DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 4/22/24 in which claims 1-18, 33 and 36 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-11, 13-15, 33 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Pub. No.: 2015/0257146), herein Xu and Tang et al. (AU 2018401754 A1).
As to claim 1, Xu teaches the data forwarding method, comprising:
transmitting, by a first network side device, first address information for data forwarding to a second network side device (Xu [0041] the MeNB (first device) allocates the TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding, and then sends the allocated TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding to the source SeNB (second device)
the intermediate node is a data relay node between the source node and a target node for data forwarding, and the source node is a secondary base station and/or the target node is a secondary base station (Xu [0043] the source SeNB sends the data to the MeNB (relay), and then the MeNB forwards the received data to the target SeNB (secondary base station) according to the TEID and TNL address allocated by the target SeNB)
Xu does not teach
wherein the first address information comprises second address information about a source node for data forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node
However Tang does teach
wherein the first address information comprises second address information about a source node for data forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node (Tang [0041]-[0043] a header of the data packet includes first information, and the first information is used to indicate a source address of the data packet; and determining, by the network anchor node, the source address of the data packet according to the first information [0042] In a possible implementation manner, the data packet is an uplink data packet [0043] In a possible implementation manner, the first information is used to indicate at least one of following information: a type of a node sending the uplink data packet, the type including a terminal device or a relay node; an address of a terminal device sending the uplink data packet; and an address of a relay node sending the uplink data packet)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with Tang, because Tang teaches us [0004] In view of this, the embodiments of the present application provide a relay routing method and a communication node, which are beneficial to improve the performance of the relay network.
As to claim 10, Xu teaches the data forwarding method,
comprising receiving, by a second network side device, first address information for data forwarding from a first network side device (Xu [0041] the MeNB (first device) allocates the TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding, and then sends the allocated TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding to the source SeNB (second device).
the intermediate node is a data relay node between the source node and a target node for data
forwarding, and the source node is a secondary base station and/or the target node is a secondary
base station (Xu [0043] the source SeNB sends the data to the MeNB (relay), and then the MeNB forwards the received data to the target SeNB (secondary base station) according to the TEID and TNL address allocated by the target SeNB)
Xu does not teach
wherein the first address information comprises second address information about a source
node for data forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node,
However Tang does teach
wherein the first address information comprises second address information about a source node for data forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node (Tang [0041]-[0043] a header of the data packet includes first information, and the first information is used to indicate a source address of the data packet; and determining, by the network anchor node, the source address of the data packet according to the first information [0042] In a possible implementation manner, the data packet is an uplink data packet [0043] In a possible implementation manner, the first information is used to indicate at least one of following information: a type of a node sending the uplink data packet, the type including a terminal device or a relay node; an address of a terminal device sending the uplink data packet; and an address of a relay node sending the uplink data packet)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with Tang, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 15, Xu teaches a data forwarding device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a
processor,
wherein the memory is configured to store therein a program instruction, the transceiver is
configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor, and the processor is
configured to read the program instruction in the memory (Xu Fig. 7 and 8 base stations)
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit first address information for data
forwarding to a second network side device (Xu [0041] the MeNB (first device) allocates the TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding, and then sends the allocated TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding to the source SeNB (second device).
the intermediate node is a data relay node between the source node and a target node for data forwarding, and the source node is a secondary base station and/or the target node is a secondary base station (Xu [0043] the source SeNB sends the data to the MeNB (relay), and then the MeNB forwards the received data to the target SeNB (secondary base station) according to the TEID and TNL address allocated by the target SeNB)
Xu does not teach
wherein the first address information is transmitted by a first network side device, the first
address information comprises second address information about a source node for data
forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node,
However Tang does teach
wherein the first address information is transmitted by a first network side device, the first
address information comprises second address information about a source node for data
forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node (Tang [0041]-[0043] a header of the data packet includes first information, and the first information is used to indicate a source address of the data packet; and determining, by the network anchor node, the source address of the data packet according to the first information [0042] In a possible implementation manner, the data packet is an uplink data packet [0043] In a possible implementation manner, the first information is used to indicate at least one of following information: a type of a node sending the uplink data packet, the type including a terminal device or a relay node; an address of a terminal device sending the uplink data packet; and an address of a relay node sending the uplink data packet)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with Tang, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 33, Xu teaches a data forwarding device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a
Processor wherein the memory is configured to store therein a program instruction, the transceiver is
configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor, and the processor is
configured to read the program instruction in the memory (Xu Fig. 7 and Fig. 8)
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive first address information for data forwarding from a first network side device (Xu [0041] the MeNB (first device) allocates the TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding, and then sends the allocated TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding to the source SeNB (second device).
