DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 14-15, the term “charcoal powder of vegetable origin” is likely intended to be “powdered charcoal of plant origin” in order to be consistent with the terminology used in claim 10, from which claims 14-15 depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10, 14, and 15, the term “zeolites” is unclear, in that it is unclear if Applicant intends multiple zeolites to be present, a single zeolite (i.e. a single species of zeolite), or combinations thereof (i.e. MFI and BEA, for example). This unclarity is exacerbated by the instant specification, which lists instances of “zeolites” in [0024, for example, as well as instances of “zeolite” in Table 0, for example. In the interest of compact prosecution and in view of the instant specification, the term was interpreted to require a zeolite be present in the composition.
Claims 11-21 all depend from claim 10 and thus, are also rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art
relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claims 10-11, 16, 18-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne et al. (WO1989002412A1; cited in IDS dated 04/22/2024) in view of Lee et al. (US3953587; cited in IDS dated 04/22/2024), Kim et al. (EP3476474A1), and Logli et al. (US8900349).
Regarding claim 10, Osborne teaches an adsorbent that can be used to adsorb H2S that is known to be an emission from municipal sewage treatment plants where the adsorbent comprises activated carbon, activated alumina, sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3), and impregnates including KOH (Pg. 2, lines 4-11; Pg. 8, lines 22-28).
The claim further requires the adsorbent contains zeolites, to which Osborne is silent.
Lee teaches a zeolite for treatment of acid gases, including hydrogen sulfide (Abstract; Title).
Advantageously, zeolites are very useful for the removal of hydrogen sulfide from gas streams (Abstract; col. 1, lines 55-63).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a zeolite in the product of Osborne in order to aid removing H2S from gas streams as taught by Lee.
The claim further requires the adsorbent contains “MgO” and “CaO” to which Osborne and Lee are silent.
Kim teaches a reactive sorbent material comprising an activated clay that comprises Al2O3, Fe2O3, MgO, CaO, and KOH (Abstract; [0011]).
Advantageously, adsorbents comprising the components listed by Kim display satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents, including sulfide based compounds ([0028]; [0040]). Examiner notes the claims are directed to adsorbing hydrogen sulfide, however Examiner notes that when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a product configured to adsorb hydrogen sulfide” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations or serve to limit the structure of the claimed catalyst. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an adsorbent comprising MgO and CaO in the product of Osborne in order to provide satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents as taught by Kim.
The claim further requires the charcoal is “of plant origin” to which Osborne, Lee, and Kim are silent regarding the carbon source.
Logli teaches an adsorbent designed for adsorbing sulfur compounds from liquid and gaseous streams where the adsorbent contains vegetable charcoal (Abstract; Claims 4-6).
Advantageously, vegetable carbon brings much improvement to the capacity of the adsorbent for adsorbing impurities and provides high surface area (col. 4, lines 50-67).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an vegetable charcoal as the carbon material in the product of Osborne in order to provide improvement to the capacity of the adsorbent and provide a high surface area, as taught by Logli.
Regarding claim 11, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and Osborne further teaches KI can be added to the adsorbent (Pg. 8, lines 3-7, 22-28).
Regarding claim 16, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and Osborne further teaches KI can be added to the adsorbent from about 1 to about 10% (Pg. 8, lines 3-7, 22-28; Pg. 12, lines 3-9). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Osborne (1 to about 10% KI) overlaps with the claimed range (2 percent KI). Therefore, the range in Osborne render obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 18, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and Osborne further teaches the particle size of the adsorbent materials are composed of 325 mesh (i.e. 44 µm particles) and that the composite includes KOH (Pg. 9, lines 14-22; Pg. 10, lines 1-27; Pg. 12, par. 2). Osborne teaching particles of 44 µm in size is interpreted to be equivalent to “a granulated substrate” where the term is described in the instant specification in [0016] as containing particles from 1 to 500 µm in size.
The claim further requires the granulated substrate is “impregnated with MgO” to which Osborne is silent.
Kim teaches a reactive sorbent material comprising an activated clay that comprises Al2O3, Fe2O3, MgO, CaO, and KOH (Abstract; [0011]). Kim teaches the particle size of the material ranges from 10 µm to 100 µm ([0014]), consistent with “a granulated substrate” as noted above.
