DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
For clarity, references to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections are provided in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Pub. No.: US 20240057391 A1), in view of Yumoto et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250176414 A1), hereinafter as Yumoto, in further view of Abe et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100302417 A1), hereinafter as Abe, in even further view of Choi et al. (Patent. No.: US 11757074 B2), hereinafter as Choi.
Image A: close up of Lee Fig. 7, showcasing a first light emitting device.
Image B: close up of Lee Fig. 7, showcasing first light transmitting emitting portion and first edge portion.
Image C: close up of Lee Fig. 7, showcasing first curved surface and second curved surface.
Image D: close up of Lee Fig. 7, showcasing first light emitting device being smaller than first light transmitting portion.
Image E: closeup up of Abe Fig. 6, showcasing first gap.
Image F: closeup up of Choi Fig. 4, showcasing groove.
Image G: close up of Lee Fig. 7, showcasing a region of overlap.
With regards to claim 1, Lee teaches a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (see Lee Figs. 3&7, substrate SUB); a light emitting functional layer (see Lee Figs. 3&7, light emitting element layer EML) provided on the base substrate (see Lee Figs. 3&7); a color resist layer (see Lee Fig. 3, color filter layer CFL) provided on a side of the light emitting functional layer away from the base substrate (see Lee Fig. 3); and a first planarization layer (see Lee Fig. 7, planarization layer OC) provided on a side of the color resist layer away from the base substrate (see Lee Fig. 7), wherein the light emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of light emitting devices (see Lee [0082]: “The light emitting element layer EML may include multiple light emitting elements each including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a light emitting layer to emit light, and a pixel defining layer defining pixels.”), and the plurality of light emitting devices comprise a first light emitting device (see Image A and Lee Fig. 7); wherein the color resist layer comprises a plurality of color resists (see Lee [0086]: “The color filter layer CFL may include multiple color filters respectively corresponding to the emission areas.”), different color resists allow light of different colors to pass through (see Lee [0086]: “Each of the color filters may selectively transmit light of a specific wavelength and may block or absorb light of a different wavelength.”), and the plurality of color resists comprise a first color resist (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF2); and wherein the first color resist comprises a first light transmitting portion (see Image B, first light transmitting portion), a surface of the first light transmitting portion (see Image C) on a side close to the first planarization layer comprises a first curved surface recessed towards the base substrate (see Image C, first curved surface), and an orthographic projection of the first light emitting device (see Lee Figs. 6&7, emission area EA2) on the base substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the first light transmitting portion on the base substrate (See Image D).
Lee does not teach that a refractive index of the first color resist is greater than a refractive index of the first planarization layer; and a lens layer provided on a side of the first planarization layer away from the base substrate, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses, and a first gap is formed between two lenses adjacent to each other; and wherein an orthographic projection of the first gap on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of an overlap between color resists adjacent to each other on the base substrate; wherein the first gap comprises a groove recessed towards a center of a respective lens, the groove comprises a first surface on a side away from the base substrate, and the first surface comprises a flat surface or a smooth curved surface, wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall of the lens, and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer.
Yumoto teaches a refractive index of a first color resist (see Yumoto Fig.3, color filter 50G) is greater than a refractive index of a first planarization layer (see Yumoto Fig.3, planarization layer 80; and see Yumoto [0075]-[0077]: “The refractive index of the first lens 61 is equal to or less than the refractive index of the color filter layer 50… The refractive index of the filling layer 70 is lower than the refractive index of the first lens 61… The refractive index of the planarization layer 80 is equal to or less than the refractive index of the filling layer 70.” which shows that the refractive index of the color filter layer 50 is greater than the refractive index of the planarization layer 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the materials of the first color resist and first planarization layer of Lee with the materials taught by Yumoto in order to allow the first color resist to act more as a concave lens and further refract the light.
Lee and Yumoto do not teach a lens layer provided on a side of the first planarization layer away from the base substrate, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses, and a first gap is formed between two lenses adjacent to each other; and wherein an orthographic projection of the first gap on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of an overlap between color resists adjacent to each other on the base substrate; wherein the first gap comprises a groove recessed towards a center of a respective lens, the groove comprises a first surface on a side away from the base substrate, and the first surface comprises a flat surface or a smooth curved surface, wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall of the lens, and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer.