the intermediate node is a data relay node between the source node and a target node for data forwarding, and the source node is a secondary base station and/or the target node is a secondary base station (Xu [0043] the source SeNB sends the data to the MeNB (relay), and then the MeNB forwards the received data to the target SeNB (secondary base station) according to the TEID and TNL address allocated by the target SeNB)
Xu does not teach
wherein the first address information is received by a second network side device, the first
address information comprises second address information about a source node for data
forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node,
However Tang does teach
wherein the first address information is received by a second network side device, the first
address information comprises second address information about a source node for data
forwarding and third address information about an intermediate node node (Tang [0041]-[0043] a header of the data packet includes first information, and the first information is used to indicate a source address of the data packet; and determining, by the network anchor node, the source address of the data packet according to the first information [0042] In a possible implementation manner, the data packet is an uplink data packet [0043] In a possible implementation manner, the first information is used to indicate at least one of following information: a type of a node sending the uplink data packet, the type including a terminal device or a relay node; an address of a terminal device sending the uplink data packet; and an address of a relay node sending the uplink data packet)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with Tang, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 6, the combination of Xu and Tang teach the data forwarding method according to claim 1, wherein in the case that the first network side device is a target primary base station connected to the UE after the UE has been switched from a standalone state to a dual connectivity state and the second network side device is a target secondary base station connected to the UE after the UE has been switched from the standalone state to the dual connectivity state, the second address information is address information about a source base station connected to the UE in the standalone state, and the third address information is address information about the target primary base station ((Arajuo [0096] if data forwarding is needed forwarding addresses are provided and [0092] performs handover request and performs secondary node addition)
Claims 13 and 36 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
As to claim 7, the combination of Xu and Tang teach the data forwarding method according to claim 6, wherein the transmitting, by the first network side device, the first address information for data forwarding to the second network side device comprises transmitting, by the first network side device, a first addition request message to the second network side device, wherein the first addition request message carries the first address information, and the first addition request message is used to add the target secondary base station connected to the UE in a procedure of switching the UE from the standalone state to the dual connectivity state (Arajuo [0092] upon receiving handover request the target radio performs a secondary node addition procedure)
As to claim 8, the combination of Xu and Tang teach the data forwarding method according to claim 1, wherein in the case that the
first network side device is a primary base station connected to the UE in a dual connectivity state and the second network side device is a target secondary base station connected to the UE after the
UE has changed a secondary base station in the dual connectivity state, the second address
information is address information about a source secondary base station connected to the UE in
the dual connectivity state, and the third address information is address information about the
primary base station (Arajuo [0092] Upon receiving the handover request, the target radio network 200 performs a secondary node addition procedure 710 to add a secondary node for providing dual connectivity service to the UE 100. The target radio network 200 then transmits a handover request acknowledgement 712 back to the MME 410, which then sends a relocation request response 714 to the AMF 510 in the source core network 500 0096] if data forwarding is needed forwarding addresses are provided)
Claim 14 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 8.
As to claim 9, the combination of Xu and Tang teach the data forwarding method according to claim 8, wherein the transmitting,
by the first network side device, the first address information for data forwarding to the second
network side device comprises transmitting, by the first network side device, a second addition
request message to the second network side device,
wherein the second addition request message carries the first address information, and the
second addition request message is used to add the target secondary base station connected to the
UE in a procedure of changing a secondary base station connected to the UE (Arajuo [0092] Upon receiving the handover request, the target radio network 200 performs a secondary node addition procedure 710 to add a secondary node for providing dual connectivity service to the UE 100. The target radio network 200 then transmits a handover request acknowledgement 712 back to the MME 410, which then sends a relocation request response 714 to the AMF 510 in the source core network 500 0096] if data forwarding is needed forwarding addresses are provided)
As to claim 11, the combination of Xu and Tang teach the data forwarding method according to claim 10, wherein after receiving, by the second network side device, the first address information for data forwarding from the first network side device, the data forwarding method further comprises:
determining, by the second network side device, whether or not direct data forwarding is
supported between the source node and the target node in accordance with the second address
information (Xu [0006] determining, by a target SeNB, whether a direct data forwarding is feasible; notifying, by a target SeNB, the MeNB whether the direct data forwarding is feasible; and determining, by the MeNB, whether it is a direct data forwarding or an indirect data forwarding)
in the case that the direct data forwarding is supported between the source node and the
target node, adding, by the second network side device, the second address information into an
address list of nodes allowed to connect (Xu [0010] In another example, the MeNB further comprises: when the direct data forwarding is determined by the MeNB, the MeNB sends to the source SeNB a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) and an address of Transport Network Layer (TNL), which are received from the target SeNB; or when the indirect data forwarding is determined by the MeNB, the MeNB allocates a TEID and a TNL address for the data forwarding, and sends the allocated TEID and TNL address to the source SeNB) and
in the case that the direct data forwarding is not supported between the source node and the
target node, adding, by the second network side device, the third address information into the
address list of nodes allowed to connect (Xu [0010] In another example, the MeNB further comprises: when the direct data forwarding is determined by the MeNB, the MeNB sends to the source SeNB a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) and an address of Transport Network Layer (TNL), which are received from the target SeNB; or when the indirect data forwarding is determined by the MeNB, the MeNB allocates a TEID and a TNL address for the data forwarding, and sends the allocated TEID and TNL address to the source SeNB)
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 12, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Tang and Marupadgua et al. (Patent No.: 11,134,530), herein Marupadgua.
