DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 7, and 11 in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I and III do not lack unity because the linking technical feature between these two groups is fennel and chamomile which has not been established as lacking a special technical feature. This is not found persuasive because this linking technical feature is also not considered to be a special technical feature because it was known in the art as demonstrated by the references cited in the art rejections below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
4. Claims 4-6, 8, 9, and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
5. Claims 1-3, 7, and 11 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. Claim 3 is indefinite due to the use of the term “suitably.” It is unclear how to determine what is encompassed by a “suitable” administration. Clarification is needed.
7. Claim 11 is indefinite because there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the product” as recited in lines 3 and 6 of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1-3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sah (International Journal of Green and Herbal Chemistry (May 2020), vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 191-202).
This reference teaches a method for treating menstrual disorders and premenstrual syndrome by administering a composition comprising fennel extract and chamomile extract. The composition is administered in a daily dose of 0.2g, 0.4g, or 0.6 g of chamomile and 0.3g of fennel (see page 192, 194, and Table 1).
9. Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fletcher (US 6,280,751).
This reference teaches a method for treating premenstrual syndrome by administering a composition comprising fennel oil and chamomile oil (see Table at columns 23-24).
10. Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 20205010477 U1 (English translation).
This reference teaches a method for treating menstrual symptoms by administering a composition comprising fennel and chamomile extracts prior to the beginning of menstruation (see page 1 of the translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sah (International Journal of Green and Herbal Chemistry (May 2020), vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 191-202).
The teachings of Sah are discussed above in paragraph 8. While the reference teaches administering the composition orally, the reference does not specifically teach formulating the composition as a confectionary product. However, confectionary products are well known formulations for oral pharmaceutical products. An artisan of ordinary skill would be motivated to employ this well known type of formulation when administering the product taught by Sah. Thus, claim 7 is considered to be an obvious modification of what was known in the art prior to the effective filing date.
12. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655