmitted to a module for reconstructing the information regarding directivities 660 which performs the decoding of the information regarding directivities by operations inverse to those performed on coding." )
Jaillet does not explicitly disclose difference coding.
Gao discloses: differential coding. ("[0014] ...Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits…" )
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 40, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 40. The information processing device according to claim 39, wherein the difference directivity data is Huffman encoded, and the calculator decodes the difference directivity data that is Huffman encoded. ("[0014] ...Differential Huffman coding is used to minimize the average number of bits…" )
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 42, Jaillet does not explicitly disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 42. The information processing device according to claim 39, wherein the difference directivity data is obtained by obtaining at least any one of the difference between the data points or the difference between the frequency bins after the directivity gains are rearranged. (“[0005] The weighted difference dLB w(n) is then transformed into frequency domain by MDCT.” – transforming into frequency domain reads on rearrangement. See claim 6 mapping of difference coding)
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 43, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses: Claim 43. The information processing device according to claim 42, wherein the rearrangement is a rearrangement in a predetermined order, an order of priority of the data points or the frequency bins, an ascending order of the directivity gains, or a descending order of the directivity gains. (“[0005] The weighted difference dLB w(n) is then transformed into frequency domain by MDCT.” – this reads on a predetermined order)
See claim 6 for motivation statement.
Claim 44 is a method claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 39 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 45 is a program claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 39 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, a program of the Claim are taught by Jaillet (“[0070] It finally pertains to a computer program comprising code instructions for the implementation of the steps of a coding method such as described and/or of a decoding method such as described, when these instructions are executed by a processor.”)
Claim(s) 8-9 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Villemoes et al. (US 20120195442 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jaillet discloses: Claim 8. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain for each of a plurality of frequency bins, and ("[0115] In this embodiment, the representation of the directivities is therefore performed with the help of base directivities. The matrix of directivities Di may be written as the linear combination of these base directivities. Thus it is possible to write Di=GDDB, where DB is the matrix of base directivities for the set of bands and GD the matrix of associated gains. The number of rows of this matrix represents the total number of sources of the sound scene and the number of columns represents the number of base directivity vectors." )
the information processing device further comprises an interpolation processing unit configured to calculate the directivity gain of the new frequency bin by performing an interpolation process on a basis of the directivity data calculated by the calculator. (not explicitly disclosed )
Jaillet does not explicitly disclose interpolation of frequency bin gains.
Villemoes discloses: an interpolation processing unit configured to calculate the directivity gain of the new frequency bin by performing an interpolation process on a basis of the directivity data calculated by the calculator. (“[0066] … This can be performed by determining a target bin 530, i.e. a synthesis subband signal on the frequency grid Q.DELTA.f, by interpolating one or two source bins 510, i.e. intermediate subband signals on the frequency grid T.DELTA.f. In a preferred embodiment, linear interpolation is used, wherein the weights of the interpolation are inversely proportional to the difference between the center frequency of the target bin 530 and the corresponding source bin 510. By way of example, if the difference is zero, then the weight is 1, and if the difference is T.DELTA.f then the weight is 0.”)
Jaillet and Villemoes are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of coding audio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jaillet with using interpolation for frequency bins as taught by Villemos. Doing so would have been beneficial to improve coding efficiency (Villemoes [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Jaillet discloses: Claim 9. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the directivity data includes a directivity gain at each of a plurality of data points, ("[0115] In this embodiment, the representation of the directivities is therefore performed with the help of base directivities. The matrix of directivities Di may be written as the linear combination of these base directivities. Thus it is possible to write Di=GDDB, where DB is the matrix of base directivities for the set of bands and GD the matrix of associated gains. The number of rows of this matrix represents the total number of sources of the sound scene and the number of columns represents the number of base directivity vectors." )
and the information processing device further comprises an interpolation processing unit configured to calculate the directivity gain at the new data point by performing an interpolation process on a basis of the directivity data calculated by the calculator. (not explicitly disclosed )
Jaillet does not explicitly disclose interpolation of frequency bin gains.
Villemoes discloses: an interpolation processing unit configured to calculate the directivity gain of the new frequency bin by performing an interpolation process on a basis of the directivity data calculated by the calculator. (“[0066] … This can be performed by determining a target bin 530, i.e. a synthesis subband signal on the frequency grid Q.DELTA.f, by interpolating one or two source bins 510, i.e. intermediate subband signals on the frequency grid T.DELTA.f. In a preferred embodiment, linear interpolation is used, wherein the weights of the interpolation are inversely proportional to the difference between the center frequency of the target bin 530 and the corresponding source bin 510. By way of example, if the difference is zero, then the weight is 1, and if the difference is T.DELTA.f then the weight is 0.” – frequency bin gains read on data points)
See claim 8 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 32, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Villemoes discloses: Claim 32. The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the calculator calculates the directivity gain of the predetermined frequency bin by performing weighted addition on an output value of the mixture model of a predetermined band and an output value of the mixture model of another band adjacent to the predetermined band. (Fig. 5b shows that for second order, interpolation occurs between adjacent bands.)
