DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 22, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 20, 2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beattie et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,562,212).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20, Beattie et al. teaches a computer implemented method of issuing electronic certificates for establishing credential of or in association with an applicant (abstract), comprising the step of: receiving, via a receiving module, a request from applicant’s device for issuance of an electronic certificate for establishing credential of or in association with the applicant, the request comprising certificate information and application identification (col. 3, line 64 through col. 4, line 25); verifying, via a verification module, the applicant identification from a registration database (col. 1, lines 27-55 and col. 3, line 64 through col. 4, line 11); identifying, via an identification module, one or more relevant certificate issuing units according to the certificate information from a plurality of independently operated certificate issuing units (col. 5, lines 50-65); and upon independently verifying the certificate information by the one or more relevant certificate issuing units, issuing, via a certificate issuing module, an electronic certificate in accordance with the request (col. 5, lines 50-65).
Regarding claim 2, Beattie et al. teaches wherein the step of receiving a request from the applicant’s device comprises receiving information communicated wirelessly from the applicant's device (col. 6, lines 55-62).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Beattie et al. teaches wherein the step of receiving a request from the applicant’s device comprises scanning of a two-dimensional code by the applicant's device and/or receiving via short range wireless communication by the applicant's device (col. 6, lines 55-62).
Regarding claim 4, Beattie et al. teaches further comprising the step of transmitting the issued electronic certificate to the applicant's device (col. 8, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 5, Beattie et al. teaches wherein the step of independently verifying the certificate information by the one or more relevant certificate issuing units comprises matching data relevant to the certificate information from one or more databases (col. 4, lines 44-51).
Regarding claim 6, Beattie et al. teaches further comprising the step of storing the issued electronic certificate in association with the applicant, with the stored electronic certificate being accessible by one or more of the applicant's device and/or an issuer's device (col. 9, line 61 through col. 10, line 4).
Regarding claim 7, Beattie et al. teaches wherein the plurality of certificate issuing units are independently operable by respective certificate issuers via corresponding issuers' devices (col. 8, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 8, Beattie et al. teaches further comprising the step of customizing format of the electronic certificates by the respective certificate issuers (col. 7, lines 4-29).
Regarding claim 15, Beattie et al. teaches wherein the certificate requesting module is adapted to receive the request for issuing the electronic certificate from the applicant’s device via wireless communication (col. 6, lines 55-62).
Regarding claim 17, Beattie et al. teaches wherein the plurality of certificate issuing units of the certificate issuing module are independently operable by respective certificate issuers via corresponding issuers' devices (col. 8, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 18, Beattie et al. teaches further comprising a storage module for storing the issued electronic certificate in associate with the applicant (col. 9, line 61 through col. 10, line 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beattie et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,562,212) in view of Kohli (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0101870).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Beattie et al. teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 6 above. However, Beattie et al. does not teach classification of the certificate. Kohli teaches wherein the issued electronic certificate is stored under classification by type of the issued certificate, with the classification being displayable at the applicant's device (paragraph 0003) and wherein the issued electronic certificate is stored under classification by the certificate information and/or the applicant identification, with the classification being displayable at the issuer's device (paragraph 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine storing classification of the certificate, as taught by Kohli, with the method of Beattie et al. It would have been obvious for such modifications because the classification tells whether the certificate is a purchase type card or a redemption type card (debit/credit vs. gift card).
Regarding claim 12, Beattie et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. However, Beattie et al. does not teach sharing. Kohli teaches further comprising the step of sharing the issued electronic certificate to one or more designated recipients and/or social media networks (paragraph 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to sharing the certificate, as taught by Kohli, with the method of Beattie et al. It would have been obvious for such modifications because sharing can be used for gifts.
Regarding claim 13, Beattie et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. However, Beattie et al. doesn’t teach barcodes. Kohli teaches wherein the step of issuing the electronic certificate comprises generating a two-dimensional code in associate with the certificate (paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine barcodes associated with certificates, as taught by Kohli, with the method of Beattie et al. It would have been obvious for such modifications because barcodes can be easily scanned by any device and the information read quickly.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Beattie et al. teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 14 above. However, Beattie et al. does not teach reward points. Kohli teaches further comprising the step of issuing reward points to the applicant, wherein the reward points are provided in the form of one or more credits, loyalty points, cash coupons, vouchers and/or user ratings, tiers, or rankings (paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine rewards for certificates, as taught by Kohli, with the method of Beattie et al. It would have been obvious for such modifications because rewards further drive customer loyalty which allows for more sales.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433