DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 6/19/2026, in which claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 20 is/are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112:
Applicants’ arguments with respect to 112 2nd paragraph with rejection of claim(s) 1-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 112 2nd paragraph have been withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. (US 20180212746 A1; hereinafter Kazmi) in view of Ouchi (US 20230057296 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 19, Kazmi discloses a communication device comprising:
first circuitry configured to perform wireless communication based on a plurality of frequency bands (UE-1, BS and UE-2, wireless communicates over cellular communication modes may comprise information indicating support of the wireless terminal for half duplex, e.g. half duplex FDD, half duplex TDD, full duplex, supported frequency bands for different cellular modes, self-interference rejection capability, maximum transmit power and other wireless and duplexing scheme specific parameters [Kazmi; ¶49-51; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]); and
second circuitry configured to switch the first circuity between a multi-link operation (MLO) state and a full duplex (FD) operation state (a radio node based on HARQ performance reselects mode in terms of FD D2D or FD cellular, HD D2D or HD cellular mode. The first and second wireless terminals report HARQ process results to enable the radio node to either reselect the communication mode or to allow the first and second wireless terminals to autonomously switch between HD and FD mode. When the radio node has sufficient statistics related to the HARQ retransmissions, then the radio node may perform mode switching or signal autonomous switching [Kazmi; ¶42, 68-77; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]),
in the FD operation state, the first circuitry is further configured to perform full-duplex wireless communication based on one or more frequency bands of the plurality of frequency bands (performing FD D2D or FD cellular simultaneous transmission and reception of radio signals on the same carrier frequency [Kazmi; ¶15, 42, 68-77; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]). Kazmi does not explicilty discloses wherein in the MLO state, the first circuitry is further configured to: perform first transmission and first reception based on a first frequency band of the plurality of frequency bands, and perform second transmission and second reception based on a second frequency band of the plurality of frequency bands; however, in a related and analogous art, Ouchi teaches this feature.
In particular, Ouchi teaches devices with multi-link operation in which the antenna can transmit and receiver signals of various frequency bands [Ouchi; ¶39-47, Fig. 2-3 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kazmi in view of Ouchi MLO with the motivation to capable of execute communication by establishing a plurality of radio links using only one set [Ouchi; ¶40].
Regarding claim 2, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuitry includes a plurality of blocks, each block of the plurality of blocks includes including a media access control(MAC) unit, a physical (PHY) unit, a radio frequency (RF) unit, an antenna, and an RF switching (SW) unit, and each block of the plurality of blocks supports a corresponding frequency band of the plurality of frequency bands. (the apparatus includes processor, and RF communication [Kazmi; ¶142-144; Fig. 5 and associated text], different units to function the communication [Ouchi; ¶39-47, Fig. 2-3 and associated texts]). The motivation to be capable of execute communication by establishing a plurality of radio links using only one set [Ouchi; ¶40].
Regarding claim 3, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 2, wherein the configuration includes a connection unit that connects the blocks (the connection between the different units [Kazmi; ¶142-144; Fig. 5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 7, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 2, wherein the control unit determines whether to switch the operation state to the first state or the second state on a basis of predetermined information (a radio node based on HARQ performance reselects mode in terms of FD D2D or FD cellular, HD D2D or HD cellular mode. The first and second wireless terminals report HARQ process results to enable the radio node to either reselect the communication mode or to allow the first and second wireless terminals to autonomously switch between HD and FD mode. When the radio node has sufficient statistics related to the HARQ retransmissions, then the radio node may perform mode switching or signal autonomous switching [Kazmi; ¶42, 68-77; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts], multi-link operation in which the antenna can transmit and receiver signals of various frequency bands [Ouchi; ¶39-47, Fig. 2-3 and associated texts]). The motivation to capable of execute communication by establishing a plurality of radio links using only one set [Ouchi; ¶40].
