Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vejlgaard (US 2024/0213503 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Vejlgaard teaches a process for replenishing an on-board power source for a propulsion system on a vehicle such as a watercraft (method 400, Vejlgaard [88]), the power source comprising a first reservoir holding an anolyte and a second reservoir holding a catholyte (220a, 220b Vejlgaard Fig. 1), the process comprising:
pumping the anolyte out of the first reservoir and the catholyte out of the second reservoir into a shoreside series of one or more interconnected stacks (Vejlgaard [88]),
each stack comprising at least one cell comprising a pair of half-cell compartments (133a and 133b, Vejlgaard Fig. 2) separated from each other by a porous or ion selective membrane through which ions flow during a redox reaction (134, Vejlgaard Fig. 2);
applying a current between a first electrode in a first of the half-cell compartments and a second electrode in a second of the half-cell compartments (charging the electrolyte, Vejlgaard [88]); and
returning the anolyte to the first reservoir and the catholyte to the second reservoir (Vejlgaard [88]).
Regarding claim 6, Vejlgaard teaches all features of claim 5, as described above. Vejlgaard further teaches the process comprising at least two shoreside interconnected stacks (Vejlgaard [89]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard (US 2024/0213503 A1) in view of McCoy (US 2002/0076581 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vejlgaard teaches a system for replenishing an on-board power source for a propulsion system on a vehicle such as a watercraft (Vejlgaard Fig. 1), the power source comprising a first reservoir holding an anolyte and a second reservoir holding a catholyte, the system comprising:
a shoreside series of one or more interconnected stacks (flow battery 110, Vejlgaard Fig. 2)
each stack comprising at least one cell divided into a first half-cell compartment and a second half-cell compartment (133a and 133b, Vejlgaard Fig. 2) by a porous or ion selective membrane through which ions flow during a redox reaction (134, Vejlgaard Fig. 2), the at least one cell comprising a pair of electrodes, a first one of the electrodes in the first half-cell compartment and a second one of the electrodes in the second half-cell compartment (132a and 132b, Vejlgaard Fig. 2);
and a hydraulic circuit for circulating the anolyte from the first reservoir into the first half- cell compartment of the at least one cell and back into the reservoir tank and for circulating the catholyte from the second reservoir into the second half-cell compartment of the at least one cell and back into the second reservoir (180a, 180b Vejlgaard Fig. 1, [88]);
a shoreside source of electricity (30, Vejlgaard Fig. 1), wherein applying power from the source of electricity between the electrodes while operating the hydraulic circuit charges the anolyte and the catholyte (Vejlgaard [88])
Vejlgaard teaches that the source of electricity is any “suitable power supply” (Vejlgaard [66]). However, Vejlgaard does not explicitly teach a DC electricity source.
McCoy teaches a system for recharging electrolyte fluids that have been removed from a vehicle using stationary “charging batteries” that are provided at service stations, wherein the electrolyte fluids are charged using an electric current (McCoy [3], [8]). McCoy further teaches that a DC electricity source is suitable for performing this recharging process (McCoy [28]).
Since Vejlgaard teaches that any suitable power supply is appropriate for use in their invention and McCoy teaches that a DC electricity source is suitable for recharging electrolyte fluids, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a source of DC electricity in the system of Vejlgaard in order to achieve the predictable result of recharged electrolytes.
Regarding claim 2, Vejlgaard in view of McCoy teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Vejlgaard further teaches the system comprising at least two shoreside interconnected stacks (Vejlgaard [89]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard in view of McCoy, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Allison (US 2019/0322189 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Vejlgaard in view of McCoy teaches all features of claims 1 and 2, as described above. Vejlgaard does not explicitly state that the interconnected shoreside stacks are hydraulically and electrically connected.
However, Allison teaches that it is known for flow batteries, as used in Vejlgaard, to comprise a plurality of battery stacks that are hydraulically and electrically connected to each other (Allison [127], Fig. 11). Allison teaches that it is known and suitable to connect flow battery stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents (Allison [128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect the at least two shoreside interconnected stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents.
Additionally, Allison teaches the stacks being hydraulically connected in series (Allison Fig. 11, battery stacks 602a, 602b, and 602c). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to hydraulically connect the stacks of Vejlgaard in series since it is taught to be known and suitable by Allison.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard in view of McCoy, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Allison and Skyllas (Skyllas, M. et al. The Mechanism and Modelling of Shunt Current in the Vanadium Redox Flow Battery. Chemistry Select. 1, 2249-2256 (2016)).
Regarding claim 4, Vejlgaard in view of McCoy teaches all features of claims 1 and 2, as described above. Vejlgaard does not explicitly state that the interconnected shoreside stacks are hydraulically and electrically connected.
However, Allison teaches that it is known for flow batteries, as used in Vejlgaard, to comprise a plurality of battery stacks that are hydraulically and electrically connected to each other (Allison [127], Fig. 11). Allison teaches that it is known and suitable to connect flow battery stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents (Allison [128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect the at least two shoreside interconnected stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents.
Skyllas teaches that, when the number of connected redox flow batteries is high, hydraulic connections in series result in increased pumping energy losses and severe restriction of the overall energy efficiency of the battery system (Skyllas pg. 2256 left column last paragraph). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the number of stacks used in order to achieve desired performance and to use a parallel hydraulic connection arrangement when the number of stacks is high in order to prevent increased pumping energy losses and restriction of the energy efficiency of the system of battery stacks.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard, as applied to claims 5 and 6 above, and in further view of Allison.
Regarding claim 7, Vejlgaard teaches all features of claims 5 and 6, as described above. Vejlgaard does not explicitly state that the interconnected shoreside stacks are hydraulically and electrically connected.
However, Allison teaches that it is known for flow batteries, as used in Vejlgaard, to comprise a plurality of battery stacks that are hydraulically and electrically connected to each other (Allison [127], Fig. 11). Allison teaches that it is known and suitable to connect flow battery stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents (Allison [128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect the at least two shoreside interconnected stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents.
Additionally, Allison teaches the stacks being hydraulically connected in series (Allison Fig. 11, battery stacks 602a, 602b, and 602c). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to hydraulically connect the stacks of Vejlgaard in series since it is taught to be known and suitable by Allison.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vejlgaard, as applied to claims 5 and 6 above, and in further view of Allison and Skyllas.
Regarding claim 8, Vejlgaard teaches all features of claims 5 and 6, as described above. Vejlgaard does not explicitly state that the interconnected shoreside stacks are hydraulically and electrically connected.
However, Allison teaches that it is known for flow batteries, as used in Vejlgaard, to comprise a plurality of battery stacks that are hydraulically and electrically connected to each other (Allison [127], Fig. 11). Allison teaches that it is known and suitable to connect flow battery stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents (Allison [128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect the at least two shoreside interconnected stacks in parallel in order to reduce shunt currents.
Skyllas teaches that, when the number of connected redox flow batteries is high, hydraulic connections in series result in increased pumping energy losses and severe restriction of the overall energy efficiency of the battery system (Skyllas pg. 2256 left column last paragraph). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the number of stacks used in order to achieve desired performance and to use a parallel hydraulic connection arrangement when the number of stacks is high in order to prevent increased pumping energy losses and restriction of the energy efficiency of the system of battery stacks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Funakoshi (US 2020/0189401 A1): appears to disclose an electrolyte station for replacing electrolyte used in a vehicle (abstract, Fig. 2).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789