Abe teaches a lens layer (see Abe Fig. 6, where on-chip lens 140 reside on the same layer) provided on a side of a first planarization layer (see Abe Fig. 6, planarizing film HT) away from a base substrate (see Abe Fig. 6, substrate 101), wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses (see Abe Fig. 6, on-chip lens 140), and a first gap (see Image E) is formed between two lenses adjacent to each other (see Image E and Abe Fig. 6); and wherein an orthographic projection of the first gap on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of an overlap between color resists (see Abe Fig. 6, color filter 130) adjacent to each other on the base substrate (see Image E and Abe Fig. 6, overlapped region OLrg).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the lens layer taught by Abe to the combined device of Lee and Yumoto in order to further refract light with the lenses.
Lee, Yumoto, and Abe do not teach that the first gap comprises a groove recessed towards a center of a respective lens, the groove comprises a first surface on a side away from the base substrate, and the first surface comprises a flat surface or a smooth curved surface, wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall of the lens, and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer.
Choi teaches a groove (see Image F, groove) recessed towards a center of a respective lens (see Choi Fig. 4, lens 56), the groove comprises a first surface (see Image F) on a side away from a base substrate (see Choi Fig. 4, substrate layer 26), and the first surface comprises a flat surface (see Image F), wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall (see Image F) of the lens (see Choi Fig. 4), and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to a first planarization layer (see Choi Fig. 4, layer 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lens shape of Lee, Yumoto, and Abe with the lens shape taught by Choi in order to reduce internal reflection and backscattering.
Together, Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi teach the first gap (see Image E) comprises a groove (see Image F, groove) recessed towards a center of a respective lens (see Choi Fig. 4, lens 56), the groove comprises a first surface (see Image F) on a side away from the base substrate (see Lee Figs. 3&7, substrate SUB), and the first surface comprises a flat surface (see Image F), wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall (see Image F) of the lens (see Choi Fig. 4), and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer (see Lee Fig. 7, planarization layer OC).
With regards to claim 2, Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi teach the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first color resist (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF2) overlaps with other color resists (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF1 and CF3) adjacent to the first color resist (see Lee Fig. 7), and in a region of an overlap between the first color resist and the other color resists adjacent to the first color resist (see Image G), the first color resist is on a side of the other color resists away from the base substrate (see Lee Fig. 7).
With regards to claim 3, Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi teach the display substrate according to claim 2, wherein the first color resist (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF2) comprises a first edge portion (see Image B, first edge portion) surrounding the first light transmitting portion (see Image B), a surface (see Image C) of the first edge portion on a side close to the first planarization layer comprises a second curved surface (see Image C, second curved surface) recessed towards the base substrate (see Image C), and a curvature radius of the first curved surface is greater than a curvature radius of the second curved surface (see Image C).
With regards to claim 8, Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi teach the display substrate according to claim 7, wherein the orthographic projection of the first gap (see Image E) on the base substrate (see Abe Fig. 6, substrate 101) covers the orthographic projection of the overlap between the color resists (see Abe Fig. 6, color filter 130) adjacent to each other on the base substrate (see Abe Fig. 6, overlapped region OLrg).
With regards to claim 25, Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a display substrate, comprising: forming a base substrate (see Lee Figs. 3&7, substrate SUB); forming a light emitting functional layer (see Lee Figs. 3&7, light emitting element layer EML) on the base substrate (see Lee Figs. 3&7), wherein the light emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of light emitting devices (see Lee [0082]: “The light emitting element layer EML may include multiple light emitting elements each including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a light emitting layer to emit light, and a pixel defining layer defining pixels.”), and the plurality of light emitting devices comprise a first light emitting device (see Image A and Lee Fig. 7); forming a color resist layer (see Lee Fig. 3, color filter layer CFL) on a side of the light emitting functional layer away from the base substrate (see Lee Fig. 3), wherein the color resist layer comprises a plurality of color resists (see Lee [0086]: “The color filter layer CFL may include multiple color filters respectively corresponding to the emission areas.”), different color resists allow light of different colors to pass through (see Lee [0086]: “Each of the color filters may selectively transmit light of a specific wavelength and may block or absorb light of a different wavelength.”), the plurality of color resists comprise a first color resist (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF2), a surface of the first color resist (see Image C) on a side away from the base substrate comprises a first curved surface (see Image C, first curved surface) recessed towards the base substrate (see Image C), the first curved surface comprises a first light transmitting portion (see Image B, first light transmitting portion), and an orthographic projection of the first light emitting device (see Lee Figs. 6&7, emission area EA2) on the base substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the first light transmitting portion on the base substrate (See Image D); and forming a first planarization layer on a side of the color resist layer away from the base substrate (see Lee Fig. 7, planarization layer OC).