As to claim 2, the combination of Xu and Tang teach the data forwarding method according to claim 1, wherein in the case that the first network side device is a source primary base station connected to a UE in a dual connectivity state and the second network side device is a target base station, the second address information is address information about a source secondary base station connected to the UE in the dual connectivity state, and the third address information is address information about the source primary base station, wherein the target base station is a base station connected to the UE ((Xu [0041] the MeNB (first device) allocates the TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding, and then sends the allocated TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding to the source SeNB (second device) and [0043] the source SeNB sends the data to the MeNB (relay), and then the MeNB forwards the received data to the target SeNB (secondary base station) according to the TEID and TNL address allocated by the target SeNB and (Tang [0041]-[0043] a header of the data packet includes first information, and the first information is used to indicate a source address of the data packet; and determining, by the network anchor node, the source address of the data packet according to the first information [0042] In a possible implementation manner, the data packet is an uplink data packet [0043] In a possible implementation manner, the first information is used to indicate at least one of following information: a type of a node sending the uplink data packet, the type including a terminal device or a relay node; an address of a terminal device sending the uplink data packet; and an address of a relay node sending the uplink data packet)
Xu nor Tang teach
after the UE has been switched from the dual connectivity state to a standalone state.
However Marupaduga does teach
after the UE has been switched from the dual connectivity state to a standalone state (Marupadgua Fig. 2 the UE switches between dual connectivity and stand alone)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu and Tang, with Marupadgua, because Marupadgua teaches us the access node could then use the indication in the report as a basis to forgo configuring of dual connectivity for the UE, which could thereby help discontinue the ping-ponging (Marupadgua abstract)
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 3, the combination of Xu, Tang and Marupadgua teach the data forwarding method according to claim 2, wherein prior to transmitting, by the first network side device, the first address information for data forwarding to the second network side device, the data forwarding method further comprises transmitting, by the first network side device, first request information to the source secondary base station connected to the UE in the dual connectivity state, and the first request information is used to request to obtain the second address information (Xu [0053] In step 501, the MeNB sends a message of SeNB configuration request 1 to the target SeNB for adding a Scell of the SeNB or allocating a Scell at this SeNB to the UE. The message includes the eNB identifier of the source SeNB or the cell identifier of the source SeNB Scell for the UE. The cell identifier of the source SeNB scell for the UE is the same as that in block 301, which is not described in detail herein. [0054] In step 502, the target SeNB sends a message of SeNB configuration response 1 to the MeNB [0055] The message includes resource configuration information in RRC container sent to the UE. The message includes the TEID and TNL address of downlink data tunnel that are allocated by the target SeNB. The message includes the TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding. The TEID and TNL address can be specified with respect to each bearer, including the TEID and TNL address for uplink data forwarding or the TEID, or both, and TNL address downlink data forwarding)
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 5, the combination of Xu, Tang and Marupadgua teach the data forwarding method according to claim 2, wherein the transmitting, by the first network side device, the first address information for data forwarding to the second network side device comprises:
transmitting, by the first network side device, a second handover request message to the second network side device, the second handover request message carries the first address information, and the second network side device is a base station under a same network system as the first network side device (Arajuo [0060] intra-system handover and Xu [0053] In step 501, the MeNB sends a message of SeNB configuration request 1 to the target SeNB for adding a Scell of the SeNB or allocating a Scell at this SeNB to the UE. The message includes the eNB identifier of the source SeNB or the cell identifier of the source SeNB Scell for the UE. The cell identifier of the source SeNB scell for the UE is the same as that in block 301, which is not described in detail herein. [0054] In step 502, the target SeNB sends a message of SeNB configuration response 1 to the MeNB [0055] The message includes resource configuration information in RRC container sent to the UE. The message includes the TEID and TNL address of downlink data tunnel that are allocated by the target SeNB. The message includes the TEID and TNL address for the data forwarding. The TEID and TNL address can be specified with respect to each bearer, including the TEID and TNL address for uplink data forwarding or the TEID, or both, and TNL address downlink data forwarding)
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Tang, Marupadgua and Araujo et al. (WO 2020/030676 A1), herein Araujo.
As to claim 4, the combination of Xu, Tang and Marupadgua teach the data forwarding method according to claim 2, wherein the transmitting, by the first network side device, the first address information for data forwarding to the second network side device comprises
Xu, Tang nor Marupadgua teach
transmitting, by the first network side device, a first handover request message to a Mobility Management Entity (MME) so that an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) transmits the first address information to the second network side device in accordance with the first handover request message
However Araujo does teach
transmitting, by the first network side device, a first handover request message to a Mobility Management Entity (MME) so that an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) transmits the first address information to the second network side device in accordance with the first handover request message (Araujo [0069]-[0071] the handover required message is sent to the MME the MME forwards it to the AMF the AMF sends a handover request to the target radio network)
wherein the first handover request message carries the first address information (Arajuo [0096] if data forwarding is needed forwarding addresses are provided) and
the second network side device is a base station under a network system different from the first network side device (Arajuo [0088] handover to a target radio network under a different RAT)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu, Tang and Marupadgua with Arajuo because Arajuo teaches us a system for inter-system handover [0087].
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467