DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response to the last Office Action, filed on 5/8/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, and 16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figueiredo et al. (US 2023/0237850) in view of Strigel et al. (US 2021/0150193).
Regarding claim 1, Figueiredo teaches a motion determination apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (see para. 0049, 0061-0062):
store skeleton information, motion patterns associated with positions in image frames, and a predetermined order of the motion patterns (see para. 0049, 0061-0062, Figueiredo discusses storing data in memory), wherein:
each of the motion patterns comprises a posture of a person associated with a position of the body parts of the person (see para. 0123, Figueiredo discusses a neural network tracking movements, which can include poses, orientations, joint bending or joint rotation, of the person on a frame-by-frame basis), and
the motion patterns comprise a first motion pattern and a second motion pattern (see para. 0061, Figueiredo discusses an event that is defined by the relationship between first motion and second motion);
recognize a vehicle at a predetermined stop position in at least one of acquired image frames (see para. 0053, 0129, Figueiredo discusses detecting a parked vehicle);
recognize target skeleton information of a target body part of a target person in the acquired image frames using a skeleton estimation machine learning (see para. 0056, 0123, Figueiredo discusses neural network detecting objects and generating a skeleton model simulating objects);
specify, based on the recognition of (i) the vehicle, (ii) the target skeleton information, and (iii) the first motion pattern associated with a first position of the target body part, a first motion of the target person in at least one of the acquired image frames (see para. 0053, 0061, 0129, Figueiredo discusses neural network detecting objects and events from skeleton models that are based on a first movement and second movement);
specify, based on the recognition of (i) the vehicle, (ii) the target skeleton information, and (iii) the second motion pattern associated with a second position of the target body part, a second motion of the target person in at least one of the acquired image frames (see para. 0056, 0061, 0129, Figueiredo discusses neural network detecting objects and events from skeleton models that are based on a first movement and second movement); and
determine whether the first motion and the second motion are in the predetermined order (see para. 0056, 0061-0062, 0129, Figueiredo discusses identifying events from skeleton models that are based on predefined set of movements).
Strigel teaches the skeleton information indicates a link between one or more points in body parts of a person (see para. 0072, Strigel discusses lines connecting body parts in a skeleton model of a person).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 1. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Figueiredo in this manner in order to improve motion detection by comparing a sequence of motion to a predetermined sequence stored in memory to properly distinguish movements in images. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Figueiredo, while the teaching of Strigel continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of comparing captured motion to a stored predetermined order of motion to properly identify motion gestures that contain motion elements in an order or sequence. The Figueiredo and Strigel systems perform motion detection, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 2, Strigel teaches further comprising a storage for storing the predetermined order, the positions, and the motion patterns performed by a person associated with the positions (see claim 9, para. 0077, Strigel discusses lines representing the pose of the detected pedestrian for the selected camera images of the image sequence using a pedestrian model; classifying the movement profile of the detected pedestrian on the basis of the plurality or sequence of pedestrian representations with a classifier; and outputting the class movement).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 2. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 2. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Regarding claim 3, Strigel teaches wherein the positions are associated with a plurality of regions in an image (see para. 0023, Strigel discusses classifying the movement profile of the detected pedestrian in a plurality of regions in sequence of images).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 3. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 3. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Regarding claim 4, Strigel teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to set the one or more points and the skeleton information of the body parts of the person based on the acquired image frames (see para. 0072, Strigel discusses key point correspond to body parts or joints of the pedestrian).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 4. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 4. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Regarding claim 5, Strigel teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize a motion of the body parts of the person in time series based on the acquired image frames (see figure 1, para. 0066, 0072, Strigel discusses capturing images in time series).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 5. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 5. