Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 26, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendment to the Claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set for in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 26, 2026. Applicant’s corrections to the Specification and Drawings has overcome the objections previously set for in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 26, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 15, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0274483 (Newhouse et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Newhouse discloses a winding core covering (260) comprising:
A backing, the backing comprising an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer has a first major surface and a second major surface (see Figure 2, paragraph 0059 where it is discussed that backing layer is attached to the cylindrical tube using adhesive, which may be a two-sided transfer tape which would inherently have a first major surface and a second major surface); and
A support layer (364, base layer), wherein the support layer has a first major surface and a second major surface (see Figure 2, paragraph 0018), wherein the first major surface of the support layer is in contact with the second major surface of the adhesive layer (see paragraphs 0060-0061); paragraph 0068 also discloses that an additional compliant material layer such as open or closed cell foam may be provided on the tube surface, also meeting the limitations of a support layer; and
A web contact layer (368), the web contact layer comprising: a thermoplastic polymer (see paragraphs 0046-0049, where it is stated PTFE or others may be used), wherein the web contact layer has a first major surface and a second major surface (see Figure 3A),
Wherein the second major surface of the support layer (364) is in contact with the first major surface of the web contact layer (368) at an interface (see Figure 3A), wherein the second major surface of the web contact layer has a structured surface comprising a plurality of protrusions (loops), and wherein the protrusions have an average height of 0.4-3.0 mm (400-3000 micrometers) (see paragraph 0047), which overlaps the claimed range of 50-600 micrometers. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 3, Newhouse also discloses that the adhesive may comprise a double-sided adhesive tape (see paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 7, Newhouse also discloses that the interface is not planar (see Figure 3A showing a curved interface between support layer (base layer 364) and web contact layer (368).
Regarding claim 10, Newhouse does not specifically state that the protrusions have a hemispherical shape; however, this claim limitation would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date since it is disclosed that the protrusions are loops (see paragraph 0047). A loop is a generally hemispherical in shape.
Regarding claim 11, Newhouse also discloses a cylindrical tube (410) having an outer surface and a longitudinal axis (see Figure 3A, paragraph 0060); and
A winding core covering of claim 1 adjacent the outer surface of the cylindrical tube (see Figure 3A).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0274483 (Newhouse et al.) in view of US 5,616,394 (Gorman et al.) further in view of 3M Repositionable Tapes Technical Data Sheet.
Newhouse discloses a winding core covering as discussed above. Newhouse does not disclose the thickness of the backing layer; however, it is disclosed that the backing of Newhouse comprises a base layer of a resilient looped pile fabric (see paragraph 0060). Gorman teaches that it is known for looped pile fabrics to have a backing thickness of 0.00125 to 0.025 cm (12.5 to 250 microns) (see column 5, lines 43-55), which overlaps the claimed range of 50 to 380 microns. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the support layer of the Newhouse looped pile fabric with a known thickness. In the instant claim, the backing comprises an adhesive layer and the support layer. Newhouse discloses that any suitable adhesion technique may be used to attach the support layer to the cylindrical tube, including two-sided tapes (see paragraph 0059). Newhouse shows an example where 3MTM 9425 double coated tape is used (see paragraph 0074), which has a thickness of 0.15 mm (150 microns, see 3M Repositionable Tapes Data sheet). A combination of the support layer plus such an adhesive layer would yield a range from 172.5 to 400 microns (12.5 + 150 = 172.5 microns to 250 + 150 microns = 400 microns), which still overlaps the claimed range of 50-380 microns. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0274483 (Newhouse et al.) in view of US 5,173,356 (Eaton et al.).
Newhouse discloses a winding core as discussed above. Newhouse also discloses that the support layer may comprise a fibrous material such as polyester, polypropylene, or other fibers (see paragraph 0049); however, low density polyethylene is not specifically recited. Eaton teaches that low density polyethylene is equivalent to polyester and polypropylene in fibrous web material applications (see column 3, lines 25-39). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use low density polyethylene as an alternative to polyester or polypropylene support layer due to this teaching by Eaton.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0274483 (Newhouse et al.) in view of US 2012/0241549 (Newhouse ‘549).
