DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on April 23, 2024, Applicant amended claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-12, 15, 17-18, and 20.
Applicant cancelled claims 21-22.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a piston” (claim 1, line 4), “a screw” (claim 1, line 4), “a junction” (claim 6, line 3), “an insulating sealing material” (claim 6, line 4), and “two small holes” (claim 11, line 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
In line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “an integrated power supply”
In line 2, “the drug” should be changed to “a drug”
In line 5, “electrolyte” should be changed to “an electrolyte”
In line 7, “the drive wheel” should be changed to “the driving wheel”
In line 8, “the lower” should be changed to “the lower case”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “an integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 1, line 7, “a power supply” should be changed to “the power supply”.
In regards to claim 1, line 8, “electrolyte” should be changed to “an electrolyte”.
In regards to claim 1, line 10, “the drive wheel” should be changed to “the at least one driving wheel”.
In regards to claim 2, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 3, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 4, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 5, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 6, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 7, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 8, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 9, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 9, line 4, “the positive electrode sheet tab” should be changed to “the positive electrode tab”.
In regards to claim 9, line 4, “the negative electrode sheet tab” should be changed to “the negative electrode tab”.
In regards to claim 9, lines 5-6, “power supply” should be changed to “the power supply”.
In regards to claim 10, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 11, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 11, line 5, “the small holes” should be changed to “the two small holes”.
In regards to claim 12, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 13, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 14, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 15, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 16, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 17, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 17, line 4, “the drive wheel” should be changed to “the at least one driving wheel”.
In regards to claim 18, lines 1-2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 19, line 1, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
In regards to claim 20, line 2, “integrated power supply” should be changed to “the integrated power supply”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 13, line 3 recites: the three-dimensional circuit is coated “on” the frame. It is unclear how the three-dimensional circuit is coated “on” the frame. Figure 2a instead shows the three-dimensional circuit 116 provided “in” the frame 115.
In regards to claim 15, line 3 recites: the three-dimensional circuit is coated “on” the upper case and/or the lower case. It is unclear how the three-dimensional circuit is coated “on” the upper case and/or the lower case. Figure 2a instead shows the three dimensional circuit 116 provided “in” the lower case 111b.
In regards to claim 17, lines 4-5 recite: wherein the drug reservoir, the drive wheel, and the power supply are provided “on” the infusion mechanism module. It is unclear how the drug reservoir, the drive wheel, and the power supply are provided “on” the infusion mechanism module. Figure 2a instead shows the drug reservoir 112, the drive wheel 114, and the power supply 113 provided “in” the infusion mechanism module 110. Claims 18-20 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 17.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-11 of copending Application No. 18/702,809 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the applications at least claim A drug infusion device with integrated power supply (A highly integrated drug infusion device, a power supply), a drug reservoir, a piston, a screw, at least one driving wheel (a driving wheel), a power supply, a power supply shell, a battery cell, electrolyte, a cover plate, a case, an upper case, and a lower case.
The table below shows the examined application claims 1-3 and 5-7 corresponding to claims 1 and 6-11 of copending Application No. 18/702,809:
Application claims
Application No. 18/702,809 claims
1
1, 6
2
7
3
8
5
9
6
10
7
11
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-11, 15-16, 18, and 20 of copending Application No. 18/269,963 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the applications at least claim A drug infusion device with integrated power supply (A drug infusion device with embedded power supply), a drug reservoir, a piston, a screw, at least one driving wheel (a driving wheel), a power supply, a power supply shell, a battery cell, electrolyte (an electrolyte), a cover plate, a case, an upper case, and a lower case.
The table below shows the examined application claims 1-8 and 17-19 corresponding to claims 1-7, 10-11, 15-16, 18, and 20 of copending Application No. 18/269,963:
Application claims
Application No. 18/269,963 claims
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6, 7, 10, 11
7
20
8
6
17
15
18
16
19
18
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Causey et al (US 2007/0100283).
