DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 04/22/2024, 04/29/2025, 05/30/2025, 06/26/2025 and 07/30/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2012/0183826 to Hermann et al.
With respect to claim 1, Hermann et al. teach a battery module, comprising: a plurality of battery cells 201; a module housing 100 accommodating the plurality of battery cells 201, the module housing 100 including a first frame 400 configured to cover a lower part of the battery cells 201 and a second frame 500 configured to cover an upper part of the battery cells 201; and a silicon based encapsulant (a potting glue) in at least a part of an internal area of the first frame 400 (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 3, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein the first frame 400 includes a wall of a mounting well 101 (at least one first rib) around an outer circumferential surface of the battery cell 201 (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 4, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein a wall of the mounting well 101 (the first rib) of the first frame 400 is disposed around a central area of the battery cell 201 in a height direction (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 5, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein a first accommodation space is below the mounting well 101 the first rib (Hermann et al.: Section [0031]; Fig.9).
With respect to claim 7, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein the silicon based encapsulant (the potting glue) is in an empty space except a space occupied by the battery cells in the first accommodation space (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 8, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein the potting glue includes a silicon based encapsulant (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 9, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein at least one of the first frame 400 and the second frame 500 has at least one injection hole 403 or 503 in an upper surface to inject the potting glue (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 10, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein the wall of the mounting well 101 (a plurality of first ribs) are arranged in a direction perpendicular to a height direction of the battery cell, and wherein a first passage 403, which is hollow, is between one of the first ribs and an adjacent one of the first ribs (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 11, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein the second frame 500 includes a wall of the mounting well 101 (at least one second rib) around an outer circumferential surface of the battery cell (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 12, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein the wall of the mounting well 101 (a plurality of second ribs) are provided in a direction perpendicular to a height direction of the battery cell, and wherein a second passage 503, which is hollow, is between one of the second ribs and an adjacent one of the second ribs (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 13, Hermann et al. teach the battery module, wherein a second accommodation space is below the wall of the mounting well 101 (the second ribs) (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 14, Hermann et al. teach a battery pack comprising at least one battery module (Hermann et al.: Sections [0020]-[0026]; Figs. 1-3 and 9).
With respect to claim 15, Hermann et al. teach a vehicle comprising at least one battery pack (Hermann et al.: Section [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2012/0183826 to Hermann et al.
With respect to claim 6, Hermann et al. do not specifically teach the battery module, wherein, in a height direction, a length of the first accommodation space is 20 to 40% of a total length of the battery cell.
However, the length of the first accommodation space of a total length of the battery cell in a height direction is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have a length of the first accommodation space is 20 to 40% of a total length of the battery cell, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It has been held that discovering that general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller,105 USPQ 233. Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2012/0183826 to Hermann et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication 2016/0043367 to Chun et al.
With respect to claim 2, Hermann et al. do not specifically teach the battery module, wherein the battery cell 201 includes a vent configured to be more structurally vulnerable than a surrounding area to rupture when an internal pressure is applied to the battery cell, and wherein the vent is disposed in a bottom area of the battery cell.
However, Chun et al. teach the battery cell 1 includes a vent 61 configured to be more structurally vulnerable than a surrounding area to rupture when an internal pressure is applied to the battery cell 1, and wherein the vent 61 is disposed in a bottom area of the battery cell 1 (Chun et al.: Section [0095]; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hermann et al. with the teaching above from Chun et al. with the motivation of having a means such that the vent improves the safety of the battery.
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 9/26/2026