Advantageously, adsorbents comprising the components listed by Kim display satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents, including sulfide based compounds ([0028]; [0040]). Examiner notes the claims are directed to adsorbing hydrogen sulfide, however Examiner notes that when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a product configured to adsorb hydrogen sulfide” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations or serve to limit the structure of the claimed catalyst. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an adsorbent comprising MgO and CaO in the product of Osborne in order to provide satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 19, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and Osborne further teaches the particle size of the adsorbent materials are composed of 325 mesh (i.e. 44 µm particles) and that the composite includes KI (Pg. 9, lines 14-22; Pg. 10, lines 1-27; Pg. 12, par. 2). Osborne teaching particles of 44 µm in size is interpreted to be equivalent to “a granulated substrate” where the term is described in the instant specification in [0016] as containing particles from 1 to 500 µm in size.
Regarding claim 21, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and Osborne further teaches the adsorbent can be pellet (Pg. 14, lines 1-16).
The claims further require the composition comprises “a granulated substrate obtained by extrusion,” to which Osborne, Lee, and Kim are silent regarding extrusion.
Logli teaches an adsorbent designed for removing sulfur compounds where the solid adsorbent is in the form of granules formed into extrudates (i.e. via extrusion) (Abstract; col. 1, lines 15-27; col. 2, lines 1-11).
Advantageously, granulated extrudates are tolerated by fixed beds and can be used in multiple adsorption equipment units (col. 2, lines 1-19).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a granulated extrudate in the product of Osborne in order to provide a material that can be used in multiple adsorption equipment units, as taught by Logli.
Claims 12-13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne et al. (WO1989002412A1; cited in IDS dated 04/22/2024) in view of Lee et al. (US3953587; cited in IDS dated 04/22/2024), Kim et al. (EP3476474A1), and Logli et al. (US8900349) and further in view of Balsamo et al. (Chem. Eng. J. 2016, 304, 399-407).
Regarding claims 12-13, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and 11 and the claims further require the composition comprises CuO, to which Osborne and Kim are silent.
Balsamo teaches a ZnO-CuO adsorbent supported on activated carbon for H2S removal (Abstract; Title).
Advantageously, Cu doping favors the capture and oxidation of H2S, displaying fast H2S capture rates (Pg. 403, 3.2 H2S adsorption tests; Pg. 406, Conclusions).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include CuO in the product of Osborne in order to increase the H2S capture rate as taught by Balsamo.
Regarding claim 17, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and 11 and the claims further require the composition comprises CuO, to which Osborne and Kim are silent.
Balsamo teaches a ZnO-CuO adsorbent supported on activated carbon for H2S removal (Abstract; Title). Balsamo teaches an example that comprises from 0 to 50% CuO by weight (Table 4). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Balsamo (0 to 50% CuO by weight) overlaps with the claimed range (CuO in 1 percent by weight). Therefore, the range in Balsamo renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, even smalls amount of CuO enhance the H2S capture (Pg. 403, right col.).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a small amount of CuO, such as 1%, in the product of Osborne in order to enhance the H2S capture rate as taught by Balsamo.
Regarding claim 20, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and the claims further require the composition comprises “a granulated substrate impregnated with CuO.” Osborne teaches granulated substrate, as noted above, but is silent regarding CuO. Lee, Kim, and Logli are also silent.
Balsamo teaches a ZnO-CuO adsorbent supported on activated carbon for H2S removal (Abstract; Title). Balsamo teaches an example that comprise from 0 to 50% CuO by weight (Table 4; In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Balsamo (0 to 50% CuO by weight) overlaps with the claimed range (CuO in 1 percent by weight). Therefore, the range in Balsamo renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, even smalls amount of CuO enhance the H2S capture (Pg. 403, right col.).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a CuO in the product of Osborne in order to enhance the H2S capture rate as taught by Balsamo.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborne et al. (WO1989002412A1; cited in IDS dated 04/22/2024) in view of Lee et al. (US3953587; cited in IDS dated 04/22/2024), Kim et al. (EP3476474A1), and Logli et al. (US8900349) and further in view of Gorawara et al. (US020180057427A1) and Girard et al. (US9623363B2).
Regarding claim 14, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli teach the product of claim 10 and Osborne further teaches the adsorbent contains about 5 to 50% activated carbon, about 5 to about 90% by weight alumina, about 5 to about 80% sodium bicarbonate, and about 0.1 to 15 % impregnates, including KOH (Pg. 11, par. 3-4; Pg. 12, par. 1-2).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Osborne (about 5 to 50% activated carbon, about 5 to about 90% by weight Al2O3, about 5 to about 80% NaHCO3, and about 0.1 to 15 % KOH) overlaps with the claimed ranges (10 to 35% activated carbon, 0.1 to 5% by weight alumina, 1 to 15% sodium bicarbonate, and 2 to 8 % KOH). Therefore, the ranges in Osborne render obvious the claimed ranges.