In regards to claim 1, Causey et al teaches a drug infusion device with integrated power supply (Figures 3, 5 8), comprising:
a. a drug reservoir (12), used for accommodating a drug to be infused, provided with a piston (58) and a screw (54)
b. at least one driving wheel (52), connected with the screw, driving the screw to push the piston forward by rotation
c. a power supply, used to supply power to the drug infusion device, including a power supply shell (22), a battery cell (44), electrolyte (inherent component of battery 44) and a cover plate (84)
d. a case, including an upper case (84) and a lower case (22), for accommodating the drug reservoir, the drive wheel, and the power supply, wherein the power supply shell is integrated with the lower case and/or the cover plate is integrated with the upper case
In regards to claim 17, Causey et al teaches an infusion mechanism module (Figure 5) and a control mechanism module (42), wherein the drug reservoir, the drive wheel, and the power supply are provided on the infusion mechanism module (Figure 5).
In regards to claim 18, Causey et al teaches wherein the infusion mechanism module and the control mechanism module are detachable to each other (the infusion mechanism module (Figure 5) and the control mechanism module (42) are separate pieces and capable of being detached from each other), and the control mechanism module is reusable (the control mechanism module (42) is capable of being reused).
In regards to claim 19, Causey et al teaches wherein the infusion mechanism module and the control mechanism module are disposed of in one housing (22), discarded together after a single-use (the infusion mechanism module (Figure 5) and the control mechanism module (42) are capable of being discarded together after a single-use).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Causey et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yuan (CN 209859978).
In regards to claim 2, Causey et al is silent about wherein an electrolyte isolation layer is arranged on an inside of the power supply shell and the cover plate. Yuan teaches a device (Figures 1-2) wherein an electrolyte isolation layer (3) is arranged on an inside of a power supply shell (1) and a cover plate (4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, of Causey et al, with an electrolyte isolation layer, as taught by Yuan, as such will provide the action of anti-static, vacuumizing, light, oxygen, water-proof, moisture-proof, anti-volatilization (Specific implementation methods).
In regards to claim 3, in the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, Causey et al is silent about wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a coated TPE or PET layer. Yuan teaches wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a coated PET layer (3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte isolation layer, of the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, to be a coated PET layer, as taught by Yuan, as such will provide the action of anti-static, vacuumizing, light, oxygen, water-proof, moisture-proof, anti-volatilization (Specific implementation methods).
In regards to claim 4, in the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, Causey et al is silent about wherein a thickness of the electrolyte isolation layer is 300µm-500µm. But it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a thickness of the electrolyte isolation layer, of the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, to be 300µm-500µm, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan would not operate differently with the claimed thickness of the electrolyte isolation layer. Further, it appears that Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed for the thickness of the electrolyte isolation layer.
In regards to claim 5, in the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, Causey et al is silent about wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a separated TPE or PET layer. Yuan teaches wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a separated PET layer (3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte isolation layer, of the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, to be a separated PET layer, as taught by Yuan, as such will provide the action of anti-static, vacuumizing, light, oxygen, water-proof, moisture-proof, anti-volatilization (Specific implementation methods).
In regards to claim 8, Causey et al is silent about wherein the battery cell includes a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, a separator, a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab, the positive electrode tab is fixedly connected to the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode tab is fixedly connected to the negative electrode sheet. Yuan teaches a device (Figures 1-2) wherein a battery cell includes a positive electrode sheet (8), a negative electrode sheet (9), a separator (7), a positive electrode tab (10) and a negative electrode tab (11), the positive electrode tab is fixedly connected to the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode tab is fixedly connected to the negative electrode sheet (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery cell, of the device of Causey et al, to include a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, a separator, a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab, as taught by Yuan, as such will provide good waterproof effect, and when the battery contact occurs and water molecules when in use will not cause damage and leakage of battery electrolyte of the inside of the battery, improve the service life of the battery, avoids the battery internal damage caused by electronic device is affected, it brings great convenience to the user (Abstract).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Causey et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al (CN205303540).
In regards to claim 6, Causey et al is silent about wherein a junction between the power supply shell and the cover plate is coated with an insulating sealing material. Xu et al teaches a device (Figure 4) wherein a junction between a power supply shell (bottom piece of 7) and a cover plate (top piece of 7) is coated with an insulating sealing material (8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a junction between the power supply shell and the cover plate, of the device of Causey et al, to be coated with an insulating sealing material, as taught by Xu et al, as such will provide waterproof and stronger mechanical strength, and can effectively prevent water (Preferred Embodiment).
In regards to claim 7, in the modified device of Causey et al and Xu et al, Causey et al is silent about wherein the insulating sealing material is hot melt glue or silica gel. Xu et al teaches wherein the insulating sealing material is silica gel (8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulating sealing material, of the modified device of Causey et al and Xu et al, to be silica gel, as taught by Xu et al, as such will provide waterproof and stronger mechanical strength, and can effectively prevent water (Preferred Embodiment).