Newhouse ‘483 discloses a winding core covering as discussed above. Newhouse ‘483 does not state that the thermoplastic polymer comprises a triblock polymer; however, in the analogous field of winding core coverings using a woven base layer with a looped pile protruding from one side, Newhouse ‘549 teaches providing an elastomeric coating of triblock copolymer to the looped pile in order to enhance grip (see paragraphs 0062-0069, Table 2 where examples using Kraton with a styrene-isoprene-styrene structure are shown). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the looped pile protrusions of Newhouse ‘483 with a triblock copolymer in order to enhance grip, as taught by Newhouse ‘549.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0274483 (Newhouse et al.) in view of US 2012/0241549 (Newhouse ‘549) further in view of US 4,650,822 (Veazey et al.).
Newhouse ‘483 in view of Newhouse ‘549 discloses a winding core covering as discussed above. The reference does not specify that the web contact layer includes a tackifier; however, Veazey teaches it is known to include a tackifier with a thermoplastic polymer in order to improve tack properties (see column 1, lines 34-41). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a tackifier to improve tack performance as taught by Veazey.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0274483 (Newhouse et al.) in view of US 5,857,641 (Goode).
Newhouse discloses a winding core covering as discussed above.
Regarding claim 8, Newhouse does not disclose a diameter of the protrusions; however, in the analogous field of attaching webs to winding cores, Goode teaches providing protrusions with a diameter of 0.02-0.2 inches (508-5080 micrometers) provides sufficient size to entangle and hold a web in place (see column 4, lines 36-67), which overlaps the claimed range of 25-760 micrometers. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 12, Newhouse also discloses that the cylindrical tube may be paper (see paragraph 0057); however, it is not stated that the cylindrical tube is cardboard. Goode teaches that it is known to use paper or cardboard as cylindrical tube in the field of attaching webs to winding cores (see column 4, lines 1-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide cardboard as the cylindrical core for Newhouse as it is known in the art.
Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,993,021 (Kline).
Regarding claim 1, Kline discloses a winding core covering (45) comprising:
A backing, the backing comprising an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer has a first major surface and a second major surface (see column 3, lines 49-68); and
A support layer (47), wherein the support layer has a first major surface and a second major surface (see Figure 2), wherein the first major surface of the support layer is in contact with the second major surface of the adhesive layer (see column 3, lines 49-68); and
A web contact layer (49), the web contact layer comprising: a thermoplastic polymer (see column 4, lines 35-54 where polyester is disclosed), wherein the web contact layer has a first major surface and a second major surface (see Figure 2),
Wherein the second major surface of the support layer (47) is in contact with the first major surface of the web contact layer (49) at an interface (see Figure 2), wherein the second major surface of the web contact layer has a structured surface comprising a plurality of protrusions (loops, 51), and wherein the protrusions have an average height of 0.050-0.160 cm (500-1600 micrometers) (see column 4, lines 55-66), which overlaps the claimed range of 50-600 micrometers. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 2, Kline also discloses that the backing has a thickness of 125 micrometers (see column 4, lines 35-38), which is within the claimed range of 50-380 micrometers.
Regarding claim 3, Kline also discloses that the adhesive layer comprises a double-sided adhesive tape (see column 3, lines 49-63).
Regarding claim 7, Kline also discloses that the interface is not planar (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kline also discloses that the protrusions have an average diameter of 5 to 30 microns (see column 4, lines 55-57), which overlaps the claimed range of 25-760 microns.
Regarding claim 9, Kline also discloses that the protrusions are provided at a density of 300 to 3,000 per square cm (see column 4, lines 55-59), which overlaps the claimed range of 15-620 protrusions per square cm.
Regarding claim 10, Kline does not specifically state that the protrusions have a hemispherical shape; however, this claim limitation would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date since it is disclosed that the protrusions are loops (see column 3, lines 49-59). A loop is a generally hemispherical in shape.
Regarding claim 11, Kline also discloses a cylindrical tube (43) having an outer surface and a longitudinal axis (see Figures 1 and 2); and
A winding core covering of claim 1 adjacent the outer surface of the cylindrical tube (see Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither the Newhouse or Kline reference disclose a web contact layer comprising a thermoplastic polymer wherein the web contact layer has a structured surface comprising a plurality of protrusions. Applicant further argues that the fibrous loops of a knit looped pile fabric do not constitute protrusions. It is the Examiner’s position that they are indeed protrusions in that they protrude from the backing layer.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the protrusions are formed in or from a thermoplastic polymer layer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENDY L BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749