Lee does not teach that a refractive index of the first color resist is greater than a refractive index of the first planarization layer; and forming a lens layer on a side of the first planarization layer away from the base substrate, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses, and a first gap is formed between two lenses adjacent to each other, wherein an orthographic projection of the first gap on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of an overlap between color resists adjacent to each other on the base substrate, wherein the first gap comprises a groove recessed towards a center of a respective lens, the groove comprises a first surface on a side away from the base substrate, and the first surface comprises a flat surface or a smooth curved surface, wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall of the lens, and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer.
Yumoto teaches a refractive index of a first color resist (see Yumoto Fig.3, color filter 50G) being greater than a refractive index of a first planarization layer (see Yumoto Fig.3, planarization layer 80; and see Yumoto [0075]-[0077]: “The refractive index of the first lens 61 is equal to or less than the refractive index of the color filter layer 50… The refractive index of the filling layer 70 is lower than the refractive index of the first lens 61… The refractive index of the planarization layer 80 is equal to or less than the refractive index of the filling layer 70.” which shows that the refractive index of the color filter layer 50 is greater than the refractive index of the planarization layer 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the materials of the first color resist and first planarization layer of Lee with the materials taught by Yumoto in order to allow the first color resist to act more as a concave lens and further refract the light.
Lee and Yumoto do not teach forming a lens layer on a side of the first planarization layer away from the base substrate, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses, and a first gap is formed between two lenses adjacent to each other, wherein an orthographic projection of the first gap on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of an overlap between color resists adjacent to each other on the base substrate, wherein the first gap comprises a groove recessed towards a center of a respective lens, the groove comprises a first surface on a side away from the base substrate, and the first surface comprises a flat surface or a smooth curved surface, wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall of the lens, and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer.
Abe teaches forming a lens layer (see Abe Fig. 6, where on-chip lens 140 reside on the same layer) on a side of a first planarization layer (see Abe Fig. 6, planarizing film HT) away from the base substrate (see Abe Fig. 6, substrate 101), wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses (see Abe Fig. 6, on-chip lens 140), and a first gap (see Image E) is formed between two lenses adjacent to each other (see Image E and Abe Fig. 6), wherein an orthographic projection of the first gap on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of an overlap between color resists (see Abe Fig. 6, color filter 130) adjacent to each other on the base substrate (see Image E and Abe Fig. 6, overlapped region OLrg).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the lens layer taught by Abe to the combined device of Lee and Yumoto in order to further refract light with the lenses.
Lee, Yumoto, and Abe do not teach that the first gap comprises a groove recessed towards a center of a respective lens, the groove comprises a first surface on a side away from the base substrate, and the first surface comprises a flat surface or a smooth curved surface, wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall of the lens, and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer.
Choi teaches a groove (see Image F, groove) recessed towards a center of a respective lens (see Choi Fig. 4, lens 56), the groove comprises a first surface (see Image F) on a side away from the base substrate (see Choi Fig. 4, substrate layer 26), and the first surface comprises a flat surface (see Image F), wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall (see Image F) of the lens (see Choi Fig. 4), and the groove is located on a side of the side wall close to the first planarization layer (see Image F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lens shape of Lee, Yumoto, and Abe with the lens shape taught by Choi in order to reduce internal reflection and backscattering.
Together, Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi teach the first gap (see Image E) comprises a groove (see Image F, groove) recessed towards a center of a respective lens (see Choi Fig. 4, lens 56), the groove comprises a first surface (see Image F) on a side away from the base substrate (see Lee Figs. 3&7, substrate SUB), and the first surface comprises a flat surface (see Image F), wherein the groove is a recess formed in a horizontal direction at a bottom of a side wall (see Image F) of the lens (see Choi Fig. 4), and the groove is located on a side (see Choi Fig. 4) of the side wall close to the first planarization layer (see Lee Fig. 7, planarization layer OC).
With regards to claim 27, Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi teach a display device (see Lee Fig. 2, display device 10), comprising the display substrate of claim 1 (see claim 1, the combined device of Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi, in view of Hirose et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250275438 A1), hereinafter as Hirose.