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Causey et al and Yuan, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yodfat et al (US 8,337,486).
In regards to claim 9, in the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, Causey et al teaches a three-dimensional circuit (30/85); however, Causey et al is silent about wherein the positive electrode sheet tab and the negative electrode sheet tab are electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit, to realize power supply to the drug infusion device. Yodfat et al teaches a drug infusion device (Figure 4) comprising a three-dimensional circuit (112), wherein a positive electrode sheet tab (213 connected to 203) and a negative electrode sheet tab (213 connected to 205) are electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit, to realize power supply to the drug infusion device (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode sheet tab and the negative electrode sheet tab, of the modified device of Causey et al and Yuan, to be electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit, as taught by Yodfat et al, as such will provide electrical connection between the power supply and other electronics of the drug infusion device in order to power the electrical components of the drug infusion device (column 10, lines 1-24).
In regards to claim 10, in the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, Causey et al is silent about wherein when the cover plate is covering on the power supply shell, a part of the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are reserved out of the power supply shell to be electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit. Yuan teaches wherein when a cover plate (1) is covering on a power supply shell (4), a part of the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are reserved out of the power supply shell (Figures 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device, of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, with wherein when the cover plate is covering on the power supply shell, a part of the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are reserved out of the power supply shell, as taught by Yuan, as such will improve the practicability of the power supply when it is used, and brings great convenience to the user (Specific implementation methods). And Yodfat et al teaches the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab to be electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab, of the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, to be electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit, as taught by Yodfat et al, as such will provide electrical connection between the power supply and other electronics of the drug infusion device in order to power the electrical components of the drug infusion device (column 10, lines 1-24).
In regards to claim 11, in the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, Causey et al is silent about wherein two small holes are provided on the power supply shell, and the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit through the small holes. Yuan teaches wherein two small holes are provided on the power supply shell (4), and the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab through the small holes (Figures 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device, of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, with wherein two small holes are provided on the power supply shell, and the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab through the small holes, as taught by Yuan, as such will improve the practicability of the power supply when it is used, and brings great convenience to the user (Specific implementation methods). And Yodfat et al teaches the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab, of the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, to be electrically connected to the three-dimensional circuit, as taught by Yodfat et al, as such will provide electrical connection between the power supply and other electronics of the drug infusion device in order to power the electrical components of the drug infusion device (column 10, lines 1-24).
In regards to claim 12, in the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, Causey et al teaches a frame (64/84), wherein the at least one driving wheel comprises driving wheels (52), the frame (64) is at least for carrying the driving wheels (Figure 5).
In regards to claim 13, in the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, Causey et al teaches wherein the three-dimensional circuit (30) is coated on the frame (64) (Figure 5).
In regards to claim 14, in the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, Causey et al teaches wherein the three-dimensional circuit (85) is embedded in the frame (84).
In regards to claim 15, in the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, Causey et al teaches wherein the three-dimensional circuit (85) is coated on the upper case and/or the lower case (Figure 8).
In regards to claim 16, in the modified device of Causey et al, Yuan, and Yodfat et al, Causey et al teaches wherein the three-dimensional circuit (85) is embedded in the upper case and/or the lower case (Figure 8).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Causey et al, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yodfat et al.
In regards to claim 20, Causey et al an artificial pancreas (Figures 3, 5, 8), comprising:
the drug infusion device with integrated power supply of claim 17 (Figures 3, 5, 8)
Causey et al is silent about a detection mechanism module, configured to detect blood glucose continuously, connected or integrated with the control mechanism module and the infusion mechanism module of the drug infusion device. Yodfat et al teaches an artificial pancreas (Figure 4) comprising a detection mechanism module (120), configured to detect blood glucose continuously, connected or integrated with a control mechanism module (15) and an infusion mechanism module (202) of a drug infusion device (10). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the artificial pancreas, of Causey et al, with a detection mechanism module, as taught by Yodfat et al, as such will monitor a body analyte (e.g., glucose) and fluid delivery can be adjusted based on the monitored body analyte to thus implement a semi, or fully, closed-loop system (column 10, lines 48-52).
Conclusion
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783