The claim further requires the product contains “MgO between 3 and 10 percentage by weight”, “CaO between 3 and 10 percentage by weight”, and “Fe2O3 between 0.1 and 3 percentage by weight” to which Osborne and Lee are silent.
Kim teaches a reactive sorbent material comprising an activated clay that comprises Al2O3, Fe2O3, MgO, CaO, and KOH, where the MgO ranges from 1 to 3 wt.%, the CaO ranges from 4 to 8 wt.%, and the Fe2O3 ranges from 4 to 8 wt.% (Abstract; [0011]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Kim (MgO ranges from 1 to 3 wt.%, the CaO ranges from 4 to 8 wt.%) overlaps with the claimed range (MgO between 1 and 10 wt%; CaO between 3 and 10 wt%). Therefore, the ranges in Kim render obvious the claimed ranges.
It is noted Kim’s Fe2O3 concentration lies just outside the claimed range (4 to 8 wt.% to 0.1 to 3 %). However, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. A skilled artisan would be motivated to include the components of Kim’s adsorbent for providing satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents, including sulfide based compounds ([0028]; [0040]). Accordingly, a skilled artisan would be motivated and could readily adjust the Fe2O3 concentration to arrive at the instant invention. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Advantageously, adsorbents comprising the components listed by Kim display satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents, including sulfide based compounds ([0028]; [0040]). Examiner notes the claims are directed to adsorbing hydrogen sulfide, however Examiner notes that when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a product configured to adsorb hydrogen sulfide” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations or serve to limit the structure of the claimed catalyst. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an adsorbent comprising MgO, CaO, and Fe2O3 in the product of Osborne in order to provide satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents as taught by Kim.
The claim further requires the product contains “zeolites between 40 and 70 percent by weight” to which Osborne, Lee, Kim, and Logli are silent.
Gorawara teaches an adsorbent for removing contaminants, including H2S, that comprises a zeolite component that is present from 30 to 95% by weight in the adsorbent (Abstract; [0035]; [0041]; Claim 9). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Gorawara (30 to 95% zeolite) overlaps with the claimed range (40 to 70% zeolite). Therefore, the range in Gorawara renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, zeolites have uniform pore openings and significant ion exchange capacity that provides finished adsorbents that can remove various contaminants, including H2S ([0020]; [0032]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include zeolites at 30 to 95% in the product of Osborne in order to provide a finished adsorbent that can remove various contaminants, including H2S as taught by Gorawara.
The claim further requires the product contains “SiO2 between 1 and 7 percent by weight” and “TiO2 between 0.1 and 1 percent by weight” to which Osborne, Lee, Kim, Logli, and Gorawara are silent.
Girard teaches an adsorbent for capturing sulfur impurities where the adsorbent contains between 0.1 and 70% by weight of mineral fillers, including silica and titanium oxide (col. 8, lines 30-43; Claim 12). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Girard (between 0.1 and 70% by weight SiO2; between 0.1 and 70% by weight TiO2) overlaps with the claimed range (SiO2 between 1 and 7 percentage by weight; TiO2 between 0.1 and 1 percent by weight). Therefore, the ranges in Girard render obvious the claimed ranges.
Advantageously, adsorbents comprising the fillers TiO2 and SiO2 are able to be operated at lower temperatures while being easy to regenerate and able to remove sulfur impurity gases, such as H2S (col. 2, lines 16-34).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include between 0.1 and 70% by weight of mineral fillers, including silica and titanium oxide, in the product of Osborne in order to provide an adsorbent that can operate at low temperatures for H2S removal while being easy to regenerate, as taught by Girard.
Regarding claim 15, Osborne in view of Lee, Kim, and Logli and Osborne further teaches the adsorbent contains about 5 to 50% activated carbon, about 5 to about 90% by weight alumina, about 5 to about 80% sodium bicarbonate, and about 0.1 to 15 % impregnates, including KOH (Pg. 11, par. 3-4; Pg. 12, par. 1-2).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Osborne (about 5 to 50% activated carbon, about 5 to about 90% by weight Al2O3, about 5 to about 80% NaHCO3, and about 0.1 to 15 % KOH) overlaps with the claimed ranges (10 to 35% activated carbon, 0.1 to 5% by weight alumina, 1 to 15% sodium bicarbonate, and 2 to 8 % KOH). Therefore, the ranges in Osborne render obvious the claimed ranges.