Image J: closeup up of Lee Fig. 7, showcasing second light transmitting portion, second edge portion, and first portion.
Image K: closeup up of Lee Fig. 7, showcasing first edge portion near first portion.
Image L: closeup up of Hirose Fig. 16A, showcasing second light transmitting portion, second edge portion, first portion, and second portion, with first portion near first color resist and second portion near third color resist.
Image M: closeup up of Hirose Fig. 16A, showcasing first edge portion and first portion.
With regards to claim 4, Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi teach the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein the other color resists (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF1 and CF3) comprise a second color resist (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF1) and a third color resist (see Lee Fig. 7, color filter CF3), and the second color resist comprises a second light transmitting portion (see Image J, second light transmitting portion) and a second edge portion (see Image J, second edge portion) surrounding the second light transmitting portion (see Image J); wherein the first edge portion overlaps with the second edge portion (see Lee Fig. 7), the second edge portion comprises a first portion (see Image J and K, first portion), and the first edge portion is on a side of the first portion of the second edge portion away from the base substrate (see Image K).
Lee, Yumoto, Abe, and Choi do not teach that the third color resist is on a side of the second color resist away from the first color resist, and the second edge portion comprises a second portion on a side of the third color resist away from the base substrate.
Hirose teaches a first color resist (see Hirose Fig. 16A, coloring layer 116R), a second color resist (see Hirose Fig. 16A, coloring layer 116G) and a third color resist (see Hirose Fig. 16A, coloring layer 116B), and the second color resist comprises a second light transmitting portion (see Image L, second light transmitting portion) and a second edge portion (see Image L, second edge portion) surrounding the second light transmitting portion (see Image L); wherein a first edge portion (see Image M, first edge portion) overlaps with the second edge portion (see Image L and M), the second edge portion comprises a first portion (see Image L and M, first portion), and the first edge portion is on a side of the first portion of the second edge portion away from the base substrate (see Image M); and wherein the third color resist is on a side of the second color resist away from the first color resist (see Hirose Fig. 16A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the color resist structure of the combined device of Lee and Yumoto with the color resist structure taught by Hirose in order to simplifying manufacturing process by arranging color resists of the same color in one direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 10-14, 16, 20, 23, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the display substrate according to claim 4, wherein in a direction from the first color resist to the second color resist, an overlap between the first edge portion and the first portion has a first overlapping size; wherein in a direction from the second color resist to the third color resist, an overlap between the second portion and the third color resist has a second overlapping size; and wherein the first overlapping size is greater than or equal to the second overlapping size. Due to their dependency on claim 5, claims 10-14 are objected to as well.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the display substrate according to claim 4, wherein an average thickness of either the second color resist or the third color resist is greater than an average thickness of the first color resist, and a difference between the average thickness of either the second color resist or the third color resist and the average thickness of the first color resist is a first predetermined difference, and a ratio of the first predetermined difference to the average thickness of either the second color resist or the third color resist is less than or equal to 1:5.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein at least one lens is coaxially arranged with the first curved surface and the first light emitting device; wherein an orthographic projection of at least one lens on the base substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the first curved surface on the base substrate; wherein a spacing between a center of the first curved surface and a surface of the first planarization layer away from the base substrate in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate is less than or equal to a maximum height of at least one lens; and wherein the first gap comprises a third curved surface recessed towards the base substrate on a side close to the base substrate, and a curvature radius of the third curved surface is smaller than a curvature radius of the first curved surface. Due to its dependency on claim 16, claim 20 is objected to as well.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the display substrate according to claim 3, wherein a ratio of a light emission area of the first light emitting device to an area of an orthographic projection of the first curved surface on the base substrate is greater than or equal to 1:2; and wherein in a direction from a center of the first color resist to an edge of the first color resist, a ratio of a size of the first edge portion to a size of the first light transmitting portion is greater than or equal to 1:10.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the manufacturing method according to claim 25, spin-coating the first color resist material according to a second coating thickness less than the first coating thickness, wherein the second coating thickness is configured such that in a process of the spin-coating, the first color resist material between the second color resist and the third color resist forms a first recess, and an edge of the first recess is overlapped on a side of the second color resist away from the base substrate and a side of the third color resist away from the base substrate; and retaining the first recess by exposure and development, so as to obtain the first color resist having the first curved surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 13, 14, 16, 20, 23, 26, and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.T.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818