Regarding claim 8, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 7, wherein the control unit determines whether or not to switch the operation state on a basis of at least one piece of information of an observed communication status, a legal system of an operating place, and information regarding a subordinate terminal (When the radio node has sufficient statistics related to the HARQ retransmissions, then the radio node may perform mode switching or signal autonomous switching [Kazmi; ¶42, 68-77; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 9, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 8, wherein the information regarding the subordinate terminal includes at least one of a compatible function of the subordinate terminal and a switching request from the subordinate terminal (wireless communicates over cellular communication modes may comprise information indicating support of the wireless terminal for half duplex, e.g. half duplex FDD, half duplex TDD, full duplex, supported frequency bands for different cellular modes, self-interference rejection capability, maximum transmit power and other wireless and duplexing scheme specific parameters [Kazmi; ¶49-51; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 8, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to: determine whether to switch the operation state; and notify, based on the determination whether to switch the operation state, information indicating a determined operation state to the subordinate terminal (the BS informed both terminal of the MS and HARQ configuration and decision and determining when to switch mode [Kazmi; ¶49-51; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts], multi-link operation in which the antenna can transmit and receiver signals of various frequency bands [Ouchi; ¶39-47, Fig. 2-3 and associated texts]). The motivation to capable of execute communication by establishing a plurality of radio links using only one set [Ouchi; ¶40].
Regarding claim 11, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 10, wherein the second circuitry is further configured to switch the operation state of the first circuitry to the determined operation state subsequent to the notification of the information indicating the determined operation state (BS informed both terminal of the MS and HARQ configuration and decision at step 49 and mode switching afterward at step 53 and step 57 [Kazmi; ¶49-51; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts], multi-link operation in which the antenna can transmit and receiver signals of various frequency bands [Ouchi; ¶39-47, Fig. 2-3 and associated texts]). The motivation to capable of execute communication by establishing a plurality of radio links using only one set [Ouchi; ¶40].
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses a communication device comprising:
a control unit configured to perform control to transmit a request for switching between a first state in which wireless communication is performed using two or more frequency bands and a second state in which full-duplex wireless communication is performed using one or more frequency bands to another communication device connected by wireless communication (a wireless terminal comprises determining a parameter indicating request for mode switching as it depends on an explicit wireless terminal request and/or wireless terminal capabilities, a radio node based on HARQ performance reselects mode in terms of FD D2D or FD cellular, HD D2D or HD cellular mode. The first and second wireless terminals report HARQ process results to enable the radio node to either reselect the communication mode or to allow the first and second wireless terminals to autonomously switch between HD and FD mode. When the radio node has sufficient statistics related to the HARQ retransmissions, then the radio node may perform mode switching or signal autonomous switching [Kazmi; ¶19-21, 30, 42, 57, 68-77; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]),
wherein the communication device is configured as a subordinate terminal of the another communication device (the wireless terminal is the subordinate of the BS [Kazmi; ¶19, 42, 68-77; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 15, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 14, wherein the control unit transmits information regarding a compatible function that is a function of the subordinate terminal to the another communication device (wireless communicates over cellular communication modes may comprise information indicating support of the wireless terminal for half duplex, e.g. half duplex FDD, half duplex TDD, full duplex, supported frequency bands for different cellular modes, self-interference rejection capability, maximum transmit power and other wireless and duplexing scheme specific parameters [Kazmi; ¶49-51; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 16, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 14, wherein the control unit transmits information regarding the observed communication status to the another communication device (wireless communicates over cellular communication modes may comprise information indicating support of the wireless terminal for half duplex, e.g. half duplex FDD, half duplex TDD, full duplex, supported frequency bands for different cellular modes, self-interference rejection capability, maximum transmit power and other wireless and duplexing scheme specific parameters [Kazmi; ¶49-51; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 17, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 14, wherein the control unit transmits the request including an operation state of a switching destination to the another communication device (communication systems must manage the problem of self-interference (SI) such that the received signal from a transmitter can be decoded in the presence of the interference caused by the simultaneously transmitted signal. Obviously, the caused SI depends on the transmit power of the wireless terminal, the spatial separation of the transmitter and receiver entities, beamforming capabilities of the transmitter, available channel state information and other factors [Kazmi; ¶16; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 18, Kazmi-Ouchi combination discloses the communication device according to claim 14, wherein the control unit determines an operation state of the subordinate terminal on a basis of information regarding an operation state transmitted from the another communication device (communication systems must manage the problem of self-interference (SI) such that the received signal from a transmitter can be decoded in the presence of the interference caused by the simultaneously transmitted signal. Obviously, the caused SI depends on the transmit power of the wireless terminal, the spatial separation of the transmitter and receiver entities, beamforming capabilities of the transmitter, available channel state information and other factors [Kazmi; ¶16; Figs. 2-3 and associated texts]).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi-Ouchi combination in view of Askar et al. (US 20240040648 A1; hereinafter Askar).
