DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5-1,1, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hildreth et al. (US 2007/0226365).
With respect to claim 1, Hildreth discloses: receiving a message from an influenced application, the message indicating the influenced application may be affected by an activity of one or more influencer applications that serves a user equipment (UE) ([0004], where the “transcoding process” itself is interpreted to be the “influencer application”. An application is nothing more than one or more process. [0072], request from the application that the transcode process be interrupted or throttled corresponds to “the message indicating the influenced application may be affected by …influencer application…”);
wherein the message comprises first information, the first information comprising a description of the influenced application, a description of the one or more influencer applications, an expected action to be taken by a coordinator service, or an allowed action to be taken by the coordinator service ([0072], where the interrupting or throttling by the transcode manager corresponds to the “expected action” or “allowed action” to be taken by coordinator service. The request includes information that identifies the application, the transcoding process, and the action to be taken);
identifying a first influencer application of the one or more influencer applications ([0072], the “transcoding process” is identified by the transcoding manager when requested by the application);
receiving second information associated with the first influencer application (Fig. 12, 1116, 1118, new information, i.e. “another request” to increase transcoding is received); and
based on the second information, determining actions to be taken by the coordinator service (based on the other request, transcoding is throttled up).
With respect to claim 2, Hildreth discloses: maintaining an influence record of the influenced application, wherein the influence record comprises an operation of the first influencer application and an action to be taken by the coordinator service (Fig. 9).
With respect to claim 3, Hildreth discloses: wherein the description of the influenced application comprises a schedule of an application client (AC) associated with the influenced application or callback address of the influenced AC (Fig. 9, the schedule for the interrupt/throttle is interpreted as a schedule the AC associated with the application making the request).
With respect to claim 5, Hildreth discloses: wherein the second information comprises application characteristics of the first influencer application, wherein the characteristics of the first influencer application comprises expected traffic over a period (Fig. 12, 1118, “throttle up” corresponds to increase CPU usage which is interpreted to increase traffic of the media file to the CPU for throttling services).
With respect to claim 6, Hildreth discloses: wherein the second information comprises context information of the UE, wherein the context information comprises data rate, sensor-level information, or communication access information (Fig. 12, 1118, “throttle” corresponds to data rate or communication access information. The broadest reasonable interpretation of communication access information includes throttling or interrupting the communication access to the CPU by the throttling process.)
With respect to claim 7, Hildreth discloses: wherein the first influencer application operates on the UE or a server communicatively connected with the UE (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 8, Hildreth discloses: detecting, based on a criteria, one or more actions of the first influencer application that has an effect on the influenced application ([0072]).
With respect to claims 9, 10, 11, 13-16, they recite similar limitations as claims 1, 2, 3, 5-8, respectively, and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
With respect to claim 17, 18, 19, they recite similar limitations as claims 1, 2, 3, respectively, and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art, aloe or in any reasonable combination with the independent claims do not disclose a description of an influencer application includes an identifier when a threshold has been met that indicates influencing of an influenced application or a second identifier for indicating an influencer application server associated with the influencer application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xu (US 2023/0262418): uses the SEAL architecture to receive a location reporting trigger at a location management server for activating a location reporting procedure for obtaining location information of a first location management client from a client or a server. The location reporting trigger comprises endpoint information of the client or the server. The method further comprises initiating a location reporting procedure for the location information of the first location management client. The method further comprises sending a location information report comprising the location information of the first location management client to the client or the server based on the endpoint information of the client or the server when location information of the first location management client is available in the location management server.
Vukadinovic et al. (US 2023/0034755): Also uses the SEAL architecture to utilize Cooperative awareness (CA) which is one C-ITS basic service that enables a vehicular or roadside ITS station (V-ITS-S or R-ITS-S) to announce itself to other ITS stations in the vicinity and, thereby, makes ITS stations (and C-ITS applications on those ITS stations) aware of their surroundings. CA is achieved though the transmission of messages that contain information such as, but not limited to, the identity and type of the transmitting ITS station, its geographical location, lane position, speed, acceleration, heading, and other information depending, for example, on the ITS-S type (e.g. car, truck, motorbike) and/or the condition that triggered the message transmission.
/WISSAM RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195