Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ludwig does not read on the limitation “number of inlets and the number of outlets being greater than or equal to 3” because Ludwig only show one inlet and one inlet per distributor body. This is not so. Please see the annotated figure below.
Figure 1 - Ludwig Annotated Fig. 1
Applicant’s also argues that element 21 is not an actuator. However, this was a typo, “11” was the intended character reference. Thus, this argument is moot.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: mechanical output axis, distributor body, return means and axis of rotation
The drawings were received on 05/26/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The following elements do not have consistent names throughout the Specification:
The axis of rotation, mechanical output axis and drive axis are not clearly associated with a character reference.
The distributor body is not clearly associated with a character reference.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. Particularly the limitation “a system for controlling the distribution of said.” When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment to the claims overcomes the 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–3, 5, 8, 10, 12 ,14 and 16–20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ludwig et al. (DE 102019130952 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ludwig discloses a system for controlling the distribution of a fluid in a hydraulic circuit, including: a motor (51); a plurality of rotary distributors (1); of said fluid, each distributor including a body (7), rotating in a plane (Fig. 3), said body (7) including at least one inlet (64) and at least one outlet (65), the sum of the number of inlets and the number of outlets being greater than or equal to 3 (Fig. 3), a mechanical output axis (R2) of each distributor (Fig. 3 where the entire Fig. illustrates a single distributor) extending in a direction perpendicular to said plane (Fig. 3); a plurality of gear trains (13/15/19), each train ensuring the transmission of the movement of the motor (51) to one of said rotary distributors (Fig. 3, as seen in Fig. 2), called associated rotary distributor (Fig. 1, where the associated rotary distributor are the four rotary distributors), each gear train (15/19) including means, including an actuator (21), for engaging or disengaging (where engaging is when the output shaft 53 is moving and disengaging when the output shaft is stationary) the associated rotary distributor (Fig. 3 where the entire Fig. illustrates a single distributor), relative to the gear train (15/17), said actuator (15/17) moving along the axis defined by the mechanical output axis (R2) of the distributor (Fig. 3 where the entire Fig. illustrates a single distributor).
Regarding Claim 2, Ludwig discloses each gear train including at least two gear stages: a first stage of gears (13/15/19), each gear of which is driven by said motor (51); a second stage of gears (13/15/19), each gear of which is driven by the first stage (Fig. 2), a gear (13/15/19) being provided with means for engaging it or disengaging it (where engaging is when the gears are moving and disengaging when the gears are stationary).
Regarding Claim 3, Ludwig discloses each rotary distributor (Fig. 3 where the entire Fig. illustrates a single distributor); including nei inlets (65) and nsi outlets (65 and Fig. 3, where multiple inlets/outlets are shown).
Regarding Claim 5, Ludwig discloses electronic means for controlling the motor (Paras. 1, 8 and 37, where the system is located in a vehicle).
Regarding Claim 8, Ludwig discloses hydraulic circuit being a distribution circuit for a fluid in a cooling circuit or an oil or hydrogen distribution circuit of a vehicle (Para. 7).
Regarding Claim 10, Ludwig discloses the means for engaging or disengaging each rotary distributor including an actuator (35/37/39), of electromagnetic (Para. 73).
Regarding Claim 12, Ludwig discloses the actuator being capable, when actuated, of compressing the return means (Para. 39).
Regarding Claim 14, Ludwig discloses further including braking means; for braking the distributor when it is disengaged (Para. 39).
Regarding Claim 16, Ludwig discloses a fluid in a hydraulic circuit, including: at least one pump; a system for controlling the distribution of said fluid according to claim 1 (Para. 60, where this valve is located within a vehicle’s system and it is inherent that a vehicle uses pumps and electrically controlled systems in order to function).
Regarding Claim 17, Ludwig discloses a vehicle including a thermal and/or electric engine, at least one hydraulic circuit and at least one fluid distribution system in the hydraulic circuit according to claim 16 (Para. 60).
Regarding Claim 18, Ludwig discloses a method for controlling the distribution of a fluid in a hydraulic circuit using a system according to claim 1, including: selecting one or more rotary distributors to be actuated (Para. 60, where the flow is adjusted by the change in position of the rotary distributor); actuating said distributor(s) using the motor and the means for engaging this/these distributor(s), Para. 60.
Regarding Claim 19, Ludwig discloses including the selection or determination of a direction and/or an angle of rotation of one or more distributors to be actuated and the actuation of said rotary distributor(s) in this direction and/or this angle of rotation (Paras. 60 and 68, where in order to control the fluid flow, the adjustment of the rotary distributor and thus the direction and/or an angle of rotation of the rotary distributor must be known).
Regarding Claim 20, Ludwig discloses at least one of following the fluid is water or oil or glycol or a gas (Para. 9, where the fluid is water).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6–7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwig et al. (DE 102019130952 A1) in view of Taupeau et al. (US PGPub 20210066999 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ludwig is silent about the presence of a position sensor.
Taupeau teaches a position sensor located on a valve’s motor shaft in order to determine the valve position as well as ensure that the valve is properly working (Paras. 27 and 82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary distributor of Ludwig with a position sensor as taught by Taupeau in order to determine the position of the rotary distributor.
Per the Ludwig–Taupeau combination a position sensor is located on the output shaft of the gear motor.
Because Taupeau teaches a shaft on a single valve motor it then makes sense that the Ludwig–Taupeau combination teaches each rotary distributors (Ludwig 3); including a position sensor (Taupeau Paras. 27 and 82).
Regarding Claim 6, the Ludwig–Taupeau combination teaches each rotary distributor (Ludwig Fig. 3 where the entire Fig. illustrates a single distributor) including a position sensor (Taupeau Paras. 27 and 82), said electronic means being capable of controlling the motor (Ludwig 51) according to a signal or signals from one or more of said position sensors (Taupeau Para. 82).
Regarding Claim 7, the Ludwig–Taupeau combination teaches the electronic means being capable of: receiving an operating mode instruction (Ludwig Para. 9, where the operating mode is to supply or discharge the fluid in the rotary distributor); determining a target position (Ludwig Para. 2, where the target position is the position required to satisfy the flow rate of the cooling system) of each of the rotary distributors (Ludwig Fig. 3 where the entire Fig. illustrates a single distributor); controlling the motor (Ludwig 51) and the means for engaging or disengaging (Ludwig Para. 35, where the rotary distributor is rotated to the target position when the rotary distributor is engaged) each rotary distributor according to the target position of each of the rotary distributors (Ludwig Fig. 3 where the entire Fig. illustrates a single distributor).
Regarding Claim 9, Ludwig is silent about the type of motor utilized.
Taupeau teaches the motor being a brushless motor in order to minimize the space in which the motor takes up (Para. 86).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Ludwig with a brushless motor as taught by Taupeau in order to decrease the space in which the motor uses and decrease the wear on the motor by decreasing the number of gears needed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Angelisa L. Hicks/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753