It is noted Osborne’s Al2O3 and NaHCO3 concentrations are outside the claimed range (2 percent and 3.5 percent, respectively). However, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. A skilled artisan would be motivated to include the components of Osborne for providing low cost materials that cure at low temperatures and provide adsorbents higher adsorption capacity and removal of H2S (Pg. 7, lines 22-31; Pg. 8, lines 1-8). Accordingly, a skilled artisan would be motivated and could readily adjust the Al2O3 and NaHCO3 concentrations to arrive at the instant invention. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
The claim further requires the product contains “MgO 2 percentage by weight”, “CaO 7 percentage by weight”, and “Fe2O3 between 2 percentage by weight” to which Osborne, Lee and Logli are silent.
Kim teaches a reactive sorbent material comprising an activated clay that comprises Al2O3, Fe2O3, MgO, CaO, and KOH, where the MgO ranges from 1 to 3 wt.%, the CaO ranges from 4 to 8 wt.%, and the Fe2O3 ranges from 4 to 8 wt.% (Abstract; [0011]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Kim (MgO ranges from 1 to 3 wt.%, the CaO ranges from 4 to 8 wt.%) overlaps with the claimed range (MgO between 1 and 10 wt%; CaO between 3 and 10 wt%). Therefore, the ranges in Kim render obvious the claimed ranges.
It is noted Kim’s Fe2O3 concentration lies just outside the claimed range (4 to 8 wt.% to 0.1 to 3 %). However, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. A skilled artisan would be motivated to include the components of Kim’s adsorbent for providing satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents, including sulfide based compounds ([0028]; [0040]). Accordingly, a skilled artisan would be motivated and could readily adjust the Fe2O3 concentration to arrive at the instant invention. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Advantageously, adsorbents comprising the components listed by Kim display satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents, including sulfide based compounds ([0028]; [0040]). Examiner notes the claims are directed to adsorbing hydrogen sulfide, however Examiner notes that when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a product configured to adsorb hydrogen sulfide” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations or serve to limit the structure of the claimed catalyst. Thus, the preamble of the claim is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an adsorbent comprising MgO, CaO, and Fe2O3 in the product of Osborne in order to provide satisfactory adsorption capability and degradation ability of chemical warfare agents as taught by Kim.
The claim further requires the product contains “zeolites between 49 percent by weight” to which Osborne, Lee, Kim, and Logli are silent.
Gorawara teaches an adsorbent for removing contaminants, including H2S, that comprises a zeolite component that is present from 30 to 95% by weight in the adsorbent (Abstract; [0035]; [0041]; Claim 9). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Gorawara (30 to 95% zeolite) overlaps with the claimed range (49% zeolite). Therefore, the range in Gorawara renders obvious the claimed range.
Advantageously, zeolites have uniform pore openings and significant ion exchange capacity that provides finished adsorbents that can remove various contaminants, including H2S ([0020]; [0032]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include zeolites at 30 to 95% in the product of Osborne in order to provide a finished adsorbent that can remove various contaminants, including H2S as taught by Gorawara.
The claim further requires the product contains “SiO2 4 percent by weight” and “TiO2 1 percent by weight” to which Osborne, Lee, Kim, Logli, and Gorawara are silent.
Girard teaches an adsorbent for capturing sulfur impurities where the adsorbent contains between 0.1 and 70% by weight of mineral fillers, including silica and titanium oxide (col. 8, lines 30-43; Claim 12). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the range taught by Girard (between 0.1 and 70% by weight SiO2; between 0.1 and 70% by weight TiO2) overlaps with the claimed range (SiO2 4 percentage by weight; TiO2 1 percent by weight). Therefore, the ranges in Girard render obvious the claimed ranges.
Advantageously, adsorbents comprising the fillers TiO2 and SiO2 are able to be operated at lower temperatures while being easy to regenerate and able to remove sulfur impurity gases, such as H2S (col. 2, lines 16-34).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include between 0.1 and 70% by weight of mineral fillers, including silica and titanium oxide, in the product of Osborne in order to provide an adsorbent that can operate at low temperatures for H2S removal while being easy to regenerate, as taught by Girard.
Conclusion
/JORDAN W TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 1738