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Regarding claim 6, Figueiredo teaches wherein the storage stores the motion patterns based on the image frames (see para. 0049, 0061-0062, Figueiredo discusses storing data in memory).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 6. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 6. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Regarding claim 7, Figueiredo and Strigel teach wherein the storage stores each of the plurality of regions defined as ranges adjacent to or separated from each other in the image, and stores each posture in which a hand of the person is present at a position approximate to the region as one of the motion patterns (see para. 0123, Figueiredo discusses a neural network tracking movements, which can include poses, orientations, joint bending or joint rotation, of the person on a frame-by-frame basis; see para. 0072, Strigel discusses key point correspond to body parts or joints of the pedestrian).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 7. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 7. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Regarding claim 8, Figueiredo and Strigel teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize the target person, specify a plurality of motions for the target person recognized (see para. 0123, Figueiredo discusses a neural network tracking movements, which can include poses, orientations, joint bending or joint rotation, of the person on a frame-by-frame basis; see claim 9, para. 0077, Strigel discusses lines representing the pose of the detected pedestrian for the selected camera images of the image sequence using a pedestrian model; classifying the movement profile of the detected pedestrian on the basis of the plurality or sequence of pedestrian representations with a classifier; and outputting the class movement).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 8. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 8. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Regarding claim 9, Figueiredo and Strigel teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to output a determination result related to the determination, sequentially determine a unit motion of each step in the predetermined order, and sequentially output a determination result regarding each step (see para. 0123, Figueiredo discusses a neural network tracking movements, which can include poses, orientations, joint bending or joint rotation, of the person on a frame-by-frame basis; see claim 9, para. 0077, Strigel discusses lines representing the pose of the detected pedestrian for the selected camera images of the image sequence using a pedestrian model; classifying the movement profile of the detected pedestrian on the basis of the plurality or sequence of pedestrian representations with a classifier; and outputting the class movement).
The same motivation of claim 1 is applied to claim 9. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo with Strigel to derive at the invention of claim 9. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
Claim 15 is rejected as applied to claim 1 as pertaining to a corresponding method.
Claim 16 is rejected as applied to claim 1 as pertaining to a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figueiredo et al. (US 2023/0237850) in view of Strigel et al. (US 2021/0150193) in view of Shi et al. (US 2019/0034074).
Regarding claim 10, Figueiredo and Strigel do not expressly disclose wherein the storage stores a time limit of each step in the predetermined order, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to determine whether the time limit is exceeded in each step, and output a determination result at a time point when the time limit is exceeded.
However, Shi teaches wherein the storage stores a time limit of each step in the predetermined order, and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to determine whether the time limit is exceeded in each step, and output a determination result at a time point when the time limit is exceeded (see para. 0056, Shi discusses when exceeding a time threshold, it determines whether the gesture trajectory matches a preset value).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo and Strigel with Shi to derive at the invention of claim 10. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Figueiredo and Strigel in this manner in order to improve motion detection by implementing a time limit and comparing a sequence of motion to a predetermined sequence stored in memory to properly distinguish movements in images. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Figueiredo and Strigel, while the teaching of Shi continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of comparing captured motion to a stored predetermined order of motion under a time limit to capture an entire motion sequence to properly identify motion gestures. The Figueiredo, Strigel, and Shi systems perform motion detection, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figueiredo et al. (US 2023/0237850) in view of Strigel et al. (US 2021/0150193) in view of Itoh (US 2014/0055349).
Regarding claim 11, Figueiredo and Strigel do not expressly disclose wherein the storage further stores an attention motion pattern, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to specify an attention motion of the target person according to the attention motion pattern, determine that an attention state is established when the attention motion is specified regardless of the predetermined order, and output attention information indicating the attention state.