Regarding claim 4, Kazmi-Ouchi combination does not explicilty discloses the communication device according to claim 3, wherein the configuration includes a self-interference canceller in at least one less number of blocks than the number of blocks; however, in a related and analogous art, Askar teaches this feature.
In particular, Askar teaches the FD transceiver in accordance with the embodiment described above with reference to FIG. 16 is further advantageous due to its backward compatibility because it may fall back any time to a normal TDD duplex operation. This fallback operation mode may be activated based on several conditions, for example in case the demand on throughput is reduced so that full-duplex operation or the self-interference canceller may be deactivated to save power, or in case the self-interference canceller is malfunctioning, for example, is not capable to sufficiently suppress the self-interference. FIG. 21 illustrates embodiments of the backward compatibility of the inventive FD transceiver of the embodiment of FIG. 16, more specifically the backward compatibility of the antenna switching technique described above with reference to FIG. 16 to operate in a normal TDD duplexing mode so as to provide backward compatibility from FD to TDD [Askar; ¶12-17, 332; Figs. 2-4 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kazmi-Ouchi combination in view of Askar SIC with the motivation to better allow backward compatibility and power saving [Askar; ¶332].
Regarding claim 5, Kazmi-Ouchi-Askar combination discloses the communication device according to claim 4, wherein the control unit disables the connection unit and the self-interference canceller in a case of performing wireless communication in the first state (SIC may rely on passive techniques and/or on active techniques. The passive techniques prevent the self-interference signal from entering the receive front-end or receive chain, for example by providing separate antennas for the transmission and for the reception. The active techniques, like the one briefly summarized in FIG. 2(c) use a negative version of the transmit signal that is added at the receiver front-end or RX chain to cancel the self-interference signal which may be done in the RF domain or in the digital domain. The self-interference needs to be cancelled to the receiver noise floor level to exploit the full benefit of the full-duplex scheme and doubling the frequency range. In practical systems, the SIC may not be achievable completely in the digital domain as the self-interference signal may cause an inevitable receiver front-end saturation. Therefore, the SIC also needs to be achieved in the radio-frequency, RF, domain. Stated differently, the self-interference signal needs to be suppressed sufficiently, not necessarily completely, before it enters the receiver front-end. FIG. 3 schematically indicates a power level diagram for the overall SIC requirements. The SIC overall requirement includes the minimum RF SIC requirement that is achieved in the RF domain so as to lower the transmit power received at the receiver front-end to a level avoiding the receiver saturation, also referred to the receiver desensitization threshold. In addition, the SIC overall requirement includes the complementary digital SIC requirement obtained in the digital domain for further lowering the transmit power experienced at the receiver front-end to the receiver noise floor. A variety of self-interference cancellation techniques are known in the art to achieve a physically secured wireless link between two nodes or entities of the wireless communication network. FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating the general categorization of self-interference cancellation (SIC) techniques according to where the cancellation of the self-interference signal takes place. Alongside the diagram, a receiving chain 200 is shown to illustrate at which location the self-interference is cancelled by the respective cancellation category. The receiving chain 200 includes in the RF domain 202 a receive antenna 204 and a low noise amplifier 206 to which the receive antenna 202 is coupled. A signal received at the receive antenna 204 and amplified by the low noise amplifier 206 is further processed in the analog domain 210. The analog domain 210 includes the local oscillator 212, the mixer 214, the low pass filter 216 and the analog-digital transducer 218. The signal received from the RF domain 202 is down-mixed, low pass filtered and converted into the digital domain 220 for further processing [Askar; ¶12-17; Figs. 2-4 and associated texts]). The motivation to better allow backward compatibility and power saving [Askar; ¶332].