See claim 8 for motivation statement.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Fukui et al. (US 20090214045 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Fukui discloses: Claim 10. The information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising: a directivity convolution unit configured to convolve the directivity data and audio data. ("[0003] The present invention relates to a convolution method and convolution device for convoluting into an audio signal a head-related transfer function (hereafter abbreviated to "HRTF") for enabling a listener to hear a sound source situated in front or the like of the listener, during acoustic reproduction with an electric-acoustic unit such as an acoustic reproduction driver of headphones for example, which is disposed near the ears of the listener." )
Jaillet and Fukui are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of coding audio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jaillet with using convolving as taught by Fukui. Doing so would have been beneficial allow the user to hear a sound source in front of the user with headphones (Fukui [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Fukui discloses: Claim 11. The information processing device according to claim 10, further comprising: an HRTF convolution unit configured to convolve the audio data in which the directivity data is convolved and an HRTF. ("[0003] The present invention relates to a convolution method and convolution device for convoluting into an audio signal a head-related transfer function (hereafter abbreviated to "HRTF") for …” )
See claim 10 for motivation statement.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Ito et al. (US 20200411027 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Ito discloses: Claim 12. The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the one or more distributions include a complex Bingham distribution or a complex watson distribution. ("[0063] In the present first embodiment, it is considered that the probability distributions q.sub.kf of expression (12), which are the probability distributions of the feature vectors z(t,f) for respective sound source position candidates k and respective frequency bins f, are prepared and stored into the storage unit 13 in advance. For example, when feature vectors of expression (6) are used as the feature vectors z(t,f) and the probability distributions q.sub.kf are modeled using a complex Watson distribution of expression (16), it is sufficient for the storage unit 13 to store parameters a.sub.kf and κ.sub.kf for modeling pre-prepared q.sub.kf for respective sound source position candidates k and respective frequency bins f." )
Jaillet and Ito are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of modeling sound source positions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jaillet with a complex Watson distribution as taught by Ito. Doing so would have been beneficial to optimize diarization or execution of appropriate sound source localization (Ito [0020]). This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim(s) 18, 20, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Gao as applied in claim 17 and 40 above, further in view of Kroeger et al. (US 6108810 A).
Regarding claim 18, Jaillet and Gao do not disclose the additional limitations.
Kroeger discloses: Claim 18. The information processing device according to claim 17, wherein each of a real part and an imaginary part of the difference information is individually Huffman encoded. (“Each partition is comprised of 38 columns and carries code bits intended for 19 sub-carriers, where the real and imaginary components of a particular sub-carrier are identified as separate adjacent columns. The entire interleaver consisting of 12 partitions has 456 columns. The outermost sub-carriers are identified as columns 0,1 and 454,455. Columns 190 through 265 carry the optional punctured bits closest to the FM host spectrum…” Col 8; 61 – Col 9; 1)
Jaillet, Gao, and Kroeger are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of coding audio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with separate real and imaginary component coding as taught by Kroeger. Doing so would have been beneficial to achieve more robust performance (Kroeger Col 3; 6-8).
Regarding claim 20, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Gao discloses differential Huffman coding, see claim 6 for mapping. Gao does not disclose separate real and imaginary parts.
Kroeger discloses: Claim 20. The information processing device according to claim 19, wherein the model data includes the difference code data obtained by individually Huffman encoding each of a real part and an imaginary part of a difference of the difference information. (“Each partition is comprised of 38 columns and carries code bits intended for 19 sub-carriers, where the real and imaginary components of a particular sub-carrier are identified as separate adjacent columns. The entire interleaver consisting of 12 partitions has 456 columns. The outermost sub-carriers are identified as columns 0,1 and 454,455. Columns 190 through 265 carry the optional punctured bits closest to the FM host spectrum…” Col 8; 61 – Col 9; 1)
See claim 18 for motivation statement.
Regarding claim 41, Jaillet and Gao does not disclose the additional limitations.
Kroeger discloses: Claim 41. The information processing device according to claim 40, wherein each of a real part and an imaginary part of the difference directivity data is individually Huffman encoded. (“Each partition is comprised of 38 columns and carries code bits intended for 19 sub-carriers, where the real and imaginary components of a particular sub-carrier are identified as separate adjacent columns. The entire interleaver consisting of 12 partitions has 456 columns. The outermost sub-carriers are identified as columns 0,1 and 454,455. Columns 190 through 265 carry the optional punctured bits closest to the FM host spectrum…” Col 8; 61 – Col 9; 1)
See claim 18 for motivation statement.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaillet in view of Monro (US 20110043389 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Jaillet does not disclose the additional limitations.
Monro discloses: Claim 22. The information processing device according to claim 14, wherein the model data includes the model parameter obtained by modeling the directivity data by a predetermined method, and another model parameter obtained by modeling a ratio between the directivity data after modeling by the predetermined method and the directivity data before modeling by a method different from the predetermined method. ("[0012] Golomb coding is well-known and described in Golomb, SW: … Nonetheless, continuing with Golomb coding as one example, GCs are often used for run length coding, but, in principle, they are general purpose codes that may be used to encode any symbol, or sequence of symbols, as an integer numeral or a sequence of integer numerals. In one possible embodiment, a unique integer numeral may be assigned to a symbol and the symbol may then be coded by Golomb coding the corresponding numeral, for example. GCs have an advantage that the range of numerals need not be known or constrained in advance." – Golomb coding is based on the ratio.)
Jaillet and Monro are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of coding data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Jaillet with Golomb coding as taught by Monro. Doing so would have been beneficial so the range of numerals does not need to be known in advance. (Monro [0012]). This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Conclusion
/JON CHRISTOPHER MEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654