DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
(a) Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Amendments
The Examiner accepts the amendments received on 11/25/2025.
The Applicant, via the claim amendments filed, overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretations set forth in the previous Office Action. The Examiner, therefore, withdraws said interpretations.
The Applicant, via the claim amendments filed, overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim rejections set forth in the previous Office Action. The Examiner, therefore, withdraws said rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the instant claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new combination of references due to the Applicant’s amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2021/0039636A1 (hereinafter, Kamiya), in view of Benmimoun et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2015/0151748A1 (hereinafter, Benmimoun).
Regarding Claim 1, Kamiya describes a method of reducing risks at a real-world location (method for reducing risk (e.g., braking of a vehicle) at a location, Kamiya, Paragraph 0011), the method comprising:
-receiving data from an image of the real-world location captured by a camera (receiving data from an image of a location captured by a camera, Kamiya, Paragraph 0023);
-determining, from the data, a presence of a plurality of objects in the image (determine the presence of one or more objects in an image, Kamiya, Paragraphs 0023-0024 and Figure 1);
-determining, for each of the plurality of objects in the image, a plurality of parameters associated with each of the plurality of objects in the image (determining for the objects detected a plurality of parameters for each object (e.g., speed, traveling or moving on the road, passing, direction, likelihood of collision, etc.), Kamiya, Paragraph 0028 and Figure 2);
-determining a risk value for each of the plurality of objects in the image based upon the plurality of, parameters associated with each of the plurality of objects in the image (determining a risk value for each object detected, Kamiya, Paragraph 0026); and
Kamiya does not specifically disclose the method to include based on the risk value of any of the plurality of objects in the image being determined to be above a determined value, selecting from a set of mitigation actions, a mitigation action that reduces the risk value of a first object to below the predetermined value, wherein the plurality of parameters for any of the plurality of objects comprises one or more of a speed of the object, a change of speed of the object, the number of accidents at the real-world location of the object, a number of people crossing a road and the real-world location of the object, a number of children at the real-world location and/or a trajectory of the object.
Benmimoun discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Benmimoun describes a vehicle system determining that based on the risk determined, taking a mitigation action to reduce the risk value to below a threshold value, wherein the mitigation action can be that of a change in speed and/or trajectory (Benmimoun, Paragraphs 0035-0038).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the method of Kamiya to include based on the risk value of any of the plurality of objects in the image being determined to be above a determined value, selecting from a set of mitigation actions, a mitigation action that reduces the risk value of a first object to below the predetermined value, wherein the plurality of parameters for any of the plurality of objects comprises one or more of a speed of the object, a change of speed of the object, the number of accidents at the real-world location of the object, a number of people crossing a road and the real-world location of the object, a number of children at the real-world location and/or a trajectory of the object, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Benmimoun.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because determining a risk and if the risk is above a threshold danger, then taking action helps avoid or mitigate collision (Benmimoun, Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 6, Kamiya, as modified, describes the method according to claim 1, wherein the mitigation action comprises a permanent mitigation action (selecting a mitigating action (e.g., initiate braking), Kamiya, Paragraphs 000036-0039, 0042, 0046, and 0058).
Regarding Claim 7, Kamiya, as modified, describes the method according to claim 6, wherein the permanent mitigation action is selected from a set consisting of an installation of a crossing, an installation of traffic lights, and/or an installation of a refuge island (selecting a mitigating action (e.g., initiate braking) which can be due to traffic lights, Kamiya, Paragraphs 000036-0039, 0042, 0046, and 0058).
Regarding Claim 8, Kamiya, as modified, describes the method according to claim 1 wherein the data comprises image data or metadata (receiving data from image data, Kamiya, Paragraph 0023).
Regarding Claim 9, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 12, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 13, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 14, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 15, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 6 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 16, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 7 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 17, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 8 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 18, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claims 1 and 8 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 20, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim (see also Kamiya – Paragraphs 0030-0031).
Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2021/0039636A1 (hereinafter, Kamiya), in view of Benmimoun et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2015/0151748A1 (hereinafter, Benmimoun), in further view of Evanitsky et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2014/0307087A1 (hereinafter, Evanitsky).
Regarding Claim 2, Kamiya describes the method according to claim 1.
Kamiya does not specifically disclose the method to include providing a warning signal to a second device in the event that the risk value is above a threshold value.
Evanitsky discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Evanitsky describes a device which is capable of alerting other devices or drivers (Evanitsky, Paragraph 0020 and Figure 1).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the method of Kamiya to include providing a warning signal to a second device in the event that the risk value is above a threshold value, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Evanitsky.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because alerting other devices or drivers allows the potential to avoid traffic accidents (Evanitsky, Paragraphs 0020-0021).
Regarding Claim 3, Kamiya describes the method according to claim 2.
Kamiya does not specifically disclose the method to include that the warning signal is an audible and/or visual alert.
Evanitsky discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Evanitsky describes a device which is capable of alerting other devices or drivers via an audible alert (Evanitsky, Paragraphs 0020 and 0025 and Figure 1).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the method of Kamiya to include that the warning signal is an audible and/or visual alert, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Evanitsky.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because alerting other devices or drivers allows the potential to avoid traffic accidents (Evanitsky, Paragraphs 0020-0021).
Regarding Claim 10, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 2 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 11, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 3 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 19, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 2 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J CROMER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667