Regarding claim 6, Kazmi-Ouchi-Askar combination discloses the communication device according to claim 4, wherein in a case of performing wireless communication in the second state, the control unit enables the connection unit and the self-interference canceller, and disables the MAC unit, the PHY unit, and the RF unit that configure some of the blocks (SIC may rely on passive techniques and/or on active techniques. The passive techniques prevent the self-interference signal from entering the receive front-end or receive chain, for example by providing separate antennas for the transmission and for the reception. The active techniques, like the one briefly summarized in FIG. 2(c) use a negative version of the transmit signal that is added at the receiver front-end or RX chain to cancel the self-interference signal which may be done in the RF domain or in the digital domain. The self-interference needs to be cancelled to the receiver noise floor level to exploit the full benefit of the full-duplex scheme and doubling the frequency range. In practical systems, the SIC may not be achievable completely in the digital domain as the self-interference signal may cause an inevitable receiver front-end saturation. Therefore, the SIC also needs to be achieved in the radio-frequency, RF, domain. Stated differently, the self-interference signal needs to be suppressed sufficiently, not necessarily completely, before it enters the receiver front-end. FIG. 3 schematically indicates a power level diagram for the overall SIC requirements. The SIC overall requirement includes the minimum RF SIC requirement that is achieved in the RF domain so as to lower the transmit power received at the receiver front-end to a level avoiding the receiver saturation, also referred to the receiver desensitization threshold. In addition, the SIC overall requirement includes the complementary digital SIC requirement obtained in the digital domain for further lowering the transmit power experienced at the receiver front-end to the receiver noise floor. A variety of self-interference cancellation techniques are known in the art to achieve a physically secured wireless link between two nodes or entities of the wireless communication network. FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating the general categorization of self-interference cancellation (SIC) techniques according to where the cancellation of the self-interference signal takes place. Alongside the diagram, a receiving chain 200 is shown to illustrate at which location the self-interference is cancelled by the respective cancellation category. The receiving chain 200 includes in the RF domain 202 a receive antenna 204 and a low noise amplifier 206 to which the receive antenna 202 is coupled. A signal received at the receive antenna 204 and amplified by the low noise amplifier 206 is further processed in the analog domain 210. The analog domain 210 includes the local oscillator 212, the mixer 214, the low pass filter 216 and the analog-digital transducer 218. The signal received from the RF domain 202 is down-mixed, low pass filtered and converted into the digital domain 220 for further processing [Askar; ¶12-17; Figs. 2-4 and associated texts]). The motivation to better allow backward compatibility and power saving [Askar; ¶332].
Regarding claim 12, Kazmi-Ouchi-Askar combination discloses the communication device according to claim 4, wherein the MAC unit includes a data processing unit, the PHY unit includes a transmission signal processing unit and a reception signal processing unit, the RF unit includes a transmission wireless interface unit and a transmission amplification unit, and a reception wireless interface unit and a reception amplification unit, and the RF SW unit includes a switching unit that switches the transmission amplification unit, the reception amplification unit, or the connection unit to connect to the antenna (SIC may rely on passive techniques and/or on active techniques. The passive techniques prevent the self-interference signal from entering the receive front-end or receive chain, for example by providing separate antennas for the transmission and for the reception. The active techniques, like the one briefly summarized in FIG. 2(c) use a negative version of the transmit signal that is added at the receiver front-end or RX chain to cancel the self-interference signal which may be done in the RF domain or in the digital domain. The self-interference needs to be cancelled to the receiver noise floor level to exploit the full benefit of the full-duplex scheme and doubling the frequency range. In practical systems, the SIC may not be achievable completely in the digital domain as the self-interference signal may cause an inevitable receiver front-end saturation. Therefore, the SIC also needs to be achieved in the radio-frequency, RF, domain. Stated differently, the self-interference signal needs to be suppressed sufficiently, not necessarily completely, before it enters the receiver front-end. FIG. 3 schematically indicates a power level diagram for the overall SIC requirements. The SIC overall requirement includes the minimum RF SIC requirement that is achieved in the RF domain so as to lower the transmit power received at the receiver front-end to a level avoiding the receiver saturation, also referred to the receiver desensitization threshold. In addition, the SIC overall requirement includes the complementary digital SIC requirement obtained in the digital domain for further lowering the transmit power experienced at the receiver front-end to the receiver noise floor. A variety of self-interference cancellation techniques are known in the art to achieve a physically secured wireless link between two nodes or entities of the wireless communication network. FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating the general categorization of self-interference cancellation (SIC) techniques according to where the cancellation of the self-interference signal takes place. Alongside the diagram, a receiving chain 200 is shown to illustrate at which location the self-interference is cancelled by the respective cancellation category. The receiving chain 200 includes in the RF domain 202 a receive antenna 204 and a low noise amplifier 206 to which the receive antenna 202 is coupled. A signal received at the receive antenna 204 and amplified by the low noise amplifier 206 is further processed in the analog domain 210. The analog domain 210 includes the local oscillator 212, the mixer 214, the low pass filter 216 and the analog-digital transducer 218. The signal received from the RF domain 202 is down-mixed, low pass filtered and converted into the digital domain 220 for further processing [Askar; ¶12-17; Figs. 2-4 and associated texts]). The motivation to better allow backward compatibility and power saving [Askar; ¶332].
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432