However, Itoh teaches wherein the storage further stores an attention motion pattern, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to specify an attention motion of the target person according to the attention motion pattern, determine that an attention state is established when the attention motion is specified regardless of the predetermined order, and output attention information indicating the attention state (see para. 0107, Itoh discusses preparatory actions that include standing in front of a camera or looking into an eye gaze input device for gesture recognition).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo and Strigel with Itoh to derive at the invention of claim 11. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Figueiredo and Strigel in this manner in order to improve motion detection by comparing a sequence of motion to a predetermined sequence stored in memory to properly distinguish movements in images. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Figueiredo and Strigel, while the teaching of Itoh continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of comparing captured motion to a stored predetermined order of motion under a time limit to capture an entire motion sequence to properly identify motion gestures. The Figueiredo, Strigel, and Itoh systems perform motion detection, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figueiredo et al. (US 2023/0237850) in view of Strigel et al. (US 2021/0150193) in view of Pastor (US 10,963,879).
Regarding claim 12, Figueiredo and Strigel do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize the vehicle present in the predetermined stop region in the at least one of the acquired image frames, recognize that the vehicle is stopped at the predetermined stop position, and specify that the target person has performed a motion
However, Pastor teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize the vehicle present in the predetermined stop region in the at least one of the acquired image frames, recognize that the vehicle is stopped at the predetermined stop position, and specify that the target person has performed a motion (see figure 2, col. 5 lines 1-18, Pastor discusses recognizing a vehicle at a gasoline pump station and identifying a gesture that a person puts inside the filling nozzle into the vehicle).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo and Strigel with Pastor to derive at the invention of claim 12. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Figueiredo and Strigel in this manner in order to improve motion detection by capturing images of a vehicle and person to compare a sequence of motion to a predetermined sequence stored in memory to properly distinguish movements in images. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Figueiredo and Strigel, while the teaching of Pastor continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of capturing images of a vehicle and person and comparing captured motion to a stored predetermined order of motion to properly identify motion gestures. The Figueiredo, Strigel, and Pastor systems perform motion detection, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 13, Figueiredo and Strigel do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize the vehicle present in the predetermined stop region in the at least one of the acquired image frames, wherein, when it is recognized that the vehicle is stopped at the predetermined stop position, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to start the determination.
However, Pastor teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize the vehicle present in the predetermined stop region in the at least one of the acquired image frames, wherein, when it is recognized that the vehicle is stopped at the predetermined stop position, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to start the determination (see figure 2, col. 5 lines 1-18, Pastor discusses recognizing a vehicle at a gasoline pump station and identifying a gesture that a person puts inside the filling nozzle into the vehicle).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo and Strigel with Pastor to derive at the invention of claim 13. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Figueiredo and Strigel in this manner in order to improve motion detection by capturing images of a vehicle and person to compare a sequence of motion to a predetermined sequence stored in memory to properly distinguish movements in images. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Figueiredo and Strigel, while the teaching of Pastor continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of capturing images of a vehicle and person and comparing captured motion to a stored predetermined order of motion to properly identify motion gestures. The Figueiredo, Strigel, and Pastor systems perform motion detection, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 14, Figueiredo and Strigel do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize a fuel filler nozzle, and determine whether the fuel filler nozzle is inserted into a fuel filler hole of the vehicle.
However, Pastor teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to recognize a fuel filler nozzle, and determine whether the fuel filler nozzle is inserted into a fuel filler hole of the vehicle (see figure 2, col. 5 lines 1-18, Pastor discusses recognizing a vehicle at a gasoline pump station and identifying a gesture that a person puts inside the filling nozzle into the vehicle).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Figueiredo and Strigel with Pastor to derive at the invention of claim 14. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to perform motion pattern detection.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Figueiredo and Strigel in this manner in order to improve motion detection by capturing images of a vehicle and person to compare a sequence of motion to a predetermined sequence stored in memory to properly distinguish movements in images. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Figueiredo and Strigel, while the teaching of Pastor continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of capturing images of a vehicle and person and comparing captured motion to a stored predetermined order of motion to properly identify motion gestures. The Figueiredo, Strigel, and Pastor systems perform motion detection, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the primary examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gregory Morse can be reached on (571) 272-3838. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Kenny A Cese/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663